Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

pinkcoco

Hi Mag!

Can you advise what are the food that has nice comments??? btw, your wedding is on weekday or weekend???

If I do that, it will be a bit risky leh... what if I wait and wait then he gets back to me later towards my wedding date??? Or what if he's still book later on and I cannot get other photographer that I like.... Think I better search for another one liao... cos they said my wedding date is 'hot date'...

Thanks for recommending him though
Really appreciate it!

aureus

im back....hey mag...stress stress manz..so much things to do....will keep u updated...

yep yep..the ballroom is really really really very nice i must say...like the effect of the garden...

the food tasting must check if its included into the package or not..i cant rem the details, but i think some hotels charge abit for it...dunno about gcw tho...

stubbilla

hi magdalene, saw your AD photos. really pretty on that day~!

where u get your grown? MTM? which BS? who's your AD photography? can give me his contacts? sorry to ask so many questions

pinkcoco

Hi Mag!

Happy New Year!!!!

Can I know which florist did you choose for the ballroom deco?

Did you have to top up for the balls of flowers on the stage???

peggy

just have my wedding at GCW on Sat
they really did a good job...
the banquet team is fast and responsive...
the staff are friendly..and lots of my friends and relative said that ambience and food are superb too...

oh yes..their bridal suit is very cosy....

peggy

hi pinkcoco...

my florist is June florist...
the flower arrangement were good...
and they gave us good advice on choice of flower too...

relaxfun

pinkcoco

My florist is also June Florist... as i had wrote earlier, their flowers were good, i didnt pay anything extra.

peggy

Hi Mag,

me chose pink and champage roses to match the ivory table cloth and red table napkin..
white lily involve extra charge so din chose that...
my guest like the combination...some even took the roses home.....

pinkcoco

Hi Mag & Peg!

Thanks for the info!

Did you gals go down to June Florist at Upper Paya Lebar to select the flowers or you met up with them at the hotel to discuss?

peggy

hi pinkcoco...

I went to June Florist at Upper Paya Lebar to select the flower..think its better..cos they have the sample flower in the shop...e.g. when I ask them what the colour combination will look like..they brought out the rose sample and show me....so can Visualize better..

relaxfun

pinkcoco

I chose the flowers from the hotel together with the florist and hotel salesperson cos we got no time to go down to the florist lor but they will bring you photos to choose from, or u may just drop by any florist and check out their kind of colour combinations anyway

I didnt pay anything extra for the white lily. As i have already told u gals! if u pay the most expensive menu (weekend dinner) anything is FOC lah! haha

peggy

me got ard 60 tables..straight march in...
thus..restrict to one screen only...what a pity...thats the only "small complain" I have about GCW...

pinkcoco

Hi Mag & Peg!

Wah... really thank you gals for your advices on the flowers! Mine is a Saturday dinner so I hope I can also get good deals like Mag

Think I will pop by the florists to take a look. Btw, did you gals pop by Steffi's to view their works too?

I think I will have about 45 - 48 tables for my wedding. According to my coordinator, she said if my tables are about there, I can have 2 projection screens.

Peg, do you find the aisle long despite that yours is a straight march in?

Hello... my coordinator Adeline has left. Grace called me to tell me that and that she's taking over. Any of you work with Grace as well?

You just go to June Florist direct and the photos are there?

piper

hello everyone...

Just had my wedding there on 02 Feb....

I have abt 39+2 tables...so I have a L-shape march in...2 screens to show...but the lens at the back of the ballroom facing the glass window is spoiled. So the pics turned out a bit yellow.

My co-ordinator was Grace. She's a very nice lady...very easy to talk to. Special mention is the Banquet Captian I had tat nite - Mr Tim Lee. He's so attentive & helpful. When my husband & I were going round the tables, he appeared out of nowhere abt halfway thru with 2 glasses of water. So sweet of him.

I've not collected my pics yet....once I've gotten them, I can show u the decor as well. I went to June florist for the decor as well.

nnchander

Hi DJ,
Grace is a very ncie lady, and yes, she's easy to talk to... BUT you still have to check that your requirements are met.

On my wedding day, what i requested for in the cold dish was not there, and something else was included instead. Also, they bungled up on BOTH my walk-in songs! very upset with that...

My colleague who got married there too, experienced the same thing...

edksdid

i had my wedding there last sept. everything was fine except tt they did not light up the fairy lights in the garden behind the glass wall when the curtain was drawn.

we had the curtain drawn way before the dinner started. didnt like the idea of marching in and curtain drawn at the same time.

ah_choo

Hi Andrea and edksd!

Nice meeting you both on SB Online. I have confirmed on GCW for my wedding in August this year.

Been reading this current thread and discovered some of the mistakes encountered. Appreciate that you have provided us all with these feedback. GCW is my first choice (first love ya) and I really would not want to see such things happening.

Just to share with you, I will be performing a cappella on my big day. Since Andrea had mentioned abt the mixed-up incident, and edksd about the sequence, I think I had better reinforced that to my catering manager, Miss Karen Sim.

Anything else you both would like me to take note too? Care to share with me? Millions of appreciation
!!!

edksdid

mine is not sequence problem. just tt they forgot to turn on the fairy lights just becos i did not follow their usual way of doing.

piper

Hello Ah Choo,

Wat we did for our wedding was tat we arranged for the music to be played ourselves.

We copied all the music which we want to play into a laptop & assigned my brother to play the specific piece of music on cue. They even have someone to remind my brother when is the time to return to the playing station.

Just communicate with the hotel & if possible, try to arrange for a testing session to try out the equipment. The technical personnel there are really very helpful.

relaxfun

Choo

They had problem playing my first dish music. The music DID NOT start at the beginning of the song! very upset abt it too but have to put on a forceful smile anyway :p

Grace is quite a easy to tok to lady BUT NO AFTER services like dropping by to see if everything is ok!! I have so many bad than good things to tell! And i even stayed there for 2 nites, She didnt even call to say hi!

cc2

Hi Magdalene,

Did you use your own burn CD or original CD? I wanted to use a burn CD and they warned me that the music might jump.

relaxfun

CC2

Original!!! tested before the wedding already!!! I think they played the music but didnt connect to their speakers or wat lor! it suddenly played out and the beginning already over!

cc2

oh my god! So disappointed after hearing the hiccups that u gals experience. I think I better get my fren on standby to supervise.

Hello...Grace is now my coordinator...wat do you mean by no after service? Is she dependable on the actual dinner night, that's very important to me... whether she chit chat with me or not, not so impt.

Let me know wat to look out for, okay? Like if I need to be more proactive in my planning or she can handle things...

piper

Hello DJ,

on ur wedding nite, it'll be the banquet captain/duty maanger who will be liaising more. My wedding fell on a public holiday & Grace did make an effort to turn up during the briefing session with the duty manager to ensure that there's a smooth handover.

Do assign someone whom the duty manager can liaise with on ur wedding nite. Tat person gotta have authority to open up the reserve table, open a new barrel of beer etc etc. You wouldn't want the duty manager to be breathing down ur neck when u & ur husband are busy going round the table rite?

Grace is quite pro...But I was more on the kiasu side also. I remembered I just need her reminder on when to confirm the final numbers of tables & the numbers of vegetarian/muslims. Besides, the hotel will mail you the info on when to start going to the printers to print the cards & when to go to the florist to select the flowers etc.

Tat's abt all tat I can remember. Will try to recall more.

relaxfun

CC2

how to supervise the music playing?? their music room is at level 2 leh....

DJ

i didnt see the sight of her on my whole wedding, maybe she did meet up with my hubby for the meeting early in the evening. But didnt cometo me at all lor, and no sight of her during the dinner too..

DO check if they have extra champage standing by, cos my champage's cock broke while we are on the stage trying to open it! so PAISEH OK!! End up they took time to run to dun know where get another bottle lor!!

I think Sales person like Grace onli will bother abt you signing the contract, pay up..and the rest are history!

One of my table shld have 11 chairs, onli until last min then noe onli got 10 chairs leh! TAKE NOTE!!!

Actually quite a lot of things which i feel tat can be prevented from happening in the wrong way lor. I also dun understand how things can go wrong especially when they shld have done everything a million times liao!

All i can say is I onli LIKED the ballroom and flowers, the rest are not as wat i expected.

dora

Just attended a friend's wedding @ the Grand Ballroom of GrandCorpthone Waterfront Hotel last Sun, so thot I shall share some thoughts with you. Overall it was a very nice experience but maybe there are some points to note:

1) Location of the place. As public transport is a problem, think it'll be a good idea to print a little map with the bus numbers on the invites, or tell your guests beforehand. Think a lot of people were late because of this.

2)The 1st dish presentation was not very well co-ordinated. A group of waiters came in first, not in an orderly manner, then just when we thought all of them have come in (cos there was a big gap) another group came thro in an even more disorderly manner. Some of them were even talking!! So maybe its good to highlight to them beforehand.

3)The portion of the food was quite a lot. We had 11 on the table but it was still enough, altho things like abalone only has 10 pieces exactly, but that's ok. The food was not fantastic, but quite OK. Only complain was that the cantonese style steam promfret was not quite fresh. Not very obviously not fresh, but I'm quite picky about fish lor, so to me that is not quite up to standard. But the rest of the dishes were ok.

Overall service was prompt, and the ambience was very good. No worries gals!! Enjoy your big day!

psmissyou

Hi! I have booked with GCW too. My sales person is Aili. Anyone deal with her?

GCW is my 1st choice becoz i had attended a wedding there before and really love the ballroom. I guess going there as a guest is really some what different to be there as a bride?!

any tips for me in regards to GCW?

peggy

hello psmissyou..

did you ask for another other freebies from the sales person..hehe..me ask for free buffet for 2 at the cafe...also you should try the steak for the complimentary dinner before the wedding banquet start...

hakida

Hi psmissyou and peg,
i have booked with GCW too.Mine will be on X'mas day.my salesperson is Lynette.
So both of u getting the main ballroom???How i envy.Mine is on the second storey because i m only asking for 15 tables.
what freebies can u ask??i ask for one extra room beside bridal suite,at a lower price,but subject to availablity.
STEAK....i LOVE food.Shall ask for that.

psmissyou

Hi Peg! You had your wedding at GCW already? Any advice regarding things to check on that actual day itself. it seems that there were some not so good hiccups that happened for some brides.
Oh! I should ask for the steak too as i love food.

Hi Hakida! I am getting the main ballroom as i have 60 tables in all. I know it sounds pretty ridulous but my FH's and my side really have quite a bit of relatives and friends.

I will be using the solemnisation room for free prior to the dinner and now trying to negotiate to get free finger food for those who are coming in early to attend my solemnisation.

GCW gives me 2 nights bridal suite + one extra room for my helpers. Food tasting for 10 and 5 litres of beer i think.

hakida

Hi psmissyou,
u sure have a good deal.No need to get shy with the request,since ur are having 60 tables.I think their flexibilty depends on the cost of ur wedding banquet.
When is ur AD????How much is ur pkg???Did u sign the contract this year or last year/??
My wedding guests are only my immediate relatives,me and my hubby friends.Initally,i m getting 60 tables too.But feel that there is too much trouble,so after much discussion with the family,we decided not to invite other relatives.

psmissyou

Hi Hakida,

My AD is on the 9th Dec 2004. It is on Thursday. Per table is $628+++. I just signed the contact in Jan this year.

I know 60 tables are really quite a bit and i really can't imagine how on earth can we finish taking photos?! However, as my FH is the eldest and only son, his parents decided to have it big.
well, as his parents are very nice people so we sort just let them be and agreed to hold it grand.

so how is your preparations so far?

piper

I had my dinner at GCW last month. Overall, the experience was good. Slight screw up on the music during the 2nd march in.....the intro was cut slightly, but it's ok with me.

The steak is a MUST TRY! We took the chocolate fudge cake as well - simply heaven!

My co-ordinator was Grace. She's a nice lady.

What else are you gals interested to know?

...my dinner with them is coming up in two months
Yup, Grace is my coordinator. Will take up the recommendation on steak and cake

Wld like to find out how you coordinated the food tasting. Were you able to do it on the weekend? Where is the food tasting held?

I've printed my cards and went to Stefii to see the flowers and table decor (quite dismal)...but that's about where i'm at for now. Any advice on what I should do?

Which dessert is good? I'm going for the weekend Menu 2. Any comments?

piper

hi DJ,

we did not have any food tasting. Did you go June florist to see the decor? I think they are not too bad.

I had mango pudding as dessert. My friends & relatives say it's nice & personally, I think it's not bad as well. The pudding is moulded heart shape with raspberry syrup cocktail fruits on top. The pudding is not too sweet but the mango smell is not strong enough.

hakida

Hi psmissyou,

Mine is weekend dinner.My preparation so far?????Didn;t really do alot of things.So far banquet booked,have not done food tasting yet.My coordinator says they may be new food menu.
Haven seen florist and invitation card supplier.Bridal shop also book already.will be going for first fitting early april,Photo shoot is 30 april.Those things that has not been done,will do that after july.now still too early.

Me and my hubby takes thing easy.
Hi ,piper
they screw up on the songs again.Ai yo,must really get a friend to standby when they are playing the songs.
As for the cake,they will bring it to ur suite after the dinner right?So we get to select the type of cake that we want???I thought of selecting the mango pudding as dessert too.Do u have photos of ur AD setting???Do u mind to email to me at [email protected]

Hi DJ,
why dun u mix and match the 2 menus.this is what i will be doing.

piper

Hi Hayashi,

Actually, cannot really blame the hotel for the slight screw up. All our media stuff was controlled by my brother. We had a video clip to play before the 2nd march-in & it was played on a desktop which we've brought to the hotel. We also have music played from the laptop. But the problem with the ballroom is that they only have 1 output control. So we have to switch the cables between the desktop & the laptop after the video is played.

Then the music volume was controlled by the hotel. My brother could have clicked on the 2nd march in song too early for them to turn on the speaker.

Actually it was a number of factors that contributed to the 2nd march-in song being cut slightly in the intro. But I'm quite ok with it -I din really put that to heart.

For the cake, it was delivered to us when they served us the dinner. You can select either the chocolate fudge cake or a fruit cake. I'm more of a chocolate lover..so we took the choc fudge cake.

I do have some pics of my AD setting...but it's at home. I'll email to you from home.

For your info, you can mix the 2 or 4 menus. We picked & choose all over the menus. Just switch chicken for chicken & fish for fish.