Goodwood Park Hotel

eastlibra

Hi Junnie ,
Congratulations to you !
Will you share your experience with us ? Anything to take note of ?
Will you mind share some of your pictures with me ? My email address is [email protected]

eastlibra

Hi Michela ,

GWP do provide vegetarian and muslim table. They are the same price to the normal table.

However , if you have individual people and cannot make up 10 per table , there will be 1/10 of the table price in addition. they will be having 6 course dinner instead.

For example , if you have 3 vegetarians for the table, total will be (1/10 of table price x 3) + table price.

Negotiate with Jeanie , she can provide a better pricing.

minty_mic

hi tinting and eastlibra,

many thanks. i have not decided on the wedding date. still in process of planning for house and not even attended the marriage prepar course etc.. though 2007 is still far away ;P

junnie

We took the bridal suite from the new wing, quite a distance to walk to the ballroom.. but very nice and spacious.. as for pics i have not collected the pics from my photographers - not ready for collection. But i must say, alot of good comments regarding the food, only got one negative feedback is that the staffs tend to clear the dish quite fast, before the guests can finish the food..thus my guests felt a little rush.

lindy_koh

hey L.s,
i spent the whole of last nite surfin thru the website for nice invitations and i really like those from the states but i'm thinkin if i'm gona spend a bomb esp with e shipping now that my boss may not be heading to the US...oh dear...am contemplating designin and printing my own...

lindy_koh

Hi Junnie,
was ur suite near the mayfair pool or main pool? if i'm not wrong, there are 2 poolside suites? i think i'm gona have to ask Jeanie to show me all the suites if possible e next time i see her..hahahah..

dazednconfused

HI lindy,.

That's an idea! I do so love the ones from the U.S.! Also, Jeanie did say that GWP may have new invitation cards this year! SO, I'm keeping my options open.

My fiance got in touch with Jeanie today. Sob!! Sob! The flower arch for the solemnisation ceremony by the Mayfair Pool is an additional $400! Sigh! That's on top of the $450 charge for use of the Mayfair Pool.

lindy_koh

Hi L.S,
Really??? Jeanie is a fan of Martha Stewarts' idea and creations so i hope i can ask her to bring in more stuff like those of Martha Stewarts! whahahha...i think i got to start to look for good printers who can also do embossing...

wow, the flower arch is quite pricey eh? can u do your own???

junnie

HI Lindy,

Yep is pretty near the Mayfair Pool.. tink the suite on the 2nd floor at the new wing is much nicer but the stairs are rather steep so may not be a good idea to stay on the 2nd floor...

Hi L.S.

Maybe u want to try this florist called SpellBound.. she did the decoration for my church wedding... wish i could show u the pics..but my photographer is still processing my pics..

eastlibra

Hi ,

Jeanie seems to be very busy. I can only meet up with her next week to finalise the confirmation letter.
Then I can view the other suites.

dazednconfused

HI all,

About the flower arch for solemnisation ceremony by the Mayfair Pool.... there's a place that'll rent one for $80 (artificial flowers). I'll have to pop by their shop to take a look. Sounds inexpensive, so I'll have to check it out to make sure I'm getting value for money! Hehehe...

Lindy,
When you say embossing, you mean the text, ya?

Junnie, Thanks for the info on Spellbound. Who was your consultant there? Do you happen to have their contact info? Thanks!!!

junnie

Hi L.S.

Spellbound number is 96580816 (Anna). How much are u willing to spend? What kind of flowers are u going for?

lindy_koh

Hi Junnie & L.S,
I noe nuts about flowers and what i should go for for the WD...is GWP gona provide some flower decor for the dinner??

dazednconfused

Lindy,
yes, GWP will provide some flowers. Have to check with Jeanie about the rest of the info. I think the red roses theme is popular, but not sure if my fiance and I like the idea enough to go for it. Sigh. Yes, it's gonna be tough making up our minds.

Junnie,
Like lindy, I know nothing about flowers. All I know is that flowers can make or break a wedding. Of course, I would like to not have to spend too much! Have to consider flowers for me to toss, for the bridesmaid and for the flower girls. My bouquet will be provided by the boutique I signed with. Depending on the choices they have, I may have to use that as my toss away bouquet and buy my own bouquet from elsewhere.

Thanks for the number and the name of your consultant. Will speak to them soon. Would like to hear what their ideas are. How to go about negotiating with florists?? Is it even done??

junnie

Hi Lindy,

Yep GWP is going to provide flowers for the dinner, mainly roses..hahhaha and i chose red which u dont like reason being becos the table cloth n napkin i went for white white thus red roses will go well with the dinner decor...

Hi L.S
Did u call up SpellBound?

lindy_koh

Hi Junnie,
wow, cool. I'm sure it'll look great (if not Jeanie wouldnt recommend it!) so GWP wil also provide table centre pieces for all tables rite. special ones only for VIP,ya?

junnie

Hi Lindy,

Yep thats rite.. as for the VIP table i went for red tablecloth and napkin, i use back their previous red cloth and napkin as the new red tablecloth and napkin colour i dont like it...
Yep all got table centre peices and special ones are for VIP..

lindy_koh

hi junnie,
i love white orchids, but i think the best thing is to go for the flowers that are in season so that i dun have to overspend on flowers..

dazednconfused

HI gals,

Well, seems like just about all florists' charges are about the same. SO, perhaps I'll just have Jeanie speak to the one GWP deals with to see to my floral needs. That way, the coordination will be smoother. And (knock on wood!!) if there are any hiccups, its also easier to pinpoint where it occured and have it rectified.

Took a look at the arch with artificial flowers. We're not keen on the idea anymore. We think it looks very 80s and early 90s. Perhaps 2 standing topiaries or some other form of standing arrangements. Should run us about $240 for both if fresh flowers are used. Whatever flowers we use for the morning solemnisation ceremony can also be transferred to the ballroom for the banquet in the evening!

little_bride

I am a GWP bride-to-be also.

You mean we can choose the suite? Tot we will be given the junior suite? heard tt its small....

Btw, any ex GWP brides here? or other GWP brides-to-be, anyone asked for early checkin for the day room? n will they provide any angbao box? saw their guest bk v lousy, have to buy our own. invitation card not nice also but no choice. jac say cant change for other things if we dun wan their cards...

lindy_koh

Hi Little Bride,
welcome to the thread! wil u be using the Ballroom and when is ur AD? i also decided to get my own invites and guest book. coz the invites are a low cost item for the hotel, they prob wont be able to throw in something else..bummer..nevertheless, i still want to get my own invites..

milmil

I just have my solemnization at GWP's Mayfair Pool. The whole event is great & Mayfair Pool is a very lovely place for solemnization. Very exculsive unlike the main pool. My co-ordinator & the rest of the staffs are very helpful & i highly recommended.

I love orchids too so i choose white orchids for my centerpiece. It comes out very nice.

My AD will be at GWP on Dec 05 and i am looking forward for my BigDay!!

eastlibra

Hi there ladies ,
I saw some newbies here. Congratulations to you GWP brides-to-be.

Hi EMF and little bride !
Welcome.
When is both of your AD ?
Don't mind filling up the list ? Hope to attract more GWP brides into this thread.

20 Aug 2005 - Lindy
25 Nov 2005 - L.S.
23 Dec 2005 - eastlibra

eastlibra

Hi Lindy ,

Where do you get the invitation cards and the guest book ? Thinking of sourcing for more choices. Heard L.S. says they are going to have new invitation cards this year ?

Hi Little Bride ,

I heard from jeanie it all depends on the day itself to see which suite is available. whether it is the tower suite , junior suite or the lobby suite. I do not know about the mayfair pool suite , I will be asking jeanie again when I see her this weekend.
They don't provide ang bao box and I have ask for a day use room for my helpers.

lindy_koh

Hi Eastlibra,
I was sourcing for them in the states websites and also NZ, but its a little pricey with shipping and all, so what i mite do is to design our own and look for good and reliable printers to do the printing. as for guest book, i havent really started looking..=P I checked with jeanie and she said new cards wil take quite a while to be implemented, so i think better dun depend on that.

wow, looks like i'll the be next GWP bride!i can start to feel the excitement!!

hey EMF,
big congrats!!! i love white orchids too!! are they expensive?

cookiencream

Halo All,

I'm new to this forum. Found your postings very informative. I hv juz placed booking wif GWP for its weddg package but was upset to know that my orginal coordinator-Jacqulyn had left GWP last week. Does anyone has wedding coordinated by Irene? Please share wif me your 'working experiences' wif her. Thx.

lindy_koh

Hi Cookiencream,
i have been liasing w jeanie, not too sure about irene. congrats!! when is ur big day? u booked the ballroom?

laluna

Can't help but have a good feeling about GWP. I'm planning my dinner for 2006 and I haven't decided on many things yet like the venue, wkday or wkend etc. Can you gals share with me the price that GWP is charging per table? The only thing I'm certain is that I'm going for 18 - 20 tables which is just right.

lindy_koh

hi Laluna,
GWP is def a nice place if u are lookin for something diff from the 5-star hotels that are more corporate-catered. GWP is more classic with a nice english touch to it. Some pple like it, others mite find it too "oldish"..u really have to view it to find out for yourself. the price per table is relatively reasonable compared to four seasons and Grand hyatt...about the $700-$800 range. give them a call to make an appt to view, good luck!

milmil

Jacqulyn has left? Hmm.. I just hope that it won't happen to Jeanie..She is a good & helpful co-ordinator..

cookiencream

Hi Lindy & Laluna,

I hv compared Rendevouz & GWP and i muz say it was a difficult choice for me to make. Both are good except the latter is more classy! Rendevouz provides a more competitive package and GWP is slightly more ex with $732 and above.

Laluna, you can email them to get a quote. They respond pretty fast with a follow-up call. If you hv d budget, GWP is still a better choice for yr everlasting memories.

Lindy, my weddg is abt one month b4 yours. Congrats to u too!

eastlibra

Hello laluna !

Hello cookiencream !

When is your AD ? Welcome to the family !

20 Aug 2005 - Lindy
25 Nov 2005 - L.S.
23 Dec 2005 - eastlibra
31 Dec 2005 - EMF

This thread is getting crowded. It is a good sign!

eastlibra

Hi cookieNcream ,

Did you request to change to Jeanie ? She is good. What did you request for your wedding package ?

Did you request to visit any of the suites ?

eastlibra

Hi Laluna ,

Give a call to GWP. Someone will ask you where do you live and they will direct you to a wedding coordinator based on the area they are assigned to.

GWP have 3 wedding packages :- Edwardian , Victorian and Gregorian. Pricing ranging from $732 nett and above. One of the best thing is that GWP considered Friday as a weekday. They have a ballroom which is located at one end of the hotel , can be consider as a private area for you and your guests.

little_bride

Hi Lindy,

I dun tink i will be getting my own invites then due to budget constraint but will definitely get our own guest book. i tink their guest bk "cannot c ppl" leh.

Hi eastlibra,

Last time i asked to view the suite but none was avaliable. will ask to view it next time i go again.

Hi cookieNcream,

Jac had really left?? I tot she onli went on leave for a few days last week wor. Huh...how come no one inform me. :\

28 June 2005 - little bride
20 Aug 2005 - Lindy
25 Nov 2005 - L.S.
23 Dec 2005 - eastlibra
31 Dec 2005 - EMF

Lindy, now u r not the next bride liao. its me! haha...:p

lindy_koh

Hi Little bride,
congrats!!! u must be sooo excited!! u doing ur PS soon then? coz me onli doin my PS in June.=P Ya, i think best to get ur own guest book, wouldnt cost that much if u get a simple one.=) i am still pretty insistent that i want to get my own invites even though its gona cost me, stubborn eh? I already made up my mind to make my own from e very first day i started planning, i'm so picky isnt it...???

Lindy - DEFINTELY NO

cookiencream

Hi L.S,
I guess i would use the cards provided. It's simple but not ugly coz i hv seemed the worse wedding card.

Hi eastlibra, i guess i hv to meet up wif the new coordinator tonite before i ask to change to Jeanie. I havent pay deposit, so still hv room for changes. Tink their suite always occupied one izzit, mi still hv no chance to view it. I will request to see it again today, & yes the guest book... i havent seen that too.

Hi Little bride, your AD is 1-mth ahead of mine! Do update us on yr preparation and food tasting