Goodwood Park Hotel

juz as wat cookieNcream say, the day room is juz a deluxe rm. some helpers may be going straight to the hotel after the day ceremony n need to bath there. some hotels even give the room till the next day!

u girls must get them to include all the perks in the agreement first, read carefully liao then sign. i tink the onli thing short of is the projector.

ok, girls, will send the foto link to u all after this.

Hi noscon ,

Thanks. I have received your picture.

I must say that the atmosphere is wonderful , rite ? By looking at the picture , I will not know your husband is from Maritius ! :P
I am not sure whether is there any wedding at GWP this weekend , but I am meeting her.

Hi Lindy ,
All the best in your "negotiation" with Jeanie.

Are you checking with the projector as well ? Let me know what other perks you are getting, okie ?
I was told that they have 5 different suites situated at different wings. They will let you have whichever suite is available during your AD.

Hi L.S.
Are you still able to request from jeanie ?

thanks little bride
saw your pics and i really like the beach solemnisation. also like your makeup... hey wow.. they also gave cake and champagne? is it a hi tea or lunch?

eastlibra
I am very happy with my rom by the poolside... i never tot i will rom like that so it's a piece of good memory now... yeah my hubby is a mauritian chinese but dunno how to speak mandarin though he is chinese...
a lot of translation done by me when we talk to BS (my BS is very chinese speaking one) and my parents...

keep us informed about your visit to GW and the rooms you see..

Hi Eastlibra,
I REALLLY pray for a pool suite, coz i didnt really like e other one jeanie showed us e last time. so i should go down and talk face to face with jeanie to discus the details?

little bride,
thanks for the photos, really cool. u look really sweet and gorgeous.=>

I'll check about the projector soon ya? let u guys noe asap.

Lindy
Which one you saw? Last time during my ROM I stayed at one suite in the old wing. It's quite big, overseeing the main entrance of GW. But it's a bit old lah.. I think since poolside is newer, it shd be nicer...

Ladies can we actually request for a suite upgrade to poolside one? Heard from jeanie, must top up...

eastlibra,
WOW... You managed to wrangle so many perks out of GWP. How did you do it?? How much alcohol do you think most people consume at weddings? We're planning to have a bottle of wine at each table and 20L barrel of beer which is included in the our package. How much alcohol are you expecting to use up?

Thanx noscon n lindy for ur compliments.

noscon, its a hi-tea package which includes the champagne n cake, we also brought in wine, its like a mini wedding banquet. heehee...can i view ur fotos also? [email protected] thanx.

hope we all get a gd suite.

little bride

I see... I havent scan the photos taken by my BS yet. I will scan them soon, hopefully in 2 weeks time and show you all...

actually your wedding is just right after mine on 28jun!

yeah hope we all get a good deal with GW..

Hi L.S and nonscon,
how soon do u think we have to order e cards in advance if ordering from US? thinking whether to order samples first, i emailed some of the companies, waiting for advice on procedure. e thing is that we want to see a sample to make sure its all correct and what we are expectin. dun wana mess that up.

topping up for e poolside suite seems silly if that is one of the suite avail for couples upon availability rite? but its a risk that we'll hv to take, n i think my fiance would rather top up then risk getting the room we saw. its near the lobby, w no view...so he's stil contemplating Ritz Carlton room, but i dun wana run around...too tiring...

Lindy,
The Deluxe Poolside Suite is not any larger than the Jr Suite. Just that they've got an additional bathroom and the bedroom is separate from the living area. Plus, it opens to the Mayfair Pool. As for invitations, I think to be on the safe side, order 3 months or so in advance. The proofing can be done via fax. Of course, there is an element of risk involved. No local agent to guarantee results. That's the only down side.

Tried to send you a private message, but your account here at Singaporebrides isn't set up for that. Do you mind sending me an email? have something to tell you.

L.S

yes sure... ok will send you the link soon too...
the invitation samples are in my office PC so I will fwd you when I go back to work on tue..

im gg for my gown fitting tomorrow so ex ci ting!

Lindy
I think all our perks with GW may be different. Jeanie may ask me to top up but may not ask you to do the same cos we are getting different perks and packages... (hee hee) :P

But yeah it's very tiring and troublesome if you have to run to another hotel after the banquet.. it may be tiring lah... just 2 cents from me... If I were you, i may consider topping to get a better suite..

Also GW will ask us to collect invitation cards 3 mths in adv. so safer to get at least 3 months in adv. Can mail them 1.5-2mths before AD to advise guests to "save" that date...

Ladies

How do you plan to do up the photo montage? By yourself, ask your friends for help or engage a professional/company to do it for you?

Need your inputs in this as im deciding on how to do this as I really want a very very nice one at minimal costs...

noscon,

We're not planning to do a photo montage at all. If we do, it'll mean more $$. Not just for the montage, but also to rent the projector, etc... SIGH. It's money, money, money!

Lindy,
When you say "see a sample" of the invitation card, do you mean an actual copy of it? As a card? Or do you mean just a conceptualised version of it (like those i downloaded on to this thread)? Coz, I don't believe we'll see the actual card till after the entire order is processed and you get all the cards. This I know is how the American mail order companies work. Not sure about the printers here in Singapore, though.

Hi noscon,

how abt sending me ur ROM fotos first?

i also having headaches abt finding fotographers n videographers. wan to get a cheap n gd one. n if getting them to do montage will cost more $$, but dun tink i can do a meimei one myself...n if cant get a cheap projector then may juz forget abt the whole thing...

if no montage to show, the whole banquet will be v boring, then it comes to the qs of entertainment! looks like we got the same prob now! haha....

other girls any lobangs?

Hi Ladies ,

I am back after missing from weekend.

Hi little bride ,

Thanks for your pictures. Oh , that is a nice place to hold your ROM. Morever , if you didn't state it is ROM , I will thought that you are holding both ROM and wedding banquet on the same day !

Hi L.S,
Thanks for ur response. you can email me at [email protected] or [email protected] (if u have large files). I saw a link that says sample on the websites and wondering if i can request for a actual sample to be shipped over.(dun mind to pay a minimal fee for it) just tryin to minimize the risk of getting someting i dun expect, hahah...

hey ladies,
jeanie just emailed me that she needs to meet me soon already to finalize the details,etc. so i think i wil see her this weekend.

Hi nonscon,
i noe someone who have done quite afew montages for a few couples, he has very good taste when it comes to music for the video. not sure how much he charges though. i'll ask him.

hi little bride,
i tot of not doin montage at first too, but since i wont be having jazz band, i tot montage wld be nice.so i think i will still hv montage afterall.

hey nonscon,
how about some poloroid cameras for the guests to snap away some spontaneous photos? this is a wild one, how about a Q&A session? hahaha..depends on ur guests.if they are the wild ones, that mite work.

Hi Ladies ,

We have met up with Jeanie last Saturday to sign the confirmation letter and paid the deposit. (heartache after paying so much money. hee !)
Jeanie seems to be in a bad mood , don't know why. Maybe we keep asking her to show us the bridal suites! Anyway , after paying up , she is back to her herself again. She will call us up at least 3 months before AD. We can call her even before 3 months for any question or request.
I ask Jeanie about the new invitation cards , she told me that there is no new invitation card coming up this year ?! Can someone clarify ? I got confused.

I have seen three different types of suite. One is at Tower Wing , nearer to Ballroom and terrace, but it has only one Bathroom.
The other one is at Lobby Wing second floor.It has 2 bathrooms and a sliding door to cover the bedroom from the living room ( The tower suite doesn't have)
The last suite is one you ladies will love the most , the deluxe poolside suite ! This suite is the best of all , facing the mayfair pool which you can walk straight to it from the suite. This is situated at lobby wing first floor.
Unfortunately , this is not part of the 5 bridal suites GWP is providing. This poolside suite will have to be top up with $220+++ per night.
I have taken some pictures of the suite.

Hi noscon ,
Which wedding package do you take up ? You will be learning a lot of new things like culture and customs from your husband !

I also learn something about maritius.

Hi L.S. ,
We just ask and ask loh. Hope Jeanie will give it to us. We also got upgrade to 30L of beer.
Maybe because we are too thick skin thats why she is gets abit irritated.
Don't worry , just ask.
Allocate 1 bottle of wine per table is enough because someone will be drinking beer and some will not be taking both. So the extras can be given to those tables who needs more than 1 bottle. Getting 30L of beer is just in case. (Kiasu lah). Nowadays , more people prefer wine to beer.

My FH & myself had meet up Irene last sat.
As we had the pre confirmation contact that Jac had given to us before she left...
I tot to reconfirm certain thing before we sign the contact. As our wedding banquet is dinner @ the MingJiang Terrace & Mainpool Terrace.
In the confirmation letter, it actually states that are complimentary white seat cover.
But now, I am told that they will use the existing chairs!!! Where i was shown with the picture of the terrace with the wedding banquet deco using white seat cover.
Can someone who used Goodwood Park advise me, do they or they don't use white seat cover for the wedding banquet?
Am i able to insist, since in the confirmation letter did state tat in? Please Help!!!

6 May 2005 - noscon
28 Jun 2005 - little bride
29 Jul 2005 - cookieNcream
20 Aug 2005 - Lindy
25 Nov 2005 - L.S.
23 Dec 2005 - eastlibra
31 Dec 2005 - EMF

Hi Eastlibra,
how many tables you have for your WD? I only have 18 tables, would 20L be sufficient?

Jeanniegirl,

Not sure about the Minjiang Terrace and the Mainpool Terrace, but banquets held in the Tudor Ballroom and the Tudor Terrace do have seats with white covers.

Speak to your coordinator about your concerns. Hopefully, something can be worked out.

Can advise me the number of table u are holding at GWP... Do they give complimentary suit for wedding banquet of 15 tables?
Don't mind shared with me the package that you taking up. My AD is on 18 Sep.

thank you for your help & advise in advance

Jeannie Girl

Hey Jeannie Girl,
my AD is 20 AUg, and i wil be taking 18 tables, the min required for the banquets. there is a one nites stay given as complimentary.=)

little bride

i just need to scan my BS photos... im trying to finish by this weekend so you can see all my ROM pic from my photographer too... will share one...give me a few more days...
actually im quite excited to get it done quick myself but i need to get a scanner first...

lindy
would be great if you can share the montage guy's details with me... but hope can see his samples first..cos i very "cat" one.. :P

yeah the polariod idea actually one of the parties i went to adopted this idea and it's very very fun but quite exp as polariod film is more exp....
i choose the montage cos can "show off" my PS pic... hahaha

im also meeting jeanie this weekend, you sat or sun? but still not satisfied with some stuff so will try to come to an agreement first or....

eastlibra

think jeanie has more workload with some people gone...so maybe very busy and not in the best of mood... glad you got everything down in black and white.. so just waiting for the big day to come and you be the queen of the day...

i took up weekday tudor terrace package... what did you learn abt mauritius?

What do everyone mean when you say "allocate one wine per table"? you mean you buy 18 bottle of wine for 18 tables(if you getting 18 tableS) is it? or the hotel provide you with 18 bottles of wine complimentary as perks?!!!

pls share pics with me! thanks [email protected] cheers

jeaniegirl

yo! welcome!

i took up tudor terrace weekday package. 18 tables...

i think you need to pay extra $$ if you do not meet the minimum reqdm of 18tables...

pls feel free to ask qns here... we try to help...

noscon,
"entertaining" our guests during the banquet will not be a problem!! They have a knack of entertaining themselves. Really! These people love to yak and yak and yak! Plus, we're having one of our friends as D.J. So there'll be music and dancing!!

I really don't think eastlibra got the wine as one of his perks. But I could be wrong. Who's your coordinator? What are the items/perks that you aren't completely satisfied with??

eastlibra,

How many tables are you anticipating on your Big Day?? You managed to have GWP upgrade you to a 30L barrel of beer FOC?? Lucky you! Did you get the Edwardian package like most of us did?

Anyone have any idea where to get an Ang Bao box?? A nice looking one, of course. Thanks!

Hi eastlibra,

Can send me the fotos of the suite? [email protected]. thanx....

i tink it will be easier if we includes our email add here, then no need always type out...:P

6 May 2005 - noscon
28 Jun 2005 - little bride ([email protected])
29 Jul 2005 - cookieNcream
20 Aug 2005 - Lindy
25 Nov 2005 - L.S.
23 Dec 2005 - eastlibra
31 Dec 2005 - EMF

Hi lindy,
i also wish it will be best to have montage. but c how it goes first loh, no $ no tok...haiz...

Hi Jeanniegirl,
from wat i understand if u have less than 18 tables, you have to pay more. cos i actually dun need as much as 18 tables but we realised it will be more worth it to have 18 rather to have 15 or 16 at a higher price. we juz have to try to invite more ppl. i believe the perks still remains.

Hi Nonscon,
e hotels normally dun provide the wine. but you get ask friends who have used wines for their weddings and see if they hv contacts. me meeting jeanie on sat morning.=>

hey ladies,
for those who would like to hv e contact for montage can email me at [email protected].

Little bride,
whats ur budget for the montage, coz i think you may be able to get one done for quite good price if you are not plannin for a complicated one. yup,i think u have to pay about $50 more per table if u fall short of the min req.

this thread very shiok, ne?? very active, i like!!

Hi L.S,
if u not too particular, actually mayb can "create" ur own angbao box. just get one of those unwanted square cardboxes from e office, get it all nicely wrapped up and voila! i'll let u noe if i have anymore ideas.okie? =>

hi little bride,
in e meantime, u can also view the rooms on the GWP website (under accomodation : photo tours). but of coz its only 1 photo per room. at least it wld give u an idea of how it all looks. ^^

Hi Ladies ,

February is here and Chinese New Year is coming soon !

Hi Jeannie girl ,

Welcome to the club.

18 Sep is a very hot date cos' it is Mooncake festival. Is the ballroom taken up ? Why don't you consider the Tudor terrace ? It can be another kind of atmosphere.
What I heard from Jeanie , Min Jiang restaurant itself doesn't hold wedding banquet.

Hi Lindy ,

I will be taking 18 tables , subject to increase with the date getting nearer.
Its all depend on your guests. Older generation usally prefers beer while the younger ones prefer wine. If majority of your guests are the younger generation , maybe 20L of beer is enough.

Can you email me the contacts and the pricing for the montage ? [email protected]
Thanks !

Hi noscon ,

Ok , then I am 'suay' to meet her in a bad mood timing.

Well, Mauritius is located in Africa , near to South Africa. I thought all the inhabitants are either black africans or caucasians. Hmm... now i know they have Chinese !

What I mean is , to buy 18 bottles of wine for 18 tables. GWP will not provide as compliementary perk , they just waive off the corkage charge.
Let me download the pictures first , give me some time , okie ?

Hi L.S ,

I list down in the confirmation letter as 18 tables first , but it is subject to increase to a few more tables. Maybe when the day getting nearer , I think it can be 20 tables.

I got jeanie to increase to 30L of beer without extra charges. Yeap I am getting the edwardian package.

For the angbao box , i think you can make one just like what Lindy mentioned.

Hi Eastlibra,
whats ur budget for the wine?my guest list consists of mainly friends, so i dun think i wil have more wine instead, was originally planning to have only white wine, but i think most pple actually like red wine too, so i mite get both in this case..wil have to leave the wine ordering to my fiance.i'm not a wine drinker..^^

Hi Eastlibra

Thank you for consolidating the list of BTB @ GWP
Frankly speaking it's quite a disappointment to me when i heard that the complimentary item confirm & signed by the director is not available. Thinking how can a five star hotel like GWP made a mistake like this. Hoping that it's just a miscommunication. Going to drop an email to them, hope can clear up the situation.
But the disappointment on GWP had already casted on me.

Does anyone here know who is the best person, other than the director that can really make decision in GWP F&B dept?
Thank you for your help!

BR **Jeannie Girl

Hi Jeanie,
i'm not sure if this would be right in this instance, but the GM of the hotel is prob e best person to talk to.