Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

Oh.. i booked at the beginning of the year.. before we booked we brainstormed all the possible freebies.

We didn't manage to get the food tasting for free too. 50% off. Ask for extra day stay and free day room for relatives.

Hazel, it would be good to have a day room, so that your helpers can proceed to hotel direct to change & rest.
I asked for day room. Other than that, nothing much to ask for.

It's good to sign up during fair. they usually have additional perks. I did not have the chance to wait for wedding fair

BugBear,
actually, there's nothing much to ask during the fair.
Wedding fair only gives $18 disc..
not much...not enough to cover 10%service charge.,,hahha,,
special favours for the guest apart fr choc & cakes..
Wine corkage waiver
Prizes are free upgrade to Presidential suite....

Iceglacier,
Would U be attending the wedding show?

Hazel,

Actually I've placed the deposit already earlier this year, so no need for me to go for the fair. Think you should go.. at least can get dollar discounts better then nothing!

You know which bridal they are tying up with for the fair?

dunno y my post not here...

Iceglacier, I dunno which BS that they tied up with.
I would go to the fair like what U said,...better than nothing even though its $18 disc. abt $500 total savings.
*sigh...their wedding prizes not that fantastic either...free upgrade to Presidential suite..., food vouchers

Hey Hazel,

I just might be going to the fair after all! Went to ask my co-ordinator if I could pop by to look at the set up! (can you believe I actually booked the place without looking at a proper set up. Only saw an empty ballroom)

iceglacier,
its ok wat...I also never see the setup...went to see 2 empty ballrooms & wanted to sign up..but cos of that miserable $18 disc, I have to wait...At the same time struggling whether to take this hotel or not cos of the price

Did U ask yr coordinator if can get further disc or extra perks for U even if you had signed up?

Hazel,

She said we can go for the lucky draw. Didn't ask her if we can cash discount. I don't think so anyway cos we signed the contract already.

Actually my co-ordinator was very nice, she advised us to wait for the fair (that time think was going to be held in March/April) but in the end they postponed it so we ended up signing cos we didn't want to lose the date and nobody knew when the fair will be.

When's your wedding?

If your r interested following is the program for The Grand Bridal Show on the Waterfront for this Sun:

Program on day is as follows:
1400 hrs - Registration
1430 hrs - Bridal Fashion by J&M Design & Photography
1515 hrs - Reception
1615 hrs - Lucky Draw

hazel,

Yes, we have to pay of we wanna go for the lucky draw... We haven't decided if we want to participate... Asking her what are the prizes first.

Grand Prize: Free upgrade to Presidential suite
other prizes:
Food & Room vouchers

I am still waiting for my invitation cards..nt yet received

Hmmm... really not that enticing. If they gave a free table or something I might be more interested!

Think I might just drop by and not go for the lucky draw...

anbody would be attending this show? apart iceglacier & myself?

Dorami,
cant help U as I haven sign yet...but their cakes at are quite nice..hahahah

Deremi,

I was there but only ate very little as it seems very messy...I dunno where to stand to eat. Their food is not very fantastic but not bad either. Did U eat the chicken? alot of ppl queuing up... Shark fins really so so.

Initially, tot their grand prize is the presidential suite room. who knows its the gown.
285375.gif

2nd prize is the solemisation pkg. 3rd prize is the dinner & 1 night stay...the rest are FOOD!!
Did U win any prize?

think they short-handed...I so hard to find ppl to "entertain" me..wanted to see their suite room.
Finally, been to see 2 suite rooms, 1 with only 1 toilet with HDB view. 2nd with 2 toilets with HDB & river view.

So, did you sign up today to try to win their presidential suite room?

hazel,

i also think their foods not so fantastic too...
yup! u mean the black pepper chicken? quite nice lah...i only like the dolly fish...
so u got win any prizes?

nope! i never sign...coz i already signed with them b4 the show...

they gv me free tickets to the show...
so dun hv any prizes to win...

so u got sign with J&M or the hotel?

Wow! You gals went home and posted immediately after the show!

So did you sign up in the end Hazel? Prices have increased $20 per table for the Grand Ballroom!

Then the suite we'll be getting is the 1 or 2 toilet one?

ya the roasted crispy chicken flavoured with deep-fried garlic is nice!

i never sign up with J&M cos already sign up with Silverlining.
anyone that signs up with J&M today can help me ask them the first song when the bridal show starts? hehe... thank you thank you.

anyone signs up with the hotel today? heard deposit 5K but got lucky draw that can upgrade to presidential suite. their bridal suite so so only...

I had signed up with the hotel but not the BS.
Heard fr Xavier, the person who showed us the 2 suite rooms said the suite room is the one with only 1 toilet that;s outside (next to the dr). If wants the 2 toilets, may talk to the consultant cos of the higher in price, dunno if I heard correctly is abt $30 more.

Now, I know why we have price difference cos of the ballrooms...mine is just a waterfront ballroom whereas U all are the grand ballroom. Therefore, I am getting a premier room instead & 20L beer only with only $18rebate Grand ballroom have $28 rebate

Oh yes, I had signed up on that day....but when will we know got win any prizes?

And, yes I won the 3rd prize on that day...Lucky me...as I dun like the 1st & 2nd prizes as its no use for me....So happy to win the prize..cos that day only got 5 or 6 prizes..and so many ppl...thinking no chance liao as I always no luck..& my number is 060..not nice.

Wow! Congrats Hazel! What was the 3rd prize?

Me and my boyfirend were so nervous when we were looking at the prices cos we were so afraid that the discount was off our 748 package (will be very sad). In the end we only missed out on $8 per table, heart not so pain already!

iceglacier,

ThkU..3rd prize is 3 course dinner + 1 night stay...
There will be another show coming but dunno when...its a joint between the other of their hotels such as King.

Me planning on signing up too..

planning to bring our families for food tasting..cos my FH's parents wans to try d food..

really like their grand ballrm.. hopefully can sign up soon keke

i wana their 2nd prize leh..their solemnization package..keke..nt bad wasnt so lucky..hehe...

iceglacier,
$8 alot leh..cos still got +++.
I +++ until almost $780.
I want to bargain to no +++, cannot...*sigh.....
when time is near, I would need to start looking for wine....
after adding those wine, it will be abt $800 per table

urs $748+++, almost $870...if less $8, U can save abt $450 if U have 45 tables...at least can go HK.
anyway, sign up already...its ok lah...maybe U got more perks..

Hazel,

I noe. But we didnt dare to cfm till my FH's parents try their fd. So me n my FH decide to forgo tt. Parents' support more impt hehe

Parents r always more particular abt food

Hazel..

Yah.. $8 is still a discount but at least we didn't feel so bad for signing up earlier. If the was 20 dollars i think we will be quite upset!

*trying very hard to console myself*

I am just hoping the max losses will be only the deposit! Boh pian cos GCW was the next best place that we liked.

Beaufort Sentosa, with solem at lawn facing the sea... *drool*

But it was too small (max only 26 to 28 tables) and very few freebies. And all the extras must pay and pay. And a logistics nightmare cos we'll have to spend alot on ferrying our relatives.

Chijmes was another one, but the place was so full of pillars we immediately wrote it off. Cos whoever who kena the pillars sure make alot of noise!

Hey Ice, Chijmes was also one of my choice place but as the place is too small, gave up. Initially, i was even contemplating to really cut down my guests list just so that i can take Chijmes...like u said, there were just too many pillars...

Yup.. We were thinking that if we were invited to a Chijmes wedding and kena a pillar seat we won't be happy... so put relatives and the complaining will never end. And every CNY have to listen to them complain!

Hahah...Ice, u are right...everytime u meet them, they sure got things to say. So now everyone will be happy with GCW...pillarless.
U taking the L-march or the straight march? BTW, when's ur AD?

hey ice, i also booked the place without seeing setup, i only saw photos and i saw the empty grand ballroom which was so amazing me n bf just wowed, and decided on that place. =D

finally, this thread seems to be picking up slowly....

I also wants beaufort too..cos the suite room is facing the sea...seems so romantic...in the end, give up cos of location.

It seems like alot of us feels the wow when seeing the grand ballroom. dunno if anyone had notice during the wedding show, some ladies stood up when the curtains open up....one of them is me..hahaaa...cos didnt see before when I was shown around.....only saw photos...

Bugbear... think i'll be taking the L shaped one. Cos I thought the garden as the backdrop will be nicer. Also, (based on what happened at the fair on Sunday) if i get the straight march in and the curtains open, chances are that everybody will be looking at the garden instead of me!!! Kekeke! My AD will be in Oct 2006. Still long way to go...

Martha,
Dunno why me and my FH so unlucky whenever we want to view the place cos the first time we went there somebody was using the ballroom, so we couldn't even take a look. But the staff there took us through some alleys to look at the garden. Then when we returned again to look at the wedding setup at the promenade, we were too late and the wedding was over. All that was left were some flower petals! But still we just signed cos it could provide what we want within our budget.

Hazel, were you wearing black and sitting at the back on the right side of the ballroom?
I didn't manage to see much cos blocked by alot of pple! And too shy to stand also! My FH and i were laughing at the poor model cos nobody was looking at her!

oh..that's not me..the lady wearing black is in front of me.
I am right at the back, last row.

I just pity the models outside cos so hot....the model inside do catwork..the models outside had to stand so long for them to go in.

The consultant do tell us if we choose grandballroom, better to do L-shape...then the decor at the stage must be simple..else block the garden......

Morning ladies...

Is the backdrop really very nice? I have never see the backdrop before

So i reckon u ladies will opt for the L-march izzit?

I am having a little problem. I have about 48+2 tables and if i want to do L, i will have to mix the size of the tables..meaning some will be 6ft tables and some 5ft tables. But if i do straight, i can have all 6ft tables.

Do you ladies think i should go for the L-march than the straight?

Just wondering if anyone of you managed to get the complimentary day-room for your helpers? I was told that they can't provide and wanted to charge me for 4 hrs use!!! so ridiculous!!!

Was wondering if this is a disadvantage of signing up during bridal show. They kept harping on the fact that i already have discounts and freebies. So a lot of things must pay! I wld advise you gals to put everything in black and white before you sign!

Hazel, there was this lady in front of me who was standing up very excitedly so I thought it was you! Hee hee. Do you know if the stage decor will be like the set up on the right side of the ballroom? I wanted to talk to my co-ordinator but they were so busy I couldn't really get hold of her. And the 3 table set ups, issit we can choose either one of them or must pay & pay?

Odiey.. yup, better to put everything in black in white. We make them put free corkage for hard and liqour AND CHAMPAGANE cos we dun want them to later say hard liqour don't include champs etc etc

Yeah Odiey, best to read the contract many times before signing and get more ppl to read for u. We may miss out certain details. Anything in doubt, ask them before signing. Have every little details all written in the contract.

Odiey, the coordinators really said that? They say that becos you enjoy the discount and a lot of things you have to pay? Wah...
Do you happen to have a soft copy of the package? Can share with me? I have a friend looking for venue for Apr next year. thanks.
email: [email protected]

BTW, is the discount only valid for couple who signed up on that day? or?

iceglacier,

that means U r at the 2nd last row...I dunno leh..but I know from the consultant & the florist (stelffi, if I spelled correctly) that the hotel has given a budget to them. So, we can do anything we want as long as within the budget.

Odiey, tot the room is complimentary for day use...isnt that stated in the promotion pkg? with the discount and the amt of beer. tot Isaw that in the pkg that they gave us on tha tat day.

Bugbear, the discount is valid till a certain date...not necessary to be on that day..just that if you sign up on that day, U entitled the lucky draw if U sign up on that day...
:-( think I am not that lucky...cos nobody called me to say I won the prize...

Ooh...thanks Hazel.
Do you happen to have the soft copy of the package? When is the promo valid till?
Can share with me what are the perks? thanks.

BugBear,
I dunno when it will ends..how abt U call yr consultant?
If U can wait, I asked my FH to check for me tonight...cos the pkg is with him.

Perks are:
disc is $18 off per table
Waiver of wine/liquor corkage
Special favors apart fr choc
20L beer
1 night premier room

Mine is waterfrontballroom. therefore, price difference fr grandballroom..
grandballroom is $28 off per table
30L beer
suite room
complimentary stay for helpers...
special favours