Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

Sherl,

my coord told me the corkage for both 30L and 20L is 200+++ leh.. hmmm... that's why we calculated and would rather bring in an additional barrel of beer.. hmmm... different coords different story eh..

Bugbear, how much was ur corkage?? when u signed ur contract, the corkage should be inside also right.. check thru...

Wah.. After reading all your posts I am very sacred it did not occur to me to budget for cockage for beer. I though it will be waived if you negotiated for free cockage?

Hi iceglacier... there's waiver of corkage for wine, champange, liquor n beer. So hv to read the contract carefully... wat they hv promise u, better hv them indicated in the contract.

Agree wif mtg. Different co-or diff story. What tis co-or promise u, u might not get it when u change co-or. My previous co-or hv promise me something but now she hv left the hotel, the current 1 say no. Sianz....

Wah, mgt, like that cannot, then i must scold my coord liao. hahahhaa... but i thought for this kind of pricing stuff answer should be standard?

ice,

like what yukie pointed out, hard liquor, wine, champagne and beer are different categories. Hard liquor consists of stuff like martell, VSOP, vodka, whisky, etc.

So you gotta check and see that your contract includes waiver for all four categories of alcohol, if you were promised that.

for my package, there's corkage waive for wine and hard liqour.. for beer there's no waiver. that's why its 200+++ for either a 20L or a 30L Nowadays, pple hardly drink hard liqour that's why they allow free corkage lor.. the pple who drink those are prob our seniors...

ladies..

read the contract again.. ask ur coords to put it down black and white with signatures and all.. so in case ur original coords decided to quit, u have somthing to back u up with.

my coord was nice, watever we changed in the contract, she admended and signed. So there's proof and no other coords and change it.
yupp...

Mgt, I think my package is the same as yours.. only waiver for wine and hard liqour... I didn't know about the beer thing.

Yup ladies, better run through the contract many times! I though I was very detailed already, but apparently the beer thing didn't occur to me at all.

this beer thing also didn't occur to me. my FH was the one who asked for the beer corkage to be included in the contract. I didn't know that there's corkage for champange also...

So does anyone need extra beer?? i got lobang.. never tried b4 but i can give u the address to the place.. $270+++ ..they sell tiger beer i think.. and a 30L barrel is very small.. 1000x smaller than i thought..can be transported easily. just put at the back of the car, in the boot.. just one seat is enough..
its really small!

oh ya.. anyone getting cakes for relatives?? going for the traditional cream cakes (yummy) or the latest butter/marble cakes?? anyone got lobang for cream ones?? the super traditional ones..

so does that mean if we bring in beer from outside and pay corkage it will probably cost the same anyway? yeah, i guess 30litres wasn't like the huge barrels you see in irish pubs that they use as tables right??? hahahahha

haven't figured out whether to serve wine n beer...guess i will have to make the decision soon.

Morning Gals,

Nope, my contract did not state the corkage charge
I understand of the corkage is same as Yukie...different price for different barrel...that's why after calculation, it's cheaper to get from hotel. Usually, hotel will put corkage so high that it;s not worth getting your own.

Ice, u must read your contract carefully...cos if corakge is waived for beer, it will state very clearly. Usually, contract will only waive off hard liqour, champange, wine (if negotiated for it).

Martha...hahah...no no...definitely not such a big barrel. it's kind of small...30l serves about 90 glasses only and each glass is about 330ml

morning all...

well, in my contract, the beer corkage was stated..my calculations said its cheaper to get beer from outside.. save abt $80 to $90
like i said b4.. diff coords, diff stories..
and its the same for 20L or 30L..

b4 i saw the 30L barrel, i thought it was like those in the pubs..the huge ones.. haha..after i've seen it.. damn! how silly can i get! hhahaha

bugbear, i havent seen or heard anyone serving champange...how much is corkage for cham anyway..

Hey girls, I attended a wedding dinner last night and met one of my BF's colleagues who mentioned that he thinks that GCW is the best wedding he has ever been to! And he mentioned that he found the food there the best too! So kinda set my heart at ease a little. I think like what you ladies mentioned, food is still a very subjective topic..

Bear... very sian.. think I will kena the beer cockage... Tot i covered all bases already!

Hi girls.... do u knw where to get those really traditional biscuits for Guo Da Li? Not those big round 1. I 1 those tat hv a few different type in a box. Think got peanut sweet 1...

ice! good to hear the good reviews about the food. Yeah, i think food taste is very subjective...don't worry...i heard more good reviews than no good reviews for GCW food and ambience. Don't worry too much k...i will definitely update u gals after my food tasting. But have to be patient huh...my food tasting is sometime mid Aug :p

Mgt, good for you that your contract covers all these. So it's cheaper to get the 30l in this case...i will also go check with my coord again about the beer corkage. BTW, did you check with your beer supplier about delivery charges and setup costs? Is there any? If there is, then might not be any cheaper right? My friend told me that delivery charge is about $30.

Yukie...for these traditional cakes, have u tried Chinatown area? I know of this bakery somewhere at bukit timah area there...opposite beaty world shopping. The shop sells those 10-piece cream cakes for wedding and i think also have those peanut/sesame candies...

Okie bugbear, tks for the info...

Jus wanna check any1 of u hving Alvin as co-or?
How do u gals find him? Me personally feel tat he not very flexible compare to my previous co-or...

ICe!!! this is a relief man! ha.. yup.. i have also heard more good comments than bad abt GCW...

Martha,
maybe its just that evening that the food suck a little...

Bugbear,
actually for 1barrel or 2, we can get it ourselves leh.. then just pass it to your coord can already. Coz they will have to serve the complimentary beer first and they will have the thing to dispense the beer liao.. setup, dun have to pay liao lor... delivery, just ask any of ur friends with car, or if u got car, just go down collect and go lor..
beer can go on consignmnet according to the guy my FH spoke to..if open, chaarge lor... corkage also open then charge.

Yukie,

My coord is Alvin. He's been handling my account all along, so I cannot really compare.
Didn't manage to negotiate for much extra, so I dunnoe if that's to do with him, his own power in the dept, or hotel policy, but found him to be very accomodating and patient. FH and I practically re-drafted the entire contract and made many many changes (at least 3 major ones) but he was very obliging all the way, so quite impressed. Who was your previous coord??

ice, that is one of the best pieces of news I've heard all week. Thanks!!! Been running into a lot of trouble looking for a BS, so good to hear that at least something for my wedding seems to be going the right way.

Hi mgt...

yeah, if just buying 1-2 is ok to deliver ourselves...but cos i am planning to serve other type of beer, so may not be able to use the tap...as GCW serves Tiger.

Yukie...my coord is also Alvin...i find him patient, but kind of 'stingy'...perks quite difficult to negotiate...heheh

Sherl, how's your BS shopping?

Bugbear,

Frankly, I hate BS shopping. Dun like to deal with pushy salespeople, and each sales enquiry takes like, two hours... very tiring. Now down to maybe two or three choices, but now for my top choice there's a rumour that the MUA/also the main coord is leaving, so quite at a loss as to what to do... The other choice has management problems, so a bit unstable, and price a bit out of our budget. Third place is stable, but dun like the styling and photos, very Taiwanese... Can't wait to sign somewhere, ANYWHERE, and get it over with... sigh...
Which BS are you with? Are they good/price reasonable?

Sherl..when is ur AD? take your time...slowly find...don fret. BS shopping is just part and parcel of the wedding planning road...and most impt is to enjoy every single bit of the planning process...

I am with Flamingo. U interested in looking at that? I can help u make an appt with Shirley. Shirley is very nice and friendly...and never pushy. email me: [email protected]

hi Sherl,

my BS is with GHA, the tampinese branch... quite nice services also... they let my niece and me try on the wedding gowns.. to let us know which type of gown we suit...

bugbear,
how come u want to serve different types of beer?? and not stick to one leh? wil be troublesome for u leh..sourcing ard and all.. hmmmm... i will serve just 1type of beer and 1type of wine... easier... eh.. during ur AD, can drop by the hotel to peep or not ah??
OCT rite...
can??

Hi mgt, hee... tink my wedding is earlier... 5/Sep.
If u r interested, u r most welcome to dropby!

But it's a monday.

Bugbear, tats how i feel lor... abit stingy n go by the book... other than tat he's okie lah... only met him once.

Thanks Bugbear, any idea what price Flamingo's basic package starts at? I think their gowns quite nice, but if I'm not wrong it's a bit beyond my budget also...
mgt, I never consider GHA, coz heard from my colleague it's quite ex... but his photos from there came out very nice!

Yukie, Bugbear, I was wondering if I couldn't negotiate for much due to lack of bargaining power (since I took the wedding show package). Haha.... But maybe it's due to hotel policy constrint also? Was told by one of my friends that Millenium Grp's management is quite inflexible.

Yukie... so can drop by hor...
yeah.. KPO a little so i can make my night super special...5th Sept... Monday... what time can i drop by?? anytime??

bugbear, can drop by urs also or not ah...

all ur weddings so near liao... nervous or not... 3mths, 4 mths away... scary!

Sherl, GHA not that ex lor.. my package plus GST is $3900. I also have a good bargain from GHA lor..30photos leh.. very good liao. plus lots of other things thrown in for us.. coz we signed up 2sets.. my niece and myself lor..
i saw the photos taken and fell in love with it.. there's prefessionalism in the photos taken... nice lor.

any teochew brides?? what are the things needed for GDL??
Hainanese husband one also can... me teochew and FH is Hainanese (but half teochew)

GDL items???

Hi Sherl... anyway, my package quite gd liao... jus tat i'm a typical kia su s'porean... haha... everything oso 1...

Hi mgt, anytime oso can...
mayb u can come ard 6.30... tink by tat time the ballroom s/b set up liao...

Me not nervous yet lah... actually mine is only 2 mth 1 week more to go...
my dad suit is done, but my sis n mama 1 not bought yet... still searching...

Yr husband hainanese ah... must b handsome handsome huh... heard fm col hainanese man quite handsome...
my ofi got 1 quite ham...

my FH is cute lah.. at least i think he is lor.. beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder mah... haahhah...
ofi 1 attached liao mah.. must know how to speak hainanese than lagi handsome lor..

i sure go and pop my head in one... u want me to msg or call u b4 i pop in or just go in?? a bit the rude rite..

anyway, i am trying to see if can upload pics here ah.. try..
295122.jpg

haha... yeah.. can upload pics!!! anyone got any pictures to show.. please show..
anyway, this is a trial one.. not my gown.. but just downloaded from the net to try to upload only.. haha... yeah!

Yukie, u done ur PS liao mah??? got pics to show?? if dun want to upload, can send me some to see??

the tress in the ballroom looks something like the trees in the background.. not that tall and huge ones anymore.. hope bu sept oct, it will grow more at least lor.. prob at 1.5m tall when i last saw them 1mth back... something like that lah.. me happily loading pictures liao.. happy leh! ha

295125.jpg

Morning Gals!!

Yukie...when's your AD? You taking the straight march izzit? Can i pop in to take a look at the setting as well?

Mgt...yeah yeah...of course can come by see see look look...no issue...

Sherl, Flamingo has different packages...cos different photographer, different price. Also got difference between MTM and OTR gowns. I think all MTM gowns starts from 3k+
What is your budget like? Maybe u can PM me?

Helo morning girls....!

All r welcome...!!!!
I'll b in the tread untill my AD(5 sep 05)is near. Will give u girls my contact when it's nearer....

Bugbear, i'm taking the L March...

mgt, my album not ready yet. But my collage frame is ready liao...! Just got the soft copy fm my PS studio yesterday...
like it very much! Hv sent u the photos liao...

yo ladies,

then let's all meet up to see the setup for yukie's wedding ya...
so exciting leh...

YUKIE!!!! YOU ARE SO PRETTY!!!!!!!! wahkao! i am so in love with you!!!! hahahahah

ladies, how did u settle ur shoes for ur PS and AD? MTM shoes or just buy from the shops?? how much to set aside for shoes? and what colours are the universal ones....

Yukie,
now i can post my msg properly liao.. saw ur pic, too excitied, then dunno wat to say..
ur silver shimering shoes shoes ur own or the BS's??Was it very tiring to go for PS?? i like ur wedding gown... is that the one u will be wearing for the dinner ur AD?? very nice leh.. GHA doesn't provide this.. think i will follow suit for mine... do something like that then put up and show pple during dinner...
idea leh...

Bugbear... u got mail!

mgt... don like tat leh... my hubby will be jealous 1 leh... wahaha... :p
Hv u taken yr PS? U will oso look very pretty when it's yr turn...

U girls can oso come up to my rooms when u reach...

Me tis whole morning in the forum... hahaha... soooo in the wedding mood...

mgt,
My silver shoe is incl in my BS package brand new to keep. Indoor was okie, but by the end of the indoor shoot n after lunch... i feel like sleeping liao... so was abit tired after my outdoor PS. Remember to bring a pair of slipper for walking when u go for outdoor shoot. Very tiring to walk in the heels for too long...

Yes...! Tats my WG which i'll b wearing for my AD.
Wa, u knw how to do collage? So kiang...

haha... so exciting leh.. dunno how crazy will i be when i get nearer my date! wah paing.. 1yr more leh.. but i getting the excitment from u all leh!
eh u really look pretty lor.. how old are u ah.. u look young leh..
wahhha..
havent taken my PS yet.. taking in DEC lah..long way from now.. so got time to lose wt and do up my face.. so good ah, they actually provide shoes for u..

the collage just go adobe photoshop and do lor.. i think i will follow something like urs lor.. simple and nice... how many photos did u have for ur album? how much u paid 4 ur whole package?

i also whole day in the forum.. coz slacking at home..ahaha..

mgt... time fly very fast 1... the 1st time i was in tis tread was last year july. C, how time fly...
Very fast will b yr turn liao...

Me not young liao lah... lao gor oredi... tis yr 27...

Me knw nuts abt all tis phtos or website thingy. Really like those wedding website tat some of the couple hv done.
My album don go by photos leh, my album is 30 pages with collage.

My BS package n PS package is separate 1. BS(The Wedding Present) cost 3588 incl the following;
MTM WG
MTM EG - to keep
Teadress - to keep (brand new fm their Empire range)
MTM Groom suit - to keeo
Silver shoe - to keep
4 MU - Trial, PS, AD day n nite
2 bouquet, car deco, etc...
Accessories
Dry cleaning
Can't remember the rest liao...

As for my PS (Montage Studio by Eng Howe) $2800
Incl 30 page album wif collage
Return of proofs
Return of all pix taken in CD