Grand Hyatt Singapore

Best1208
my planner is the manager Angeli (dunno how to spell her name)
she's Indian and seems pretty nice.
Nafisa is one of the usual coordinators, my fren also has her for her wedding this dec. She didnt tell my fren abt new setups and all, so my fren is very upset coz she only learnt abt the flowers and all from me. She was planning to go ahead with the gold and ribbon sashed theme which is already passe.

U better countercheck everything she tells u.
In fact, all of us should! No one is perfect, after all.

best~ yeah... can drop her an email, i think they will respond quite promptly. not sure about nafisah, no comments, mine's cynthia. so far ok

genesis~ actually i think this year's weddings may still use the old setups u think? cos i also didn't know about the new setups... mabbe they will tell us when we meet them later this year.
if they don't mention it, i shall casually ask

moo~ camelia room is on 3rd flr beside magnolia room is it? sorry, hvn't really seen a setup there, but i heard there are pillars?
hibiscus room is lovely tho

hi oria

not sure where camelia is, cos my no of tables may be too small a no for hisbiscus

any numbers or contact person for me to call?

tnx

hi moo,

u can call grand hyatt's direct line and ask for their sales and catering team - 67381234.

how many tables do u have? sir stamford rm can hold up to 28-30 tables i think.

moo, I think camelia room is a bit small for me. Even hibiscus room looks a bit too small for my liking. I'm taking the sir stamford room. Duno, i like big ballrooms. If only i can afford to "bao" the entire grand ballroom! Yeah but how to account for 70+ tables when i only need 28-30? So just have to carry on dreaming.....Just kidding!

genesisgalaxy...actually, i personally prefer the hibiscus/stamford room...they are pillarless and has a long march-in...the grand ballroom has 2 pillars...and unless u take grandballroom + ballroom1...else will have the tendency of sharing the other half with some other couples.

genesis,

hahahah!!! u only have aout 30 tables u wanted to bao the whole grand ballroom? heee. u v cute!
but the ballroom is made up of a few rooms right, that's why got pillars. can u just book 2 of the rooms, so it's bigger than SSR but w/o pillars?

bugbear~ really ah? will hv tendency of sharing the other half ah? then better dun lah...

me back from the beach bum days... super tan now and skin getting itchy. really didn't feel like coming back at all.

oraia, thanks for your reccomendations, my FH and I totally enjoyed the spa at Asmara. My friend who went Bintan around the same time as me took up the Angsana massage and she also said the therapist 'boh lark'. I warned her after you gave me feedback but she still went ahead...

oraia...according to the coord...if u take up grand ballroom+ballroom 1...then they will close up ballroom 2...let u have the entire floor...but i am not too sure if they will do that if u only use grand ballroom...if i only have tables to fill the grand ballroom...then i think i would rather take stamford or hibiscus...more cosy lor.

hi karen,

great!!!! glad to know u enjoyed urself! really ah? mabbe all the angsana therapists all 'bo lat' one huh? or is it the same girl she got heeeee... asmara spa's good hor?? which treatment did you take? ur pills worked after all ya? *wink*

hi bugbear,

orrrh.. i see... thanks! actually for me my max tables will only be 30+ if we invite everyone... so still not enuff to fill the grand ballroom, so we decided to cut the list abit and go w SSR.

oraia...the SSR room is VERY nice. I loved that as well...and the best part is that it's pillarless and long...so u have a long marchin

bugbear...
yeah.. i love it, but some ppl feels it looks very plain leh, like seminar room. hehe. it has to be done up then it's nice lor.
the march-in is L-shaped i think hehe.

oraia...ur march in is L ar? hhmm...ooh yeah...from the door in to the center of the ballroom right? but the straight part still quite long.

Ok leh...the last time i went to see the full setup...i tot was very nicely done. especially with the individual light shining on each table...that is the part i liked best!

hi genesisgalaxy

i gonna meet Nafisah on friday. u mean she so forgetful as not to tell her the new theme. by the way what flowers theme are u referring?

hi bugbear,
so how many tables do u have now?
me wanna take the grand ballroom too but my wedding planner said we need 40 tables. issit true?? i already have 35-38. really hope she let me have the grand ballroom.

I'm new here. I thought of having my wedding in Hyatt. Can anyone recommend me who should I talk to in Hyatt. Any particular sales person that I should see?

hi bugbear,

yup... the's a short 'L'lah, cos the door is not directly in front.. but u are right, the length of the ballroom is still quite a distance...
*stress* hope i don't trip and fall! :P

hi best,

i think u can bargain hard for the grand ballroom... cos u hv to give abit of allowance for increase in no. of tables. ask to sign a min. of 38 or less lor. see whr she allows.

hi sabrina,

i think u can call hyatt's mainline, and see who u get referred to in the sales team..
tts what i did, at least...

Morning Gals...

best, currently, i am looking at ard 42 tables...but according to my coord, he say that i have to meet at least 45 for sat in order to get the entire floor...meaning to use grand ballroom + ballroom1...and they will close up ballroom 2...so now i trying to see what i can do to nego that number down lor.

Hi Sabrina, as what oraia mentioned...u can call the mainline and they will allocate a coordinator to you. I think Hyatt package is quite comprehensive already. The ballroom also very nice.

Oraia...don worry...i am sure u will do just fine!

best: when's ur AD? weekday or weekend? if is weekday, 40 tables for Grand BR will be enuf to secure the place cos 2 tables are reserved. but weekend is min. 45.

oraia: u taking which room? i forgot liao.... hibiscus is the orangi room at 4th floor? very nice and cosy leh...

Hi Moo,

I will be taking the Hibicus Rm. My AD is next year so no experiences to share yet. Why are you considering the camelia rms at all if you have the option of taking the hibicus rm? The camelia rm is made up of 3 meeting rooms and does not have a designated cocktail area right?

Hi Karen...

Who did u have for coordinator? What did u managed to negotitate besides the standard perks? Managed to get complimentary food tasting? or extra barrel of wine? corkage of wine waived?

Heheh...sorry...so many Qs...

Another gals can share their perks with me, pls?

hi karen

cos i may not have enuf tables to fill hisbicus room, thus asking whether any brides take up that lo. the coordinator told me it has the lowest ceiling

haven't seen those function rooms yet.

what makes u choose hibiscus room?

hv u seen goodwood park hotel?

Moo, i have seen goodwood and loved it...it's very cosy! but the down side abt goodwood is that if u have more tables and the tables are along the aisles...those tables will be blocked by the columns...generally, the ballroom is quite nice.

hi bugbear

yes, but i am a bit worried about its de-listing...wonder whether it will affect the management...

wonder how's gwp's service and food too...

hv u chosen your venue?

Hi moo...

Hhmm..i wouldn't know if it will affect, but the last time i went there, was a buffet banquet...so can't really rem abt the service...but food wise ok.

Nope...i have not chosen my venue yet...shortlisted a couple...so now waiting for their wedding fair...

bugbear~ hee! thanks for ur vote of confidence!
try to bargain hard lor.. but if cannot then u may hv to invite 30 more ppl to make up 45 tables heee. it's not that difficult i think.. parents and in-laws will def add more tables later.. and u may sudd hv frens/ colleagues u left out...
i didn't get much perks at all, had to exchange some of my stuff like cards and favours.

circusbugs, me taking SSR.

moo~ what delisting? gwp? i agree w karen camelia may not be a good choice - i recall someone telling me before tt they dun really actively promote that room for weddings i think. cos of the pillars etc.

Oraia...heheh...yah lor...that's what i worry most...nearer the date, they will start 'remembering' that they left this out, left that out...hehh...still, i will try to nego with them for a min of 42 tables lor...42+2...see if they allow me to use grand + br1

Hi bugbear,
My coordinator same as oraia's. got the standard perks lor, they don't want to promise anything like free day use room until nearer the date cos they are not sure of the demand yet. I don't want to pressure my coordinator YET, so I just back down first. I'm glad my date not hot date, so hopefully my guest will be able to find parking more easily, and I will try to get the rooms opp SSR for solemnization.

Hi Moo,
My FH and I (and my mum)love the warm cosy feeling of Hibicus and the chanderliers (like wrong spelling but I don't care, brain cannot work today) are much nicer than those inside SSR or the grand ballroom. Funny leh, I actually asked my coordinator about the ceiling height of SSR and hibicus. I said hibicus like lower hor, she replied actually they are the same but cos Hibicus' warm colour of the wallpaper and the chanderliers are bigger (hang out lower) so give impression that it's ceiling lower than SSR.

my not so close friend who had her wedding at GWP (I not invited, heng ah!) told me that at GWP in anything more than 23.. tables will have to go to the 'corridor area' liao.

hi karen

i hope i won't go beyond 23tables, keeping my fingers cross but my fh likes gwp while i am v greedy, i like both gh and gwp! haha

now torn between e 2hotels...headache man...

did u take the wkend package?

we are probably going to meet Nafisah next week also.
anyone has suggestions/advice on what important things to negotiate for ??

hi bugbear,
wow thats alot more to invite, 3 more tables and running a risk of lossing $$$
Yah precisely, hyatt need 45 tables for wk end thats why we decided to go for wk day. But still wk day need 40 tables which is a bit diff on our side too.

thanks oraia for ur suggestion, i will definitely try to push her to give us the grand ballroom tomorrow.

keep u gals updated!!

hi moo, had been to goodwood park hotel for a wedding dinner but fine the room abit too cramped when there are more tables and the food are not tat fantastic too, service not too good either.

hi bugbear/ best

all the best!

hi karen,

u mean nearer the date can still bug them for stuff like use of day room? hmm... do u girls know if they will charge a cheaper rate for rooms if my helpers want to stay over for the night?

Morning Gals!

Thanks for all the advice. Heheh...i will carry on to bug them further and see what else i can get...Bug bug bug!! :p

Oraia, usually the planners will tell u that extra room night or day room for helpers subject to availability.

Hi oraia,
I asked about free day use room when I first met her, also for free use of meeting room for ROM on AD. She said subject to availability... I not so particular about the location of my ROM... at most do in suite lor (cos weekday mah, only close family and friends, the most 15 pax). So I don't want to pay $500+++ to book one meeting room yet.

You can try asking lar... give you room for 2-3 hours before dinner also better than nothing.

Yah...i think no harm asking lor...can save some cost...

But if u really want to have it in a particular room, then best to book it...cos Hyatt is such a busy hotel...quite risky to go with the 'if available'

managed to book the grand ballroom today. YEAH!!!! Paid the deposit and so not going to think about AD till next yr. Finally settle everything that need to be done.

hi karen/ bugbear,

hmm.. but i think i will reach hyatt quite late in the evening cos my church will prob end about 3+ with reception and all... i think no need day room lah... my bridesmaids can all just crash in the bridal suite heee.

hi best,

congrats!
u settled ur BS liao?

hi oraia,

mine are all MTM, there are 3 gowns altogether. Will be going down on the 4sept 04, that is 2 sat from now to try out my ROM gown with them.

what about u? went for ur first appt already? urs MTM or OTR? how much was ur package?

hi best,

yup, my wedding's this dec...
my gowns are all MTM. pkg ah... 4980 i think before upgrading. but the price is diff now cos BV changed their prices recently.

when's ur ROM?

hi best,

wow! that's really soon! congrats!

hehe... not that excited yet lah. still got 4 more mths to go.. heee...
preps are ok.. creeping along...

hi bugbear,

ya lor... true also, but its like not here not there, u know wat i mean? not near enuff to settle those final arrangements, etc. so still ok lah.

heheh...yeah...now still ok...so u relax now lor...ur gowns and stuffs all ready?? U should have taken ur photos already right? which BS u engaged and which photographer?? U engaging any videographers? Any suggestions? Cheap and good is best for me...heheh...tight budget

i'm new here and have signed up with hyatt recently. my co-ordinator is Angali

now also looking for AD photographer and videographer.....anyone got good recommendations? same as bugbear, cheap and good better due to budget constraint :P