Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

psmissyou

My coordinator is Aili but it seems that not many people have her as a coordinator. actually i am quite 'sua ku'
there is actually a cake to be serve to us? did not know about this.

i only requested to swap the dessert to yam (Or Ni). Nearly all my FH's and my friends requested for it. hee... would probably check out the menus again.

Piper, can you email me your AD setting too?

Hakida, everthing is so fast for you! is the photo taking session arrange by the bridal shop?

piper

Hi psmissyou,

I din know abt the cake until my co-ordinator asked us wat flavour we want for the cake to be delivered to our room. She said it was in the contract & since they offered, we just take lor.

I'll send you the settings once I've gotten them.

hakida

hi psmissyou,

I didn't really search for banquet dinner and BS.I have friend working in GCW and the bridal shop,so what i did was just to pop in and have a look at their offer.Which is quite satisfactory lah...
i arrange the PS myself.
So basically,really nothing to prepare now.Just waiting for my first fitting only.

Piper,remember to send photos to me too.thanks a milion.

Sorry to disrupt for a while...

Could any of you let me know what's GCW's email add? I was trying to email them (using the email add in the latest Her World Brides), but the mails bounced back...

piper

Hi Hayashi & psmissyou,

I've sent you the pics. But the attachment might be a bit huge. Let me know if you do not receive it.

psmissyou

Hi Piper,

i've received the pics already. thanx! looks really great. guess i've made the right choice afterall.

i guess i better find my EG quick and start thinking when to do my PS.
can't be too lazy now.

piper

Hi psmissyou,

I had the L-shape march-in. If u are gonna have 60 tables, you might not be able to have that. Your stage will be set where the screen is now.

psmissyou

ya i know. the screen will be blocked then. but no choice leh. the walk however seems long. hope that i will not trip and fall over!

piper

no lah....it's not tat long. It'll be over in a blink of an eye. Just walk slowly & make sure u grab on to ur hubby tightly if you are worried tat u'll trip.

bits

Hi, heard that GCW is quite a nice place...congrats to all having their dinner there. I may only have 20-25 tables, could any of you email be your GCW packages to consider for 2005. thanks! [email protected]

ah_choo

Hi Piper!

I will be one of the Aug brides for GCWF. The pictures are really nice! I was currently on the lookout for a good photographer and your photographer is fantastic of capturing the mood!

Can you recommend me your photographer? Is he specialising in digital or film? Hope to hear from you soon! Apologize for my anxiety

piper

hello Ah Choo,

My photographer was my hubby's friend & he does this freelance. He's specialising in digital.

Leave me your email address & i'll pass u his contacts.

hakida

Hi piper,
how abt the rest of ur photos.can u send to me.where is ur stage?at where the projector is??can't really see clearly leh....

piper

hello hayashi,

I forgot to add, my dinner was held in the grand ballroom, so the setup & projector etc might be different from the 2nd storey ballroom which u r getting.

I've not been to the other ballrooms, so I can't give any comments on how the settings will be like.

hakida

Hi piper,
thanks.i have seen the photos.Both u and ur husband looks very compatible.Where did u get the chinese character of the bride n bridegroom??i m thinking of hanging my photos on the ceiling.do u think they will allow that.

hakida

Hi piper,
did ur hubby have a very bad hangover??he must have vomitted the whole night??will u mad at him for getting himself so drunk?u must have spent the whole nite taking care of him.I think i will be pulling a very long face,if this happen to my hubby.we have an agreement that he must not get himself dead drunk,and i will give his friend a black face if his friends ever sabo him to drink.

piper

Hello Hayashi,

Tat placecard was designed by my SIL. We didn't want the guests to go to the reception table only to be directed to another section. It was so beautifully done that all my friends wanted to borrow it when it's their turn.

I think they do allow u to hang the pictures from the ceiling but u gotta prepare your own materials & manpower. If i remembered correctly, my co-ordinator did mentioned something like that along that line. Do check with your co-ordinator again on this issue.

My hubby didn't really have a bad hangover. He's not 100% drunk, but to prevent his friends from forcing him to drink, he gotta feign tat he's drunk. He only vomitted in the ballroom. After he was carried into the bedroom, he did not vomit anymore. Thank god!

psmissyou

Hee... i guess that it is a happy occasion that everyone would want to drown the bridegroom and bride. just hope that my 'jie mei' & his 'heng tai' will help in the drinking.

piper

hello psmissyou,

ya lor.....it's one of those occassions lah. So I just let him have his share of fun with his pals.....anyway, looking back now, it was really funny & enjoyable.

The pics will serve as a good memory of him being drunk & who are the culprits....kekekekeke

hakida

hi piper,
i just cannot imagine our wedding nite to be destroyed by a drunkard man.i will be very disappointed.maybe,i can use ur idea by asking my hubby to fake drunk...can u ask ur SIL how she makes those placecard?

hakida

oh piper,
another question to ask from u.if i dun want flowers as my decor but exchange it for balloons,is the florist able to do that?how long before the actual day then u liasie with the florist and printing company?

piper

hello hayashi,

my hubby din get drunk at the start of the dinner....it was towards the end, after thanking all the guests that he knocked out & started vomitting. If u dun wan such things to happen, let ur hubby know first.

I dunno how she made those placecards. We just told her we need some form of signage for the reception & she did the designing from there. U can try printing it on colored A4 paper (landscape) & then cut & mount it on some cardboard. Think that was how she did it.

I did my flowers & printing about 3-4 months before the AD. June florist (one of the designated florist) was very near our house. So we just dropped by 1 day & settled our flowers. I'm not too sure about the balloons though. I don't remember seeing any balloon decor at June Florist. But my friend is in this line, & I had 2 balloon decors at the main door. If u need the contact, I can pass it to you.

psmissyou

hi hayashi, honestly i think it has been a kind of trend that the newly weds will be ask to drink. guess that is really just a way that friends would want to send their congrats. like what piper had said, if you dun want such things to happen, probably let yr hubby know earlier so that he can inform his pals too..

i've just went over to my semstress to make 2 evening gowns.
a bit weird as never tailor make anything before. quite fun though. next to do will be my FH's suit.

piper, how's life being a Mrs.? feels different? special? must be pretty exciting eh.

when exactly do we pay the hotel? in cash or credit? i've paid the deposit but since then i've yet to do anything. i guess there is nothing much to do for the banquet, is it?
quite blur in this....

hakida

Hi piper,
sure send me ur friend contact for the balloon.Do u know the charges for one balloon?Hope the cost is lesser than flowers.
Hi psmissyou,
which BS did u sign up with???

piper

Hello psmissyou,

I've sent the links to you

Married life so far has been stable. Got a bit of getting used to coz I'm staying with my in-law. It'll definitely be up to you to inject the level of excitement into your marriage life

We paid the hotel on the day we checked out. You can choose to pay by credit card or cash. No personal cheques allowed.

Don't worry about having nothing to do. The hotel will send you a reminder of wat's to be done about 3 or 4 months from your big day. In that package, it'll include the details of the florists & the printers.

Hello Hayashi,

I've pm-ed the details to you.

psmissyou

hi piper! i do agree with hayashi that you and your husband are very compatible. glad that you are finding married life exciting and stable.

hi hayashi, i do not have a BS. doing it DIY. a bit tedious but thank goodness, i still find the DIY process quite fun. that's why i do not know when exactly i should do my PS. hee..
was surprised that you are doing yours soon so i thought i must start thinking about it fast too. hee hee....

relaxfun

piper

Didnt the captain give your hubby something special to drink after the table photo taking to calm him down?? They give a drink to my hubby and he said it worked quite well!

piper

Hello Hayashi,

Did you give me the wrong email addy? I cut & pasted your email address when drafting the mail. Please provide alternative e-mail address if possible.

Hello Magdalene,

The banquet captain just gave us some hot chinese tea...but that was good enuff. Anyway, my hubby quite "ti kee"...refuse to drink the chinese tea.....so I just let him be lor.

hakida

Hi psmissyou,
Huh!!!!!U dun have a BS?
Then who are u going to engage to do ur PS,ur gowns???
I am doing my PS now because i want to have sunset as the background settings.My photographer says the best time to capture that scene will be around may,june.not the last quarter of the year.

Hi piper,u cut and paste?maybe u try not to cut and paste,but email directly to me.thanks.

psmissyou

Hi Hayashi! yup, no BS. initially my FH and i did went to wedding show. just the first booth with Universal studio really 'scared' me off!
that was our last booth of the day! they gave us very very good package but somehow or another, i felt weird. wanted to sign up but something stopped me. thank goodness that my FH is those firm type. he said no nicely and we went off asap.
i think we are weird kind of couple.

i was lucky. i went to a bridal sale at Le Galleria in January with my friend. i found a bustier WG that i love very much. i tried nearly every single type of WG and find that bustier seems suitable for me. my FH wasn't even with me that day!
luckily he likes it too.

the gown cost me $50 only excluding alteration. lucky i guess. it might be a closing down sale at that time as now Doreen Chee had sold the shop last month. i just had my measurements taken for my EGs. Booked my make up artist and car decor. photographer is the same guy for PS and AD.

me is now learning to make wrist corsages for my ah yees and need to rent Kua for AD. my FH needs to do measurement for his suit too. hope that i did not miss out anything though.

i've booked the banquet so need to choose the flowers and food tasting. therefore need to learn more about the banquet in this thread on what to prepare, what to do before , during or after the banquet.

peg76

I will be having the wedding dinner at GCWF on 22 nov. we will be having abt 40 tables.

we are thinking of upgrading the bridal suite that they are giving us to a waterfront suite and the hotel will be charging us about $150 - $200 extra per night. anyone has any experience on this?

piper

hello hayashi,

I got confursed liao.....Which email did u not received? Is it the links to my other AD pics or the balloon contact?

hakida

Hi piper,
i think it's the balloon contract.U says u have ballons as decoration,how come i dun see it in ur pix?
Hi psmissyou,
i want learn how to make wrist corsages too.My BS only giving me 2 which is not enough and they will charge me 15 bucks for every extra wrist corsages.Let me know where i can learn this skill.
Basically,there is nothing u need to do in regards to ur banquet.Just fix a day for ur food tasting.Liase with the florist and invitation card supplier can already loh.When is ur AD??
aCTUALLY UR CO-ORDINATOR will give u the list of regular suppliers that they have.If u want to be kiasu abit,just call up ur co-ordinator and ask for the suppliers contacts

psmissyou

hi hayashi,
i went to the other thread that talks about wrist corsages. i've got the address on where to buy the materials required. yet to try out myself though but i think it might not be too difficult. if you want, i can give you the addresses to the shops. will check out the prices and let you know then.

my co-ordinator did give me a list of regular suppliers but somehow i keep on wondering is there anymore things that i have to do. my AD is on 9th Dec 2004.

Hi piper,
the balloons looks really nice. what time did your wedding end? did you still have to co-ordinate with the hotel staff or we could just go straight back to our room after the dinner? what time did you check in that day?

piper

hello hayashi,

I've dropped you a mail. Pls check.

Hello psmissyou,
I dunno what time did my dinner end but I remembered I slept at abt 12.30 am.

After the dinner, you'll need to sign a bill for the cost of the dinner. But you'll only need to pay it when u check out. I checked in the hotel at abt 9.30 am coz we went there for photo-taking. We return there at abt 2 pm in the afternoon to rest before the dinner.