Grand Hyatt Singapore

best, u managed to see the black theme ar? Sigh...the coordinator did not inform me of that. I went to view Hyatt like 1 month ago and i am interested in the black theme (but chinese menu) and asked him to inform me when there is a chance...i want to see if it's too black and gloomy...missed the chance liao!

Oraia, i viewed the grand ballroom, the stamform as well as hibiscus...all 3 having weddings then and all the same look, except different themes. The grand ballroom is the silver while the 2 smaller rooms are using the gold. I personally think the gold theme looks more grand contrast the black deco of the ballroom

wow oraia, i think you got one of the nicest room? i heard that hibisus and sir stamford are the nicest among all
how many tables you going to have?

bugbear, black theme ah.. will it b too dark? chinese pang tang anot? mine got alot of ah pek and auntie.. dunno if they mind anot
but sounds more unique hor..

wah.. 800+ out of budget liao
can only afford weekdays

hey bugbear, i see... so u saw basically most of the rooms.
the gold theme looks nicer in the hibiscus and sir stamford rm i think.. cos both rooms have gold-ish hues.

hihi blur!
heee... personally i liked sir stamford room alot, esp the reception area. it can cater up to 30 tables max, but abit tight, so i think mabbe we'll try and cap it at 27-28.

I am also having my wedding at Grand Hyatt. My AD is on Sept this year.

Been reading the threads and wanted to give my input. (Finally..........)

I went down last week to finalise the decor for the AD and was told by my coordinator that they have changed the themes. She showed me some pictures and told me that the Gold theme is no longer in use.

Basically, they have changed the backdrop, it is no longer the gold cloth draped on some partition, instead, it is now made up of panels of framed white fabric. The gold sashes are now also used only for the VIP tables, the rest of the tables will be kept with white table cloth (but you can change the colour)

I'm not sure when this change commences, but I think you girls should ask them to show you pics for the new themes (Still as nice)

Morning Gals.

Yup yup, i have also seen their new themes...on photos only tho...the stage looks just as good...

Hhmm...does the gold sash applies for alternate chairs currently? Included in the package is it?

I think we can still request for the sash from the coordinator...i heard from the coordinator that we can still discuss with them if we like to have the sash or even the current themes...

But, yes...the new themes will be just as nice.

Venus, will u be using the themes or the current gold/silver theme?

Blur...yah lor...i also scared the black theme will be too black...that's why planning to take a look lor...but just missed it liao...to bring out some colour, i think the have red roses on each table...so think won look so black.

hi venusflytrap,

i jus sign the contract with hyatt and realise that they change the "theme" i think now only got something like black or white.. quite sad abt it.. i think i can only "See" when i go down again to finalise on the deco..

if anyone happen to have pic of new deco.. can share?

saw the new themes on 3rd july when hyatt had a showcase set up for couples to see. it is a more clean and zen-like look but yet the effect is still romantic. the new floral stands are nicer than before (think they have 2 types now), i especially like the cymbidium orchids set up.

sorry did not take any pics that day.

I'm going to use the new theme, but I changed the white table cloths to a vanilla colour.

Like what Karen said, the candlestands are nicer than before. I saw the black theme. But I dun really like it, cos it's too dark.

As for the sash, you can still request, but you would need to pay $2 for each sash.

For the favours, it's currently chocolates, pinapple tarts, photo frames and ehhhh i think cake.

Dun worry, we are all in safe hands, even if Hyatt changes their theme, it will still be nice. They are known for their theming.

well gers, 1 think to conclude from all the post, Hyatt has nice deco and the popular rooms are hibicus and sir stamford?
how abt their coordinators? anyone have prob with them? although i can't ask for any other to serve me, but jus curious

hmm..may i have a vote of reasons y u choose Hyatt? (i wanna convince my FH
) because of nice room? food? convenient? friendly staff? price range?

hi oraia/bugbear

i had seen the set up for their grand ballroom with the black squarish tables. no worries it doesnt look gloomy but look classy instead. but dunno if the elders can get use to the black tables or not.

hi blur, i spoke to one of their wedding planner , Nafisah and she is quite a nice lady to talk and negotiate wif.

i think if i decided to go for hyatt is bcos of their professional service, where everyone is wearing jackets and even their waitresses and waiters are dressed very nicely. food think is not bad and most importantly the price per table is nett and not +++.

yup!
So happy i finally booked Sir stamford room!
=P

the black setting is way too black for the elders to appreciate altho personally, i think it is cool!

I have no idea why I got Angeli instead of nafisah or lea or whoever else that was mentioned in this thread. Anyone had her services before?

Well, I guess the cool part abt Hyatt is you get a branded hotel name at a nett price with excellent service. We don't need to doubt Hyatt's quality of service after all these years, do we?

yah yah agree with u genesisgalasxy!!! Why we like Hyatt is all because it is a branded hotel with a nett price and great service.

just like u find the black settings very cool and nice but my parents and in laws dun like the idea of black at all saying not lucky

to those who had held their wedding in Hibiscus Rm... from ur experience will 26 tables be too squeezy huh??..... really like the rm, but worried too cramp, then not comfortable....

just went down to hyatt to bk Hibiscus rm... happy happy
.. my wedding next yr nov but when i went down to discuss wif coord earlier last wk, both sir stamford and Hisbiscus got tentative booking... make me so stress for the past few days...to think that i thot i very early liao... hehe... at least one thing off my mind...

i jus talked to my coord abt changing the ice-carving to sashes... but he say next yr might be moving toward 'sash-less' themes.. so funny.. anyway got him to put it down as an option...

also besides the above question in the previous post. just wondering if any guest complained that the Hibiscus rm very 'ulu' huh... if go up by escalators, like must walk a long way... sorry very long-winded... juz too excited lah...

hi fong,

had my wedding at hibiscus, but only about 22 tables total.. so there was still a bit of space at the rear of the room.. guess 26 should be still manageble but may be a bit more squeezed. best to check with your coordinator.

for my case, no one complained about the location of the room, think most of them went up by lift instead!

hmm
i wanted hibiscus room but it was a bit too small for my liking. i liked the space of sir stamford better...but for sir stamford, we needed to book 25 tables at least. *cross fingers that no wasted tables next yr*

Hyatt moving towards sashless theme. this has been confirmed. It's a bit old-fashioned they told me. Anyway, the flower theme is very chic and more classy.

No matter what, Trust hyatt coz they've been a highly regarded hotel for so long. They wldnt wanna sabotage that. =p

I just had my banquet at the Hibiscus room on 15 July. I am using the new setup and they look good. I like the new backdrop on the stage. The feedback from my guests on the food and service is very positive. and the suite is GREAT!

Hi BabyG

belated congrats on ur wedding...
jus wondering wats the new setup?...eg the colour theme and decor etc????

Hi Swatch2004

thks for the msg... maybe should specify to the gusets to take lift.. heehee

Hi genesisgalaxy

me like flowers too.. very romantic heehee..
ur wedding next yr too??? when???

hi hi girls,

glad to see this thread so alive these days!

what's the alternative to "sashless" themes? flower deco on chairs?

when are they starting things?

Congrats babyG,

yah u were saying the service was great and so is there one waiter or waitress attach to every table?

What kind of backdrop design did they do for u?

hi blur
issit really possible to have dinner at their garden? issit the waterfall area?

hi best,

hyatt has a garden that can cater for banquet, but it will incur extra cost (think at least 2k the last time i checked!) because they need to secure a back up room for u in case it rains!!

Wow, this thread is alive! and Baby G, you're here too! *hugs*

Hi Fong, my wedding is set in Dec 2005...long way ahead to prepare everything. However, I am extremely fussy in making a choice in everything...so I guess 1 yr is just nice for me? (baby G can testify to that! heh)

Hi Oraia,
the fair on 3 july presented us with a few setups in the various ballrooms and trust me, they all looked GORGEOUS! Hyatt is the first hotel to be using flowers as setups and from what I gather, they may make adjustments to that again next year, if certain constraints permit.

As I was mentioning to babyG in another thread, I am currently thinking of Milan's wedding package w/o its photography. My personal choice of a photographer would be Chris Ling. Total allocated budget: abt 7k. Hope I don't exceed that!

wld gladly accept any kind suggestions or advice in this area!

Btw, Happy National Day!

hi best, swatch is rite, you will need to pay additional of 2k for backup and it's not refundable.. but i did see a pic of the garden settle and it's really romantic
will have to discuss with FH on this and see if he's agreeable..

hi karen!

u oso staying at angsana right? i forgot. heee.
eh..nice and good sunny weather... the service is excellent, but v ex, cos all in USD.

i tried the massage at angsana - feel that the asmara spa at mayang sari is much better, and alot cheaper...

foodwise, err... ate once at the kelong, not bad. if u eat in angsana, it's all USD. so be prepared. heee. u can settle bills in SGD, so no worries....

anything else u want to know?

hi genesis,

thanks for the reassurance! hope the setup will be pretty pretty for our weddings!

guess i'll find out what options i have in oct/ nov...

Hi Fong,

The new setup is what was described by some of the brides here in the previous posts. Bascially now they do not have candles and the stands are different. The flowers are either roses or white orchid plus roses. For me I chose roses as I personally prefer red roses and they match my EG. The backdrop now is wooden frame plus white or pestal colour cloth with lights at the back. For the center piece I chose the 2 long vase with a ball of red roses for the VIP table and two rectangular vase with roses for the guest table. I will try to upload a pic of it when I got the time, it explains better than me... :P

Hi Swatch2004,

Ya, I need to find time to upload them...

Hi Best1208,

I am not sure if there is a waiter/waitress to a table. Maybe one to 2 tables or 1 to each. Not sure, we are too busy to noticed that! My Hubby and I asked our guests and their feedback was good. The backdrop is what I described to Fong.

Hi Genesisgalaxy,

Great to see you here...
Sorry, too busy these days. Need to find some time tonight to reply your mail...

Hi oraia,
So you have tried both Asmara and Angsana's massage and felt that Asmara is better? Me still torn between the 2... I have not book yet cos I scared my 'da yi ma' come. Just took pills to delay it yesterday... but doc said may be too late so no guarantees.

hi genesisgalaxy

me oso prepare quite early oso still got more than a yr.... but its the process... enjoy every min of it... such thing only happen once in a lifetime... so must savour every moment of it... hehe..

Hi BabyG

Thanks for your description.... keep us updated if you have got a chance to upload the pics... thank you in advance.......

hi karen,

yup yup. me tried both heee.
mabbe cos the masseuse tt i got at angsana was not v good. too light! :P barely moved any muscle hahaha. emerged fr the massage w all the knots in my shoulders and back still intact heeee.
but the ambience is nice lah... service is v good also.

alamak.. dayima... then how? reach there then book?

hi oraia,
ya so far still ok... me hoping that the pills will work. My collegue said she took just one day before her trip when she felt cramps starting and it worked for her so I just eat and hope very hard.

hi karen,

is it ur first time trying the pills? got any side effects so far?

me now praying dayima wun clash w wedding.. but i think clashing w honeymoon is inevitable... oh well...

Hi oraia,
ya, my first time. no side effects yet. The doctor told me that should start taking it 5 days before expected date then have guarantee. Actually if you see a doctor early, they can advice whether it is possible to delay it for more than a month... essentially skipping it for both AD and honeymoon. Meanwhile I advice you to keep track of your dates so that you can determine your own cycle.

Angsana's spa is really ex... think will try Asmara first, then if got time and money go for a short massage at Angsana before leaving.

hi karen,

orh.. okok.. me abit apprehensive abt messing up the cycle leh... all these hormones things... dunno wat effects there will be for me. if skin breakout last min, then i'll cry
heee.
better dun lah heee. *scared*

yup.. angsana quite ex. asmara's quite good
go try it! heee. i think the cheapest and ok-looking massage is about USD65++.

yah lor...me also scared later although that thing will stop...but will have pimple outbreak or not? but it's really very attractive to have it delayed...then can really enjoy the wedding and honeymoon.

U ladies going for honeymoon straight after ur AD?

oraia,
maybe I lucky cos never had much facial problems, never really care about my face until lately... occasionally got pimples but are small ones that can be covered up or dried up fast with oxy.
maybe you can speak to a gynae about this, they have different brands of pills, some maybe be better. you still got about 4 months, still got a bit time to experiment..

bugbear,
honeymoon for my FH to plan when nearer to AD. mine's next dec

oraia,
did you go for the Asmara spa with yr HB? If yes did you go pavillion or the double room? And did you book early? cos me decide to take it already but because of the dayima problem, if come then cancel have to pay 50%, so still puttin it on hold. Hope that this week less people...

hi karen,

lucky you!
well.... most of my frens tell me not good to meddle with 'nature" leh heee.. see how lah. my mum also doesn't encourage it.

oh yes, we had to book the pavilion cos there was no space - fully booked. only upgrading to pavilion was the only choice.

bugbear~ you oso scared of taking the pills ah? high-five!

yeap... will prob go away aft the hotel stay lor cos we hv 2 nites.
how abt u?

morning gals!!

Karen...lucky u...no facial probs

oraia...me AD also next yr...but depends if i have spare cash to go immediately or not lor...hehhe

morning!

bugbear~ save hard hard now.
it'll be nice to go off somewhere even if it's just a simple stay nearby at tioman or bintan, or KL/ genting or what. just somewhere lah.
try ok? hehe.

oraia...of course will try...got $$ will go far far...no $$ then go near near lor...as u mentioned, KL or genting also good... :D

Where u planning to go?

bugbear,
me ah... eh... prob phuket... then hongkong.
haven't really confirmed yet. hee.
praying hard the avian flu will go away!

had been super busy lately and WOW now all of u were already talking about Honeymoon when i am still vex about my AD vennue.

have been trying to contact one of the wedding planner in Hyatt but she seems abit attitude. wonder if anyone has better wedding planner to introduce? asap k!!

hi karen , had been to asmara spa too and the best thing is that u and ur bf can do it in the same open air room or enclosed room.

yah oraia, agree wif u must save hard hard. as long as out of singapore going anywhere is fine.
i never expect getting married actually need so much $$$$$.

anyone booked camelia or hibsicus room?can share your experience? n is the bridal suite v big? did u all get to see the bridal suite on your 1st appt w your wedding coordinator?

tnx

hi best,

hehe.... ur AD still far away mah!

which planner are u referring to? hmm... most of them are quite nice, but i think it's kinda hard to get some of them tho' - they run ard alot...

hi oraia
maybe ur right , she must be too busy running ard so quite diff to get her. sigh!!!

my wedding planner is Nafisha, what abt urs?
good or not??