Goodwood Park Hotel

dazednconfused

HI all...
Wow! Haru must be knee-deep with last minute wedding details! Thrilled for her.

Cookie,
Hi there! So good to know you and your hubby had a great time on your honeymoon. Did you make it to Disneyland HK? The Jr Suite is the one pictured on the GWP website ya? Does it have 1 bathroom or 2? How were your floral arrangements with Florabell? Did you get extra flowers? We've pretty much settled on the music. Just have to confirm with our DJ.

cookiencream

hi LS,

The HK disneyland is not yet opened when we were there last week. It will only open in Sep 2005. The Korean Everland is pretty cute as well, though not as big as Disney's. Yes, i had a great time roaming both places, shopping and eating most of times!

Ya lor, the Jr Suite is the one displayed in their website. I didnt hv any chance to view any suite beforehand. But GWP was quite a warm host wif fruits and red wine delivered soon upon check-in. V prompt in deliverg dinner and breakfast as well. I muz say they r very efficient. This Jr suite only hv 1 bathrm, not very big as compared to some photos of other suites we saw on earlier posts. But seriously, the suite doesnt bother us a lot, since only me & hubby stayed there for short while. The higher priority shld go to the wedding venue.

As for floral, I took carrot roses from floralbell, no additional flowers as Bee tin assured me that the flowers were enuff. They did a great job in decorating the ballrm! Honestly, i cant recall much on the floral deco, coz too busy entertaining guests until blur... dont worry, juz leave the task to professionals and yr jie-meis.

cookiencream

hi LS,

The HK disneyland is not yet opened when we were there last week. It will only open in Sep 2005. The Korean Everland is pretty cute as well, though not as big as Disney's. Yes, i had a great time roaming both places, shopping and eating most of times!

Ya lor, the Jr Suite is the one displayed in their website. I didnt hv any chance to view any suite beforehand. But GWP was quite a warm host wif fruits and red wine delivered soon upon check-in. V prompt in deliverg dinner and breakfast as well. I muz say they r very efficient. This Jr suite only hv 1 bathrm, not very big as compared to some photos of other suites we saw on earlier posts. But seriously, the suite doesnt bother us a lot, since only me & hubby stayed there for short while. The higher priority shld go to the wedding venue.

As for floral, I took carrot roses from floralbell, no additional flowers as Bee tin assured me that the flowers were enuff. They did a great job in decorating the ballrm! Honestly, i cant recall much on the floral deco, coz too busy entertaining guests until blur... dont worry, juz leave the task to professionals and yr jie-meis.

shymz

hi liz,
the supplier for the favours is blissloft, u can get the contacts from jeanie. generally, u can choose between the honey & tea leaves (most people use that), keyrings, hp accessories (including some with bears i think) and some other small trinkets. they've got quite a selection, but i think it may be a little late to change now.... my wedding is at the end of Sept, and i've already confirmed my favours (some of them need to order in advance for shipment purposes)

i'm teochew too, so will be changing to yam paste for dessert. already had the food tasting session, and the yam paste was good

hi cookiencream,
welcome back! wow... it must have been a blur on your big day
is the jr suite in the lobby wing? coz jeanie showed me one of the suites, but it had 2 bathrooms (i think) i'll be topping up for flowers and a wedding arch, keeping fingers crossed that everything will turn out well

hi haru,
if your still popping by, all the best to u on your big day! relax and stay beautiful!

ja_ja

Hi Shymz, Hi Liz, I am teochew too. Great to hear GWP serves Ou Nee and good too. I have arranged to meet Jeanie, FH asked if I mind GWP serves Cantonese food, of course not.

GWP wasn't in my list of hotels till we visited last weekend to buy durian mooncake (btw only available from 20Aug!), and were surprised the lobby had a makeover, very refreshing change. Need advise, does tudor room still look new? The carpet outside a little old... If I settle for GWP, likely allocated Tudor Room as new ballroom is supposed to be bigger - and I am only looking at 20 tables

Jam

lizzie517

Hi all, just had a bad experience with Jeanie. so difficult to meet her. as i work late, so can only meet her on saturdays/sundays. and her sat r all booked! apparently she's saying that she will not meet anyone other than the couple that gets married, is that right? for a moment i thot i have to meet her to arrange for the banquet on my actual wedding day! this is really bad. we're 3 weeks away from the dinner and she only called me like 3 weekds ago. and she said she takes up to 4 hrs to settle the discussion. i mean not that i don't want to meet up with her but she's so busy and not helpful! in the end we finalised meeting up on fri and since i knock off late i'll try to be there at 8pm. i guess the discussion will last till midnight if it really takes up to 4hrs, but i'm cool with it. afterall it's friday! no needa work the next day!! do you guys hv such problem with her? it's upsetting and now i have a bad headache!!!

lizzie517

Hey LS, you're interested in the HK Disneyland huh? i'll let u know if i go there ok? my hubby's fr hkg so we'll be having another wedding dinner there after the one here ;oP if there's time i'll pop by and let you know? hehe!

cookiencream

hi Liz,

I doubt the discussion will really take up to 4 hrs. Hv u tie up the basic details wif her yet such as table colour, floral arrangement, # of wines & beer etc etc.? If u hv already done, dont worry, you only need to meet her one week before yr dinner to run through the final arrangement. They shld hv everything ready.
If not done yet, then u better quickly meet up asap to confirm these details, but i think 2 hr shld be enuff. So far I hv neber had a discussion longer than 1.5 hrs wif my GWP coordinator.

cookiencream

Hi Shymz, i dont know which wing is the Jr Suite is located within the hotel. It's at one isolated corner. There's another suite next to it. So u are topping up for flowers arch? That will be nice. Seriously, i cant recall much of the floral arrangement as I didnt join the cocktail reception until near 1st march-in. Basically I'm blur all the way until finale.
Here's a tip for those who cant hold their wine: eat butter beforehand and you wont be less drunk during yr table to table toasting.

dazednconfused

Liz,
Thanks! Would like some info on Disneyland HK. For future reference...
We've pretty much decided to honeymoon for about 7-8 days in Thailand - Chiang Mai, Bangkok and Pattaya. Spa, shopping and food!

Don't worry too much about the fianl meeting with Jeanie. It shouldn't take 4 hrs. Have her send you an email with the agenda of the meeting so you are able to discuss with your fiance beforehand and do not have to crack your heads during the meeting. I guess it would be helpful if couples have in mind:

1. Colour scheme
2. Floral arrangements
3. Music pieces
4. No. of bottles of wine
5. Approx. no. of guests

Shymz,
Have you confirmed with Florabell that you'll be requiring extra flowers? I'm curious about the floral arch and how it'll look like in the ballroom.

haru

thanks for all ur well wishes! i am officially on leave until next week. there is so much to do, my eyes shutting already, wil update u all again later tonite...=P

haru

thanks for all ur well wishes! i am officially on leave until next week. there is so much to do, my eyes shutting already, wil update u all again later tonite...=P

cookiencream

Hi haru,

I'm fully understand yr situation. I was on leave only 2 days before AD. It was basically a torture over those two days and you need to ensure evrything gets right! Jia you jia you~

shymz

hi liz,
don't worry... i have to work late, and usu meet jeanie around 7-8 too... i think it's good that she reserves all her attention for the couple on the actual day, so that she's there personally to make sure everything is ok

if u have run through the basic details like what LS and cookiesncream said, it should be ok. also if possible prepare the program for the dinner and send a copy to her beforehand so she knows what to expect.

hi LS, cookiesncream,
yup, have confirmed the extra flowers
will be using lillies, roses and daisies in my decor. (got to top up for the lillies). actually mine is not a floral arch, but a wedding arch draped in fabric and some flowers (different from the one in the GWP pics) it'll be on stage so that it will not look so bare
sorry don't have the pics here to share though

ja_ja

Liz, don't worry alright... things will somehow turn out alright, smile and enjoy! Since your discussion is taking up to 4hr, might as well get Jeanie to conduct in the Jnr Suite;)

Haru... CONGRATULATIONS! Have fun...

Dear gals, anyone know what is the targeted size for new ballroom, near Shima?
Jam

haru

hi LS,
i never expected us to be so busy these few days just before the big day. we only collected our wedding prgms this aftn, so gota tie the strings, etc..and prepare the angpows tonite as well as do up the flowergirls' basket. just did the angpow box last nite..although we are supposed to get more rest, we have been having late nites for more than a week, also coz i have family and friend from overseas, so gota entertain them too..i am feeling calmer as the date draws closer, which is strange!!

dazednconfused

HI haru!
You're almost there! Don't stress, ya? Think I'm gonna ask you to write a book with all the things brides and grooms have to do over the last few days!!! That way, we can all stay sane!
But seriously, do try to get some rest when possible. I'm so happy for you! Congratulations!

haru

hi LS,
yah, i think e list will be sooooo long!hahhahaha...as u can tell, we are still up coz we just did the flowergirls' basket. gona head to bed soon, after watchin some tv...yawn!!!!

ja_ja

Haru... Congratulations and all the best to a great start and lasting friendship & happiness!

Liz, everything in order? One step... one step closer each time. Cheers
Jam

haru

i'm finally back! we had a great time at our wedding and all our guests really enjoyed themselves. we got lotsa compliments from friends and one couple even asked us to be their wedding planners!there's so much to share, but i gues what i really wana say is just relax, leave everything to your friends on that day, and enjoy every moment!!

milmil

Hi haru,

BTW, what kind of program did you plan for on wedding dinner? Now, i start to brain-storm on the program on that Day & Night. Need some input from different people...

haru

hi EMF,
well, we had our holy matrimony during the first 45min of the dinner, and we had 2 photo montage, the guests enjoyed the photo montage. if u have spontaneous guests, how bout some dancing?

hi cookie!
we'll b heading to mauritius next wed. we'll be gg back to work this thurs, so we only work for 4 days before gg for HM. really looking forward. dun feel like gg back to work!hahhahahah..having such a good break!

hi Jam Choo,
we had 18 tables. i think 18-20 tables still ok, anything more than that might be a lil tight oh..

shymz

hi haru,
welcome back!
glad to hear that u had a great time during ur wedding. how long will you be gone for your HM?

cookiencream

Hi haru,

Mauritius, that's McDull's dream island! Heee. Why didnt you go HM after yr wedding? Is yr trip free & easy?

hi Jam choo,
During my wedding, I had 19 tables and I cld see that 20 tables wld be juz perfect for the tudor ballrm.

Hi dongdong,
juz to share wif u that red wine is definitely much much more popular than beer. Prepare to standby more wine if you are bringing in yr own. Personally, i find the hse wine used by GWP is not bad, quite smooth. I find it more convenient to use GWP's bcoz they only charge for opened bottles & any leftover unopened bottles will not be charged.

shymz

hi LS,

wow... i like your outdoor gown
and you really look good in your cheongsum, hehe... did anyone tell u that u look like a model? think her name is Hanis or something... same elegant look

dazednconfused

Shymz,

Thank you! Thank you!
No lah... Me no model. How to look like one?? It's the make-up, I tell you! And there was A LOT of it on when those pics were taken! But, I do thank you for your lovely comments!

ja_ja

Thanks Haru and cookies... I am still considering as mine may go up 1-2 tables, so a little concern! I would love to have May Fair pool for a little ceremony tho...
Jam

shymz

hi LS,
just my honest opinion
in your pics you seem to project an air of tranquility.... someone who is naturally very calm and collected, guess that translates into your wedding preps too! 2 thumbs up!

i suppose most of your wedding details have been planned?

hi jam,
how many tables are you planning to have?

ja_ja

Shymz, now moving to more than 23 tables, so I am sourcing for other venues. I enjoy discussing with Jeanie tho, very realistic. May Fair is a plus, suites so so. Ciao!
Jam

dazednconfused

Shymz,

Most of our plans have already been made. But there are still loose ends , of course. I'm being very fickle about floral arrangements! Been thinking of adding an additional colour into the white and purple combination we've already decided on. Have you seen the cover of the latest issue of Styleweddings? The one with Denise Keller on the cover?? That's the combination I now have in mind!! Truly romantic...

doggy_gal

Hi cookiencream. saw your posting earlier in which you mentioed that 20 tables just nice for the ballroom. If i want a dance floor, what's max no of tables that the ballroom can hold?

cookiencream

Hi Agnes,

As I didnt have a dance floor, i wld not be able to advise you appropriately. The best for you is to visit the site and consult your coordinator instead. If you dont mind, juz my personal view, I tink you still can hv the min. num of tables and make use of yr aisle and some space near the stage as dance floor. But that means some tables wld hv to shift one row behind and tables at the ballrm end may become a bit tight. You can study together wif yr coordinator again to see which is the best table layout to include the dance floor.

milmil

For invitation cards, will GWP help us to print or we have to find the printing shop on our own? How long does the printing take and normally when do i need to start sending my invitation to my friends & relatives?

For floral deco, when do we need to start discuss with the floralist?

I think i better start to plan since my AD in on Dec. :p

dazednconfused

EMF,

I did not get my invitations from GWP, but I do believe you'll have to print them yourself. As for floral matters, I've already spoken to Bee Tin from Florabel and my wedding's in Nov. However, I've been thinking of adding another colour into my present combination. Not sure if it's a good idea or not... Inspired by the latest issue of Styleweddings!

milmil

Hi LS

I also love the color scheme of the latest issue of Styleweddings. It is so romantic & dreamy. I will discuss this with the florist. I think i better talk to my hotel co-ordinator on the deco asap.

cookiencream

Hi EMF,

U hv to print the inserts on yr own expense. U can either source the printer yrself or ask for recommendation fm yr coordinator. Printing insert can be quite fast, usually depends on how long the couple can agree on the format before proceed to print. Mine was done in 4 days.

You can start to print the inserts 2 months ahead provided you have drawn up yr guest list. Do make sure u hv some inserts as backup later in case you need to re-invite additional pple (when some invited inform u cannot attend). Usually, the printing costs are based on bulk. Therefore, cost will be the same whether it's just a few sheets or in a bulk. In my case, the inserts given by GWP were sufficient. Normally, cards are sent out one month beforehand.

As for floral visit, you can arrange to go during yr discussion on banquet details wif yr coordinator. And yes, i also saw the colour scheme in the latest styleWedding, it's indeed lovely & romantic! But hor, if u all dont mind, personally I think the purple themes are getting common and i wonder guests will find it's always the same for every wedding. ;p

milmil

Hi CookieNCream,

Thank you very much. In this case, i should do earlier cos my wedding is on Dec.

For flower deco, I agree with your point. Hmm... Let me brianstrom again.

haru

sorry for disappearing for awhile.was back at work clearing up some stuff as i will be gg on leave again from tom for about 2 weeks as i leave for HM in mauritius! really looking forward.

will pop back in the forum once i am back, look forward to hear all your wedding preps, and hopefully i can offer some useful tips! remember to always have fun!