Goodwood Park Hotel

haru

hi LS,
good to noe u are better!i'm taking the aftn off to go ikea to get some stuff and also to chilll with hubby who is also on leave..hehehe...so i'll be leaving the office quite soon.

i'll be bringing my nephew who is goin to be my pageboy for shopping. gona get him something nice for the ceremony. he is only 2.5 yrs, so i think that will really be part of the highlight! wil have to see how he goes during e rehearsal...

dazednconfused

HI haru...

Have a great afternoon with your nephew! So close to your wedding date now!!

I'm thinking of getting a floral arch from Bee Tin. But still half hearted! It'll run about $400!

jem

Hi LS
Yes, Z weddings is by the same ppl as santiago, cos the credit card receipt says santiago. They are located @ tanjong pagar. Main reason why we chosed the place is bcos my FW saw a gown by them from a magazine and we will be using that as one of the gown for our AD.

jem

Hi LS

We have gotten the contract offer by GWP. Just need to go thru the details before signing tomorrow. Definately will do so by tommorrow cos i dun wan to sign during the 7th month.

As for her gown, we found 3 nice ones which we will take 1 and also decided to top-up MTM one more as she simply love the lace design. We are going for 2 gowns(1 for the solomnisation @ mayfair pool) without the evening gown as ours is a luncheon.

dazednconfused

Jeremy...

We're having our solemnisation by The Mayfair Pool also. On the morning of our banquet. Except, I'll be using the same wedding gown - train and all...Is your solemnisation on a different day? How will you be decorating the Mayfair Pool area for the ceremony? Am I asking too many questions??

jem

LS

Mine is all on the same day. The morning routine of tea ceremony,etc, solomnisation @ around 12pm@ mayfair, lucheon @ 12.30-1pm @ ballroom. Very tight timing for us..
We have not talked on the decorations @ mayfair/ballroom but we would like to have the flower arch and plenty of flowers.. guess sure will hv to top up...sigh..
what abt your decorations. have you decided? also, if your solomnisation is in the morning, banquet @ nite, what abt yr tea ceremony etc?

dazednconfused

Jeremy,
We will only conduct the tea ceremony right before the banquet in the bridal suite. Yes, we're also thinking of having a flower arch. You can use some of the floral decor that you will be having from the ballroom or terrace. The staff at GWP will be able to arrange the decor and have them brought over to the ballroom or terrace after your solemnisation ceremony at the Mayfair Pool. That's what we'll be doing.

Our solemnisation ceremony will be conducted in the late morning and then we'll be having a buffet lunch at the coffee house in GWP. Can't recall the name of the coffee house anymore! Rest for a few hours till our banquet in the evening.

You don't have much time between our solemnisation and your luncheon. Perhaps you might wish to consider having your solemnisation slightly earlier... Say, around 11a.m.? That'll give all of you more time to dilly-dally!

jem

LS
haha...
unfortunately, i doubt that i would have the luxury. Gotta do the tea ceremony at the respective households before proceeding to the hotel. :-(
Yes, Jeanie was v.nice to suggest moving the flora arrangement from the solomnisation venue to the ballroom, and we will do just that.
me now currently looking for our bridal car. Planning to find a sleek two seater car(which is also what my FW wants despite the anticipated inconvenience of getting in and out of the car) and do the driving myself.. think it would be quite romantic.. kinda feel like our destiny and future is in our own hands.. but i hope it wun be too costly..

dazednconfused

HI Jeremy,
Will it then be possible to have the tea ceremonies at the respective homes earlier? You have to keep in mind the traffic conditions as well.

dazednconfused

I just hope the weather will be good as I'll be in full wedding regalia (minus the veil) during my solemnisation ceremony by the Mayfair Pool. I don't wish to melt in the sun!! Hopefully, by that time (late Nov), it would cooler.

haru

hi LS,
dun worry, the weather wil be fine! just dun think too much about it ya?

Hey Jeremy,
we will be using a 2-door Alfa Romeo GT, and my gown is pretty big, so am also anticipating my strategy to get in and out of the car! whahhaha...but i wouldnt recommend an open top though..mite mess up the hair do!

dazednconfused

HI all...
Since my fiance and I will be heading to bangkok during the national day hols, we won't be going to tour Thailand for our honeymoon. We had originally planned to do the whole Chiang Mai, Bangkok, and Phuket routine for about 7 days in Dec. as our honeymoon. It was going to be our indulgence in spa and shopping... We simply LOVE Thailand! But, our plans have since changed!!! SO... Now we're wondering where to go for our honeymoon... Any suggestions?

shymz

just met bee tin today... very nice lady. she gave some terrific ideas, and now finally i've an idea of what my wedding will look like

hi LS,
how about bali? u can rent a car and drive around to the lesser known areas, not just the touristy parts ...

jem

LS
sigh.. the tea ceremony will be one of my biggest headache.. n coupled by the fact that i stay in bukit timah and my FW pasir ris.. travelling time is 30mins each way... tink i have to leave my my hse @ 6am to ensure that we are not late for the solomnisation.. haha..
for yr honeymoon, can consider maldive, goldcoast, cairns or koh samui. these are where we are considering.

Hi Haru
Is yr FH going to be driving as well?
One thing to remember is for sports car, the seats are quite low. You will definitely need assistance to get in and out of the car in your gown.
We are thinking of an open top actually. When driving around the main roads/expressway, we will keep the top up. maybe when we are 500m or 1km from the various destinations, we will stop to open the top so that the photographers/videographers will be able to have an unblocked view of us when we arrive. still toying with the idea, main problem now is where to find the car..

haru

hi LS,
howabout Koh Samui? Or Bali?=D

hi Jeremy,
woah! thats realy early. we plan to only leave my hse about 9am..ahhaha...so i think i should be able to sleep til 7am..=P

No, my car is 2 door but 4 seater, so we got a friend to drive. originally planned for me (yes the bride) to drive, coz its never been done b4.but decided not to coz my gown too puffy!hhahhahaha....

i think ur idea is great, just inform the makeup artiste so tt they can do ur FW hair's to suit the condition.

shymz

hi ladies and gentleman,

just went down to blissloft to take a look at the wedding favours. they have a variety... ranging from candles,bears, chopsticks, handphone accessories,soap, salt n pepper shakers, stirrers, place card holders etc. for the price that GWP will be covering, can choose between the honey, tea leaves, various types of hp accessories and keyrings.

now in a dilemma, should i top up to get a nicer favour, or is it just a waste of money? how many of u take note of the wedding favour?

hi Jeremy,
since it's a weekday, gotta take into account the traffic condition in the morning too. how about getting all the relatives together at the hotel and holding the tea ceremony before the solemnization? i think GWP will be able to provide a function room for this purpose. This way you and your FW will not have to tire yourselves out

haru

hi shymz,
it all depends on ur priority.at first i wanted to do extra favours too, but realized that what i wanted to do was gona cost too much and take up lots of time,so decided to forgo.i think GWP's favour is quite good so gona just stick to their favour.

dazednconfused

HI all...

Yeah, I think we're gonna stick with honey as wedding favors. Went to a 2 weddings last June and received a keychain with a couple in traditional Chginese wedding garb. Very cute! And at the Fullerton, I received tea stuff... The keychain was better, I thought.

Shymz,
what sort of keychains did they have?

Have to share this bit of info with all of you...

I got my pedicure done a few days ago at this place along Cicular Rd called Fingerwork (near Molly Malones). It's run by Melissa. Anyway, her range of colours is simply out of this world! I believe she only uses OPI nail colours. And she's simply great at what she does. Nice little shop too. You gals should check her out.

shymz

hi LS,

so will u be taking honey or keychain? they do have the same keychain of the wedding couple in traditional garb and western style too. also bears(dressed up... the groom has a top hat
) and some usual ones that you see around in various websites.

how much was a pedicure and manicure at Fingerwork? did u do french or artwork on ur toes?

haru

hi LS,
thanks for the tip! but i'm planning to go for classic french mani..so most likely wil go to Hollywood Secrets, i think they are one of e cheapest around for french mani..

dazednconfused

haru, shymz...

HI gals! Hope your weekend was swell. Like mine was. Anyway, French mani is $25, French pedi is $35 at Fingerwork. Normal mani is $20, pedi is $30. I believe if you do both mani and pedi, its $45. Melissa has a website too! www.fingerwork4u.com

She does run promotions from time to time. So, give Melissa a call and enquire.

What is Hollywood Secrets charging for for French mani and pedi?

Spoke to my fiance and we're pretty much set on having the honey as our wedding favors. Went down to GWP today with a cousin of mine as she needed to collect GWP food vouchers for her company function. The lobby is all done, and I must say that it looks good. I had my doubts while they were still in the midst of renovations. The new furniture had not arrived at that point. But now... The look is modern English. No longer old English. The carpet leading from the lobby to the Tudor Terrace and the Tudor Ballroom needs a good wash, though. I wonder if GWP will do away with the Tudor Terrace after the new ballroom is ready...

haru

hi LS,
wah...thats lovely!!!! have a great trip..i had a huge dinner with black pepper crabs last nite. my skin is real sensitive,seems like i'm breakin out in a rash...yeow!!!!heck, its public holiday tom!!!!

haru

hi sharlyn,
you can check out their website. I think its goodwoodparkhotel.com (if its not right, try the search engines).=D

shymz

hi LS,
have a good trip!

hi haru,
take care yah, ur big day is coming soon
but i guess black pepper crabs is worth it... yum!

shymz

hi haru,
must be feeling really excited now right? i can't imagine what i'll be like 1 mth down the road
btw, did u order from kyo in the end?

haru

hi shmyz,
yup! i did, and the cakes were so yummy! my colleague ate like 5 at one go..hahahah...

yah, super excited, cant sleep every nite now..hahahah

leia

i'm thinking of going for the mayfair pool, but am not sure what it looks like. couldn't find it on the website. anyone with any photos to share?
everything is pretty last minute for me.. thinking of holding a solemnization and lunch recep in nov, but haven't started anything yet. just want a simple gathering
would appreciate any advice or help.

thanks so much in advance!

mishie

I'm considering GWP for my wedding in July next year. Was wondering if any of you had solemnisation @ Mayfair prior to dinner @ ballroom? If so, would it be possible for you 2 share w me the package you had? Thanks a bunch!

jem

Hi Michelle & Leia

The thing to do is to contact Jeanie Tan from GWP. get her to e-mail you the pics & package. She is very nice. her no is 67301847.

jem

Hi Shymz
due to the old folks being traditional, they would like the tea ceremony to be held at home....sigh otherwise, it would be so much beta.
my initial tots was to ROM around lunch, then have a buffet lunch. And during the buffet lunch, have the tea ceremony and photo taking at the same time. save so much trouble...

dazednconfused

Michelle and Leia,
Welcome to our thread! It's nice to have you here. Jeremy and his fiancee and myself and my fiance will be having our solemnisations at the Mayfair Pool too. Mine will be held this Nov in the late morning, followed by dinner at the Tudor Ballroom in that very evening. I believe Jeremy's celebrations are slightly different from mine. The Mayfair Pool is lovely, ya?? I'll be in full wedding regalia during the solemnisation and I hope to create a really romantic atmosphere at the pool and during the banquet! Have to speak to Bee Tin from Florabell soon!

jem

LS
Welcome back from the land of smiles shopping and spa(massage)! Pls send us the link for yr pics once they are ready!

Leia
I cant agree more with LS. Once you see the mayfair pool for yourself, you will fall in love with it. go to this link and take the photo tour. should have a small pic of the pool.
http://www.goodwoodparkhotel.com/banquets.htm

dazednconfused

HI EMF!
Great to have you back!

Wedding around the corner!! 3 mths to go...

Haru,
You must be getting really excited! My big day is 3 mths away and I'm already feeling so nervous! So many details to look into!

tersher

I would love to hold my wedding dinner at GWP .. however, I'm only having about 15 tables while the minimum no. required by the hotel is 18. Does anyone know if the hotel can bend the minimum requirement?

mishie

Hi Jeremy, thanks for your advice. I've just gotten in touch with Irene, and hope to view the place on Mon.
Hi L.S., congrats on your Nov wedding. I actually would like our wedding to be in Nov, esp. when we r both Nov babies....well-0, Jul'06 seems a gd time too....
so...did u pay extra for solemnisation @ Mayfair?

haru

Hi LS,
ya!!we just had our rehearsal last nite, and aft that i started to feel like there's so much to be done, coz we have the ceremony (3 march-ins!!)and we chose all our own music for everything, so alot of cueing needed.really glad i had my 2 good friends there who wil be coordinating the whole thing with me, they are really calm and composed, i think thats the most impt. we will prob have another rehearsal on the aftn on our wedding day. coz our cocktail starts at 6pm, we wont have much time to rest, so hopefully e morning events dun take up too much time. hope to end by 1230pm...

Hi Tersher,
i think u can try Raffles Hotel, they have a small room that i think can accomodated that.=>

tersher

Hi Haru,

Thanks for responding... but was really hoping to have my dinner at GWP... love the ambience there.... think I'll relook at my guest list...

haru

hi Tersher,
yup, but dun invite those that you are not close to just to try to fill up the place.its nice to have the pple whom u really want to be present on ur special day. u can top up $50 per table (i think its that amt) if ur number falls below the min table req. do give them a call and check.Good luck!

dazednconfused

Haru,

I'm so excited for you! It's almost here! Your big day... And to think, 9 mths ago, we were all giddy newly engaged brides-to-be on the hunt for a venue. How time has flown! I do wish you and your other half all the best, lots of happiness and children! I can imagine that you'll be extremely busy these days leading up to your wedding. So, do remember to relax and let God's inspiration and calmness lead you towards this very important moment of your life. Also, indulge in spa treats to help you calm your nerves. It'll be money well spent! Good Luck!

lizzie517

hello hello! me hv signed up at GWP too and my coordinator is jeanie too! as my dinner banquet is less than a mth away, i've yet to see the favours. could anyone of you advise me on the variety they hv? have yet to go thru the food tasting also, any dishes that you folks here would recommend? as i'm teochew i was hoping to hv the yam paste as dessert, but jeanie is recommending the mango dessert instead... any views pple? :eek:) and so far my experience with GWP has been great! jeanie actually allowed me to use the suite for a short photoshoot for my wedding album! also took some shots at the hotel entrance, but then hor, dunno call it lucky or wat, there's this gigantic durian in front! haha!! so the photograher had to try her best not to include the king of the fruits in the shots ;oP the hotel staff were very kind too!! bcoz the 1st suite they gave me did not hv any view or special furniture/features for photo-taking. the hotel mgr was quick to see my "frown" and immed look for a pool-view room for us! at least the window panels and sofa setting are nice :eek:) no regrets for choosing GWP!! :eek:)

lizzie517

hey haru, when's your big day? mine's in sep, yours around that time too? :eek:) me quite gancheong, still hv a lot of things to do... haven't even thot of what march-in song to use, hv not done up the thank-u speech, hv not brief my jie-meis, hv not memorise my church wedding vows etc. cham cham cham! how to manage like that? :eek:(

cookiencream

hi ladies, i'm back from honeymoon. Went to korea and HK for past 2 weeks... as for my wedding dinner, generally everything went fine, attendence was roughly 95% & my reserved table was used up. Fortunately enuff, i'm manage to break even from the ang baos as well. As for the food, got one complaint from a "gourmet expert" was that their sharkfin & assorted stuff were not quite fresh, the rest of their dishes were good... as for the suite, as within my expection, they assigned us a junior suite...

Hi haru, yr Big Day is coming Sat! Muz be v excited! I was so stressed up before the wedding, trying to get all the 'paperwork' done. Some strange hiccups did happened on my wedding day, but i guess the only way was to stay calm and happy helped me to overcome them. One last thing to share, my GWP coordinator Diana, though she was assigned to me close at last mins, was quite a warm & helpful lady. In short, I have a nice experiences wif GWP.