Grand Hyatt Singapore

Hi Patek, Congrats on Signing on wif Hyatt. How abt yr BS n Photographer ?? Any 1 in Particular ??

> Hi Wavey, Care to share wif us Which Hotel r u Choosing 4 yr BIG DAY ??

oh no. don't misunderstand. nothing went "wrong" at my friend's wedding. it was a nice wedding.

I'm just being objective in pointing out the "deficiencies" such as low ceiling (as also mentioned by kelly) and many big fat pillars which I don't expect to see at big expensive hotels.I'm only pointing out the physical aspects of Hyatt which I really don't like. people (coordinators) and package wise, I dunno cos I never found out for myself.

As for Centralised location and clean n modern table setting, I find Marriot is equvalent. Package-wise, again, I dunno. never found out.

Djoy, my "hotel" had super high ceiling. It was the outdoors at Fort Canning. So the sky's the limit.

I never considered having my wedding at a hotel. We didn't want to have a dinner initially, just a reception for a few people so we started off looking at the Philatelic Muesum and then thought it's quite fun to have our wedding at one of the muesums. and somehow, we ended up at Fort Canning Centre with an alfresco dinner.

Hi Djoy,

Thanks so much! Wu... on tat... in fact still looking around havent really settled on anyone yet.

Do you have anyone good one to recommend?

Hi Patek, why not checking out Amanda Lee and Kuang of (39 East for Actual Day Photography).

Their Price is a bit on the High Side, but Personally i think its all worth the Price to Engaged Amanda & Kuang .

Go check them out 1st and hv a Chat wif them & Decide later . :-)

Hey dreamz,

Congrats on the success of your wedding! You must be enjoying ur HM now. Do send us photos of ur AD ya! Thankies in advance!

Hey ladies,

I also heard good and bad comments about GH. But after speaking to my coordinator, I was assured of the service. For every hotel, it always has its pros and cons cos no hotel is perfect. So I guess we'll just have to give and take! Anyway, for my ballroom (Magnolia/Vanda), they have pillars, but the hotel made up for it by placing flat screen TVs to ensure that the guests sitting behind the pillars are able to know what's going on on stage. Just my 2 cents worth.

hi blueybubble..
wat kind of bridal suite they offered to you?
i was thinkin of signing up for magnolia room too.. it seems to me the room they offered me has no kitchen.. and not as big as how others describe here.. its pretty crampy

I just signed up Hyatt banquet last sunday on their bridal case. As for me, thier ball room still ok. I went to see every ball room and found Sir Stamford room is the best! This room have no pillar and very nice lighting. But again, it's depend on what theme u like.

Fow what i read here which got others comment on their BIG pillar, think only magnolia/vanda room have, but like blueybubble said, they have flat TV to cover this inefficiency.

It's depend how u to look at it, pay more than got a nice room loh. I don'y know the AD service on the waiter/waitress but their co-ordinator is really friendly and helpful. Especially their sales manager Manday Wan. No matter how busy she is, she will trying to help and explain to you.

Just my comment.

Hi Oriental,

I had seen the black theme at Sir Stamford Room on last saturday bridal case show. It's really look great and nice, and very grand too. I like it so much for the black theme. But too bad, i think i unable to make it cause of the old folks which really can't take it.

If your parent and in law doesn't matter on it then you should give a try. It's won't be so dark if u turn on all the light. I hope i can have it too... too bad no chance at all.

I also sign up on sat! I be getting the vanda/ Mag room..

The package they offer is very comprehensive.. we are pleased with everything.. except for the 2 fat, thick pillar.. still brainstorming how to max the view for the second portion of the ballroom.. even with the plasma we find that also not much help..

overall, love the ballroom cozy-ness

looking forward to my AD

Hi oriental,

I can't really recall what they have on the table but it's look nice. But that night is D&D and not wedding dinner, so if not wrong the not use red rose but is 满天星.

Think u go down there and let Mandy explain to u. She should have the black theme photo. Ask her to show u.

Hi Djoy,

I got ur email...thank you so much..
Sigh... u r rite,,he is REALLY Expensive.. but I agree with u..his pics r good.

I'm thinking of everafter, expresively Joho, Jon Keng, Hilarion and Kuang. I've seen everafter..
But have not decided yet..will look around some more

My banquet will b at Oriental.. Almost sign up with Hyatt due to their comprehensive package..but last minute change my mind since hubby keep complaining abt the pillar
(We almost use Vanda)

My BS is with TC

I'll reply ur email later kie..in office not free to check email

Hi blueybubble,

Kuang is charging by the Hour. $250/hr .

All images will be given back in CD Rom .

You hv to pay another xtra $1500 for the Coffee Table Book . :--)

> Xpensive but Worth it . Juz my Personal Opinion. :-)

Hi Djoy,

Thanks for the advise, but I supposed we be sticking to the budget that we have set for ourselves, as we prefer to spend on our honeymoon... hehe...

Hi Patek, Thanks 4 the Advice abt sticking to the BUDGET. :-> I think it takes a lot of Discipline .

Where are you guys planning 2 go 4 yr Honeymoon ??

Any Progress on yr BS & yr Photographer ??

finally i m back! hehehe

hmm read some negative comment abt hyatt.. and being an ex hyatt bride (mine on the 8th dec 05), i feel that... Hyatt is still a good pick!

there are lifts on every floor at the car park.... just that u have to walk abit to the lift.

the table setting maybe normal (to some)... but we get so many choices!!! we can pick orchirds, roses... etc... etc... hahahaha table linen also many chooices....

generally the food is good.. no worries abt that.. even the aunties say food is very unique and good...

the service i am not sure cos most of the time i wasn't there..

hmmmm lastly... i am being practical here.. i think we all dun want to loose too much money right? so i think pple will know that hyatt is expensive hahahahhaahaa.... plus it is in orchard road.. so easier for pple to get there... mine is on weekday... so location is important!! pple coming from work..

then again.. i still receive $20 ang pow! no joke! heheheheh

the suite is beautiful.. overlooking orchard...

thats my two cents worth.. and IMHO... GRand hyatt is the only good decision i made for my AD. ahhahahaha will share pics with u gals when i get them back!!

eve

Hi eveuloveme,

first time talk to u here. I also had booked Hyatt for my banquest and it's cost a lot for weekend. So, we don't want our fren to on leave for weekday, so we decided to book on saturday.

Do u loose money or all covered?

When got your photo, pls share with me ok?

hi seafaith,

we managed to make a grand total of 1k! hahaahaha i mean we are prepared to loose some money, so the 1k of "profit" was unexpected cos we have quite a few $20 angpow. hehehe

which ballroom u have chosen? mine is at hibiscus, no pillars but low ceiling which i like. cos cozy feeling.. mine has only 22 tables so was quite managable.

how much does it cost to host it on a sat now? mine was $788 but no wine or beer..

eve

Hi eveuloveme, wat colour Theme u use 4 the Hibiscus Rm ?? I b using the Hibiscus rm too. Any Comments abt the Hibiscus Rm ?? :-)

hi djoy,

i used the french vanilla with orchids for the decor.. and i added some green cymbidium orchids for the extra deco on the tables. and i asked for extra tea light candles on each table too!

the room is nice cos i like the yellowish golden colour... and u can get a enclosed foyer for the pre cocktail drink.. quite exclusive...

but it is at the same level as the camilla, magnolia room.. so u have to ask ur coordinator if there are other weddings on the same day as u. maybe u need extra helper to guide ur guests or it can be quite messy.. since the reception areas are pretty close together.

nice room! very warm and cosy..
will share the pics with u when i get them back

eve

Hi Eveloveme,

Wah, so glad u can make money, btw u held your banquet on weekday right? How's the guest attendance? it is full?

I booked Sir Stamford Room, i like the cocktail area which more privacy. I also had view the Hibiscus room, quite nice also, but just not so like the window, but still very nice.

The Saturday table is most expensive, so we also prepared to loose money on this. It's cost me $998 per table on saturday. We signed on the Bridal Showcase, so they included 30 liter beer and 1 bottle of house wine per confimed table, plus another night stay at Grand room beside 2 night at Junior Suit.

We just put our deposit first and haven't sign the contract yet. See whether can negotiate something else too. Anyway, i did ask them to give me special rate for my guest stay at their hotel, but still haven't negotiate on it yet.

Btw, what theme is most nive at Hyatt and for my sir stamford room? Any comment?

hi seafaith,

yup mine is on a thursdaY! heheh attendance was ok. i have close to 100%... however there will be pple who can't make it last min, like they fall sick or smthing crop up very last min.. be prepare for these... i viewed both the SSR and Hibicus room too! like both of them but chose hibiscus cos i like the yellowish colour it has.

hmm $998 is expensive.. close to 1k... are u having lots of relatives? cos mostly relatives won't give alot.

hmmm as for perks with hyatt.. it is very tough to negotiate... cos it is really very comprehensive.. not much room to bargain. u can try the projectors... do u need a 3rd nite stay? maybe if u dont u can give it up and bargain for smthing else? hmm for my case i find it hard to even use the second nite of stay cos i had to go for honeymoon soon after the AD... need to go home to unpack and pack! hehe

i have 22 tables and we just managed to consume the one barrel of beer. and we open about 33 bottles of wine... maybe it is a thursday so fewer pple drinking haha.

as for themes, i m not sure what u like... cos some pple like the black theme.. some like the fushia pink ones.. wat u like? do u have a theme for the wedding? like specific colours for the day?

hmmm maybe u can check if ur in law will they mind the black theme? cos it is quite cool to have the black theme!!

Hi Eveloveme,

Yeah! u are right, black theme very nice and cool. I like it very much, When i take Sir Stamfor Room, i had view the room with balck theme, I love it so much, but no choice, my old folks will can't accept it. So cannot LAH!

I think our guest is more from colleague, friends and business friends. I am Malaysian, relative will not alot which can attend here. For my FH, he not much relatives and from small family. So probably total will be about 5-6 tables.

Correct Hibiscus room is yellowish which i feel don't know which theme is good. But, your arrangement i think will be nice and cosy. I like the Gold or Vanilla theme, but if i choose Hibicus room, then i think it's will be too bright and didn't feel cosy.

For the perks, the sales manager was agreed us to talk to her again and try to help us for the best deal. Will see how, I am in sales, so always bargain at work too. So this die die must bargain something for my BIG day.

hi seafaith,

i m malaysian too! hahaha i have 2 tables of relatives and they all give me malaysian ringgit hahahahahhahaa....

i have the vanilla colour in the hibiscus room.. quite nice and bright! haha cos we are afriad the room to dim cos smaller room... but hyatt has special lightning... quite romantic the feel.. esp when they dim the light..

my hubby in sales too! hahaha he bargained for discounted beer.. cos our package got no beer.

eve

Hi Eve,

Glad that you had a great time being a Hyatt Bride...

Do share with me your pictures for the ballroom ok...

Hi Seafaith,

They are not so flexible in terms of the neg. of their perks, as being a 5 star up hotel, their package is already veri compenhensive in terms of their deal, if you do look around, their are others offering at the same rate, similar perks, but then again, Hyatt is a higher grade hotel.

Also bear in mind, their Chief, is actually an award winner, and he is the Chairman of the Chinese food Association (cant really recall the actual name for the association...)

I did some study and check with my friend whom works there as a mgmt before I sign up with them, so I am sure u are in good hand... hehe...

Hi Patek,

Thanks for your advice...anyway will tried my best to negotiate with them before we totally agreed that. But again, their price i feel a bit expensive. If compare btw weekend and weekday, there are a lot of different on the price but i not sure on the menu. So hope they have more perks for the weekend bandquet. For me, i think no harm trying.

I never try their food before cause they don't have chinese restaurant there, so don't know the standard. So far i feel marina mandarin food is so-so only. I had attend a fren wedding at Sheraton recently, and feel the ball room is too dark and the service and food really not worth for the price. This is the 1st 5*hotel i kick out from my list.

Hey Eve,

Welcome back! So glad that you had a wonderful and successful wedding! Oh dear, $20 is simply too little!

Hey all,

MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!

hi bubble,

thank u! u will have a great wedding too! in good hands at hyatt! hehehe

merry xmas to u too!

hi patek,
completely agree with u! hard to negotiate! hehe but the package is very comprehensive so also dunno what else to add? hehehe i only managed to get discounted beer!

hi seafaith,
don't worry abt the food... the food is very yummy!! i think weekend menu has one more dish? cos my package only has 8 dishes! the chef is award winning!

Hi Eve,

Thanks your comment and make me more confident with Grand Hyatt.

Haiz.... tomorrow will need back to work again... why holiday always is short. Never mind, look forward the next one...hehehh

Hi Eve,

Yup there is oni additional dish for weekend, and i think the menu is slight different also.

As for the perks... is hard... due to they have added in lots of extras, not forgetting as mention before, they are not jus a 5 star hotel, but a 5 star up hotel, as those whom are fimilar will know, there is still diff in terms of 5 up or lower in terms of the ranking...

Oh, jus to add... the food are usu. not all pre-cook and served when guest are all seated. They are usu. cook when the banquet is about to start to ensure that the guest are not served with cold food.

is anyone know whether we can change the booked banquet on weekend to weekday?

pls adv me, is they easily to negotiate on this?

Hi Seafaith,

I think once you confirm on the booking,they likely wouldnt allow the change, unless otherwise there is valid reasons... Best that you check with your co-ordinator on this.

i have uploaded the ballroom pics.. if u would like to see the decor, i can send u the link.

my ballroom is hibiscus, the theme is french vanilla theme with champange orchid.

hi seafaith,
how are things? have u talked to the coordinator abt switching to a weekday?

eve

Hi Eve,

Have talked to my coordinator. She told me that the day i choose on weekday still available. But, she said she need talk to her boss and only can revert back to me on next week as now having holiday and the boss was not around.

She told me the worst case will be change on the weekend to weekday with the menu price same on weekend. But she truly do not think that will happen. Hopefully that will not be happen and i think they are resonable person which can understand my situation. So, pray hard that she can gave me the good news.

Meantime, could u send me the link at [email protected] ?

Happy New Year!