Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

relaxfun

Piper,

At the beginning, when we ordered the weekday package, no extra favours other than chocolates or cakes, until when we changed the package to weekend menu, then we got lots of favours to choose from liao. and we also told them we increasing the number of tables lor.

The more u order the more power u will have!

piper

Hi Magdalene,

So in the end, how many tables did u have?

Now, if i can meet the minimum I happy liao...& I dun think i want to upgrade to weekend menu coz not everyone would appreciate it anyway.

piper

Hi Mag,

Then i not so sure if i'll have the perks...

at first we booked for 40 tables...now might have to reduce our booking to abt 36 tables

eveong

Hi, new here. Had my wedding at Grand Copthorne and the food is nice. The serving of wines are abit slow. So, for couples going round to give a toast, you might want to ask a waiter/captain to stand by with some drinks/beer/wines with you.

I didn't have any problem with the wedding suite. It was great. no ants or whatsoever. I like that venue because guests can hop over to Zouk after the dinner.

overwhelmed

Has anyone held their wedding at Waterfront Ballroom? How do you find the deco and service? Is there anything I should take note of? thanks in advance!

kawaii

Hi overwhelmed

I've attended a wedding dinner held at Waterfront Ballroom.

The reception area is very presentable.
BUT
Not to disappoint you but frankly speaking, the ceiling is pretty low and the lightings look like hdb flat with false ceiling. deco wise is normal, nothing unique but only the service is good.

just my 2 cents thought!

byeee

I am interested in GCW n will be going down to look at their ballroom soon.Can anyone advise me which coordinator to ask for when i call them?
Who is more friendly n easy to bargain?

Thanks alot

little_g

hee... just attended a dinner at GCW last night. its in the grand ballroom at level 4. the room is very big and spacious with high ceilings and no pillars. however, the food is so-so only.

another thing that i like is the "Scenery" behind the stage. after the couple toast "yum seng" to the guest, they draw out the curtain behind them and reveal this "scenery" (with tress and lightings and a little "hut" like a garden concept) which is reali nice.

edksdid

hi little g, i think it may be becos it's a weekday menu tt u had. mine was a weekend menu and everyone was praising it. we didnt expect tt too coz we tot all hotel food is so-so only. but after hearing so much good comments abt it, we were really glad. at least the parents will be proud of it since when we book the hotel, we only cared abt the ambience not the food.

little_g

i see... but if u are only looking at the ambience, then its a good choice. its very nice...

btw, hv u seen the pan pac's ballroom? i like it quite a lot too.

edksdid

yeah, we were only looking for ambience. so when everybody told us how great the food was after the banquet, it made us so happy and relieved. it means we had the best of both worlds - nice ambience and nice food

i've been to panpac ballroom for a friend's wedding. nice but dun quite like the long rectangular shape. prefers something squarish like grand copthorne's.

little_g

am not too sure, but i tot GCW's ballroom is rectangular too... will need to find out.

as the doors are on the sides, my fren actually did a "L" walk-in, as i think is quite nice, which means that more pple can see them.

edksdid

i think it's not totally square but at least it's much better than pan pac's rectangle.

we had the L walk in too. long, nice and spacious.

blackcurrant

Just like to check if the bridal suite is thrown into the package when we sign up with GCW but helpers' room have to pay ourselves?

edksdid

we hv the bridal room and one helpers' room.

but we told the manager tt we wanted to exchange the helpers' room for another night stay in the bridal suite. she managed to arrange for us.

then when closer to the actual day, we told her tt we needed a day room for the helpers, basically from 3pm-6pm tt kind. she's oso v kind to arrange for us.

however, the helpers stayed overnight for free in tt room too.

jatling

Those who signed or visited the venue......can anyone able to email or fax me the pricing of the banquet menue???

Hmm.......alot of my frz recommended me to this hotel but I do not hv the time to call or even personally look at it........I would like to check on the pricing first...

I would be glad if someone can help me. ...Thks!

My Email is [email protected]

I booked the Grand Ballroom for next May. This ballroom is square, but if you wanna "L" march in cannot have more than 45 tables or something like dat...otherwise, have to just walk straight in...but i think the walk is still pretty long.

Thanks for the info on the cards and flowers...didn't know wat was gonna happen for that in the beginning...

My coordinator is Adeline. I think she's okay...whatever you've mentioned here she also gave me....but we think one thing about coordinators is this...if you ask they'll give, if you dun ask, they wun offer. haha

Chose GCW out of the few shortlisted cos its big enough (for 50plus tables) and I think it's really value for money...but I think we missed out on the citibank promo

mindy

hi Copthrone brides

i attended a wedding there last wkend. must say their food is good! thumbs up! one of best wedding dinner i ever had.

the fried rice wif seafood sauce is yummy, and abalone wif tou miao, chix wif diced garlic and walnut cream are quite good too!

good choice!

delight

I totally agree with JL... I am a totally happy GCW bride... I had my wedding on the 6th of Oct this year... And the best thing was even my friends from Hong Kong said the food was absolutely YUMMY!!! I was totally surprise cause my Hong Kong friends are very hard to please... So brides of GCW be prepared with lots of compliments... My coordinator was Lynette Chew and she was very on the ball and initiative... Anyway that's my two cents opinion...

piper

hi....

I've yet to hold my dinner at GCW, but i'll be meeting my co-ordinator next week to dicuss about the menu.

Any good dishes to recommend from the weekday menu? Seems like all the dishes recommended are from the weekend menu.

But i must say my co-ordinator has been very accomodating to us. We had to postpone our wedding recently and she really tried her best to find us a new date. Really gotta thank her once my wedding is over.

mindy

DJ
the wedding suite looks quite ok lor.. got living room and a partiton for the bed

and the toilet is abit bigger then normal room bcoz of bath tub.

and they also serve dinner for couple before and after banquet. so you wont go hungry

ooh, that's nice to know
Dunno where I was reading...maybe here...that the room smells funny...then i got worried cos i'm staying there for two nights.

Thanks for the reassurance!

cyn

hi ladies... gald to see many compliments abt gcw. i'm also a gcw bride. having my dinner early jan (weekday). seems like weekend dishes received more compliments.

JL.. how's everything? did u choose ur own song for the food presentation? how's the march in? feel tat the spotlight is too strong... btw, wat color did u choose for the table cloth & napkins? do u ve choices for the centre piece?sorry for asking so many questions :p

piper.. when's ur wedding? i'm kinda kiasu.. i've discussed the details with my coord. told her i'll busy with my hse.. so better to meet up early. oh ya, i'm meeting june florist next week to discuss abt the floral agreement. hopefully everything turns out fine.

DJ... i think their bridal suite so so only... nothing special.

piper

hi cin_p

My wedding's in feb. I've picked my flowers & table cloth already...more KS than u...hehehehe

I'm meeting my co-ordinator next week to discuss about the menu. So I'm now trying to find out which dishes are the must-order. I wonder if they allow us to swap dishes with the weekend menu.

One more thing I'm very scared of is the first dish music...hopefully it won't be a "Star Wars" or "Mission Impossible" kinda presentation....Do u know if we can pick tat piece of music as well? I have a theme for my wedding and I hope it won't be ruined by the first dish presentation.....

mindy

cin
it was not my wedding last wkend. i went there as a guest

i was with the groom during rehearsal and they were hurrying setting up the banquet and stage at abt 5-6pm. pretty late and rush hor coz they Cophthrone had a function prior to banquet.

and i saw the table cloth was abit crumpled. but small matter lah

cyn

piper.. ooh ur wedding in feb. better to settle early =) btw, wat color combination did u choose? wat abt the flower? wat are the choices? wat's ur favours? i guess if u wan to ve a weekend dish, probably ve to top up abit.

acc to my coord, the 1st dish music is an instrumental piece by bond or vanessa mae.. so i guess not too bad. u can always choose ur own piece. but must be something fast cos of their lighting effect.

so sorry JL.. probably i din read the posting when my eyes open.. paiseh. how's their service?

piper

Hi cin_p,

For the table cloth, i choose the beige one with yellow napkins. I've opted lillies & pink centre roses. If the pink centre roses are not available, the florist will provide champaigne roses instead.

I've not chosen my favours..wat have you picked & wat are your choices?

As for the 1st dish music, hopefully they will be able to let us have a feel of it so that our guests will not get a shock when the music comes on!

I'm thinking of not having the 1st dish march in...should be no problem right? Wat's the purpose of this anyway?

piper

Hi TT,
I went to June Florist. It was assigned by the hotel & we get to pick & choose the flowers that we like.

cyn

piper
i jus went to june florist. selected lily, peach roses & forget-me-not... not much choice for the centrepiece
as for table cloth, i chosen grey with biege napkin.. hopefully it wont be too dull.

favor - i got a choice of chopstick, candles & coasters... selected the candles.

maybe u can get ur coord pass u the a demo... if not get the list of songs from her...

piper

hi cin_p,

thanks for ur info. I'll be meeting Grace tomorrow to discuss the menu and stuff.

I'll see what are the choices of favours that she's gonna to extend to me.

genie

Need some advice on recommendation on the dishes. Had my food tasting... was abit disappointed as some of the dishes were not very nice.

1. Steamed Crab Claw with Minced Shrimps in Chinese Wine Sauce
.. the crab claw was nice, but the sauce tasted abit weird

2. Sauteed Fresh Scallops and Deep Fried Cripsy Rice "Szechuan-Style"
- the sauce was too sweet

3. Three Types of Mushrooms & Seasonal Vegetables with Oyster Sauce
- the sauce was again too sweet.
- seasonal vegetable = dou miao!! my parents freaked out as they think that serving dou miao abit cheapskate
- mushrooms too hard

Thinking of changing this 3 dishes, any recommendation from anyone pls?

But there are some nice dishes too :
1) Delux Chinese and Japanese Combination Platter
2) Golden Crispy Chicken Flavoured with Deep Fried Garlic
3) Fried Rice with Seafood in Cream Sauce

piper

Anyone has any comments on the following menu? Would appreciate any feedback.

1)Copthorne Cold & Hot Combination Platter

2)Braised Shark's Fin Soup with Four Treasures

3)Deep-Fried Crispy Chicken flavoured in Sesame and Lemon Sauce

4)Sauteed Prawns in Chinese Wine Sauce

5)Braised Sea Cucumber and Mushrooms with Garden Vegetables

6)Steamed Fresh Garoupa "Country Style"

7)Stewed Ee-Fu Noodles with Straw Mushrooms and Yellow Chives

8)Chilled Mango Pudding with Fruit Cocktail

flora

hi piper,
I had my wedding at GCW. The Ee Fu Noodles is really good. The mango pudding is also good. The chicken meat is a bit hard but the taste is pretty ok. I opt out the lemon sauce. I don't like the sauce. I change to fragnant salt.

piper

Hi flora,

thanks for the feedback. Anyway, my co-ordinator say it's the same chicken. They just put diff sauce on the plate & call it a diff name...hehehe

How's the portion? She keep assuring me that the portion is big & not to worry.

flora

Hi Piper,
the portion of all dishes is more than enough for ten person. Every of guest said that they are very full and satisfied after the dinner.
Not to be too worry. Btw who is yr co-ordinator?

piper

hello flora,

glad to know tat...my co-ordinator is Grace. So far, she has been very accommodating & helpful.

pianokey

my wedding's not at GCW, but I attended a friend's wedding over the weekend. The food is great, not salty, and the menu is refreshingly different. Good portion. =)

icequeen

I'm new to this thread. 'shopping for banquet venues can be a real headache =(
GWC is in my list and it seems from this thread that there's been quite some compliments to it.

Any comments abt their service apart from compliments for their food?

Are they accomodating to special requests?

How's the rates like? Any hidden costs I should take into consideration apart from the cost of the tables?

Thanks very much.

pebbie

i am also new to this forum. am planning to hv my banquet sometime in late 2004 and know nothing abt planning for my banquet.

before i meet up with the coordinator, wld appreciate if you all cld share:
i)what are some of the things to "bargain" for when i meet the banquet co-ordinator
ii) what are the typical "favours" and "special requests"
iii) price range for a weekend banquet in 2004

thanks much!!!

hmm...I really don't know wat to bargain for either. I booked mine through a bridal show promo so I thought the package was good already...just asked to use the projectors for free, haha. as for price range, I think it's 768+++ for the weekends, min of 35 tables.

relaxfun

DJ

after plusing GST will be abt 800 rite? min 35 tables is a big reduce for their Grand Ballroom! U sure? cos the usual amount will be at least 45 tables

aureus

sorry if my post comes up twice...first one could not get thru..

but yep..was sayin that i think after the 15-16% GST, cost will be abt 880 - 890 per table..

but seriously, is GCW really that good? am trying to decide which hotel to use...like the indoor garden in the place, but they dun really have that great and many perks...

any previous GCW brides who would like to share some info...how's the bridal suite? is it nice and stuff?? any pics to share??

relaxfun

the following was my experiences during my last sept wedding

hey everyone,

I just had mine on the 1st week of Sept but had upgraded menu in Level 4 The Grand Ballroom.

My guests feedback were :
Ambience : VERY GOOD 10/10!
Food: Big Servings, but for the taste wise not everyone gives the same comments, some say too sweet some say not sweet, some say salty, some say ok. 7/10 for the food.
Flowers: I find them very fresh and i chose lily and champage roses and the roses were big ones maybe from Holland, doesnt look like those u find in the wet markets which are usually small.
I will give 9/10 for the flowers!

Hotel Room: I feel disappointed. Stuffy, smelly
I even found ants crawling ard my helpers' room main door frame! 4/10!