it's better to an chuang nearer to the AD cos after an chuang, no 1 other than than the couple is allowed to enter the room. The couple is allowed to enter but they cannot sit or lie on the bed. Mine is 1 day b4 AD...
Hi bugbear... to make it simple, yr parents jus hv to go to those stall tat sell those guo da li stuff(chinatown hv quite a few) n they will tell yr parents wat to get. It's more or less comes in a set regardless of dialects. Of cos there will b some optional items which is upto u whether u wan anot. Jus like the musical box. We didn't get it cos find it useless. Than yr parents oso need to get 2 bottle of orange juices(eg.F&N orange). Yr parents oso need to buy pillos, bolsters n bedsheet cover for yr new bed which is to b brougt over during guo da li.
Yr hubby parents will hv to bring over the Pin Jin, 2 bottles of hard liquor, number of box of cakes yr parents wans for the relatives, oranges, number of cans of pig trotters, etc... yr hubby can visit this shop call Gim Thye at sembawang there i tink. They will oso advise yr in laws wat to get.
My hubby came wif his bro n an auntie during guo da li. We exchange the liquor wif the orange juice, kept a portion of the pin jin n gave a portion back for every items they gave. After the guo da li, my parents n my uncle went out to give invites n cakes to the relatives.
Long story hor... but tis is oredi the cut-short version...
It really depends on how traditional yr parents wan it to b... my parents is those qin cai wan so the lesser thing the better...