Grand Hyatt Singapore

Hi louie n cookiecorgi.
thks!

does hyatt decorate the reception area with floral stands? mine is at the sir stamford ballroom.

Its been long since I visit tis threat. Mine will b at Sir Stamford ballroom. I hv traded the ice carving for something else- can't remember offhand. Any of you done/ going to do the food tasting?

I would like to know whether Hyatt serves one or more wedding couple a night?

anyone knows how much is the charges for pool side wedding dinner at Hyatt? isit a sit down dinner or buffet?

Hello to all hyatt brides!

I am so happy to know that all of you are with Hyatt. I have just signed up with them even after hearing all the bad reviews in other wedding forums. Wanted to do what I liked and i really liked Hyatt's ballroom. Booked the grand ballroom even though i wanted sir stamford as both my hubby and me have big families and stamford room's capacity of 28 tables too small for us. I paid $868 nett for the weekend wedding. Need some advice from all of you.

When I paid the deposit, there were no mention of sash or decor etc by the manager (lynn). She said we will only meet to discuss all these 3 months prior to the wedding and my wedding is in Apr 2003.

Is the sash included in the price? H
How many different themes does Hyatt have? Understand from the above emails that there is the gold theme (which includes sash), does it mean we need not pay extra for sash then if we choose this theme?

Any hyatt brides who booked grand ballroom. we can chit chat more!

Hi Miho,

I have just signed up with Grand Hyatt too. Are there a lot of bad comments on Grand Hyatt? I was not aware but I like the hotel too. I'll be holding the wedding on the 3rd floor. Just one concern for me: the pillars. Has any one complaint about the pillars? If so, I also can't do anything because I have already paid the deposit 2 days ago

My coordinator told me that we need to pay $15 per person for the gold theme, and yes, the sach will be included if you pay the $15. To me, it's quite expensive and is out of my budget. THat's why I choose to stay with the standard theme. Sach is only provided for VIP tables in this case.
Actually what are the bad comment? I'm interested to know too (at least get prepared for that). Anyway, I personally think that the hotel is nice and the staff is friendly.
Neko

Hi to all hyatt brides!

I'm booking with GH next thurs.

My coordinator is Georgette. She's very nice and friendly too

Hi Neko,

One of the common bad comments abt GH is the food. Heard it's very lousy.

However, my FH's sis had her wedding at GH last year. The food was good and all the guests were happy with it. They were esp. impressed by the dessert buffet at the end.

i'm also a hyatt bride, n i'm taking the grand ballrm.

miko, did u mean u wanted the hibiscus or the stamford ballrm? i wanted the hibiscus, but it's too small for my.
sashes r not in the price, only seat covers r. it's abt $2-3 per piece.

neko, food was lousy, but heard that hyatt's food improved. but the one thing that pple still complain abt is the service i think.

Hi all, how many ballrooms are there in GH? Does the wkday package provide seat cover too? Who is the more helpful co-ordinator that i can call?
Thks

Hello to all!

Delannie, not sure the exact number of ballrooms but I know there is at least 4: Grand Ballroom, Sir Stamform, Vanda/Magnolia Room and the Hibiscus room. Not sure who is the more helpful co-ordinator but you will be assigned one when you call up i guess.

Och, cheers! same as me, Grand Ballroom. Wanted the Hibiscus too but too small for me so got the grand instead. $2 - $3 per piece? Out of my budget so I guess I have make do with standard. What about you? Going for the sash? Did you manage to exchange anything for some freebies sucessfully?

Neko, yah, the bad reviews i heard same as och's and SLK's. Yours on 3rd floor? Meaning grand ballroom? Yah, had some concerns on the pillars before I booked. my FIP were very concern that the guest's view will be blocked. Who's your co-ordinator? There is one concern about grand ballroom. i heard that because we only confirm a min of 45 tables, the hotel will proceed to sell the other ballroom to other couples ie ballroom 2. very worried that someone will take up and then i will have to share the reception area. You? will you exceed 45 tables? do agree with you that the staff are nice and friendly but also have to say, they are quite an inflexible lot as many of our requests for free beer etc were turned down. but like all of you, like the place very much so went ahead despite bad reviews.

Hey, when are all your weddings? Can share? Any news on bridal shops? Have anyone booked yet?

SLK, welcome to the Hyatt bride's club.

Miho

delannie, like miho, i know of 4 ballrms in hyatt. seat covers r a basic feature in all their packages.

miho, i booked my package last yr n asked for free gold sashes b4 i confirmed. another friend who booked this yr bargained for a flat rate to get sashes for her banquet in hibiscus. i swapped cards for food tasting n asked for a day rm for helpers.
my wedding is on 14 sept 02. when's urs?

Hi Miho,

Opps, I think I have mixed up the floor of the ballrooms. I will be having my wedding at Vanda/Magnolia Room. There are 4 big pillars. My FH has asked my coordinator (Cynthia) to post us the layout of the seats. He has looked at it and said that it seems to be alright (I still haven't looked at it yet.). I wanted Grand Ballroom too, but I can only have about 35 tables, that's why I can't have Grand Ballroom and Hibiscus room is too small for me. Hmm.. I managed to get 30L beer free without any tradein. Yes, the staff is not very flexible but I think the package covers most of the things that I wanted. I am quite comfortable with the package and the only thing that is missing is the food tasting. I think it's still alright. I didn't get the sashes too. I think most of the hotels don't provide this too. Hope that the deco with the saches will still look nice.

Is your wedding on a weekday or weekend? I think there may be another couple to share the recep area if it is on a weekend in a hot month. Maybe you can express your worry to your coordinator to see what she can do for you (Can they make a distinct spearation?). Most importantly, if there is really one couple that share the area with you, you may need to instruct your guest in advance not to go to the wrong wedding dinner :P

Hi all Grand Hyatt brides,
Since the food is so lousy (as commented by others), I wonder if anyone has voiced this out to Grand Hyatt? Grand Hyatt should be quite concern about their image, right?

Hi all, i'm confused!!! Is the food genrally good or bad???? I meeting up with GH co-ordinator nx wk. Do u think is possible to neg for 2 x 30l free as mine is a wkday banquet. Ppls say wkday got more bargaining power & they are more flexible...true?? I didn't know that got no food tasting..then how har? I never attended any wedding there b4...worried abt the food std.

BTW, if i were to get my own invitation card outside, how much will one piece cost?

Thks....i m new to this thread so got a lot qtns. Pardon me ok

Och, congrats!. You must be getting more and more excited with the wedding day just a few months away! My wedding date as of now Apr 26, saturday. not firm as waiting for red book to be out. should be able to confirm soon. you all got a good deal. Maybe I should check with my co-ordinator. I negotiated for free bear but no go. As for sash, she didn't mentioned about it at all. If my FIL and parents know about all the good deals you guys got, i will be in deep trouble. Sigh. How are your wedding preparations? bridal gown etc ok?

Neko, you must be great in negotiating. free 30L beer! envy, envy. i tried to swap one night to beer but no go. everything was no go, sigh sigh sigh. Don't worry, decor without sash looks good too. Thanks for the advice on the recep area. Yah, is april or may a hot month? mine not confirm because of red book. as of now apr 26 but hoping to confirm soo. my FIL waiting to see when is Qing Ming. May have to push the wedding date backwards to May. When is yours? Have you started on the search for bridal packages yet?

As for feedback to Hyatt. You bet I did. I even told the co-ordinator the website to check out those bad comments. Hopefully they have improved. have you viewd the bridal suite? Look good?

Hi Miho,
Mine is not that early. My wedding will be in Sep2003. Haha, don't flatter me
, my negortiating skill is not great. We were very thick skin then. Haha. Maybe mine is on a weekday, thay's why she gives us that freeby (the only freeby that I can nego for).
Do you know how much the sash cost? Wonder if it will be expensive if I put sash on alternate chairs.
I have visited my ballroom today (partially decorated, without flowers). I envy those having dinner in Hibiscus and Grand Ballroom. Mine is at Vanda/Magnolia Room, not as nice as the rest. Seems like it is not a formal ballroom, That's why I'm thinking of puting sashes. Anyway, I'll try to negotiate with my coordinator when we meet to talk about the deco (few months b4 my wedding). We did try to ask for that before we signed up, however, they didn't want to throw in for me.
I don't know whether April or May is the hot month(this year April is not that hot). I only know March, Jun, and Sep are hot months.
I haven't search for the package yet. But aiming to get something simple (hopefully value for money one
) Any good recommendation?
Hmm, I think I should try to tell my coordinator about the bad comment too when I meet her next time. Hope that they'll do something about it.
I haven't seen the bridal suite. Have you? My coordinator didn't show us. (It looks good on the picture)

Do you know what is the min no. of tables I should have in order to use the Grand Ballroom? My FH likes Grand Ballroom more. A bit regret that we have chosen (in fact assigned to) Vanda/Magnolia Room. I what to see if I'll increase the guest list to fit into the Grand Ballroom.

miho, i m very excited alright.
my wedding preps has been rather slow, since i'm quite busy recently. my gowns r done, but the invitations, guest list, helper's list etc r all not done. my photoshoot in a month's time, so i hv to lose some pounds as well.

u know, i got reassurances fr my coordinator that they will not sell grand ballrm2 as long as i book grand ballrm 1. as for freebies, my coordinator offered 2 barrels of beer or our current deal. but since we do not intend to serve beer, i asked got our deal instead.

neko, the official rule is 45 tables min to use grand ballrm on a weekend. it's easier to negotiate on a weekday. i saw a weekday setup for 38 without additional payments. my original contract was for hibiscus rm, switched to grand ballrm when my guest list ballooned. i saw the bridal suite. thought it was slightly smaller than four season's. when negotiating, do ask ur coordinator to upgrade ur suite, subject to availability, cos the bridal suite is the smallest suite they hv available. if other suites r not in use, they usually dun mind upgrading.

delannie, i think hyatt's food improved. my mum attended a wedding at hyatt a few months back n she said the food wasn't bad. how expensive invitations r depends on how elaborate u want it to be. can range fr $0.50 to a few bucks for one with wedding pictures. these r for cards alone. printing is extra.

Och, can almost feel the excitement from reading your mail. Actually smiling now! Very happy for you.

Also, no assurance from hotel that they will not sell. they say they will always try to sell. my gosh. sigh. just crossing my finger that no one will want to take up ballroom 2. sigh. any good recommendations for bridal packages? good to hear that the food improved.

Neko, if i am not wrong, per sash is $2 to $3. As for grand ballroom. Agree with och. if on weekday and the ballroom is not used. i don't think you will have any problem upgrading to grandballroom. but as you said, sep is really a hot month. so not so sure if there will be people having the ballroom on weekday. you will have to check with your co-ordinator. as for your bridal package. i say you can afford to shop around since you still can wait. shop around for good deal. yes, the min number you must confirm for grand is 45 tables. have seen the suite. not as grand and nice as sheraton. but better than pan pac's. hey, i just attended wedding at vanda room the weekend past at hyatt. not bad what. not sure about guest sitting near the pillar but i sat near the isle and the overall decor i would say they did very well. it look very good and very classy.

delainne, keep us updated on your booking!

Hi Miho,
I smile too when I read your reply

Very encouraging and I think I'm relief to hear that the deco in Vanda is very well done
. What color of theme did your friend's wedding use? Did your friend use sashe for all the chairs?

Hi Och,
When is your wedding? Did you manage to switch to a bigger suite? I feel excited for you too. Must control yourself, not to eat too much (take more veg instead of meat. Fish is okay. I have controlled my diet recently, not for slimming down but for health reason and I have actually slimmed down by about2 kgs.) Work harder gal!

Hi delainne,
Hope that you'll join us soon

Hmm, I feel really glad to chit with you gals

hi miho, i took gowns fr margaret brides. i love the simplicity n quality of her gowns.
pls take ur time to look for a suitable bridal package. visit a few bridal shops, try their gowns n tok to the pple in charge. dun just take the cheapest package, bcos it may not be the cheapest after u top it up to suit ur needs.
r u looking for mtm or otr?

hi neko, my wedding is on 14 sept this yr.
the upgrade of suite is subject to availability, i will only know when i hv my wedding.

Neko, not sure if there is theme or not but i dont' think so because no sash on chairs except for VIP table. however, i still find it very classy with the brown marble walls and the white seat covers. food wise not bad at all. except for this wedding, the couple paid for one to one server. take less meat? difficult. i don't like to eat fish, bad experience and not especially a vege person too. supposed to start losing weight because i am slightly overweight already but all those snacks and timing differences when i am on overseas assisgnment caused my eating timing to be totally out. i will try out your method for the sake of getting the few kilograms off. sigh.

och. agree with neko. now must watch diet because must maintain weight. i am looking for mtm but if i can get a gown that suit me and it is otr, no objections too. although once in a lifetime, also realise that there is a limit on cash. and my mum was saying that we pay so much just to wear the gown for a few hours. sigh. can be an uphill task to convince them why we are spending on many of the items we want for the wedding. agree with you on the part of the hidden costs. will take note of it when i start my hunt. i hope you get to upgrade to a much bigger room too.

by the way, who are your co-ordinators?

good to chit chat to you both too.

Hi Miho and Och,

I still haven't hunt for my gown yet. Just settled the banquet and want to take a break first.

Yes, my parents also say that we should not spend so much on the banquet, (Seems like it will lose a lot of money). But to me and my FH, we would like to have something nice and memorable. (At least something that we like and are comfortable with).

As for the gown, have you heard of City Bridal at IMM? I have taken my graduation photo there, and the photo looks nice (very natural with a bit of make up). The staff are very friendly too (somehow we always see the staff at the shopping centres where they are holding their wedding fair. They actually recognise us and always have a small chat with us). That's why I have a good impression of this bridal shop (in fact, not the shop, but their staff). However, I also understand that wedding and graduation are 2 different matters. That's why I will not blindly get the package from their shop.

Actually I prefer MTM. I belongs to the small size type, I wonder if the bridal shops have a nice gown that can fit me (from OTR).

My coordinator is Cynthia. She is a very helpful lady. In fact I have troubled her quite often, but she is still very patient with me

How about you?

HI All,

I am also seriously considering Hyatt.... however since my date is any weekday in Sep 03, we decided not to book so early.. will wait for the Tong Shu to be out first.

I will most prob be taking the grand ballroom, cos I will be confirming min 45 tables. and my coordinator, cynthia did mention that there may be a slim chance that I may have to share the recep area with another dinner event on the same floor... ;(

Och,
you mentioned that your coordinator offered you 2 barrels or your current deal... wat's your current deal?

Neko,
you booked already? even tho your wedding is in sep03?? can i know yours is weekend or weekday?
Actually if you are looking for value for money bridal package... i think J&M is quite good lor, esp their photography.. you may wanna chk out the J&M thread.

Nice to know all of you.

miho, take time to look around lor. some mtm packages aren't that much more than otr. if u want otr, make sure u look at their gown collection first n like what u see. else it will be very ex to back out later when u cannot find anything u like.
my banquet coordinator was eileen, but she just left hyatt. now i'm left with some temporary coordinator until hyatt can find someone for me. eileen was already my 2nd coordinator!

neko, i visited city bridal b4. their photography n makeup r quite gd, but i din see any gowns that suited me.

cookiecorgi, my current deal is free sashes n food tasting, in exchange for cards.

Hi cookiecorgi,
Welcome! Yes I have booked already. In fact I went to 2 other hotels and my date (weekday) was also booked by others. That's why since Hyatt has my date available, I think it's better to book first (and of course, I like Hyatt too).
Thanks for your recommendation. I'll take a look at J&M. So have you booked your wedding package?

Hi Och,
Why did you change so many co-ordinator? You mean so many of them resigned? So it will be quite inconvenience for you right?

Since it is so common to change co-ordinator, I think it will be better to get the terms written in black and white, in case, your co-ordinater leaves and the terms that are agreed verbally become invalid.

Neko,my co-ordinator's name is Lynn. She is a very nice lady too but stick very closely to the books so no freebies and no deals. in fact she told me she will be in-charge of hyatt's bridal show this year and she is going to make sure there is no freebies except for lucky draw prizes. the show will be in oct in case you all are interested. no decision made on bridal shop to tie up with but not federick lee since according to her they used him last year.

Och : hey, thanks for the advice on the bridal packages. yah, agree can be quite a stressful matter. like Neko, going to take a break before i start on search. oh no, on the subject of your co-ordinator! i was supposed to be assigned to eileen but she was not free to see me. she cancelled my appointment just one hour before we were supposed to meet and both me and my fiance took half day leave so i told her i still want to meet. end up getting Lynn. Nice lady. Hopefully nearer to wedding, she will be more flexible and she will not quit.

cookiecorgi: warm welcome! let me guess, you must be a dog lover and you own a corgi that is brown in colour? I think you should book as early as possible because sep is a very popular month. if you see other threads in other forums, there are many many sep brides and notwithstanding weekdays or weekends, the venues are going up fast. like Neko, weekday, but choice date for venue not available. can be very stressful. also the red book is out only in august 02 i think. maybe can place tentative booking first?

Hi gals, i just paid a deposit for Hyatt today. Got a grand ballroom for my wedding. My co-ordinator is Cynthia. Quite a nice & gentle lady. i was abit blur& excited that i forgot to see whether is there any pillars in grand ballroom. Anyone knows?

To all grand ballroom brides, anyone choosing the theme? Do hyatt serve pre-dinner cocktail?

Hi Och, mine is a wkday dinner but Cythnia refuses to give 2 barrel of beer? Is yours a 20L or 30L barrel that they intend to give? Do you need to give some items up to exchange for them?
By the way, after you paid the deposit, did they send you the contract by mail or what was the arrangement? I quite blur b'cos all i have now is the receipt of the $2k that i have paid.

I am so excited now....heehee... btw, im a June 2003 bride! Very happy that i know this forum, we can exchange ideas in the future

HI Och,
think you got quite a good deal.. can get 2 barrels.. i spk with cynthia, she also dont give me 2 barrels.

Neko,
actually i also intending to book. Cynthia even sent me the confirmation by mail already.. but i tot since i am not looking at any particular date, i can wait till the tong shu is out... plus i booked my bridal package with J&M already.. and kind of regretted booking so early cos my deposit will just be sitting w them instead of earning interest for me...

Miho, do you know cookie?? my corgi?? heehee, have we met before? even if i place a tentative booking, i can only change the date subj to availabily.. no proirity for me leh... so i decided to wait til we are more firm on the dates lor...

Delanne, cynthia mailed me the contract with all the terms and freebies before i paid the deposit. And i haven paid the deposit, cos i tot mine will be in sep 03 so still got lotsa time.. looks like I better book a tentative date first...

neko, my coordinators resigned. n no... it's not bcos of me.
it's quite demoralising when a coordinator calls to say he/she is resigning. eileen was very nice n accomodating, even when i keep bothering her. i only hope the next one will be as nice.

miho, hyatt is usually v. strict on the no-freebies thing. i was quite exasperated during negotiations also. i really wanted a real wedding cake, but it was so difficult to do the exchanges. i offered to trade away dessert n chocolates for the real cake n the best deal i could get was $10 off the per kg price. my friends who had their wedding in four seasons got $40 off! the only period hyatt gave more freebies was in oct last yr, after sept 11. if u read prev msgs by hyatt brides who booked during last yr's bridal show, u will marvel at the gd deals they got.
but if i waited till the bridal show, i definitely wun be able to get any of the ballrms since all were fully booked b4 that.

delannie, grand ballrm has 2 small pillars. i'm not choosing hyatt's themes. their themes r v. elaborate affairs, not the typical colour themes offered by other hotels, where basically only the colours of table clothes n napkins change. hyatt offers that foc too, n they hv a huge selection of colours to choose fr. in contrast, their themes r elaborate affairs that require their waiters to dress according to the theme, elaborate flower displays, tassles for napkins etc. that's why it costs $15 per pax.

as for freebies, hyatt is v. strict, but i think they can afford to do that cos their package is fairly comprehensive. my negotiations was v. long n protracted. in the end, i was offered a 30l (in exchange for invitations) n a foc 20l barrel/foc sashes. but i dun want to serve beer, so i got sashes n food tasting instead. my wedding is on sat n since i booked a yr ago, my package is quite different fr urs.

a draft contract was emailed to me when i paid the deposit. all the freebies should be spelt out in the contract.
the real contract was sent over mail. if there r inaccuracies, u can ask for corrections then.

Thks Och & Cookiecorgi

Och, mine is a wkday and i managed to neg for 1 x 30L barrel & 1 x free food tasting if i hold more than 53 tables. Have u seen any grand ballrm banquet with only the basic setup?

Do they serve pre-dinner cocktail? Have u seen the ballroom layout? Are you getting all the ballrooms at level 3 too?

Maybe you want to request for Cynthia since your co0ordinator is resigning. I think she friendly and pleasant.

Cookiecorgi, according to Cynthia, GH don't allow tentative booking w/o deposit being paid first. Maybe you want to book early as i was told that Sept is a "hot" month. Booking early might put u in a better position to negotiate for some freedies
BTW, r u planning for a wkday or wkend?

Hi all, does anyone of u have any vegetarian food serves to individuals? I was told is abt $55nett/pax on top of the per table price. Wow...it is so expensive! Do you think i can ask for a wavier?

hi delannie, ur deal is gd too.

the basic setup was the once that attracted me to hyatt initially.
it was v. tastefully done, with white tablecloths n white seat covers, cream coloured roses. the vip tables had golden tablecloths n gold sashes. there were flower stands along the aisle. the stage had these blackish stands that r draped in gold sashes. u can choose the ice carving. i'm getting the ice flower vase with overhanging roses.

the ballrm is a rectangle, with 2 pillars if u use only ballrm 1. i've never seen grand ballrm 2, despite visiting hyatt so many times. pre dinner drinks r included, cocktails as well i think. there is only the grand ballrm on that level. if u go down, it's stamford, if u go up, it's hibiscus n vanda/magnolia.

i wish i can choose my coordinator. i'm now temporarily assigned to some lady. i should call her up for a chat n find out exactly who will be coordinating my wedding.

Anyone has experience in putting up only 15 - 18 tables in Hyatt? Coz i have to put up 2 weddings separatly and the one in Singapore will only be for my frens...
or any other places that accomodate to small capacity?

anybody knows how they decorate the reception area? or do i need to get helpers to decorate on my own. cos' i read in the earlier thread that she needs to decorate the reception area with balloons.

Since i'm taking the sir stamford room, i will be taking escalators down to the lobby floor to my bridal suite. how abt those taking the grand ballroom, do u hv to go to the lobby floor first before going to yr suite? i can imagine 2 couples making their 'grand' appearance from the suites, on the same floor, at the lobby. or changing into night gown after the second dish. all about at the same time. then i guess i might not be the centre of attractions, cos' got to share that attractions with other couple..

i'm aware other rooms, eg vanda/magnolia room has lifts on the same floor that goes to the suite directly. how abt grand ballroom? btw, anybody share the same sentiment as me - who like to be the only focus of the night? what shld i do then? cos' i confirmed dat the grand ballroom is confirmed taken up by another couple. i was actually hope for no other couple hving the same dinner on the same day as me, but guess that's not possible..

Hi Och, does Grand ballroom has any lifts to the suite? By the way, i was told that there will be a wedding nx Sat 4 May whereby the couple is having the basic setup and has abt 50+ tables. If you are interested to see the setup, maybe u can arrange with your co-ordinator to view it.

bubblecher, i think hyatt's min table requirements is 15. u can choose to hv it in one of the smaller rms, e.g. those opposite stanford rm, the magnolia etc. if u choose to hv urs on a weekday, i think u may even be able to get hibiscus. the price per table will be slightly higher though.

ram, i think there r basic setups in the reception, e.g. reception table, flowers on reception table etc. but if u want something more elaborate, like balloons, u hv to pay.
i think it's difficult to guarantee that there r no other couples. ur best bet will be a weekday or unpopular weekend date. hyatt is fully booked on all rms on my wedding day, can u believe that?!! n the best part ... one of the other brides is actually in this forum too.

ram, delannie, fr the grand ballrm, there r no direct lifts. i intend to go up a level to the floor where vanda/magnolia n hisbiscus r n catch the lift fr there.

delannie, i doubt a waiver is possible, but u can still try ur luck.
if u succeed, let me know, i'll try too.

Hi Och,

Har...i didn't notice abt the lift
Then it will be troublesome if im going to change my grown 2 x. U know lah, long grown, dun know the grown will get struck at the escalator..hahaha.... i am a very blur person leh
I let u know abt my neg. on the wavier.

Hi Delannie,
Seems like you have your worry too. I've booked the Magnolia room on the third floor whereby there is a direct left to go to the bridal suite. However, my worry is the pilars of the ballroom and the deco of that ballroom (as it is not a formal ballroom).
I have asked Cynthia about the vegetarian menu. She said that the price will be the same for the whole table (if I don't remember wrongly, may need to check with her again)

Hi Ram,
I think all the bride would like to be the centre of attraction on the big day. However, it is unavoidable that there is another bride that holds the wedding on the same day (same hotel) as you do. Don't worry on that as worry will not help. Just focus on how to present yourself nicely on that day and have confidence on yourself
I have a feeling that there will be other couples having wedding on my day too (even though it is on a weekday, cos it is in Sep).

Hi Och,
As for the ice carving, is the vase better than the swan? Is the overhanging flower real one?

How how have everyone been? Hopefully you all had a good weekend. Been out of action from this forum for a while. Have been a hectic week at work as I had to go KL to for work. Very tired but very happy to be back home.

cookiecorgi: don't think i know you but i made a wild guess because i have a friend who owns a corgi and he simply loves his dog. how's your side doing? gotten any updates on possible dates?

och: how? have hyatt assigned you a permanent co-ordinator? if not, maybe like what neko suggests,can request for someone.

neko: i attended the wedding and the couple had vase ice carving. pretty and more unique compared to the usual swans, dolpins and hearts. i am going for the vase. but no hurry since hyatt may come up with new designs. just got info that they are changing their wedding cards' design. i hope they upgrade to better looking cards. the current designs are simliar to the ones they used for the past 1 year if i don't remember wrongly.

bubblecher, ram & delainne: hello! good to know all of you.

Hi Miho,
Welcome back. I have looked at the current design of the wedding card. I don't really like it. Hope that they will get something better for next year.

Hi Miho, welcome back
I was told that the wedding card will be change end of this year. In fact i told Cynthia that their card is quite ugly :p heehee...hopefully they will change is ASAP
Is your weeking banquet on wkday at grand ballroom too?

To all GH brides-2-be: By the way, just for info(maybe u gals know already), GH is going to have pot pourrius(as one of the options) as the gifts for the guests. Not very sure when they are giving it but if you are interested, maybe can ask your co-ordinator for more details. I like it personally, it is wrapped in a lovely pink pouch and our guests can keep it for a long long time

Hi Delannie,
Yes yes, the popurri is very nice and smell nice too. I have decided to have that for my guest too. I think they'll like it

have u seen the guest book as well? cos' i find it ugly too. do u know if GH is going to change that as well? I know Pan-pac gives a nicer n classier scroll for guest to sign on, rather than a red book. I hd asked the co-ordinator to change that guest book to some other freebies but she refused, as the cost of that guest book is very minmal to GH.

yeah, agree that the wedding cards are ugly, hope they will change that asap too. thks delannie to share the gd news on potpourries! i hope it applies to all wedding banquets.

Hi Neko, i going for pot pourries too! By the way, have u sign the contract? I saw my ctt already but she didn't pot pourries as a options. ANyway, i going to ask her to add it in my ctt. Did yours(ctt) indicates that as an options?

By the way, u are right abt the table for vegetarian menu, same as the normal price if we get all of them to sit togather. But i think this is quite difficult...
Going to incur more $$$ liao!!!

My grandballroom also got pillars but i'm not sure how many....

Hi Ram, i didn't see the guest book. I will going down to GH tis Sat, will chk whether they be changing the guest book too. Wiil let u know then! When is your wedding?

Hi Delannie

mine is on a sat in mar 03. i hv already got my contract that did not indicate the option for potpourri. but i think they can be flexible in this, cos' my co-ordinator offered to give me the room opp the sir stamford ballroom as the day use room , if i need. even though, it is not stated on the contract.

oh, i mean as a changing room as well. so that it is not so rush to go down the escalator, then to the lift at the lobby to the suite. but i guess i still prefer to change at the suite, cos' more comfortable wat. but it is an option can be considered.

n they r also flexible to provide glass bowls to put tea lights, or candles on the floral centrepiece, etc upon request, even though these r not stated in the contract.

Hi Delannie,
I have signed the contract already and I have asked my coordinator to state that I opt for the potpurri. I think, just as what Ram said, they should be flexible on this. About the vegetarian dinner, I also can't be sure about the price for individual serving. I think most of the couples will have this concern, maybe can hear from them. I also have friends who are vegetarians. So did you see the guest book? How is it?

Hi Ram,
I didn't have a chance to look at the guest book. Is it very ugly? In red? So did your coordinator mention about changing the design?

sorry have been missing cos i have been sick

anyway, i am going down to hyatt tonite. postponed my meeting from last week.

anyone has any questions? any advice for me? :P