Goodwood Park Hotel

dilemmagal

Me also headache the colour theme for flowers and table cloth? My Hubby wants white table cloth with red napkins? Is this nice? Pls give suggestions, my fellow GWP brides

noscon

hi LS and Dilemmagal

LS
My coordinator is Jacquelyn.
What abt you? Which BS are you gg with? I'm gg for my PS on 3Feb.
how many tables are you having?

Dilemmagal
Your venue is the ballroom or terrace? I have seen the terrace one in 2 settings. 1)red roses and white tablecloth & napkin 2)yellow roses with white tablecloth & napkin. Both of them are ok, subjective again... i intend to visit a few more weddings there and peek at their decor...

lindy_koh

hi nonscon and dilemmagal,
i think like u said, go down and see an acutual set up to decide. magazines also good for ideas... i guess its safe to go with soft colours. red can be nice but you hv to coordinate the whole colour theme carefully coz its a really strong colour.

oh, i'm takin the terrace btw.=) fell in love with it at first sight. but i know many brides also simply lurve e ballroom. to each its own eh?

really happy that the GWP thread is so active now..

junnie

Two more days to go.. and i am going to be married.. had my last meet up session with the coordinator, wanted white table cloth with red napkin, only then i realised the red napkin is no longer the dark red which i like but it has all changed to bright red (which is not so nice),Jacqueline said if i want the dark red there's only sufficient to do it for the 2 VIP tables as they are the old stocks.. so the rest will be white white as it will look good with the red roses.. so advice: better look at the colour of the table cloth and napkin before deciding to the colour theme as the pics can be a little deceiving!! Lets pray and hope that the colour i chose will turn out good!!

noscon

Hi Junnie

Can I ask yr venue is the ballrm or terrace? I'm really excited for you too! Wow..sometimes time pass quite fast..

Can let me see your wedding pictures when it's out? I would like to see how your venue looks like too...

noscon

Hi Lindy

Lindy! Yo fellow Terrace matey! I also have another friend of mine taking the terrace, hers will be in July!
So happy to finally found another "terrace" mate.

yeah ballroom is also nice, also subjective to individual's needs and taste. So both are good...

You saw the yellow roses pic of the terrace? I think there is also a red roses pic...

sugarbabe

hi gals, juz wana check.. I emailed Goodwood Park but no reply frm them leh..Can any gals here give me the email address of the co-ordinators?? Thks!!

dazednconfused

sugarbabe,
It's better to call them. They may be busy and not have the time to reply to emails.

noscon,
Our coordinator is Jeanie and we chose to have our banquet at the Tudor Ballroom. Presently, we're looking at 18 tables. Don't think we'll hit 20 tables. That's a good thing, coz we want to have a dance floor set up for dancing after the banquet!

I'm with Bridal Concept along Liang Seah St. What about you? My photo shoot is scheduled for June. Yours is coming up, isn't it??? You must be SOOO excited! Send some pictures, ya?

dilemmagal

Hi noscon

My AD is 21 Jan, Tudor Ballroom of 23 tables max. Bridal shop is flamingo. Co-ordinator is Jacquelyn too. She is a very nice lady, very accomodating, trying her best 2 meet our request. So far me and my HB thumbs up of her service. How's abt her service 2 u?

2night, had met Jacquelyn for detailed discussion. Realised that there are 2 more couples holding the same date as me. 1 at terrace n another at poolside. The terrace couple only confirmed 2 weeks ago. Hope on tat day, no one going to wrong side?

Had also decide to hv white table cloth with pink napkins. Feels soft and sweet.

Junnie
Congratulations of your forthcoming AD. Must be feeling excited now? Wishes you happiness forever. Do send remarks after yr AD wedding for feedback oh.

LS
Im not upgrading the suite, but my HB will stay extra night before our AD as he has no parent thus fetching me fm the hotel. Are u thinking to hv it?

238488.gif
Good night my fellow GWP brides

lindy_koh

Hi Junnie!!
dun worry, it will look lovely. if u really worried, just standby to order some last min flowers to dress up the place.but its just a suggestion, am sure the hotel will noe what to do.

Hey Nonscon!!!terrace mate!! great, now we can discuss about same venue,hahhahaah!!! i would love to see ur photos aft ur AD, can? i saw the pic with red flowers, its also nice but really depends on e kind of theme/ambience u want to create...

L.S.
upgrade suite? u mean to upgrade to pool suite? i havent seen pool suite, but if that is much nicer WILL DEFINITELY upgrade. My fiance super picky about e room.. thats why we even comtemplated bookin Ritz Carlton instead,hahahha...

noscon

Hi sugarbabe

The coordinators might be busy over the new yr period. I heard one or two took leave then so it might explain why they are slower during this period. maybe u can try the [email protected] again or like LS said, call them.. im sure they very pleased to serve new customers..

LS
Oh I heard so much about Jeanie..that she is friendly etc..so you must be very happy with her.. yeah im hvg 18 tables too cos my FH family is not in singapore so mainly my family and our friends...

WOW a dancing floor that is so cool! You learn dancing somewhere? or you are expert dancer! CHA CHA CHA!
why the idea of a dancing floor?

Im with Sopha Wedding collection. Yeah the moment I saw my WG, I feel a bit faint with joy... hahaha..

My PS will be 3 Feb so will definitely share photos. in fact I will share my ROM pictures at GoodWood poolside first cos my ROM is on sat(8/1)...
Have you chosen your gowns?

noscon

Hi dilemmagal

very fast for you hor...getting hitched liao! I'm so excited for you...remember to have great facials and manicure and pedicure and look ultra sweet on your BIG day!

Please share photos and thoughts and experiences after that!! I will be waiting here..

Actually I was just assigned to Jacquelyn for 1 week and so far, I find that she works quite fast and is cheery so very good for us too...
She answers mails quite fast too...

Will you be displaying your photo at the entrance to the ballroom? I saw a couple doing that before...as that night also got another couple at the terrace.. I like the fact that guests coming to Goodwood, once they enter the main entrance, they will see the ballroom so quite easy for those havg wedding at ballrm..

How about your flowers' color? what are they?

Lindy
I'm thinking of adding a flower arch near to the entrance, so bride can walk underneath it when she does the marchin with the bridegroom... I scared the terrace too white or too plain ..

I have the pic with yellow roses, you want to see?

Of course will share AD pictures with you too... share share mah..

lindy_koh

Hi Nonscon,
wow! ur ROM tom leh???so cool!! congrats!!! my ROM will be at our church office,hehehe...yeah, i really love my WG too, i am sooo blessed to have it coz it was modelled at the show and all the brides were asking for it but coz i already "chop" it so i am the lucky bride with the lovely gown!!hahahah..

u are rite, jeanie is one nice lady, i like the way she laughs!!!makes me laugh too!

i think e arch is a nice idea as long as its not too big..coz not forgetting the marquee itself is quite a highlight...

yes yes!! can u send me the yellow flowers pix??my email is [email protected]

so u doing manicure and pedi for ROM??? i lurve french mani and pedi!!

sugarbabe

hi gals, thks for ur help!! saw that the minimum nos. of tables is 18, erm.. i'm having abt 8-10 onli leh, do u think they can accomdate me ah??

dazednconfused

sugarbabe,
I'm not sure if GWP will be able to release the ballroom with only 8 tables. Perhaps they've got another function room? If not, there's always the GREAT idea of having a poolside wedding!!! By the main pool!

dazednconfused

noscon & lindy,

I'm with Bridal Concept. Thrilled with their service and our package (managed to negotiate our package for a good price). My is an OTR package, coz I've already found 2 absolutely gorgeous wedding gowns in their boutique. Thinking of topping up for a MTM evening gown though. Will only decide on that next month when I go for my final gown selection.

Yes! A dance floor! My friends and I LOVE dancing. Not cha cha cha and those kind lah. More like the dancing you see in clubs.

noscon...

SO glad to hear your solemnisation will be held tomorrow. DO share your pics! Can't wait to see them. Also, don't forget to relay to us how the whole experience went! Thanks. And GOOD LUCK!

dazednconfused

LADIES...

Who's intending to use the invitation cards provided by GWP? My fiance and I don't care for them. But where can we go to source for beautiful invitation cards WITHOUT having to design one of our own? Have to keep in mind the cost. We don't wish to spend too much. Was thinking of ordering direct from the U.S.A. printing included. What do you think? Has anyone done this before?? Does anyone know of couples who have done this before?

noscon

wow ladies friday seems that the forum very "hot" and chatty!

Lindy
Your ROM is at your church? So special!!! Is it a normal office or at an auditorium or something else?

You've got mail! :p Let me know your comments for that..

Yeah me did french just now at Nail girls at Ginza plaza. They have very good rates and even better service. very sweet and smiling...
Where do you do yours?

Sugarbabe
I've asked them before for 15 tables. They said there will be an extra charges of $50 per table if that is so. But im not sure whether they accept 8 tables at the same condition. Hope this helps...
yeah LS's idea of poolside is a good one.. Their poolside is very very romantic at night. I spied on it once when I went there. Very nice...

L.S
Thanks! Heard of Bridal concept but where is it? You must be of a good build for you to take OTR gowns.. Does that mean they wont do any alterations at all and you just wear it like that? myself I din like my BS EG so I custom made one at Ted Collection.. Hope it will be good..
You are looking for any particular design of EG?

Sure I will share my ROM pictures but please also let me see your dancing floor pictures. I never know anyone who do that! It will be special

At first I dun intend to use GWP invitation cards. I wanted to source for a design I like over the internet and have some printing shop (those with their own designers) at bras brasah design a similar design for me. But now to cut costs, I will be using the pink GWP cards...

dazednconfused

noscon,
Bridal Concept is along Liang Seah St. which is opposite Parco Bugis Junction. I'm very excited for you! Have a wonderful time....

weoseek

Lindy, Paiseh, only realised that you didn't receive my pics link huh, when i go thru the archive? Actually I sent the link to you before i left for my honeymoon on 13th, only got back this week..

Anyway, EMF and Lindy..my pics are on the way..hope you all not frighten by me! kekeke..

lindy_koh

HI Cha Bo,and NonScon,
Yup, we from NCC. am doin our ROM the same place as Jamie Yeo and GLenn Ong.hahaha..its a nice little hall, but we wil only have bout 20 pax with us on that day, coz the AD is the Holy Matrimony which is the main thing. The ROM is also coz we need the cert to obtain our hse keys,hhehhehe...need to do some cleaning up and painting to make it just in time for our AD!!

weoseek,
thank you!!!

dazednconfused

ATTENTION ALL GWP BRIDES!

You're gonna love this! If you're thinking of ordering your invitation cards from the U.S., lots of mail order card companies have websites where you can actually preview "your" card. With text and all! Then, you can also send the sample "card" to your email address and your friends' email addresses, so you'll have something somewhat tangible to look at, instead of imagining how your text (wording) will appear on your invitation cards.

If you've got friends or relatives living in the U.S., even better! Order your cards thru them, and have them bring it home on the plane! Costs a WHOLE LOT LESS. Seriously. The exact cards here (with printing) will cost you about TWICE as much. I've done my homework. Visited American Wedding Treasures and The Wedding Giftshop recently and checked out their prices. Plus, you get embossed printing from these wedding stationery companies! That'll cost us extra here in Singapore!

Don't remember the web addresses, but do search for "jamie lee wedding invitations", "ann's wedding stationery", "invitations by dawn" and "rexcraft wedding stationery". Have fun! I know I'm definitely ordering from one of these companies! Got a friend living in the U.S. who's returing home in June! Yay!!! Three cheers for lobangs!

dazednconfused

About the the above posting...
Keep in mind that wedding traditions here differ somewhat to that of the U.S., so things like "inner and outer envelopes" could be foreign to us locals. The Americans send their invitation cards without wirting the names of their guests on the actual invitation card. Instead, the names of guests go on the inner envelope, which the card lies in. Then, an outer envelope wraps the inner envelope.

lindy_koh

Hi L.s,
wow cool!!! thanks for the tip! i am SERIOUSLY planning to order from the U.S. Can u tell more about how to go about it? me still a lil confused,my boss would be in the U.S in June/July and my wedding is in august, totally awesome!!!! so how should i go about startin to find those????cant wait!!

dazednconfused

lindy,

search with anyone of the search engines. Then click on the website! They all have the same format, so navigating thru the sites becomes easy. Caution though... Our invitations have to be distributed to our guests about 2 months before our wedding date. So must ensure you receive them in time to deliver to your guests.

YOu can skip the page where they ask you to provide them information about yourself. Go on to filling in the text, then, viola! YOu can preview your invitation card!

eastlibra

Calling out all brides-to-be and those who are interested in choosing GWP for their wedding banquet.
This thread is quiet. I am bridegroom-to-be and my AD is on Dec 05. I will be holding my dinner at GWP.
Let us compile a list of GWP brides or bridegrooms !

lindy_koh

Hey L.S.
my boss may not be goin to the states in june afterall so if i do order from the U.S. that means i have to pay for freight charges eh? any idea what is e average price for the invitation cards from the US?? u

dazednconfused

Lindy,

It depends on the style you are looking for. Except for the shipping charges, the invitations in the U.S. will cost about half as much as those from The Wedding Giftshop and American Wedding Treasures here in Singapore. The one that my fiance and I wish to order costs $3 each here WITHOUT PRINTING. Printing costs here run about $120-$160 (up to 200 invitations). Also, we wish to have our envelopes lined with a pearl coloured liner. And the saleslady at The Wedding Giftshop at Delfi Orchard said that they charge $1 per lined envelope!!! That means we'll have to fork out more than $700 for our invitations cards! Absolute MADNESS! It will cost us under $500 if we get the exact same invitations from the U.S. and this includes raised printing (or it may be called embossed printing). Of course, this is without shipping charges to Singapore, coz a friend of mine will be bringing them home when he returns to Singapore in June.

dazednconfused

hi eastlibra,
WELCOME.

I'm a GWP bride!
My fiance and I are thrilled to have been able to book GWP to hold our wedding banquet. We will be using the Tudor Ballroom. What about you??

eastlibra

Hi L.S.
Thanks !

I am new here.

My wife likes the place especially the Tudor Ballroom. We are discussing some details with Jeanie before we finally put in the deposit next week.

My AD will be on 23rd Dec 2005. What about you ?

I am still thinking of something to check with Jeanie. What do you think I should ask ? I am afraid I might left out some important thing.

lindy_koh

Hi L.S,
Thanks for all your advice. I have a cousin in NZ and she said she would also help me look around for nice wedding stationery contacts there.i dun mind to pay a little for shipping,esp if i can get great cards with printing and embossement at half the price of the cards here...

dazednconfused

eastlibra,
A Christmas wedding! How wonderful!! Jeanie is great, isn't she? DId you take a look at their Bridal Suite? Have Jeanie show you the Deluxe Poolside Suite as well. It'll cost $220 more per night, but it's gorgeous.

We're confirmed for the evening of Nov 25. COuldn't get Nov 26 because its apparently a super-duper auspicious date. Had to move our banquet up one day. But, with the 5-day work week, it's gonna be all right.

Are you planning to have your solemnisation at the GWP too? That's exactly what we're planning to do. It'll be at The Mayfair Pool. Lovely. The Deluxe Poolside Suite opens to The Mayfailr Pool!

Lindy,
Good Idea! I hope it all works out for you!

lindy_koh

wow it seems like i'm e only one so far who wil do the march-in/solemnization IN the tudor terrace itself.everyone is crazy over the mayfair pool!hahah..its ok, i'll tell you guys how it was once my AD is done! 8 months to go...sometimes i wish time wil past faster!!!

wow, $220 more for poolside suite? thats quite a fair bit isnt it? mayb i can try to "bargain" with Jeanie since my wedding date not too popular, dun think they will have any more than 2 weddings in that mth??? but looks like i must really take a look at the poolside suite coz it sounds way nicer than the normal suite we saw...and i saw on the website too, looks really cool.=>

noscon

hi everyone old and new to the thread!
hi eastlibra..

Lindy

You are not the only one. When I did my solemnisation on 8Jan 05 at GW. There were 2 other couples at ballrm and tudor terrace doing their solemnisation.

I also did a little "march in" at the main poolside, insisted by David Loh cos he said once in a life time thingy... quite fun he also make fun of us, make us kiss and hug a few times in front of our relatives and friends, livening up the atmosphere...greatly recommending him as JP for anyone..!

eastlibra

Hi noscon and Lindy.

Hi L.S.
Yeah , it will be 2 days before Christmas and there are decorations around the hotel to enjoy the atmosphere ! Nov 25 is a friday rite ? Next 2 days will be weekends.

I have actually ask for 2 nights stay at the bridal suite so that we can stay for the christmas countdown. Hehe !

Jeanie she is great , she give us a very good feeling. She has no hesitation to give us more perks when we request for it. She did bring us to visit a bridal suite at lobby wing. Looks a bit small.

How big is the deluxe poolside suite ? She mention this suite is too far from the ballroom and so it is not advisable to give it to us. Do you ladies think of walking a long distance between the suite and ballroom ?

We have done our solemnisation a few years back at ROM. So it is pity.

dazednconfused

lindy,
I believe the Deluxe Poolside Suite is about the same size as the Bridal Suite, except that it opens to the Mayfair Pool and that the bedroom area is sectioned off from the living area with a wall and door. There're 2 bathrooms in the Deluxe Poolside Suite. Go look at it, lah. It's worth at least that!

eastlibra,
I do hope GWP will put up their Christmas decor in time with the Orchard Road light-up. That way, my guests and I will get to enjoy the festive feel and granduer of Christmas at the GWP!!

I don't mind walking a little to get to the Deluxe Poolside Suite. Not at all.

lindy_koh

Hi Eastlibra,
wow, u lucky girl!!! i think ur wedding wil almost feel like a fairy tale coz its the christmas season...very nice!

Hi LS,
ok ok, me def gona see the poolside suite, if nicer def dun mind to top up to upgrade but jeanie is such a nice lady, can try to talk to her..hehhehe..
i'm on my first steps with my invitations. my cousin in NZ is helpin me with some quotes,etc...she's askin me what paper,etc i'm lookin for but i really dun noe what i want until i have some ideas or samples to look at. wil jus hv to wait and she what she manages to find.=)

minty_mic

hi, i am new to this GWP thread.

Any idea whether GWP provide vegetarian food for wedding package? i may be having a few vegetarian tables.. planning my wedding in 2007.

dazednconfused

Hello michela,

Welcome!!!
A sure way to find out is to speak to the coordinators at GWP. They cater for Muslim tables as well, so I would think they'll do the same with vegetarians.

BTW, Jeanie told me Muslim tables run the same rate as Chinese tables. Hmmm....

dazednconfused

lindy,

Good for you! Already on your way to getting your invitation cards settled. My fiance and I are still in the midst of deciding which design we truly would want to announce our big day! We've seen quite a few that we like. Such a tough decision! Good luck with your invitations! And of course, I hope you and your fiance will be able to talk Jeanie into upgrading the suite for you! Then let me know and for how much more! Would like to be able to have it without having to pay extra. But.... Our date is a HOT one, so GWP calls the shots.

junnie

Just had my wedding at GWP last Sat.. it all turn out well!! Had good feedback on the food.. guess the only drawback is the parking as some guests need to park at york hotel..but other than that it was great!!

dazednconfused

HI Junnie,
Congratulations! You must have had a ball of a time! Please, do tell us GWP brides-to-be what your experience was. Did you and your hubby take the Bridal Suite or did you guys upgrade to another suite? We're thinking of doing the latter.

Would you be so kind as to share a few photos? My email addy is
That's 2 underscores.

tinting

Hi Michela,

Yeah, GWP does provide vegetarian table. In fact, my bf's parents are vegetarian. So, the VIP table has to vegetarian. The rate is the same as norm.

My wedding is on year 2007 too... So, have u plan which date and month?

tinting

Hi Lindy,

Can we invite pastor to do solemnisation outside the church office???

I know we must book a year in advance. But, my boyfriend is kinda reluctant to go through a church wedding, 'cos his parents are not christian.

Please agreed with me in prayer that we'll have a church wedding...

Hey, Junnie,
Congratulation. So, did you have ur solemnisation at Mayfair pool? Can share with me? If you don't mind, my email add is [email protected]

lindy_koh

Hi Junnie,
yeah! congrats congrats!! u can email your pix to me at [email protected] too, cant wait to see it, so happy for you that all went well!!

Cha Bo,
u also from NCC??? from wat i noe, only can do at pastor office (or rather the 4th flr overflow room). Hey, dun worry.just leave it to God and He will do the rest!