Goodwood Park Hotel

whitely

Eggie,

maybe you can take up their "SARS" package for encouraging more accomodation in hotel instead.

If I am not wrong, the price is at $160 net as advitised in newspaper. It is not expensive compare to hotel's normal rate. Please ask candice about the most updated info.

Ava,

Thank you for your blessings, I wish you have an unforgettable memory in GWP, too. Any other tips to share? Hm, I think I have shared most of the experience
or you have other things to ask me??
hehe

ava

Hi Whitely

Ok
thanks for being accomdating

Did the hotel serve the dish on individual plates for each guest?

Did they change plate after each dish?

Was request for drinks served promptly?

What time did you meet the banquet mgr for briefing?

How was it like when guest arrived? Did they go straight in or hand around in the foyer & recpt?

Was it really cramped in the ballroom? Anyway to improve?

Thanking you in advance for helping to as my many q's

eggie

Hi Whitely,

Thanks for your suggestion. Will ask Candice about it? But wonder if it's still applicable end of next year.

I think we all have the same concern. I went to see the place and also think the place is quite cramp. It seems all tables are place very close together. I don't know if with all the decor, it'll look really beautiful and cosy. I'm only thinking of 20 tables so that it'll not be so cramp. By the way, is the walkway to the front cramp too?

Another thing will be the small reception area. Where will be the guests hang around?

You also use the peach colour table cloth right? What colour you use for the vip table? You choose the champange roses too?

Thanks for helping us to solve some of the queries in our mind.

beanie

So sorry, I mia for quite a while cause have been pretty busy at work.

Eggie,

I chose GWP for the Old European Colonial feel. Secondly, is because of the coordinator Candice. I have spoken to a lot of hotels and basically, I find myself clicking very well with her. Is very important to work with someone that u r comfortable with n I had a great time working with her. Hope u too will have a wonderful time with Candice.

Well, I had my photos taken at the smaller pool (is more quiet), red carpet stairway and the road side featuring the hotel. The effect is very good.

Ava,

Thanks for your good wishes.

I din choose the duck cause Candice told me that at times, the duck may be "overcooked" and may taste a bit bitter. Oso, she strongly recommended the chicken and after the food tasting, I find the chicken tasted great. Furthermore, u got to spare a tot 4 ur guests as I have heard of some pple who dun take duck meat at all. Unlike chicken, is very seldon u heard pple not taking chicken. Just my 2 cent worth.

Sammi,

My actual day photography taken by Benny Phoon from Photo Team. U may call 65386538 to check with him on his pricing. Just tell him, u r recommended by Irene Oh and hopefully he will be able to quote u a good price. Basically he will do a collage album of 16 pages, take a total of 600 photos kept in 2 CD. He do videography and photo montage as well. His skill is good and basically did a good job for my wedding, but one point to take note is he may take a long time to get his work out. But is fine with me so long as is a good job done. My wedding on 30 May and photos finally ready tomorrow. He will be sending over to me.

Hope I am able to help and do feel free to check with me if you have other concerns.

whitely

Dear Ava and Eggie,

(sorry to reply both of you in one message)

According to my guests, hotel serves the dish on individual plates for each guest and also change plate after every dish. I think this is the normal practice for a 5 star hotel.

Frankly speaking, I didnt notice about many things so unable to answer all of your questions in detalied. Maybe I was too nervous on the day, hehehe..... you know why? because you will be sitting facing all of your guests. You must behave very gracefully and carefully when you smiling, eating, drinking.There is always someone looking at you anytime although the dishes are really delicious..hehe, do u get what I mean?

I think Candice is the one who can give u good suggestion about the tables setting. How many tables you gonna have? Mine is 22 tables so still ok. Having less table, (like Eggie will have 20 tables, right?), the ballroom will look more spacious for sure.

Just like what some GWP brides who hold their dinner there shared with us, the reception area might look small but the advantage is to let our guests get seated earlier. In this case, dinner can commence earlier too. Isnt it good? hehe

Oh, one more thing to hightlight (sorry, I just recalled), all of you must walk very very slow during the match in. If you been GWP before, you should notice that the "march in walkway to stage" is abit short. To capture more attention and applause from your guests, my advice to all of you is: Walk as slow as you can...hehe. With the march in music and "dry ice"effect, I believe that guests can leave a deeper impression on you and hubby.

I believe that Candice will brief you more during the discussion because different couples have different requirement and she always willing to help

sammi

Thanks Whitely for your info...glad your wedding turned out perfect!

Beanie, your actual day photography is journalistic style? How much is it if u dun mind so that I can see if its within my budget before calling him. Thank!

Any feedback on the dessert Hundred Years Good Harmony?

ava

wow

whitely

just reading your msg I can almost imagine u & ur hubby floating down

hmmm... the Tudor Ballroom does have some magic

Thanks for the assurances
will be looking forward to mtg with candice

eggie

Thank Beanie and Whitely for all your feedback and comments. It really helps to answer some questions. I also feel Candice is very friendly and unlike some of the coordinator I had met in other hotel. I'm actually struggling to choose between Conrad which is more modern and spacious and GWP which is more of a colonial look.

Beanie, I'm also very attracted to the real day photographer you mentioned. Can let us know the price range?

Whitely, when people kept looking at me, I don't think I can eat much at all. Yah, i'm determined to keep it to only 20 because I don't want it to look too cramp. By the way, do you mingle with the guests during cocktail time? Will Candice be there all the time?

Ava, when is your wedding coming?

beanie

Hi Sammi and Eggie,

U got to call and check with him how much he will be charging the both of you. Mine is a special case cause I am a Kai bride and he offers a better rate for Kai brides than normal walk-in. His charges should range from $1,250.00. So excited looking at my pix. Glad everything turned out well. One thing to correct, he gave me 2 sets of 3 CDs instead of 2 CDs.

If you are keen to get him to do for your Montage, my advise is to arrange way before hand and request for a longer one. Mine lasted only one minute plus (a real pity) /.\

whitely

Good morning everyone,

Such a good feeling for sharing my experience with you gals in this raining morning

How's your mood so far after reading so many experiences from Beanie and me??

Eggie, I didnt mingle with my guests before my march-in although I was ready very early. As suggestion from my married friend, this is to give them a surprise on your wearing. But it is really individual, you may need to discuss with hubby first

ava

Hi Gals! : )

this rainy weather is indeed gd at provoking romantic thoughts for me

reading your msgs makes me smile and dream a lot more and also inspires me more ;)

eggie, my wedding is in Nov

but Sammi is earlier in Oct

sammi

The rain makes me wanna sleep in...so nice to sleep in such weather! Some more, last nite slept at 4am! Had too much tea with my girlfriends at dinner.

I had my trial make up done yesterday..so pleased and excited..ps next friday..now praying for good weather! Fingers' crossed! Chiam man if kena weather like today...

As the date draws nearer, getting more excited....kekeke...

eggie

Hi whitely,

I think it'll be better to surprise the guest by only seeing them when u walk into the ballroom. I think I'll do that.

my wedding is still sometimes away in end of next year. just started to keep a lookup for HDB. Happy for all of you that you all are getting married so soon.

ava

I met up with Candice last evening
and she was very nice

It's such a relief!

So all future GWP brides
i think there's no need for excess worry
if Candice is around she'll take care of things

I'm happy now!
yipee!

ava

Beanie & Whitley

Thanks also for your assurances & gd advise

I hope you gals will still be around later this year
to keep me calm! ;) hee ehe he

dae

I'm vexed between choosing GWP or Raffles to hold my wedding...

The thing I liked abt Raffles is the service, Lawn rental for my solemisation and wedding favors.. but the bad thing is the non aircon recept..

GWP, on the other hand, has a better recept area, but seems like it's a bit small... it has the colonial feel too, which is what i liked, and definitely cheaper than Rafffles.. however, my fh said there's a mouldy smell when he 1st stepped into the ballroom..

How's the package like for GWP? are seat covers included in the package?

all GWP brides, pls advise!

ava

Hi Dae,

i think most of the gals here would agree it's a rather personal choice when it comes to the wedding venues or other wedding details

Choose the one that makes you and your partner the most happiest within your budget

just 1 tip
make sure the hotel and you have all the details in the contract

the GWP package is quite comprehensive, it's better to call them direct to get the latest package

Happy Choosing!

dae

Hi ava,

thanks! I've emailed candice to ask when there'll be a wedding at GWP so that i can view the actual wedding setup!

weicanada

Hi folks,

I have booked GWP for a marquee set-up next year - anyone had the experience of having your wedding in the marquee in GWP?

dor

hi ex-gwp brides
this thread has been silent for awhile... I m new here.. thinking to hold my wedding end of next yr.. GWP has always been my 1st choice but the ballroom might be to small. so i am really squeezing my guest list to fix the ballroom. Can anyone tell me what is the max. no of tables that it can go. ;)

ava

Hello GWP brides!

My wedding is less than 3 wks!!!
Getting very excited!

Hope all goes well!

Will try to feedback after the wedding

Take care everyone!

dor

hi ava
finally someone dropped a note. seem like there is no GWP brides for 2004. the thread is very quiet here.
can i ask how many tables do you have? I am thinkin to hold my wedding there n i have ard 25 tables plus / minus... will it be too squeezy

ava

Hi dor

i know what you mean

i cant tell for sure how squeezy it's going to be... i'll have to wait till after the dinner ;p

anyway, you must remember that GWP ballroom was built ages ago when everything was small

it all depends on what you are looking for ie gd food or ambience or both? you'll have to really do your homework.

we choose GWP cos we love the ambience it's like going to a dinner at someones home
we love it's cosiness!

plus the food is know to be good too!

we are having max 25 tables...but at the moment still finalising the guest list trying to keep it at 23 max so we wont have tables beyond the pillar

hope this helps!

enjoy the hols!

dor

hi ava
thks for your adv. Oh forget to congrat you on your forcomthing wedding
when is ur big day?

GWP is always my 1st choice all the while due to the ambience n good food. I like the colonial feeling...

As my wedding is in Jan 2005,think it's way too early to confirm the no. of paxs as it may ballooned up during the year. Anyway we will be goin down today to peek at the setup as Candice says there is a wedding today

Is candice your co-ordinator? I talked to her 2 weeks ago, she says she is not handling wedding events anymore, she is in corporate events now.

well, all the best for your preparation and keep in touch..

bebee

hi my wedding is oct 2004, anyone has attended any high tea style recep? my hubby n i dun wan to have the normal dinner so heard goodwood not bad? any comments? thx

avril

Hi weicanada,

I'm also planning for marquee wedding..but hv several considerations..lightings (cannot be tune to be brighter/dimmer), small reception and old sound system from tudor ballroom...
BTW, when is ur wedding, how many tables u plan to hv?

eggie

hi to all the gwp brides,
i'm also thinking of having my wedding at gwp. i wonder if anyone can share the pics with me? i would kindly appreciate that. thanks a lot.

soul_rage

Hi, my wife and I are hosting our wedding dinner at GWP in Mar 2004.
Liked it coz of its size. I would have chosen Conrad ballroom (very grand), had it not for the fact that I prefer my wedding to be personal (meaning lesser people, closer friends)
I don't mind the small reception area, as that would mean my guests have to sit in and start earlier. I also like the fact that the ballroom has no pillars, everyone can see the stage
Will be having my food tasting soon, and also quite pleased that they have upgraded my suite to a better suite plus an additional night stay.
Anyone can tell me which fish is better, sea bass or fruit fish?

showers

Hi Vance & all gwp couples, I'd just confirmed my wedding @ the air-con marquee in Oct..I think fruit fish is the better of the two, sea bass's quite common though. Have you seen the marquee? I really loved the set up in the evenings wif all the soft lightings which really projects a most cozy & romantic ambience! I'm soo happy I found this place!
U're lucky to get an upgrade to 2 nights stay as with the new package, it's only 1 night. Mine's the new package but i guess, the frills are not too bad.

dim_sum_girl_04

I'm having my wedding this year at GWP too at the grand ballroom! I didn't really like the lobby intially (looked a bit shabby for a 5-star), but really warmed up to the old colonial ambience. and the architecture is really grand. We also love the red carpet and grand staircase. also great for us (and couples) who don't want too-big weddings, cos the ballroom can only take 23 tables. it seems very cosy.

Hey Vance, one question. Was your second nite stay in your package when you confirmed? Cos i signed up last year and they didn't throw in an additional nite's stay.

Showers - congrats on confirming your wedding at GWP! my friend had her wedding at the marquee and it was beautiful. we would have had it there but didn't want to copy her. hehe. what frills did you get with your package? try and ask for an upgrade of the suite!

weoseek

Jess,

I dun think GWP can cater for so many guest for outdoor solemnisation for either buffet or round tables, the limit is around 100 guest. Nearby the swimming pool

showers

Hi Dim Sum Girl,
Hee, nice to finally chat with a gwp bride to be. So, u'd seen the marquee then?! Most of my gal frens are marquee freaks, so guess I wuld't be getting one of those "wat!u're holding ur wedding in a marquee!" kinda look..
Wen's ur dinner scheduled? Did u get an upgrade for the suite? I heard the suite's pretty cosy but din get to see it coz it waznt avail. wen we were there..

soul_rage

the fruit fish is called 'ba1 ding1' in chinese. going to ask them to print 'ba ding' on my menu rather than fruit fish, coz fruit fish sounds strange.
I just asked for another nite's stay that is all. Coz at one hotel, its staff told me, "ask for the sky, then let the hotel cut it down for you"

eggie

hi vance,
i'm going to sign up with GWP. can you tell me what perks we can ask for and what you get? like the extra nite and upgrade to bigger suite?

soul_rage

well i just requested for the extra nite, the bridal suite upgrade was offered to me as I had been to other hotels and frankly some of them offered better perks.
I chose Goodwood coz I like it
By the way, anyone knows I should choose the chicken or duck dish?

eggie

hi vance,
wow! so good that u requested extra nite an they give u free upgrade. how many tables u got? when did u sign up?

from the previous postings, it seems that chicken is better than duck. but to me chicken is more common than duck. what do u think?

soul_rage

I just put down on paper the min 20 tables.
Signed up sometime Nov or Dec last year.
Just wondering if Duck is a herbal styled dish, coz Chicken sounds not really healthy (deep fried is it?).

silvery

Can ayone share with me what are the things to bargain or look for before placing the deposit for wedding banquet. Thank You

aeina

Me too too. Can anybody share the package with me? How many tables can the Tudor ballroom accommodate? From the website, it said 30 tables. Pls kindly PM the package. Would love to hold my wedding there too.

silvery

Hi aeina

30 will be super super packed.. some will overflow along the walkway..20 will be pretty comfortable..space to walk around.. have u seen the ballroom? Is pretty small but very cosy.

weoseek

i dun think GWP can take in 30 tables..max will be 27 with 3 along the walkway which view will be block. Like what silvery mentioned, 20 should fit in nicely for both ballroom and marquee. In fact, they usually says 23 is max.

Silvery: Only manage to get 30litre barrel of beer and free use of projector.