Goodwood Park Hotel

Hey haru,

That's GREAT news! I'm happy for you and your hubby!

Ladies... I just bought the BOND music cd - Explosive. Great music pieces for those looking for dramatic 1st dish presentation! I like Victory, Explosive, Fuego and Scorchio (Spanish-Greek traces). Really cool!!! All the above are machiam DRAMA!

Hi LS,
Wah,i think Bond is cool, very dramatic like you said! I've chosen my first dish music. As we have 3 march in, I have 2 more march in songs and 1 march out song. We need a March out song for rite aft our pastor announces that we are husband and wife..and one more march in for when we come in again after we go out. strange rite?hhahahahha..i have only found 1 song so far,only music, but duno if the song is long enough (3 minutes)..i hv also found the music that we wld like to use for our montage, which will prob be also our 3rd march in song, as the song is quite long..

we have less than a month to go!!! and i STILL hv not settled our wines, ang pow box,corsages and ring pillow...hopefully i can finish up the ang pow box and corsage this sat as hubby will b working...on the bright side, at least we got the honeymoon booked!

hi LS, if i'm not wrong, GWP is using the Bond's Victory as 1st dish. But I'll be using ERA music, sth different from others... one of their music is v v special & dramatic..

HI ladies...

The more I listen to the CD, the more I like the piece Explosive. Think we'll use it for our 1st dish presentation! Very dramtic indeed. Still up in the air about our honeymoon... Not too concerned about that for now. Maybe in a few weeks... We should book soon as year-end hols are very popular.

haru...

Have you made our seating arrangements?? I have this feeling my fiance and I will have a huge headache with that!! This person cannot sit at the same table as that person coz they don't get along, etc... How will you seat with your muslim and vegetarian guests?

Hi LS,
i have allocated our guests to groups, but nt decided which group seats at which table yet..but I do have some tables with like one or two empty seats, we might have no choice but to put some guests there, even if it may mean that they do not know anyone...will try to avoid that as much as poss..we do nt have muslim/vegetarian guests...i think!

I tink u shld use whatever music you like, dun wory that its popular...as long as it goes with the whole feel of the wedding, its fine.

Hi LS & Haru, at this moment, i can share that the seating arrangement is ever changing. Juz sent out reminders to guests ydaz and there are pple who responsed that they couldnt make it and also, my relative tables may need to expand, so & so... i guess this is the worst headache and you will juz keep swopping seat arrangement till the very moment before you start your march-in. Haahaa.

Anyway, I be going on 2.5 weeks leave from tmr onwards, that's mean i shall vanish from this thread for sometimes... juz like to share tat i'm very glad to hv u all wif me for so long, it's really help to share info and i realise that wedding can b such tiring & stressful. Nevertheless, like wat Shymz mentioned, it probably make our wedding more memorable.

So gd lucks to u gals, all the best to yr preparation!

hi cookiencream,
omigosh!!! ur big day is 3 days time!!u must be sooo excited! all the best to you!! have a wonderful wedding.=D

hi cookiencream,
all the best to u

any idea how long printing takes? i've not printed my cards yet... and my wedding will be in 2 mths time...

hi shymz,
printing is quite fast, think no longer than a week.

hey ladies,
where can i can printing done nicely and at a reasonable price? we have to print programs for our wedding as we have a ceremony before the dinner and we need to print the songs lyrics for the service...am looking at printing just in black, but on cream paper..and we will add our own motifs...any printers to recommend?

Hi LS,
hmm...not really...i think i'll do up the design first and enquire. if not very tough for them to give us quotation.

I finally bot the unity candles that we'll be using! got them from The Wedding Giftshop at Delphi for a bout $24 (4 candles), i think its reasonable...

next i'll have to get the wines sorted and done. so most of you getting from hotel?

about 3 weeks to my big day..

Haru...
3 weeks!! That's real close! Did you settle the floral situation with Florabel?

We're probably gonna get the wine from Winebos. My fiance knows of someone there.

hi LS,
one of my friends just came back from the Sky Hotel... it's a package with valuair right? think they have a complimentary drink in the cafe on 65th floor too
enjoy urself!

about 2 mths to my big day

Hi LS,
yup, have met up with Bee Tin and settled most of the floral deco..

Wil u better getting just one bottle per table for e wine? coz we only have waiver of corkage for one bottle per table...

wah! holiday! good for you!! enjoy ya? i have nt been to bangkok, so can't comment..hehehe...

Haru...
YOU are NEXT!

shymz,

In the end, we made a reservation at the Novotel - Siam Square. Still pending though. Booked through www.asiaroom.com
I hope they confirm our reservation soon! Have to think of an alternative hotel if Novotel is fully booked, and it may very well be. Stayed at The Grand Diamond before in Pratunam. Not bad. But my fiance wishes to try another hotel.

Hi LS,
wah, just thinkin about holiday only very shiok...hahha..i think bangkok wil be so nice...shopping and makan!!! i've never been there,i've only been to krabi and phuket.lovely place!

hi LS,
so its not ur first visit eh?hahaha.. my hubby has been wanting to go to bangkok, but me being sucha princess told him we can go but not for HM!!hahhaha...wil def go soon though, heard so muc bout e cheap (& good!) massage, i love massages!!!

gosh, i really feel the wedding drawing near and i am SOOOOO excited!! i'm tryin to think about how to make myself sleep the nite before~!my cousin from NZ and her friend from japan with my aunt wil be stayin over at our place e nite before our wedding, so i'm thinkin if i shld spent the nite before at my own place (which is just across the street from my parents) with my girlfriends who wil be at my "gatecrashing"..although i think my mum wil flip
if i dun spend my last nite before i'm married at my parents place...hmm....

hi LS,
novotel is pretty decent... can't rem the place that i stayed in when i went, but i think it was in the same area. asia hotel is a bit old, but cheaper and conveniently located

and i agree with u... bangkok is a must if u're into shopping, eating and massages

hi haru,
haha... i told my hubby same thing... no asian countries for HM, i want to go somewhere further coz we can get longer leave

seeing u so excited, i really can't imagine myself 2 mths down the road... so many things to do... not much time left. just went for food-tasting yesterday, and all was well except for the sauteed squid and scallops... anyone took that? it's a bit strange, so decided to change to normal scallops and broccoli instead. i'm glad i changed the dessert... yam paste, yum! hehe

shymz,

HI there! Unfornunately, Novotel is fully booked. So, now we've got to search for another hotel. Either in the Pratunam area or Siam Square area. I don't like Arnoma Hotel which is opposite The World Trade Centre. Pathuwan Princess is fully booked and pricey. Any suggestions?

BTW, what are the standard favours GWP provides?

hi LS,
depends on what you're looking for... asia hotel and bangkok palace is not too bad (in siam square area) if u're not looking for anything too fancy

for GWP, there is choice between a jar of honey or tea leaves... i'll be going down to meet their supplier to see if there are other alternatives

shymz,
We are confirmed at centre point service apartments in the Pratunam area. Near Grand Diamond. I remember seeing the building while walking along Petchburi Rd last year when I was visiting Bangkok. Price is good. i hope the experience is too! Will keep you informed!

Honey or tea leaves... Think we'll do honey, but do share with us info about your visit to the supplier. Thanks!

hi LS,
initially i planned to make some extra favous, but now i think i dun have the time and extra budget to splurge on it,hahaha..but i think GWP favours are anytime better than the usual chocolates or chopsticks. its very english..really suits the hotel image!

now i'm just counting down to my marriage leave!!

am starting to prepare a script for my emcee (a close friend of ours). did anyone do a script for my emecee? I'm pretty lost on how much to write...

haru...

19 days to go!!! When do you plan on having your last full facial before your wedding? I was thinking 8-10 days before to allow any breakouts or scaring to heal. Then, 5 days before, I plan on using home facial masks everyday till my wedding. Just as a precaution and to be KS! Hahaha... Hey, if it helps a little, its worth it!

Yup, think we'll stick with honey as our wedding favours.

hi ppl

my AD will be on the 26th Dec. Shld be going down to GWP to sign tomorrow.

pls give me reasons why i should/should not sign with GWP.

HI Jeremy...

Are you having doubts? Might want to discuss with our other half about this. We here on this thread love GWP - it's ambience, decor, reputable service, etc. Just make sure that GWP spells everything out on the contract - corkage fee details, no. attending food tasting and other perks. No harm in asking for more freebies. The worst case scenario is that they will say "no". We hope to see you back here again as a GWP groom-to-be!

hi LS,
you could also have a mix of rose tea leaves and honey..
i do agree that GWP's favours are unique and very suitable for the hotel. will let u know more after i meet the supplier on sat.

i'm quite keen on the idea of a flower arch, but afraid that i'll be overdecorating. anyone decorating the stage? will be meeting up with bee tin this thursday...

hi haru,
my friend wrote out hers for her emcee... she's very well-prepared. i'm still hunting for mine =P

hi LS,
I'm having my facial about 10 days before the wedding, and after that, i'll just have to discipline myself to take good care of my skin by using hydrating mask to keep it supple..i'll go for mani/pedi the evening before the wedding so as to prevent little chips from happening as much as possible!i'm quite chor lor..hahhahaha..

Hi Jeremy,
we are all GWP brides here, so of coz we chose it coz we love every aspect of it. so likewise, u have to chose e hotel u are happy and comfortable with. generally i chose GWP coz of its unique venue and its great service from the hotel coordinator. our wedding planning with e hotel has been going smooth, so we are realy happy with that. all the best with your search! perhaps we might see you here again soon!

hi Haru

All the best and have a blessed and memorable wedding soon!

Jeremy
GWP is renovating or finishing renovation so your wedding will have a brand new look.

I am not having doubts about the venue, in fact, both of us love the place, so much so that we are willing to do a wedding lunch @ the ballroom instead of dinner cos the ballroom and tudor terrace is booked for the dinner. Jeanie, coordinator that we have been talking to, somehow has that extra touch/feel that the coordinators from the other hotels lack. Just wanted to see if there is any negative feedback cos we could not come up with any negative aspect of the place/coordinator.

Would also appreciate if photos taken at GWP can be shared with us for ideas/colour themes on how to decorate the ballroom. my email address is [email protected]

noscon
apparently, the renovation to the main lobby area is completed but there is a new ballroom which would not be ready by my AD 26th Dec 05

hi jeremy,
jeanie is great, she gives very good ideas and she has good taste! she is not pushy at all and she is very sincere with her service. no worries at all.

flowers flowers flowers, Jeremy!

HI all...

Not feeling good today...
Under the weather.

Jeremy,

Since you've been to GWP recently, can you tell me if the renovations affects the Tudor Ballroom in any way? Is this new ballroom GWP is building anywhere close to the Tudor Ballroom?

Hi LS

The reno that is completed is at the main foyer. If i am not mistaken, the new ballroom is near shima rest, nowhere near the tudor ballroom.

Haru
I simply agrees with you about Jeanie. We just met Jeanie today, again at last minute, and she agreed to meet me even though we had only half an hour before her appt at 7pm. Not pushy, and gives very good suggestions.

We also confirmed our bridal package today @ Z Weddings. They got great gowns at very reasonable price!

hi LS,
the reno doesn't affect Tudor ballroom coz it's at the other end of the hotel. what's the matter? remember to take a rest ... don't overwork

hi haru,
yah... she started doing research 2 yrs ahead of her wedding... got a few friends like that

hi jeremy,
my coordinator is jeanie too
heard that she'll be going on leave soon (actually i think it's tomorrow) she's really easy to talk to, and very accomodating
do let us know when u've decided.

if u've any pics to share, please send them to [email protected] too
still racking my brains to come up with the deco...

Hi Jeremy,
glad to know that you are happy with ur experience so far with jeanie. =D

Hi LS,
oh dear, get well soon ya? the weather has been a lil crazy lately, so take lotsa water!

Hi Shymz,
i think u should discuss about ur decor with jeanie if she is ur coordinator, she shld be able to provide some suggestions.dun worry, it'll all work out.

Jeanie & GWP staffs are very helpful & friendly. I had my ROM at GWP early this year, I only have a short discussion with Jeanie on the thing that i am concern & the style of deco that i like. Finally she helped me to come out with a wonderful & memorable ROM on that day.

I am really looking forward to work with her again on my AD on Dec.

Good luck to all & Enjoy!

HI all...

Thank you all so much for your well wishes! I am feeling better today, though not well enough to report to work. Slept till well past 9 this morning. That's almost 12 hrs of rest. Should be able to work tomorrow.

Phew! Thanks for clearing the air about the new ballroom and its location. So glad it's no where close to the Tudor Ballroom. But, just think... With 2 ballroom plus the Tudor Terrace... can you imagine what the parking situation will be like on a Saturday night??? Hmmm... I'm glad to be having my wedding before the new ballroom is ready!

Jeremy,

Is Z Weddings along Tan Quee Lan Street, opposite Parco Bugis Junction? I ask because the boutique we signed with is Bridal Concept with is along Liang Seah Street, one street away from Tan Quee Lan.

Jeremy,

If I'm not mistaken, I believe Z Weddings is run by the same people as Santiago in Parco Bugis Junction... But, I think Z Weddings have a better reputation. Kudos to your choice of boutique!!