6 May 2005 - noscon
28 June 2005 - little bride
20 Aug 2005 - Lindy
25 Nov 2005 - L.S.
23 Dec 2005 - eastlibra
31 Dec 2005 - EMF

lindy_koh

Hi Nonscon,
wow!!! welcome back!! any special stuff to update us?=D u must be counting down to ur big day!!!! have u done ur PS?

little_bride

Hi Lindy,

Thanx.Same to u!
My PS on late Mar, now headache abt my MTM EG, still not v sure abt the design.
How come u so late then PS?? like quite rush leh.
u got ur gowns ready yet?

Hi CookieNcream,

Yum yum, i like to eat....haha...:p
Today irene called me to inform jac left liao. we got the same coordinator now. i guess she may be a new staff to replace jac. let me know how u tink of her after u met her.
i shld be having my food tasting earlier. going to use it for parents-meeting session. heard tt their food is gd, so no worries...

dazednconfused

HI all,

The only problem my fiance and I have with the invitation cards GWP provides is that instead of having the bride's and groom's names on the front, it will read "Wedding at Goodwood Park". Sigh... Otherwise, would just go ahead and use them. But, we didn't like the idea of having the name of the hotel in the front of the card, inside with the text AND on the back of the card as well. Gee, our wedding should be about US (bride and groom) and not solely the hotel where the banquet will be held. Plus, on the card Jeanie gave us as a sample, the words "Wedding at Goodwood Park" is printed off-centre. SIGH. Therefore, will be asking a friend of mine living in the States to order our invitations and bring it back to S'pore when he comes home in June! Love those lobangs! Good thing we won't be needing Chinese text as well. Only English.

SO exciting!! Will be selecting my gowns next week!! Yay! May have to have my evening gown made to measure. Up to now, I can't seem to find an evening gown at Bridal Concept that my fiance, my Mum and I all like. But, perhaps when I go for my selection next week, there'll be one to our liking. Hehehe... Can hardly wait.

For those interested in viewing invitations available in the U.S.A., you may search on the net for internet and mail order wedding stationery companies. Some names to search under:
jamie lee wedding invitations, ann's wedding invitations, willow tree lane wedding invitations, rexcraft. The best part... You can actually view the invitation card with YOUR text on it! Try it! It's really cool!

noscon

Does anyone knows whether Goodwood provides the equipment for photo montage free? eg like projector etc

Also anyone knows when the new invitation cards will be out?

dazednconfused

noscon,
I'm not sure about stuff like projector and such. But as far as invitation cards go, I think they're working on the design. However, it may be a while before they implement the new design. Who knows how long that will take.

eastlibra

Hi noscon ,

GWP does not provide the projector because they don't own one. It is either they helps you to rent one outside or you get your own.

I will also like to know when is the new invitation cards out too.

noscon

wow...L.S and eastlibra
you guys still around? So happy. thanks for replying so fast..

Dun have projector? that's quite funny because do they expect companies who hold their functions there to bring their own? It's not very efficient... I'm puzzled why they dun invest in one since they have weddings regularly there...

I heard Jeanie say maybe after march, then the cards will be ready... i may not be able to use those as I'm expected to collect mine next month...

noscon

L.s

im happy for you for your gown selection... it's a very happy feeling, like there is so many nice things to anticipate, nice WG, nice EG, nice bouquet, nice PS, nice shoes etc etc

I couldn't find a suitable EG in my BS and I also went to tailor made mine...money money money no more money....

noscon

hi lindy

sorry did not read your msg till now... well I went for my EG first fitting last fri and might be going for my 2nd fitting either this weekend or early next week. will share pic of that.. it's a ted collection cheong sum.

Going for my PS next thu..so that's the big thing for me..any advice for that ladies?

Also going down to poppy floral to discuss more about how to decorate the terrace... wonder if it is worth it to spend extra on decorating the terrace....any advice?

that;s for me... how about you? have you done your PS? I had my rom at GWP main pool so if anyone interested, I can email a few pics of the setting but muz wait cos i havent scan.

lindy_koh

Hi L.S,
my cousin checked it out in auckland for me and the nice ones incl. everything costs about 1K.too expensive. so i'll have to look at other alternatives.=>

Hi Nonscon,
i think i wil be using more flowers to decorate e terrace, its stil early to decide for now, coz our date is 7 months away.but i think flowers (not too much!) wil be nice.

My PS only scheduled for early June.. but the next few months wil be pretty exciting coz i'll be getting the keys to my new home,etc...there's stuff happening every month until our big day, so i tink it'll pass by really quick!

I also wont have chinese wordings coz i'm inviting friends and direct family only. =)

dazednconfused

eastlibra,

I'm Chinese and so is my fiance. But we both grew up in English speaking homes. Nothing but English was spoken (OK lah... Singlish!). Our extended family too. That's why we don't require Chinese text.

Lindy,
1K??? Serious?? Whoa... That's expensive. Have you been to Bras Basah Complex? The invites from (the U.S.)that we like will come to about about S$400. I'll see what I can do about uploading them here to share with you guys!!

I think having more flowers for the Tudor Terrace would be a good idea! The mood and ambience will be "garden" style. Very cool. Keep us updated on all your exciting happenings! Seems you have a busy year ahead of you!

noscon,
Jeanie told you the new invitation cards will be out in March?? Great! I don't mind waiting till March to check them out! Thanks.

My photography session will be in June, so can't comment on that yet. Did you sign with Ted Wu? Lucky gal! He's WAY out of my budget.

cookiencream

Hi little bride,

I met Irene last nite. She's pretty ok. She joined GWP immediately after Jac left. Quite experienced in wedding but she is still quite unfamiliar with how GWP works. Btw, I was a little annoyed that the pricing of my package actually went up. My Edwardian package becomes 638+++ now instead of 628+++ given to me two weeks ago. Not sure for other packages. Although it's just a small differences, but i felt unhappy for the sudden changes.

And again i still have no chance to view the suite last nite, it's occupied forever it seems.

As for the perks, nothing much to argue. No waiver of corkage charges for red wine, no free flow of beer, no projector and yes, the guest book is so o-piang! sigh... kinda disappointed.
But i guess i will still stick to GWP coz i'm tired to look for other hotels again.

6 May 2005 - noscon
28 Jun 2005 - little bride
29 Jul 2005 - cookieNcream
20 Aug 2005 - Lindy
25 Nov 2005 - L.S.
23 Dec 2005 - eastlibra
31 Dec 2005 - EMF

dazednconfused

cookiencream,
It seems that GWP is being quite strict with their policies these days. Is the year of the rooster an auspicios year to get married?? Perhaps that's why they're being strict. Coz, they have the ball in their court. I do know that Nov. 26, 2005 is a super hot date to tie the knot. Tried to reserve that date in many hotels, but all booked. And that was in Nov, last year! So, in such a case, GWP has the upper hand. Supply and demand theory.

Anyway, please don't be too upset. GWP is a great establishment to hold your wedding banquet. The atmosphere there is very different from that of other hotels. And you get 5-star service and ambience at a great price of less than $700/table. It'll be all right. We're all in the same boat. Let's now concentrate on making it all worth it! Time to enjoy. After all, we are all getting married!

noscon

eastlibra

sure.give me a few days to scan first...

Lindy
where's your home sweet new home? me also doing renov now...

L.S
my EG is from Ted collection, not Ted Wu. I also wish my budget bigger... :p Jeanie said the cards will be ready maybe from march onwards so im not sure whether it will be ready by march...
keep me informed if you know anything else.

cookie and Cream
have you tried to ask whether projector can be loaned to us as a perks? or that they can give us a card printing voucher? im quite greedy i think...

lindy_koh

Hi L.s,
u are rite, they are very english lookin, very sweet! think it goes well w the location. I'll be goin to bras basah to check out Tecman and some other craft stores. if can i mite do my own..it wil take up some time though so i def have to start to look around soon.

Actually i mite be able to get a contact for the projector,i'll keep you ladies posted once i have the details.=>

hey nonscon,
my new home wil be in dover. near my parents, heheh..and we will be gettin a long-awaited puppy end of this year as our own christmas present.hahahah....woof!!

so everyone already placed e deposit?? i shld be goin down to pay my deposit sometime next month or march. coz my date not "hot", so no worries yet.kekeke...

dazednconfused

Lindy...
Remember to negotiate with jeanie! Since you're going to marry during the Chinese 7th month, you may be able to get more freebies! Good Luck!!

We forked out our deposit in Dec. 2004 coz Nov. 2005 is during the year-end rush for weddings and D&Ds. So, had to make sure we confirm our date early. Apparently not early enough for Nov. 26 though. That was our original date. Had to change due to its popularity. Missed that boat!

About the invites... Thanks. We're still searching for "THE" one. Will share with you guys as and when I find lovely ones on the net.

little_bride

hi nonscon,
i tink it will be nice if u add an arch for the terrace. i have been waiting to have an arch for my wedding but due to budget, i din get it for my ROM at rasa sentosa cos already quite ex.
n now i having my wedding at the tudor ballrom, tink it will be a bit squeezed to add in an arch... n costs at least 300+...

cookieNcream,

i was shocked to hear their package changed so much! it was usual to increase prices every yr for all hotels but the perks changes r 2 much liao. we had everything except the projector. we even asked for extra nite stay. i paid for deposit juz 2 weeks plus ago onli but haven sign agreement. maybe u try neg w them to give u the old package. they shld have advise u earlier abt this loh.

wau, so many ppl getting gowns from TC, evny envy...i no $...:p

lindy_koh

Hi L.S,
thanks for the tip, yup, wil def negotiate.

Little bride,
so the rates are higher now??? man, can't believe it, they is no change in menu, why must they change the price???sigh....

dazednconfused

little bride,
If you don't mind artificial flowers, I know of a florist who will rent their arch for $80. I have only seen pictures of the arch. Not too shabby.

dazednconfused

lindy,

I hope when you do get to speak with Jeanie, she won't spring the new prices on you. I'll keep my fingers crossed!

I believe its common practise for hotels to increase their prices yearly. It doesn't make sense to me, but to them... money talks.

little_bride

Lindy, i tink it shld be common for all or most hotels to increase their price every yr. i paying 628+++ per table for weekday w free 20litres beer n wavier of 1 bottle of wine per table.

LS,
my hubby will mind. but maybe u can give me the contacts first juz in case i wan.
thanx.

dazednconfused

little bride,

It's Heaven's Touch located in the east (Roxy Square 2). Don't have their telephone number off-hand, but I do believe they've got a website. The lady I spoke to is named Joy. Good Luck.

dazednconfused

Just wondering if any of your parents have met your in-laws yet?? How did you plan this event? And out of curiosity... Any of you manage to get a 2nd night free from GWP?? Thanks.

eastlibra

Hi ladies ,

I haven't been coming in for almost a day and this thread is so actively busy. I think it is good and can attract more people to come into this thread.

Hi noscon ,
Thanks . I take up the ballroom. I will be meeting Jeanie this weekend to pay the deposit and maybe I will have a chance to see other suites as well. I will check with Jeanie to arrange to look at the new wedding invitations cards.

eastlibra

Hi L.S. ,

Oh i see. I am just curious , don't mind.
As for me , I will put in Chinese Characters cos' I have relatives who are not English educated. Morever , to tell others this is a chinese wedding dinner. Hee !

As you have said , the wedding cards are very "English". I agree with that. It will be a very special wedding for you and your fiance.

My parents have meet with my in-laws on our ROM. They meet second time when we went to see our new home without furished yet. You can set up a date with a special occasion like eg. birthday/food tasting for a lunch/dinner to meet up.

I manage to get a second night from Jeanie.

eastlibra

Hi CookieNcream ,

I think you can negotiate with Irene and tell her that jeanie is much more flexible. I think for the perks , they are not there because GWP wants you to negotiate or ask for it so that it makes them very flexible and customer oriented.
Worse come to worst , I believe you can request to change cooridinator.

I have request for 2nd night stay , day use room for helpers and waiver of corkage charge for wine. But not for the projector.

noscon

LS

I think your cards give a very comfortable feeling, like "floating" feeling and quite special. kind of like your "superwoman and superman" thingy very nice touch...

yeah i hope Jeanie wont spring new pxes on me too. im mtg her next week.

my parents have just met my in-laws for the 1st time (my husband is from mauritius actually and his family stay there). i managed to get a 2nd night at normal room.

Lindy
dover? is there any new flats there?
im also staying near my parents in bt panjang. wow puppy! so romantic but dun delay giving birth to the real "puppy" eh?!! heehee

im gg down next sat to place deposit too... they have been hurrying me..

noscon

little bride

I think it's also a good idea to have arches but im still open to ideas from my florist...wonder if anyone thought of topping up on floralbell decor to get more floral decor.. wonder if they are good...?

can i see your ROM pics? when is it? I heard the solemnisation is facing the sea? should be very romantic

eastlibra
pls keep me informed about the suite thingy and when the new cards will come in ok? thks..

ladies
anyone of you doing poolside reception?

little_bride

hi LS,
Thanks for the contact, i will take note.
I also have a 2nd nite stay n a day room. but last time jac told me its onli limit to i tink is 5pm-8pm. i hope can check in earlier.

hi noscon,
i had my ROM last yr VD.
we had a hard time choosing venue n finally decide on there. ya, v romantic. but my frens were saying they can hardly open their eyes due to the glaring sun but i cant feel it! haha. n i luv their rm! n the view! tot of going back this yr for anni but no money leh.

i need ur email add to send u invites for my ROM fotos leh. i keep them in yahoo

noscon

thanks little bride
my email is [email protected].

btw just to ask, I thought they will give us a room at 2pm on AD? is that right? cos i was wondering what's the use of day room....pls advise advise...

lindy_koh

6 May 2005 - noscon
28 Jun 2005 - little bride
29 Jul 2005 - cookieNcream
20 Aug 2005 - Lindy
25 Nov 2005 - L.S.
23 Dec 2005 - eastlibra
31 Dec 2005 - EMF

Hi LIttle bride, eastlibra,
So u manage to get 2nd nite for free?wat do u mean by day room? =P

Nonscon,
wow! i imagine ur hubby-to-be as a hunk from maritius!!!heheheh...i'm surprised that you have not placed ur deposit. jeannie "chased" me the other day, but i'm pretty sure no one wil choose e same day as me, hahaha...so tryin to delay deposit. so jeannie discussed the details w u even though u have not placed deposit? that's cool!

Little bride,
can u also email to me [email protected]. thanks!!!

Hi L.S,
so how much does each card approx cost for you in SG$? coz when in US dollars, dun look too expensive.hahah..

cookiencream

I will use the day room for accomodating helpers or relatives who arrive early. Our helpers will be running around the hotel and they would need a place to put their things or carry out some preparation works. I dont think you want yr romantic suite to be occupied by all the bags and relatives constantly using your toilet rite? It's not for me. ;p

cookiencream

Btw, may I ask if the contract will also include the list of agreed perks? Does anyone request for a review of the contract first before signing?

noscon

Lindy

ok lah... i thought must settle on the perks first before signing contract one so i talked to her about that first... i suppose to sign much earlier but because of change of coordinators so i guess they "forgot" about me and only recently they asked me to pay.. haha... now suppose to collect wedding cards soon...sigh... I want the NEW wedding cards leh....

cookie and cream
i will verbalised my perks and confirmed with jeanie before i sign the contract. I will also read through the contract. Think it was mailed to us so we can read it at home, then when i meet jeanie, just give her the confirmation slip or something like that cos i haven't read it yet. mine is with hubby still....

i understand what you mean with the day room... now i understand better what it is used for ...thanks for clarifying..

lindy_koh

Hi Cookie and cream,
so the day room is actually another guest room? i see...

ya, i tink i should do e same too, neogotiate the details first then arrange for payment of deposit..what are the normal perks/extras that i should ask for? (more flowers, etc...?)

eastlibra

Hi Little Bride ,
Can you see your ROM photos too ? Thanks.

Hi Noscon and Lindy ,
yeap , like what cookiencream said , the day use room is for helpers and relative to use from around 3pm-8pm. It is another room , definitely not near to the bridal suite. Depends on the availability. I got the 2nd night free.

Hi Cookiencream ,
Thanks for the URL.
Is the contract also called as confirmation letter ? I will be meeting Jeanie this weekend to pay the deposit and signing the letter. The perks I have request will be indicated in the letter too. Jeanie has emailed me the confirmation letter for review. She will be holding 2 copies , signed by both parties , one copy each.

dazednconfused

HI all...
Kinda bummed lah. Didn't ask for a 2nd nite. Sigh... Think Jeanie will be generous enough to throw in other perks?

lindy,
Have yet to figure out how much per card costs. We're pretty sure if GWP doesn't have their new invites available by April, we'll go ahead and order from the U.S.

lindy_koh

Hi Eastlibra,
i think i would def try to ask jeanie for second nite free plus e helpers room. the plus side is my wedding on a unpopular month, so hopefully that gives me bargaining power.hahah..do u know what suite u getting yet? i really want a nicer suite, so i gues i'l hv to see if they can book pool suite for me.i noe its tough, but stil gona try.=P

L.S,
I think we share e same sentiments about have our invites look special, so i can totally understand. was just calculating that it would cost an estimate of at least $600 for the customized cards and ready made envelopes. mite be around e same price if u were to order from US, if the design isnt too expensive. I'm stil lookin around too..

noscon

Hi LS

yeah I will email you some card samples design soon which I surfed from the internet too cos long time ago I wanted to do up my own cards too...

lindy
when are you gg to meet jeanie for the contract signing? i think normal perks are 1 extra night or 30L beer or usage of dayroom etc these are normal ones..

noscon

cookie and cream
thanks for the list...

eastlibra
pls check yr mail.
sent you the rom setting pic at main pool... do you know whether there will be a wedding at GW this weekend? like to go and view it...