Grand Hyatt Singapore

Hi amkx2,
Didn't you see the actual place before signing your contract? Anyway, there are tv for those that are blocked by the pillars and the deco is good enough already.

Your date is sept this year? Maybe you can check with your coordinator nearer the date to see if the grand ballrooms have been taken up. Then see whether you can just top up a bit to transfer there instead. Cos the Grand is actually made up of 3 partitioned rooms, so if really no one book, may be able to open up 2 and fit about 40-45 tables.

hi ladies, i am lost in considering venues for my AD
hope can get some idea here.. i'm currently consider hyatt as my first choice and would like to hear some comments from you all? how's the ambience? food?
i hear that sir stamford and hibicus rooms are the popular ones? i'm thinking of having 20-25 tables? will it b too few for the 2 rooms?

hi blur,

hyatt's hibiscus and SSR are v cosy.
the ceiling's not high, if you don't mind that, but i think the place emits a v warm kind of feeling.
you hv to go down and see when there's a wedding setup.... makes alot of diff when u see a plain rm and a wedding setup, esp for SSR!

foodwise, i heard fr frens tt hyatt's food is v good. dunno leh.
20-25 tables is just right for hibiscus i think. SSR's min is 25.

hope that helps!

Hi Blur...good to see u in this thread as well...

Yup, oraia is right...Hyatt's ballroom, tho ceiling is low, but it gives off a warm, cosy grand feeling...when the ballroom is all done up, it's really very nice. I think it's even nicer than Marriott...taking into consideration that marriott ballroom has high ceiling.

hiya oraia, bugbear
may i know the reason y high/low ceiling is important? is it because it'll look more grand?

as for deco, do we need to bring our florist or all will b done by hyatt?
do they have individual reception area?

are there any additional cost?

hi blur,

just to supplement what oraia said, the food at hyatt was nice!! that's the comment i got from most of my guests, and one of my halal friend commented that most of the time, when she went to other hotel for banquet, they are kind of chin chai on halal food.. but the one at hyatt is actually good... according to her..

regarding to deco, i just went with what hyatt provided, added nothing on top of that, and i think it was good enough...

and yes, both hibiscus and SSR room have it's own reception area...

Blur, Hyatt's deco is quite nice already...and they have different themes for u to choose from...if you would like somthing different, u can always take to the coordinator or the florists. Sometimes they do not charge any additional...depends on how different u want it to be.

High/low ceiling...most of the time, higher ceiling will give off a more grand feel..but i personally feel that Hyatt ballrooms are very nice...and they all have their own foyer...

hmm..i haf another qn.. let's say the hotel is going to undergo some renovation, do u gers think it's still alright to book them in advance? or should we wait till renovation ends to see how the new place is? but i'm quite worried by then the date i wan will b taken already..

i've also heard that if it's on weekday, sometimes fewer guest will turn up than expected cause sometimes traffic jam and late from work then they jus dun attend already

means i should cater lesser than i expected?

Blur...tendency if u wait till they finish their reno, the package price will also likely to increase...Oriental is an example...their package increased by quite a fair bit leh...

Yah...a lot of ppl also tell me that weekday attendance might be lower...but nowadays attending weekday wedding is so common...so i think most important is to get rsvp lor...even 2 days before or wot...maybe u can do 1 more round of check

hi blur,

usu aft reno the ballroom will look nicer i think. so no worries abt tt. u cld try doing a tentative booking...and at least, if there are ppl who are interested in the ballroom on ur date, the coord will usu call and ask u whether u are still keen...

of cos the later u wait, the more u risk ending up with no venue, esp on a 'hot' date!

which other hotel are u int in at the mo?

Hi Blur...i meant to say that if u really confirmed on that hotel..then go for it...at least u can lock the lower prices...and usually after reno, the ballroom will look better...

Maybe u can do wot oraia suggest...do a tentative booking first..then if so happen there is another couple interested in ur date...the coordinator will call u to confirm if u still want the date.

thanks oraia, bugbear
feel so much at ease
will most prob do a booking once it's open

oraia ah, not eyeing any other venue yet.. i'm selecting hyatt mainly because i've a fren working there
can leave everything to her and i dun need to worry much

heard that their food is good too

but i'll need to know their pricing for that time..in case it's out of my budget then got to find other places

any nice place to recommend?

bugbear ah, so you settled for hyatt? hope we won't b fighting for same day

hi blur.

u're welcome! u mean hyatt's gg thru' reno soon? which room? cos u mentioned abt hotel reno mah... *confused* heee.

glad to hear food's good! phew! our folks quite particular abt that....

other nice places ah? depends on ur budget lor. then we can help u brainstorm heee.

Blur...i haven settled anything yet...which month u looking at? Don worry...cos i will most probably be taking the grand ballroom...cos i have abt 40-42 tables

Yah...u mentioned abt reno...is hyatt going thru some reno?

I heard from the coord that the price is most likely to stay the same for 2005...but may or may not increase for 2006...so if u wan 2005 date, the price should be the same as now

Me also glad to hear that the food of Hyatt is good...

Yup yup...if u need any alternatives, can let us know ur budget...i do have a list of hotels
Your budget should be about $800 before +++ right?

*faint* bugbear ah, my budget not so high la.. only 700+... so i think can only target weekday

eh...now comes another qn.. lets say now i only cater for 20-25 tables.. but by then i need more than that how?? still can rite??

yup, hyatt food is good, heard quite afew comments liao.. so you gers can fang(4) xin(1) liao

no leh.. mine is 2006.. my fren say i KS.. cannot book yet
she'll update me when it's ready for booking..

hi people..

so sad.. i may have to give up hibiscus room as my no. of table may fall below 20... is there any other smaller function rooms that is nice and hold ard 16 tables? helllpppp~~!

gnu, u booked e same room too? only magnolia room or both?
mine is both rooms on both side of the passageway.... thus the passageway becomes part of the Ballroom

karen, we booked without much observation as the other room was occupied.....in a hurry too cos we left with 5 mths then, so very diff to find gd location at resonable price....provided its the other ballroom instead of my current one.
thank you, will take note of your suggestion to ask the co-ordinator to look out for the grand ballroom....but i only ve less then 40 tables.

Hi hyatt brides,

i am considering hyatt to be my AD but i saw smth like "renovation"

does that means they are going to renovate their ballrooms??

just went down to hyatt yesterday and saw the set up of the grand ball room and think that it was just so nice and perfect with the right ambience. think hyatt has ballrooms that are unique from the rest of the hotels.

Phew......tot they are really going to reno their ballrooms.

went fullerton today and saw one of their ballroom tat looks cosy and classy. but think that ballroom is too small to fit ur 16 tables. cause the max they can fit is 10 tables.

think marina mandarin and meritus madarin have ballrooms that can fit 16 tbs.

sorry sorry.. think made alot of ppl worried when i brought up the reno issue
dun worry
i am just asking a "what if" question
but i am sure even if so, i will b for the better.. no one will reno to make it look worst rite?

hi blur,

hehe, ur mention of "renovation" struck fear in everyone's hearts! :P

heee....

hi janey,

errm.. u can still use the hibiscus room if u fall short of the minimum no. of tables, but i think u may have to pay abit more per table to make up for the difference...

don't think grand hyatt has any smaller function rooms tho'....

hiya janey, just checked out that Camellia Room does cater for 15 Tables - 18 Tables. maybe you wanna check with your coord?

oraia ah.. i think i better not ask anymore qns liao
*zip*

hi amkx2,
Oh, when I went down to see the Hibicus ballroom, my coordinator did not tell me about the other weddings going on but I went around myself to see a garden soleminization and the grand ballrooms. I ask one of the banquet staff about the grand ballroom cos I noticed it was not fully opened up. He told me the set up for that night was only 32 tables. So you can try asking but dunno whether they will require you to top up or not.

Morning Gals!!

Blur...sorry ar...mixed up ur budget

Don worry...so long as the ballroom can accomodate ur numbers...the coordinators will be more than happy to increase the table number for u...so how? confirmed HYatt already? I same as u...max budget of 800nett...so unless Hyatt comes up with a wonderfu promo...else i can only look at weekday...Hyatt weekday menu is actually quite good.

best1208...i totally agree with u. Hyatt ballrooms...be it the grand or the smaller ones...all gives off this cosy grand feeling right? eventhough the ceiling height is low...but the ballroom is just perfect...and i find the deco of hyatt very nice also.

hello oraia & blur..

thankz for the info.. think i will talk to my coordinator again coz my FH n i really like hibiscus room.. and blur.. at first i really tot hyatt is going thru renovation but when i read again.. i realise it is "wat if".. hehe

morning... err.. afternoon girls!

heee, bugbear u are so cute.. u are really in love w hyatt hor?

janey~ no probs.. yeah, do talk to them again and bargain hard for as low a price as possible for use of hibiscus room. actually ur guestlist may increase as ur wedding approaches, so it's good to hv some spare tables...

hehe bugbear seems like u more or less confirm there liao hor.. me too.. provided their weekday one dun increase too high.. weekend is out of my budget liao

janey ah.. no choice leh.. cannot bold my "what if"

hehehe bugbear, good lah.. u gg for the grand ballroom hor?

are u gg for the floral stands?

blur~ when can u start booking for 2006 ah? nx yr ah? or dec this yr?

i like the fact tt hyatt's prices are nett...

heee... blur, my AD this dec

but can still update me when it's open lah heee. me will be happy
for u hehehe!

i think they'll prob allow u to book end of this yr lah. which part of 2006 is urs?

Morning Gals!!

Blur, no lah...me not say confirmed yet...cos i also waiting for Merchant Court to release their packages as well as their new theme lor. but i am still keeping hyatt in view of their ballroom and their nett prices...heheh...but like u, i can only look at hyatt weekday...weekend is out of my budget as well

Keep me posted as to when we can start booking for 2006 ok? thanks.

wow seems like all of us like hyatt ballroom lots!! i should be more or less confirm with Hyatt too.
so who had already book with Hyatt and what kinds of extra perks did Hyatt give other than the normal complimentary stuffs??

best, u taking the hyatt weekday or weekend? Any idea if hyatt is going to have a wedding fair next yr? me stil hopping that Hyatt wedding fair will throw in like 10% discount off package price...hahah...

Hi Bugbear,
actually hyatt already had a wedding fair this june/july so not too sure if they will be having next year.
and during the wedding fair not really much of a discount. they just discount $1000 but no complimentary beer and must hold wedding by march 2005.

hiya~ me 98% will be having at hyatt loh.. save all the trouble.. if FH wans other place, then he got to find himself

oraia AD this dec ah~
*xian mu* finish all the preparation dun need to worry liao loh
paiseh to mention.. but i only eyeing sept 2006.. now doing homework consider very KS

blur~ heee. yup this dec! no need to xian mu lah.. ur turn will soon come!
wah, u really v hardworking! start ur research so early!!!!

me only booked ev thing and started late last yr... and i thot i was early! pengz.

Morning Gals!!

Hehhe...Blur...i sama sama as u...me looking at early 2006...but have not decided on Hyatt or other hotels yet. Still waiting for some hotels to release their end 05 or 06 packages

ya oraia, bugbear more hardworking ah.. i think she even went to the ballrooms to view already.. i haven't leh.. FH lazy dun wanna go
but i will b "meeting" my fren at hyatt this weekend

hi oraia, so ur having ur AD this dec. so which ballroom did u book? since u booked last yr, does that mean ur package is cheaper compared to 2004 package? so are u going for wk day or wk end package?

hi blur,

heeee.... shd go view the ballrooms w the wedding setup to get a good idea of what u will be getting.

fell in love w the set up heee...

this weekend shd hv wedding lah. go take a look

hi best!

yup... sir stamford room. errm.. how much is the 2004 pkg ah?
mine's on a sunday.

Morning!!

Oraia, the sun 2004 package starts from 848nett...this is provided u meet the min tables...else i think it's 20nett more...

Blur, u are right...i went to view Hyatt already...weekends nothing to do...just hop by and see see look look...u really should go...cos looking at photos or imagining is no good...must go there and feel...heheh

hi oraia,

it is the price that bugbear had stated in her message.

yah u were right bugbear, after going down hyatt to have a look , fell in love with the ballroom. went down 2 weeks ago to see the set up. was a very special set up with black squarish table and a western food menu for the chinese wedding couple. was so classy, stylish and simply fusion.

hi bugbear/ best

i see... think the price didn't not change. mine's 868 nett. min 25 tables.

best~ which room did you see the set up for? grand ballroom?