Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

extension in kyoto will b free n easy... so hv to do some homework 1st...
but lucky i got col in osaka so he'll bring us ard when we r in osaka...

Wah!! Yukie...Japan is wonderful! I think it's a great place for HM. What is your package like? Can share with me? I also looking at Japan, Korea...but not too sure if it's going to be too cold cos i only going in the last week of Oct.

Milo...take care of yourself leh...drink more water.

yukie, are u the scenery person and the cold weather person...

me the more Disney Land, Disney Sea person. Went to tokyo 3x.. So had fun in disneyland 3x and disney 1x... heh.. if u are the little kid person in u one ah.. tokyo best..central lor.. take bullet train go everywhere in japan..
no lah.. plane lah...

Milo, wat happened??? down with wat???

Me like all kind n types of tour... i like to experience diff kind of lifestyle n c different things...
Will visit tyo for my next trip to japan cos japan too big to cover in a short time...

Hi Ice... me likes beaches too...
i'm a all rounder...
would luv to go maldives or mauritius 1 of tis days...

too many places i wanna go... so hv to plan 1 by 1...

Hi Bugbear... me most probably will take up CTC pkg which hv 1nite stay in osaka. Pkg to hokkaido is abt the same for all agency... ard 2k excl tax... Hong tai got 1 korea pkg not bad... u try too look through the news paper...

hi gals thanks ...mi receive all ur care and concern...i abit feverish...

yukie...so nice goin japan..ohaiyo

yeap its true to wait for the natas fair...
they got more savings...

hi hi gals!

Yukie...okie...will check out the weather as well.

Gals, when comes to printing cards, how many extras should i print to be save? Now i catered about 40 cards extra and about 60 inserts extra...enough? I scared later guest list increase how?

purchase more card if needed lor... if not then see who got any cards left... get from them lor.. no choice liao mah....

Mgt, don think i can get from others, cos i did not use the hotel's card. I was thinking, worst case scenario is to go out and get those general invites for the last minute increase :p

Hi duckling...the waterfront package that i have is the old one...i think the 2006 one is out already. Alternatively, u can write to the coord to request?

Wah... the whole weekend 0 posts received!!! HAHAH...this thread is dead during the weekends!!!! hahahah....

Duckling, u can call the hotel and they will refer u to the banquet services and u can request them to mail u their pakcages...

Bugbear, i think so lor..
worst case situation lor...

Hi bugbear,
i printed 300 cards and 310 inserts for 400 tables. So far so good, shld have extras ;p

Yukie,
u going to Japan for HM? nice nice... romantic place it wld be.... been there twice with my family when i was younger. Both during Winer! love it there... was hoping to master my japanese before going back, but din manage to finish my Jap course... hehee... Think i shall go back during Spring time with hubby to see the cherry blossoms...

the 1st msg for the weekend.. congrats odiey
hehe... weekend blues... hehe... simply no messages during the weekend...

ladies, i am going for my 1st meeting with my BS!! yeah... Should have MTM or just OTR?? my package is MTM for WG and EG... my niece said some of her friends, said it is safer to get OTR ones... what do u ladies think???

morning gals!!

Heheh...mgt, weekends these days for me is busy shopping...trying to look for stuffs...heheh...i managed to get those traditional shoes for kua...heheh...not ex...quite cheap

Odiey...u have 40 tables and you printed 300? So far so good? Hhmm...i have 50 tables...think maybe i should max out whever cards the hotel can provide me...i am very prone to writing errors...so i'd better print more inserts...

MGT, which BS u confirmed? Personally, i also feel that OTR is the safest...cos u get to try it on and see if it fits...then again, MTM is very fitting to your body....so best fit is to try OTR designs, then do MTM...heheh...

hi hi ladies...a qs...
have u gals heard about buying those red lamps for the room? That lamp is to buy 1 or 1 pair? any idea?

Mgt, I'm thinking of doing MTM cos so far it's quite diff to find gowns that fit me.. And I agree with bugbear, I basing my decision on what kind and fit of the OTR gowns and then MTM

morning pretty btb..

i was shopping for bedsheet during weekend..hv not found any yet..

bear its 1 pair

hehe

i m goin for my first meeting wif bs this wed..
abit the slow for mi..nov wedding..

my is one OTR and MTM..tinking of MTM EG..
Wat colours will look gd for EG? any suggestion gals

mgt, think that mtm's risk lies in that you cannot see what the gown looks like till completed. So like what bugbear and ice say, choose an OTR design you like first, then MTM based on that. Also, heard that MTM tends to surface a lot of hidden costs like beading, lace, etc. So better to check and double check with your BS that they are not charging yuou any extra...

Yup... Totally agree with Sherl.. just get them to show you a gown with beads/lace included and another gown with top-ups for beads/lace. You'll be able to see then difference then!

Hi hi gals... me was busy over the wkend...
sat was doin last min check out for my guo da li stuff n making sure all my papa n mama invites is in order. It was so fun on sun...
quite a few of my relative came over our hse early in the morning to help out n chat chat... haha... really got the feel of getting married when my hubby arrive wif all the stuff wif his bro and an auntie!

Hihi mgt... usually they do not charge extra for beading n lace. Unless u r hving yr whole dress covered wif lace or beading...

Show the designer the type of design u like... tat way yr mtm gown won't go wrong...

hey, anyone taking the Grand Ballroom? What do you think of the new look for the garden, with the bright white, blue or purple lights? I personally hoped for yellow but no hope with those immensely strong floodlights...hotels really have no taste sometimes...

Yukie.. can feel u r really getting excited.. happy for ya.. i'm sure u cant wait for ur big day to cme hee

btw gals, my FH called Zephyr n asked if it's possible to gif tics for the upcomin wedding fair but she say cant leh.. hav to pay.. damn sianz

Dorami, UOB cardholders got discount of $5, so it's $23 per couple, if you got UOB card...

Will get my FH to call our coord one of these days...

hi verie, most of us here are taking the grand ballroom but some (like me) actually have no clue what the garden really looks like coz we've never really seen it lit up.... heheheheh...

Its alive!!! the thread is alive agaiN!! haha..

Yup, gals, i actually tried on some gowns and roughly know what i want liao.. my designer also knows wat suits me lor.. so, quite happy with that for the time being...

prob MTM both my EG and WG lor.. copy designs from the OTR ones 1st.. heheh

Yukie, u must had lots of fun leh..
so exciting.. got 11months more for me.. hehe....

Verie, i will be taking the grand ballroom, havent seen the latest set up at the moment.. but i think should be nice lah..
havent seen.... will pop by to see it sometime...
maybe sept 5th..

yapu dorami... me n hubby starting to feel excited now...
now waiting for another 3 weeks to cfm the final attendance n to tone up at the same time..

btw, i'm goin to accompany my col to view the Galleria Ballroom tonite. I've oredi seen it last sat when i went down to cfm my menu, type of table cloth, etc... small but quite cosy n pilarless...
anybody taking tat ballroom? Any extra perks to share...?

hehe
so good to hear from gals...

wah yukie's heart must be beating alot faster nw..hehe :o

hi sherl..r u talking abt the wedding fair in the coming aug05?

hey guys, do take a look at the garden if you are having the L-shaped march in...it's pretty bright with the floodlights now, They even can do interchanging lights but my fiance thought it would look like a KTV lounge....why cant they just light it up like a nice moody garden? hmmmm...maybe the white lights save electricity....fairylights damn ex..hahahha

Morning gals!!

Thanks for hte advice. will prepare 1 pair.

Yukie...what needs to be done during GDL? What did you do? BTW, what needs to be done during the An Chuang? Any idea?

So fast hor...another 1+month and it's your AD already!

Milo
did you get any dates from the shifu for the wedding? for mine, the shifu gave me the GDL and An chuang date when i went to see him. Mine happened to be the same day for GDL and An chuang. Some ppl do An Chuang one day before the wedding. hope this helps.

dorami, milo,

I shld be confirmed going. Just a matter of getting down to getting the tickets. Feeling a bit lethargic lately, hahaha. What about you gals?

thanks odiey..
the shifu i went gave mi the same day for GDL n An chuang. i was wori as my mum keep saying it shld be 2 different days.

sherl, dorami
i shld be goin. as i need to book the ballroom. hw u gals get the tickets?

Hi milo, my GDL and An Chuang is 2 different dates. GDL is about 3 weeks before wedding and An Chuang i think is 3 days or something like that...can't remember the exact date

it's better to an chuang nearer to the AD cos after an chuang, no 1 other than than the couple is allowed to enter the room. The couple is allowed to enter but they cannot sit or lie on the bed. Mine is 1 day b4 AD...

Hi bugbear... to make it simple, yr parents jus hv to go to those stall tat sell those guo da li stuff(chinatown hv quite a few) n they will tell yr parents wat to get. It's more or less comes in a set regardless of dialects. Of cos there will b some optional items which is upto u whether u wan anot. Jus like the musical box. We didn't get it cos find it useless. Than yr parents oso need to get 2 bottle of orange juices(eg.F&N orange). Yr parents oso need to buy pillos, bolsters n bedsheet cover for yr new bed which is to b brougt over during guo da li.

Yr hubby parents will hv to bring over the Pin Jin, 2 bottles of hard liquor, number of box of cakes yr parents wans for the relatives, oranges, number of cans of pig trotters, etc... yr hubby can visit this shop call Gim Thye at sembawang there i tink. They will oso advise yr in laws wat to get.

My hubby came wif his bro n an auntie during guo da li. We exchange the liquor wif the orange juice, kept a portion of the pin jin n gave a portion back for every items they gave. After the guo da li, my parents n my uncle went out to give invites n cakes to the relatives.

Long story hor... but tis is oredi the cut-short version...

It really depends on how traditional yr parents wan it to b... my parents is those qin cai wan so the lesser thing the better...

thanks alot gals...
wah yukie veri informative ..
hmm.. my an chuang and GDL is the same day and one week ahead of my AD..hopefully tings will turn out fine ...

Yukie...immediately after GDL on the same day give out cakes ar? MY GDL is on a Fri...hhmm...can wait till Sat/sun to give out the cakes?

u had your GDL at ur own new love nest? so your parents and hubby all bring the stuffs to your own hse izzit?

Hhmm...GDL MIL not involved izzit? Only hubby and an auntie (act as the mei puo) izzit? Hhmm...interesting :p

Har? Only after GDL then can send invites ar? oops...i have overseas guests...how?

My GDL only 3 weeks before...

BTW, Yukie, i heard my friend say that since our wedding is less than 3 months apart, i cannot go crash your AD...not good for both couples...I dunno if this is true, but guess it's better to be safe than sorry

But send me your photos k? heheh...thanks thanks.

dorami,

no la, I haven't even asked my coord yet, that's what I mean by I gotta get down to even starting to get the tix... hahahahha. If cannot get free ones then no choice gotta pay...

If u don give out on the same day, than where u wannna keep yr cakes...!!!! It's okie if yrs is biscuits like mine. I requested to hv biscuits, those traditional type, got a few items in a box...
usually ppl give invites to relatives on the same day. frends can give out some other days...

Haha... my luv nest not built finish yet lah...

Guo Da Li stuff hv to b brought fm yr in-law hse to yr parents hse, exchange, than the rtn portion yr hubby n the auntie will bring back to yr in law hse...

It's okie if u can't come...
i'll sure send u the photos...