Goodwood Park Hotel

silvery

Hi aeina,
For weekdays: Edwardian $628+++ ($732 nett) applicable from Monday to Friday excluding eve of public holidays and public holidays.
For Weekend package: Victorian $738+++ ($860 nett)
OR Georgian $788+++ ($918 nett)

The deposit is $3500. So when u planning for your wedding? Heard they are changing the wedding favors for end of the year package.

Weoseek,
Thanks for the info. guess thats all we can bargain for. So any feedback? Was the service good?

weoseek

Silvery,
my wedding is not yet over.So dunno if service is good or not. But pretty surprise got this kind of victorian/georgian name for their package. Do u know what is the favors?

aeina

Hi Silvery,
Haven't fixed a date yet. Now in dilemma cos it is really too small. so sad.

silvery

Hi Weoseek.

I think is potpourri. So when is your wedding? Have u book with them yet? Yep the name is kind of unique. i think georgian has better food and they also provide a 45 mins band, mainly jazz music i think.

Hi aeina
U are looking for a place to hold 30 tables? How about Traders Hotel? Think they can have more tables compared to GoodWood Park.

weoseek

They hv told me before it won't be potpourri, or chopstick...since so many other hotels are having these favours.

My wedding is in Dec, booked since Jan b4 their new package came out..so not aware of these new names for the package. Is the band only for georgian? Its pretty expensive, up to 900..wah.. The ballroom is pretty small..do they hv place for the band?

showers

Yeah, I heard that the favors wouldn't be the usual bears, chopsticks, candles, keychain stuff. Tink the mgr told me that the favors are going to be gifts with an english theme, like to enhance their Victorian/ Edwardian packages futher.
As far as I understand, the band's only during pre dinner cocktails? So maybe at the foyer huh..
Mine's the Victorian Package deal...tink it's quite unique....;)

weoseek

shower,
U also book at the marquee huh? Me too....Does they say ur package also include band? marquee's reception is even smaller. Actually i hope the favour can be two little bell..hv seen it from some other hotels very cute.

silvery

Hi Showers,
Me also takeing up the Victorian Package. How many tables are u going to have? Mm.. maybe should ask the coordinator regarding the favours. Signing up with them next week.

showers

Mine's actually about 20 tables...tink the maximum at the marquee's about 22 tbls only...oh well..small & cosy's the idea lar.
Victorian package no band lor...only the Georgian one.. But if Victorian pkg nids band, muz top up abt S$500.00 or someting for a 3 pc strollers.. quite english rite...3 pc strollers in the marquee..ha! Have you guys thot about any theme in particular?

silvery

Hi Showers,

Yep is the Georgian package that comes with the band. The band is only for reception, dont think pple will appreciate it, they will be busy talking than listening to the music moreover the reception area is pretty small. Me meeting up with coordinator this sat, to finalise details maybe can find out more..
Which menu are u taking up? Vic.1 or 2?

silvery

Has anyone seen the new wing bridal suite? Btw Hubby not free this sat thus changed to next sat will let u guys knows whats the latest changes regarding wedding favours, decoration etc..

katherine

wat is this thing about the marquee?? the last tat i attended a wedding at goodwood, it was in the tudor ballroom and i called them up recently, but they said they only cater to small groups now...anyone can explain to me?? a bit lost...

silvery

Hi Katherine,
Kekeeke, me also not sure about the marquee ballroom, me too i attended a wedding at Tudor,added to that my previous enquiry with them, they never told me regarding another ballroom besides Tudor, anyway i will meet up with the coordinator this coming Sat, will check out for u. Tudor can only accomodate up to 23 tables, 25 will be too squeeze.
Heard that they have come out new favors: flower tea or honey, added to that heard good feedback abt the new decor. Are u also looking for a place for your Big Day?

whowillbe

Just want to ask whether the food in Goodwood is good. Also what's the diff (as in the ambience etc) between the marque and the ballroom. Is the bridal suite big enough for tea serving ceremony??? Thanks.

katherine

hi silvery,

yah, looking for a venue, and thinking of doing something outdoor, like garden or poolside, which was wat i initially enquire with GWP until i came into this thread and read about the marquee thing, anwyay, they have send me the quotation and attached some pixs of the marquee, it's not transparent at the sides like wat i thot it would be like, more like those sony fair marquee, if u know wat i mean....

u going down this sat?? hmm...i'm going down too, but not sure if sat or sunday, just dropping by to see the place, who's ur coordinator???

hi roy,

dun know about the banquet food, cannot rem wat it was like when i had it, was yrs ago, but i got the quote for the buffet package and the food looks yummy!! raw oyster, smoked salmon, strawberries with chocolate!!! hahaha....sure to tempt me anytime....

i think for the marquee they r trying to create a more romantic ambience..while the ballroom is more majestic, i guess...

silvery

Hi Roy,

I attened a wedding held at GWP last January 2004 the food was great (one of the reason why i choose to have my wedding there), heard alot of good review abt the food. How many relatives will be coming to your bridal suite for tea ceremony? I would suggest u meet up with the coordinator (tell them u want to view the bridal suite, thats what i am going to do on this coming Sat).

Hi Katherine
Yep, i was reading all the archive msg,i realised that Marquee is outdoor while tudor is the ballroom.Mm.. will try to ask for pics to see regarding marquee. But when is your wedding? I heard that Marquee is not always avaliable. If u have a date u like better go and meet up with coordinator and secure the date, cos u have abt 2 weeks to think it through unless someone else is interested in your date. Me initially wanted to book for end of this year but all dates are out except Christmas. My coordinator is Jacquelyn, she is incharge of couples who stay in the north.

katherine

hi silvery,

u mean their coordinators are distributed based on where the couples stay?? hmm...no wonder they asked where i stayed...ok, then can't change...i m waiting for jeanie to call me back, cos want to go and see the marquee, but the girl said it's not open unless there's a function, so better fix an appt...still waiting....

my wedding date, tentatively, 13th march next yr, i think should still be available....

the marquee sounds outdoor but the pix tat she sent me dun look tat way...u want me to send u?? email me, [email protected]

showers

hi guys...
wow! so many postings recently...my coordinator's Jeanie 2! She's been pretty helpful throughout our dicussion, maybe you got her on 1 of those days...haha!
the air con marquee- Tudor Terrace, where i confirmed my wedding, is actually a fully enclosed area which projects an outdoor feel. All white & dreamy's the effect!! U'rite about that, Silvery.....!! ;) Have u goten to see the new favors yet? Floral tea & honey's quite english, not too bad an idea..hehe, can't wait to see them!
So Roy, have u bin down to view the place yet? No worries bout the food coz i heard some good comments bout it.. Actually can check with Vance, whom's having his wedding this month...He's probably had his food tasting oreadi..

silvery

Hi Katherine,

Sure would love to see them email me at [email protected] would really love to see them, u know how many pple they can cater? Oh next year March, yep think is still avaliable but better check out first, play safe...kekeke.. So have u went around checking out for gowns? Me just realised u need around 6mths before actual day to do your first fitting.. that will leave me 3 mths to lose weight.. kekekek

katherine

hi camomile and silvery,

u got mail....

hi showers,

the marquee sides r not transparent rite?? if so, how does it project an outdoor feel?? i dun know, maybe cos i haven't been down to see it so cannot really feel it...have talked to jeanie, she's alrite, think tat time cos unsure of how the poolside thing going to be..anwyay, she said i need to fix an appt with her to view the marquee..cos it's not open when no function..so reserve my opinions until have gone down to see...

silvery...haven't start with my gown thing, but have sign up with a BS already..in fact, signed up in 2000...during a road show, they gave me an open date for 8 yrs...hahaha and oh, i decided i m not going to lose weight for my wedding, becos since i haven't been able to do so for 26 yrs, dun see how i can do tat in one yr...hahaha...just going to try to tone my arms in case want to wear tube or watever...but not doing any other thing....

whowillbe

Hi Vance,

Just would like know how was the food tasting. I read your earlier thread, you said that you got a suite upgrade + an extra nite. May I ask what sort or upgrade you got??? Was it a Tower suite to a Junior suite??? Also is your coordinator Jeannie or Jacqueline??? Your information will be greatly appreciated. : )

silvery

Hi Katherine,

I went to GWP today to finalise the contract (still need to meet up again) so sian.. anyway went to see the marquee, there are two marquee one is an open concept, is like an open cafe concept the other is the place your pics show. What i understand is only one marquee will be open for one wedding each day just incase if it rains the outdoor marquee can move in to the enclosed one.
Very Very nice and romantic, abit tempted to switch venue... kekekek. You should go and take alook better to go in the evening cos heard it will be even more gorgeous!!

showers

Hi Katherine,

erm....mayb u shuld get Jeanie to email u the marquee pix first at least u'll have an idea before u go down to see the place... marquee is by nature a canvas tent, so tents kinda like project an outdoor feel....ermm..hope this is helpful? hehe. i guess u either like it or u don't... oh, yeah...it's not plastic transparent at the sides like those "on sale" make shift tents outside Taka or John little...haha.
anyway, let me know of ur comments after u'd seen the place huh..;)

katherine

scribblez, u got mail.. ;)

hi silvery and showers,

we went down yday to see the place...basically i like GWP a lot, like the hotel and design and all, it's one reason why i bother to check it out in the first place..

the open concept marquee should be the one at the poolside rite?? we went in the afternoon, so maybe tat's why it didn't look tat gorgeous...i m pretty concerned if there will still be diners around there...cos when we went in the afternoon, there were....and jeanie said there may be some changes to the poolside, meaning no marquee, so also dun know how...see how first...

the marquee opp the cafe, we dun like it....sorry to say tat...think maybe diff concepts of marquee?? for us, marquee meaning we get to see the surroundings but with a roof over our heads...heeee....but glad tat u girls like the place..very impt....

junnie

Hi Katherine

Decided to change my nick changed as someone is having the same nick as me. So have u decided to sign up the package with them? But i heard they can only put max of 22 tables.

katherine

hi junnie, wat was ur original nick huh??

we are still thinking about it...22 is ok, we only have about 12 max...
r u signing up with them??

junnie

Hi Katherine
My original nick is silvery. Anyway i am suppose to sign up with them last Sat as they are some minor adjustments to the contract, will sign up with them once the new contract is finalised. So are u signing up with them too?

katherine

hi junnie,

still considering, cos our only hope lies with the pool but jeanie said they have some plans for the poolside, so think have to wait for her to finalise the plans and then we see how...meanwhile, also looking at other places...so which one u taking?? the marquee or the tudor ballroom??

junnie

Hi Katherine,

I will be taking the Tudor ballroom, they will be sending one of their latest ballroom decor, u want to take a look? I can forward to your email. Heard from my friend Hyatt outdoor is pretty nice, and the food is good too.. maybe can try to take a look there..

katherine

hi junnie, yes, pls forward to me the pix...grand hyatt garden is very nicey!! but their package very expensive..for the no. of guests tat i have, it will be $94.80 nett and need to pay 2k for the backup room..so go way beyond budget...

junnie

Hi Katherine,

Can i have your email address? If not convenient u can email me first and i will forward to u.. [email protected]
Wow i did not know Hyatt is charging so high!! So what are the rest of your choices?

katherine

hi junnie,

just mailed u...

hi scribblez,

i think it depends on wat kind of menu u r looking at, the last tat i checked with them, even buffet also can have in marquee or ballroom, it's the buffet package

katherine

hi junnie, didn't get ur mail, think my mailbox jammed up, can re-send??

didn't check out sheraton cos my fren had their wedding there, so thot i dun have it the same place, silly or not??

junnie

Hi katherine,

Pics sent to u.. tell me what u think ok?? So far how's the search for a venue?
Hahha u are so cute, but i understand just want something different from your friend.

katherine

hi junnie,

i got the pixs, thanks! the poolside looks nice hor?? anyway, have asked jeanie, she said their poolside marquee is going to go and they are going to set up some structure that i dun understand wat she's talking about...other alternatives would be the marquee or the ballroom, got to find one day, evening time go and see the marquee nice or not...cos i really like goodwood park's menu....so u doing sit-down dinner huh??

heard from my fren tat goodwood park is famous for their durian puffs...maybe i can conjole jeanie to change the dessert to durian puffs..yumm....

was talking to my fren yday and telling her i want a grecian gown...so we were exploring the possible venues for such theme...poolside still the best...must see how the poolside turns out after they set up the structure

camomile

Hi hi Katherine,

I have got the pics, thank you! Went Goodwood last sat, saw the marquee and the ballroom. The marquee is nice but the drawback is those tables and diners at the walkway between the marquee and the café. Will have to go again when there is a wedding to take a good look.

Have u consider conrad's poolside? heard that it is very nice and link to the cafe so dont have to worry about the weather.

junnie

Hi katherine,

I think they are trying to block out so the people in teh cafe wont keep staring at your wedding, thats what i am guessing, can find out more if u want. Yep try going in the evening, maybe can really tell teh difference.
Yep the durian puffs are so yummy but they do have season think last mth out of stock.. so wondering whether is there durian puffs in January? It would be a good idea to the change provided all your guests love it.
Yep for grecian theme is better to do it at the pool side... so have u been to your first fitting yet?

katherine

hi camomile,

conrad is one of my consideration!
have a soft spot for tat hotel, but my hubby finds tat it's pretty naked, as in we need to do up quite a bit of deco...he finds marina better...cos they have some set up, looks a bit like jungle, maybe can put in some vines then can match my grecian theme already...heeee...

hi junnie,

haven't been to my first fitting, thinking of fixing the venue first....i thot poolside may be a good idea...but my hubby likes a cruise wedding, he finds it more novel, so we are toying with the idea..so far, we narrowed it down to either conrad poolside, marina poolside or cruise wedding....what u think??

oh cam, do go and see conrad...