scobido

hi wel wel, wkday is 638+++,

wkend 738+++,

others 788+++ if i m not wrong

hope it helps

shymz

hi LS,

i had the lobby wing suite... it came with 2 separate bathrooms, which is good coz my mum could do her makeup in one area, and i was able to snooze in the bedroom without being disturbed

distance-wise... i think it was about 5-10min walk to the ballroom in my WG (it was much faster in my EG though

time flies... it's going to be your big day soon! excited?

hi Jeremy,
I had moomedia for my AD videography & photography... had great comments

hi Wee Wel,
just to add... GWP considers Fridays a weekday too

scobido

hi Shymz

did u manage to view the different types of suite before you decide? seems like they are always fully booked for their suite

i am currently looking for photography too, any comments on good one? budget is below $800.

dazednconfused

HI shymz,

Thanks for the advise! I will indeed request for the lobby wing. Definitely would prefer 2 bathrooms.
Yes, time does fly. I have less than 5 weeks left!

shymz

hi moo,

nope... we only saw one, which was the lobby wing suite. luckily the guest just checked out that day, and they were cleaning the room. according to jeanie, they don't guarantee that we get the suites we want... it all depends on the availability.

my ROM pics were taken by a freelancer, he's quite good... if u like i can give u his contact, but i'm not sure how much he charges for AD.u can see his portfolio before u decide.

hi LS,
so how are the preparations? hehe... the big day will go past in a blur. i can't rem the exact events, only that i kept stepping on my gown...haha

dazednconfused

shymz,
Yeah... I can imagine the flurry of the day's events! I'm trying my utmost to make absolutely sure my gowns won't get in my way. The last thing I want is to be stepping on them! Hahaha...

dazednconfused

moo...

Thanks. But I think we'll give videography a miss. Only gonna have our photographer. Don't want to spend the additional $500 or so. Furthermore, we don't want both photographer and videographer getting in the way of our guests... Photographer is sufficient for us.

san_remo

Hi wee wel and moo,

just to add some comments.. because i think many people have this wrong concept that weekday dinners are cheaper.

But this does not apply to GWP. I've booked my wedding with GWP on a weekday and its pricing is actually based on the menu (package), not whichever day. But i understand that weekends you can only choose from the 2 more expensive ones.

For myself, even though my wedding is on a thursday, i chose the 738+++ package because it is serving 9 course dinner instead of 8 course which is priced at 638+++.

However, many friends n relatives do not know this and hence we'll most likely 'lugi' in the angbow. But we do not want to compromise on the food n number of dishes. So its ok lah.

Happy wedding to all GWP brides n grooms!!

scobido

Hi Mel

Yap, I know that we can choose from the three menus

When's your big day and which ballroom did you choose?

Oh, I maybe going down to sign the agreement soon. May I ask the things I should look out for?

This thread seems to be quiet nowadays...

Happy Deepavali and Hari Raya to all!

scobido

Yes, L.S, so quiet...maybe everyone went for a long break!

Intend to go to Bangkok. Anyone has any recommendations whether to enjoy a free & easy stay or a travel package?I got the impression that it is cheaper to for for free & easy as it is considered peak season now.

By the way, anyone has any advise for me as i will be signing with GWP soon?Anything to look out for during the signing?

Weekend is going to be over soon...

L.S,when's your big day? Lazy to go to previous pages. 8P

dazednconfused

HI moo,

Bangkok is wonderful... If you want to visit temples, then you may wish to go for a guided tour. If it's shopping you're after, then free and easy! Normally, agencies here will throw in a half day city tour which will include a boat ride in the Chao Praya River. A really nice experience. It's easy to navigate around Bangkok on your own. There are websites dedicated to this! Go check them out!

Ya... Our big day is less than 3 weeks away now. We met up with our coordinator to finalise details last week. So busy right now. Work and wedding preps! I hope I don't stress out...

Have you and our hubby/fiance already discussed what the both of you would like as perks from GWP? It's better to go knowing exactly what you want. Negotiations can still be made as you have not signed any documents yet! Good Luck!!!

scobido

Hi L.S

Yes, thinking of going for F & E in Bangkok. Is definitely shopping for me and site seeing for my hubby. Maybe we will engage a Thai guide to bring us around.

Wow, 3 weeks! Very close now. Must try to relax!Take a deep breath in and out...Excited for you!

Mind if I ask where you all will be heading to for your honeymoon?

My hubby and myself should be going to Europe. Do you think we should take up F&E package or get the normal package? My cousin who went for F & E alone advised us to get the package as it is my first time there.

This thread is so quiet...

eastlibra

Hi All ,

I have not been in this thread for a long time and it is so quiet nowadays.

I managed to dig out the dates of the brides respective wedding dates.

Hope those who have their wedding dinner held at Goodwood Park can share their experience with us. This maybe can attract more newbies into this thread.

5 Nov 2005 - skylark ([email protected])
25 Nov 2005 - L.S.
23 Dec 2005 - eastlibra ([email protected])
26 Dec 2005 - Jeremy ([email protected])
31 Dec 2005 - EMF
late 2006 - moo ([email protected])

scobido

Heee...thanks eastlibra

Seems like I am the only GWP's bride so far for 2006...hmmmm...

I spoke to my coordinator and she advised me to take up the suite in the wing that our ballroom is as it is nearer...she also told us that the suites are about the same size...wonder if that is true...cos there are two toilets in some suites...

pooh9pooh

Will be signing up with GWP soon. Need to check if any one of you have request to use the function room or the same ballroom for the solomnisation (which start at 6p.m) before the dinner? is there any charge?

Thks

eastlibra

Hi Pooh9pooh ,

Welcome to the club !

Feel free to update the table list provided and try to make the thread more lively !

We do not have solomnisation at GWP, maybe the other brides can help you.

scobido

Welcome to gwp's club, pooh!

Is been a while since there are new members esp for 2006, glad you are the pioneer

Can't really help you on your query, I suppose you can enquire with your coordinator?

When's your AD and who's your coordinator?

pooh9pooh

My AD is in 05 May 06. will be using the new ballroom. my coordinator told us that we can't use the ballroom before 7p.m cos the room might be for others use and their staff need to prepare...suggest us to use the swimming pool.
which cost $450! very exp leh..how?

Most of you using the the current ballroom right? anyone use the new one? how abt you, moo?

scobido

Hi Pooh

I do not want many tables, so I won't be using the new ballroom.

I like their poolside

Why don't you bargain for free usage or bargain for the price?

Whose your coordinator? Mine is jean.

They seem to be quite sticky on their perks..

pooh9pooh

Hi moo,

My coordinator jeanie sounds firm on the pricing...

will be meeting her this sun..hopefully can negotiate for better alternative...

i know other hotels allow pple to use the same ballroom before hand (F.O.C) for solomnisation..wonder why she dun agree with it.
if really can't, headache men...wonder how

scobido

Hmmm...maybe try negotiating with her on alternative venue that is foc? how abt in the suite, if worst comes to worst? big enough?

pooh9pooh

She mentioned that poolside is the cheapest..
suite i think not big euff

the new ballroom will be at the location where the current jap restuarant is. (think the jap rest is called shinwa?) max capacity of 40 tables. will be ready by end jan 06.

scobido

needs to check with you on the signing of the contract, do we sign it and gwp will mail to us after we place a deposit or will we get it on the spot after we make our payment?

tnx

hi pooh, hmmmm...u ask her for a foc venue in gwp, c whether hv or not...if not, how abt doing it together w yr dinner? start before your dinner commences? say 7pm in the br?

ublur

Hi gals, I had made a tentive booking in gwp in the new ballroom too. Saw the layout, pretty cool and nice.

Gals, are there any thing we can negotiate for? Who is your coordinator? TIA

scobido

Hi blur

My coordinator is Jean. How about yours?

It depends on what you want eg helper room, more beer, more pax for food tasting...

Quite disappointed with GWP's service...sigh...now reconsidering our option...the conceige made my hubby wait for a wasted half an hour last wk when he went down to make payment for our deposit as he called the wrong coordinator. In e end, another coordinator met up with my hubby. I wonder why Jean can't meet up with us. Quite fedup cos she didn't even answered my hubby's call when he called her handphone twice. She didn't even return his call. She didn't even bother to call him in the morning cos my hubby wanted to make the payment during lunch! In the end, we didn't make the deposit as their machine was not in working condition.

Very disappointed with their service and my hubby was fuming...felt that they do not regard us as their customers...+ their service sulk...*shake my head*

ublur

moo, really? wow, then i must reconsider.. i heard my new coordinator might be Irene.. sounds scary.. maybe u check if you want change coordinator..

scobido

Sigh, just felt very disappointed with their service. Thought it is a 5 star hotel but well, guess i am wrong.

Guess what? My coodinator didn't even bother to call us. No calls and email from her, nothing till today. She didn't want our business, I guess. Can't believe we are treated this way...anyway, unless she calls, if not, we won't bother to go down to make our deposit... got to re-look at other hotels...so sad...is our first choice hotel since one year back...

Maybe your coordinator is better... just upset lo...actually, due to work and other committments, my hubby and myself cant make the payment straight after reserving our date, my coordinator is kind enough to hold our date till last week but guess she has more important thing to do than to collect our deposit...

eastlibra

Hi moo ,

I cannot imagine Jeanie's service is that poor. She is also my coordinator. Although I always seen her very busy and occupied , but we are always able to meet up with her , arranging through either phonecall or email.

Why not try to email her ? I have received her reply as late as 9pm at night. If you are able to meet up with her, can talk to her about her poor response. See what she got to say.

After we signed up and make the payment on the spot , we got the contract and received the invoice through mail.

ublur

eastlibra,moo, well, is that so true?? Nevertheless, I will try to meet up with her and see how things goes..

what about other brides, any comments?

ublur

eaxstlibra, thanks.. but how do you find her service? how's ur prep.. saw that your wedding coming soon.. congrats to you.

scobido

Hi Eastlibra

There are two coordinators that have similar names I think, one is Jean and the other is Jeanie I think cos the concerige thought my hubby was looking for Jeanie but our coordinator is Jean.

Anyway, we will see how it goes. As you can see from my posting, we set our sight and mind on this hotel very long ago so I am hoping their service won't disappoint us further.

Quite confused, the other coordinator who met up with my hubby told him that gwp will mail the contract to us after he made the payment. Wondering why gwp can't give us the contract straight after we made the payment?

L.S, your wedding will be this Friday, so excited and happy for you! Well wishes from me to you! Wish you will have a happy marriage!

Eastlibra, hope your wedding preparation goes smoothly too!

eastlibra

Hi Blur ,

Like I say , I do find her very busy and occupied. She used to able to call and remind us the appointment date and time. (Maybe shortage of manpower in recent months)

But if you call or email her at the right time , (I presume higher chance to get her is during morning and late evening) , she is able to answer all your questions. If you meet up with her , she will delicate the timing for both you and your hubby. You can shoot whatever questions and she can provide the answers.

She is a nice person to talk to. But I find her a firm person and stand by her decisions. You can negotiate with her and she can give in if it is appropiate.

Hope it helps.

eastlibra

Hi moo ,

I don't know about the rest of the coordinators as I only communicate with Jeanie. Her full name is Jeanie Tan , is she your coordinator ?

They need you to sign on the contract for both copies. ( 2 copies , right ? ) One for you and the other for them to keep. So they should be able to give you on the spot.

Maybe they are not experienced enough.

My AD is exactly one month and one day to go !
Will be busy then , things are prepared in concurrently and hope I will not miss out something.

Blur : Forgot to thank you. Thanks for your blessing !

ublur

eastlibra, thank you for your feedback. My coordinator will be Irene. I had talked to her over the phone and she sound alright to me. I will be meeting her soon.

moo, you are right, there are 2 coordinator with similar names.. One is Jean and another is Jeanie.

Wish me all the best gals

pooh9pooh

signed my contract last sun. got 1 copy on the spot.
didn't manage to ask for foc place. Jeanie suggested that the pool will be good to use. However, she mentioned that not the whole place will be reserved for our usuage. guests still can swim in the pool. So you can imagine pple coming in and out of the place while you holding the ceremony.

My hubby and I decided to use the new ballroom for our holy matrimony. Jeanie suggested to have cocktail at 7p.m, start the holy matrimony at 7.30p.m. and dinner at 8.30p.m. So those who are late after 7.30, will have to wait outside the door.

What do you all think? Any previous GWP brides here with the similar exp? or anyone of you here have attend wedding dinner with holy matrimony beforehand? pls help to share your experiences...

ublur

pooh, did you manage to see the new ballroom? I only saw the layout and like it. Pillarless and i suppose it should be pretty grand. how many tables are u getting? care to share what perks did you get? most prob i will have to make decision by this wkend. thanks in advance

scobido

Hi Blur

Are you just looking at GWP or are there another alternative venue you are looking for?

For the perks, I believe it depends on what you need. Eg for me, I do not need a helper room, so I didn't request. Unfortunately,GWP doesn't allow me to waive the wine corkage. Got to buy their wine, if we sign up with them

scobido

Welcome to GWP's club, pooh

I had attended one wedding lunch before, and the couple had their solemnization in front of all their guests. Why can't you have your solemnization before the wedding dinner commences? In that case, all your guests can view your ceremony? Just a thought

My coordinator still hasn't called us...weep...we are so unimportant...

scobido

Welcome to GWP's club, pooh

I had attended one wedding lunch before, and the couple had their solemnization in front of all their guests. Why can't you have your solemnization before the wedding dinner commences? In that case, all your guests can view your ceremony? Just a thought

My coordinator still hasn't called us...weep...we are so unimportant...

ublur

moo, i m considering GWP and another hotel. Hope to make my decision soon. The coordinator service is impt to me also. I contacted my friend who will b having is wedding in GWP next year. He feedback to me that his coordinator is ok.. and will usually return calls or email. Maybe you should give her a call rather than let her call you. Perhaps she really forgets abt it. Feedback to her abt your feelings towards her attitude, she should be able to understand. good luck