Goodwood Park Hotel

hi LS,
have fun at your PS!!! have an early nite today!just relax and have fun..hv u decided on the places that you'll be doing ur PS? actually u are doin ur PS very early eh? my wedding is about 2mths away and we only doing our PS next mth!hahahaha...remember to bring along some essential items like wet tissues, make-up (for touch up), etc...=D

hi vanessa,
hmm...u mean durian smell??hhahaha...(just kiddin!!) coz they have great durian puffs. well, i'm not too sure about the smell..not that i recall!=P

hi moo,
initially we tot of gettin furniture from everywea else but Ikea, but ended up that Ikea has e best looking and most affordable furniture!hahah, so about 70%-80% of our furniture from Ikea, but do dress up with your own accessories to make it look unique. we got a really exquisite table lamp (cost $120++) as a gift from a friend for our ROM, and the lamp just made the area look really nice and classy..

i found IMM shops to have nice stuff but too expensive. i like to buy small little decorative stuff whenever we travel, so if you are traveling soon, do look out for little unique pieces to dress up your home. have fun!=D

Hi LS, hv fun wif yr PS tmr!

Hi moo, i bought my sofa & dining set at Novena & White Collection. As for wardrobe, shoerack & TV console etc, i went for custom-made. I din like IkEA coz their stuff doesnt seem reliable to me. Juz my cents' worth.
But Ikea accessories like lighting are not bad.

hi cookieNcream, LS,

Thanks for your replies

cookieNcream:
were the portions big? is the fruit fish nice? heard some good reviews about the dish
what are the colour themes available now? did you top up for additional flowers in the end?

LS:
dance floor? wow, nice... good luck with your PS!

hi cookiencream,
u are totally rite on that point. Ikea stuff are not designed to last,thats why its so affordable. its more like if you are prepared to have the furniture for maybe just a couple of years.so its a good excuse to re-do your hse after the furnitures "give way". but some of e items do last for quite a while if you do take care of them.

guest what? i may plan for a surprise for my hubby...i've a friend who is willing to train me, if i wana to sing a song for my hubby while he plays the guitar acoustic. he wanted to teach me an instrument too, but i think 2 mths is way too tight to learn a tune! hahahahahahha....hopefully that wil come true....dun wana sing and torture my guests!!=P

LS
shared with us your experience at PS!

I did the essentials like wardrobes, dinning tables, sofa and kitchen with a contractor after many advice from friends and family that Ikea may not "last"... But I can't resist ikea's px and designs so other than that everything else in my house is ikea!!
I like its modern designs and cheaper pxes...
yeah like what haru said, can buy new ones a few years later.... I know of a no of couples who bought almost all ikea.

pls dun buy from this IMM furniture shop called bernini. we almost vomitted blood wehn dealing with them. Apparently they dun keep to their delivery deadlines and almost ruined my wedding cos the furniture almost cant be delivered on time!

hji haru

wow u r so sweet and romantic to your hubby.... my friend asked me to do the same secretly but I never sing my whole life so cant make it. it will be great to have some musical talents and present it to your loved ones like this.
But I think 2 months for a song is good enough...
Anyway it's once in a life time thingy..

are u still gg to Mauritius?

hi noscon,
so happy to finally have one of you ladies still active!!!hahahah...

well,my boss and colleagues said its really sweet to be so brave to sing in front of everyone for hubby, and that he wil def remember it, so i wil have to discuss with friend and see which song is not too diff to sing, yet meaningful for e occasion and wld sound nice acoustic.

as for mauritius, i think we wil decide on honeymoon destination rite aft AD. also so that we can plan time away from work. we both quite busy with work, so hopefully can take like at least a week off. maybe aft wedding, come back to work a few days, then fly off for honeymoon!

hi haru and cookiencream

tnx 4 yr contribution

will go n source ar b4 we committ. anyway, our hse is not even done :P

wow, haru u will be singing? great man! a pleasant and sweet surprise 4 yr hubby!

think the glasses will shatter if i sing haha

hi moo,
gosh, i really dunno. on one hand, really wana surprise my hubby. on the other, dun wana unintentional embarass him and "torture" our guests with my singing!=P i'm so afraid i'll just freak out and ruin e whole song, and be labelled as a frog (dat croaks!) for life....hahahahha.... i'll prob sing unless i can think of other things to surprise hubby.

hey ladies,
are you all doing anything special? other than the dancefloor that LS is doing?

hello haru,

if you don't mind, i've got a suggestion. A duet: destiny (by jim brickman & jordan hill) or your love (by jim brickman). find both songs really sweet, and level of difficulty is not that high

hi shymz!
thanks for the suggestion! will suggest it to my friend. coz he volunteered to sing with me to surprisemy hubby...hhahehhehe...

hey haru, i also like the singing idea. Instead of 2nd march in, i wld juz sing upon entering the ballrm, also can act as a surprise for the guests. But my hubby cant sing well, so i dont think he will agree to perform duet wif me. He will b 'jealous' if i perform duet with another guy frenz too... heehee

hi cookiencream,
haahhaah, well, then you better hold his hand and sing while you march in with him!

i plan to sing on stage with my good friend who hopefully can play the guitar to the song (acoustic) and sing along with me. my hubby wont be jealous lah, its a surprise for him! and i'll be singing to him!hhahaha...my guy friend wil be more like a back-up for me.(i need e moral support!!!)

How's everyone doing? Our PS went all right yday. There were a few hiccups with camera equipment, but all in all, it was a fun experience! Went home with hair the consistency and texture of a crash helmet, though. TIP: Apply lots of conditioner before using shampoo to wash your hair after your PS. Then wash and conditioner as you would normally do. My MUA says it'll prevent hair from being brittle coz the amount of hairspray used for the PS is unbelievable! And hairspray makes hair very dry.

The whole process took from noon to about 7ish. Tiring! To say the least... But it was a very nice experience. I didn't particularly like some of the poses we did, but oh well... We'll decide on the pics when they're all ready for us to select. Still tired, come to think of it... We ended up going to Tanjong Pagar for a few outdoor shots (shophouses) and Marina too - evening shots with the city in the background. I hope they'll turn out well!!

wow, seems that u have so much fun, l.s!

do share w us yr pretty shots,if u may.

haru, do rem to drink a lot of honey w water for your throat.

hi LS,
can't wait to see ur PS!!!thanks for the tips!=D

hi moo,
hahah, thanks! so u also think i should go all out and just do it?

hi little bride,
haha, thanks.i wonder if i'm brave or being just plain stupid!hahahah...so what do you have in mind to surprise hubby? how about belly dance???

hello haru,

you sure have some fantastic ideas... belly dance? hehe... do let me know how it turns out for you

hello LS,
just had my PS recently too... agree, hair was absolutely hard to wash (washed it twice to be rid of all the hair spray) mind sharing the photos when they are out?

Ladies...

Thanks! Yes, I'll gladly share my pics with you provided they turn out well!! I'm very vain, you see. Always want to look good. Haha... The PS was so exhausting that it took me the whole of yday to recover. Not that it wasn't a great experience. It was really cool, but tiring!!

Haru,
My friends from the U.S. have arrived in S'pore. So have our invitation cards! We love them so. My fiance, sweet guy that he is, couldn't wait to assemble them and put them into the envelopes. Let's see... PS completed, invitations have arrived... Next on our list will be the selection of pics which will be in about 10 days or so (14 max). Are we excited?? You bet!

hi LS,
wow, i must say that u are really well organized. my AD in about 2 mths and i havent even send the cards for printing!but i think we should be able to get it done by end of e month and get them distributed by july. i should ordering the cakes to distribute sometime next weekend too. and our PS not till mid July (just a mth before AD!) so the next 2 mths will be quite hectic. and we also have to go for food tasting and of coz, finalize gown designs and details...i have more of my applicances for our home arriving tonite and tom. =P

yes, haru, i think it is a very sweet idea to sing to your hubby and it will definitely be more special if you can do belly dancing!

hi moo,
hahaha, its tough enuf tryin to squeeze e courage to sing alone on stage, i think belly dancing is definitely out. so now thinkin bout other special things that we can do (or can ask our guest to do durin e wedding!),ahahahha

hey ladies,
i'm thinkin of getting a special sign for the car, like "just married" or something like that. are you all using just flowers or u gona add on for the car or some novelties? =P

Hi gals...

I've been thinking about the music aspect for our wedding banquet. We like Angels Brought Me Here by Sebastian Guy. Does anyone have a link to the song??

hi ladies, juz officially knocked off! Hoho!

Goodness, i havent hv the chance to go florist yet. I must seriously fix a date next wk! I wont be adding deco for bridal car as it belongs to my bridal studio. They will drive away after sending us to hotel, so c no point in adding d extra deco.

Btw, i'm thinking to do some wrist corsages for my jiemeis as thank-you gifts. Not really sure how to do, but will try to figure them out. So i gonna spend my coming weekend finding the materials. Hmm...

Haru, i will be going to Kyo Cakes showroom after work. If u still interested in their cakes, will share wif u later.

LS, i using Angels Brought Me Here too for one of my march-in. PM me if u wan the song.

hi ladies, juz officially knocked off! Hoho!

Goodness, i havent hv the chance to go florist yet. I must seriously fix a date next wk! I wont be adding deco for bridal car as it belongs to my bridal studio. They will drive away after sending us to hotel, so c no point in adding d extra deco.

Btw, i'm thinking to do some wrist corsages for my jiemeis as thank-you gifts. Not really sure how to do, but will try to figure them out. So i gonna spend my coming weekend finding the materials. Hmm...

Haru, i will be going to Kyo Cakes showroom after work. If u still interested in their cakes, will share wif u later.

LS, i using Angels Brought Me Here too for one of my march-in. PM me if u wan the song.

hi LS,
we went to batam last weekend for the shoot... so for me luckily the PS was divided into 2 sessions. for the last few shots we ended up getting totally wet! (we were supposed to lie down on the beach with waves washing over us) ended up with sand all over. hopefully the photos turn out nice

you are really well-prepared... my AD is on 30 Sept, and we are still looking for our new appt! not to mention that we've done nothing for invites,cakes and the rest

hello haru,
how abt recording that special performance instead of singing it live? that way no fear about going off-key or stage fright

for the car i think it's quite cute to have tin cans trailing behind a volkswagen beetle... hehe... but off-course it depends on the car that you are going to use

hello cookieNcream,
plenty of handicraft stuff at bras basah (art friend) bought all the stuff i needed for my ROM invites and feather pen there. i think it's cheaper than spotlight too

hi cookiencream,
great! pls share with about e kyo cakes okie? hopefully i'll have time to go next weekend to order (if its nice!).

hi shymz,
i think its a lil weird to record it, and if its not professionally recorded, gona look so..uncool!hahahaha..

i'm using Alfa Romeo GT, so i need something sleek..hehehe...

hi haru,

well, then you can get your "jiemei"s to help you do backup. you can sing a small solo portion, not that bad

wow! nice car... don't need much deco, the car gets enuf attention... hehe

hi shymz,
hahah,if they are willing! but good suggestion! i'm meetin my friends tom nite, so we'll have to seriously think if I should do it,hahahahah...thanks for your compliment on our car!

Hi Haru, i didnt went Kyo on fri due to last mins work crop up for my hubby. Haiz~
Anyway i made phone call enquiries. I guess afterall i wont be getting Kyo's as their free delivery is for min. $100. Their collection pt is at Jurong West, too far for me. I will hv my "Guo Da Li" this coming Sun!
It will juz be a simple affair whereby we also need to send cakes gift and cards to my parent's side relatives. Today I muz go & place order frm Bengawa Solo... their banana cake is v nice too! yum yum...

Hi shymz, i agree spotlight maybe a little expensive, but it's more convenient. They have a wider range of ribbons which are so nice! I had burnt my whole Sunday making the corsages. Phew! I hv finally figure them out! V pleased with my corsages. Haahaa.

hi cookiencream,
our parents really want e traditional cakes and we do not hve that many boxes to order so i think we will go and try their cakes anyway.did you try them when you were there?

cookiencream, u got any pics of ur corsages to share? any tips to share on how to do? n how much u spent? i haven got the corsages ready!!n my wedding next tues! i already told my jie mei to be prepared they may not have corsages to wear.

hi noscon, need ur advise urgently! may i know where u get the little baskets for the flower petals? how much r they?
hope to hear from u soon.

ahhaha, haru, u v funny. belly dance? ya, i do have a big belly. :p

tinking of doing a little speech shoot on video while waiting for my hubby come to fetch me in the morning then show it after his speech during the dinner. then invite him for a dance. any suggestions which song nice for slow dance?

hi little bride

already replied you...

all the best and have a wonderful and memorable wedding and everlasting marriage!

God bless.

hi little bride,
wah..you must be soooo excited!so when u collecting ur gowns? i just went for trial make-up last nite,really happy with my MUA. and my gowns are getting into place, really happy.there a few brides "admiring" my gown last nite, felt happy!hahhhaa...so vain ya???=p

i have no flower girl, only a ring bearer-my nephew who is only 2+, so hopefully he doesnt run away with the rings on the day itself!hahahah...

i think ur speech shoot is a great idea. ur hubby wil be really touched.=>

hey ladies,
i'm meeting my friends tonite who wil be assisting me in the AD event. and i think we will decide if i shld croon for hubby as a surprise on the AD!gosh...what am i doing????

i m currently looking for suitable venue for my AD n really interested in getting Goodwood park.
Hope to ask some questions.

1) From wat i noe, the max number of tables is 23. but saw some msg tt some tables will b blocked by pillars, is it true?

2) What abt the food? Is the food good and serving sufficient?

3) Are the suite beautiful? Any recommendation on any coordinator who i should contact?

sorry for asking so many questions

hi little bride! great to see u! wa, u sound so kan cheong! haahaa, make me kan cheong too!
Basically i made 5 corsages, spent ard $12. I show u the pic tmr, k? Now i'm thinking how to doll up my ang bao box.

Also looking for a pair of wedding bears. Anyone can recommend where got sweet & nice wedding bears, but not too ex one? I came across some nice wedding bear at one of the cart stall in the Raffles City. But quite ex. Now hope to look for sth nice but cheaper.

hi cookie,
check out weddingthoughts.com, they have some quite nice bears
not very ex also

hi haru,
must make sure someone is there to guide the little boy
at my friend's wedding the little ring-bearer kept walking away from the red carpet...haha, but it was very cute!

just met up with friends last nite to discuss. we decided to do away with my singing to hubby part coz i'll be freaking out most of the time. so we decided to maybe have some games instead.=P are you gals gona plan some games,etc?

do u think we need to tell GWP our programme planned for e evening? i suppose they are doing e coordination for us?

little bride and cookiencream,
u both must be sooooo excited!!! i have yet to settle my corsages and angpow box le..