Furama Riverfront Singapore

• Thread starter Thread starter jaslin soo
  • Start date Start date

Hi Siling,

your name is similar to one of my bestie! so qiao
weekend should only applies to sat & sun, unless they change the policy. best is to call them up & check

my wedding will be in Mercury. guess it depends on the no. of tables u having. will only be able to give u 1st hand comment after my wedding ^_^

Siling,

Their wkend confirm is meaning sat n sun only. my AD is next yr oct. Its fri n contract sign is saying its a wkday. No worries on tat...

actually, if u c fr the package, jupiter has less perks given. mercury n venus hv the same perks. so i believe the difference in the price is becoz of the perks and also tat jupiter is the smallest rm n cater less than 20tables, thus jupiter will hv a lower price...

mercury tink if u hv ard 25tables, the pillars shld nt post a prob. but best is to go there n view it urself. n c the whole ballroom layout...
most impt is that u like the ballroom layout...

wah.. so many posts in a short time... hee... thks thks!!! this thread is really active sia...
thks Elaine, mashi for ur replies!!

will try go down n take a look. been busy w work.. hahaha

Siling,

Its ok. When is ur AD?
FRF ballrooms take up rate is quite high lor. If u are interested, I would suggest tat u go there soon to c n check whether the date u wan is available or nt.

As for my date, heard that mercury n venus (ballroom tat i using) have already been booked. n my AD is in OCT.

so tink veyr fast all hot dates will b bk ba...

hi Mashi,

thks for ur advice. actually we are just planning for 2009 but haven got any concrete date yet thou i think it will be in the later half of the year. when did u book urs?

hmmm.... do u tink i shld wait for the wedding show in Nov? wat do u all usually bargain for? i see that the 2009 package alr has free flow beer, 1 bottle wine for each cfm table and a room for helper. seems v good le hor

Siling,

Tink i confirm mine in apr/may. Cannot remember liao. haha...

hmm. then u will have to wait for ur date to b out then can confirm ur venue...

if urs is a hot date, then i dun suggest u to wait for the nov wedding show. but still depends on when u get ur date first... u waitin for the tong shu or waitin for shi fu to count the date for u??

so far, i nothing to bargain liao. wat they give are very comprehensive liao. so i got nothing to ask fr them. keke..

but then i still b attending their wedding show in nov although i confirm my AD wif them liao. keke...

so if u really like tat place, best to confirm the venue soon lor. in case got ppl wan to get the place.

ya, planning to ask shifu for dates soon... haven really started anything although book BS. so now just looking at venue. but i tink i wld wait for the wedding show ba... do u tink there ll be additional perks? maybe we can meet there!!! haha...

u book in Apr/May, so entitled to the old price lo. so good... wish I had started earlier. prices nowadays are really.... kekez...

Siling,

My price is 2009 price not tis yr price. 2009 price is already out by then liao....
So no matter u bk early of late, the price will be the same... Juz tat if u bk early, u can get the ballroom tat u like lor.

only BS n VG/PG, earlier u bk, the price will b diff.

hmm. fr my understandin, dun tink there will b much diff in perks as the perks they give already very comprehensive...

mayb u can check wif them when u go down to view the ballroom...

vian, to be honest, i'm taking Jupiter ballroom also cos i only have 16 tables...for the march-in, u can do a L-shaped march-in which was also recommended by my coordinator...

also, for the wedding favours, there's more than just those...once u contact the favour vendor, u can check with them...i've seen even nicer ones than those in the showroom...

as for the foodwise, i've tasted the chinese banquet one...pretty good...if u say cold, i dunno if u actually meant tat they put the food there for sometime before serving to the guests...so far, as a guest, i've not encountered tat before...for the veg food, not too sure...for the malay food, quite nice...v tasty n diff frm the other hotels tat serve pretty crappy muslim food...

vian and elaine, sorry ar...i'm trying to locate the envelope which i put my contract...can't seem to find it...was with hb...haiz, will find it tis wk n let u guys know....so sorry abt it...

Siling,

honestly if u r keen on FRF, no point waiting till Nov roadshow, cos by now, there's high chance tat ur intended date for 2009 would be fully taken up..frm now till then, there's 5 mths more...these days, FRF has higher wedding dinner rates like mashi said...more n more couples r considering FRF nowadays...

as for the venus n mercury difference, i guess u can't see in terms of the food quality n menu...generally, most hotels do it tis way...the difference in the ballrooms would be the size of ur guestlist or rather, the capacity of ur total guests...

of cos many ppl r pretty concerned abt the pillars in the ballroom...honestly, if ur ballroom is pretty huge, even if ur ballroom doesn't have pillars, they can't quite see the bride n bridegroom either...for FRF, i'm sure u noe tat there's 'live' projectors...it wouldn't be tat much of an issue...besides, if u do the usual table to table phototaking, it's only then tat ur guests get to see u properly n clearly too

just my 2 cents' worth...

oh ya, like mashi mentioned, FRF usually dun really give more comprehensive perks during their roadshow cos their perks r pretty comprehensive alrd compared to many other hotels tat charge corkage, etc etc...

Hi Siling,

the fellow brides haven given alot of gd advise..
i can only add on abit based on my own experience.
First, other than getting date , u need to come out with ur guest list.this will determine how many tables and thus which ballroom cos think Venus is for at least 30 tables while Mercury is 22.anything below, you will have to take Jupiter.
I did not have alot of tables one(mayb 20) but i see that Mercury and venus got the same food which i would say is better than Jupiter thus i choose mercury, just another 2 more tables ma...
Venus is nice but if you do not have alot of guests then no need consider that.

As for booking right, i very kiasu, i booked last year wedding fair for my wedding in Jan 09 haha cos at then dec 08 was already booked. esp all the auspicious dates.for me is heng, i got the 2008 pricing since 09 pricing wasnt out yet.

u dun need to wait till wedding show, but if u feel there r more perks you want, you can try negotiate now.so long you haven sign the contract, you can negotiate. but what the other brides mention is correct, their perks are quite comprehensive mayb just missing a abit here n there onle, wont lugi too much..like now is 1 bottle of wine per table, when i sign only 12 bottles leh for my 22 tables.
i think cant get the best of everything, u may lugi abit of perks but u get to book the date n ballroom u want...

Hi pin&jie8275,

can I also have the list for the photography contacts..how about videography ones..please

You can pm me.

Thanks thanks

really thank you for all the advices that you had given me. mi most prob ll be taking venus cos i had more than 36 tables. as soon as i get my date, ll go down and take a look.

thanks thanks Grace and Bride09 for ur valuable input, Mashi too...

Hi Siling,

Gd luck... keke. Venus is a very hot ballroom.
Hope u can get wat u wan.

PS. I using the Venus as well. My AD is 16 Oct. Thus, remember nt to get the same date as me. haha...

I'm planning my dinner on Oct 09, just check out a few hotels, quite keen in HIPV. But looks like you all have got nice comments on Furama. Which sales person you girls can recomment?

hi Khai ying,

hmm, got some of us here is under ALbert. mayb u can try to look for him?

keke.. ok lar. so far we are still satisfied wif their service. haha.

so when is ur AD?

Just to share, I just had my photoshoot session last weekend. Managed to capture some candid shots with the help of my sis and bro. I have posted the photos in my multiply (swee11).

In case, anyone interested in my BS, do PM or email me. I can share with u my package.

Hi Khai ying, my coordinator is Kriss. (^_^)

Hi mashi,

According to my sis in law, I have to follow her feng shui shi fu date, which is not out yet on tong shu! I still got to wait 2 more months, by then I can't get any hotel already. So she gave me the month of Oct, and I just don't care anymore, will book if got chance. May end up have conflict with my sis in law though, haiz.

Khai Ying,

Oct is a popular mth as is lunar 8th mth. so need to act fast.

but without a date fr the shi fu is difficult to bk...

is it possible to find another shifu tat dun need to wait for the tong shu???
since u worried tat the date u got may end up conflict wif ur sis in law.

but y is ur sis in law? thought shld b parents or parents in law more pan tang??
keke

hi all happily married brides out there,

anyone had their weddding at mercury ballroom..? i just went down to take a look and am wondering if the columns in the mercury ballroom was a problem..

any complaints from the guests...? or were any of ladies worried bout it..? i know there are projectors at every section.. but was it ok..?

any sort of feedback is welcome..pls feel free to share...

thanks =)

Hi Jac Jac,

I signed up the Mercury Ballroom & have a wedding dinner there before.

I was not placed @ d pillars corner. But I think it should be fine as I would put some elderly there. Reason being: CLoser 2 toilet, they also can't be bother to see what is happening on stage.. hehe, then so far they also can't see so its gd to place them near projectors so they can see better. Hehe

V bad hor.... hahaha... but Mercury Ballroom is indeed a v cosy place ( The 1st impression it gave me la) so I chose there as my AD Dinner Venue!

Gd luck gal!

Mashi,
Hi. My mum never like to see all these dates one, cos if this no gd that no gd, everything cannot do. My in law even more don't care, they are catholics anyway, so I wonder why my sis in law so particular. Hen fan lei.
Anyway, I think i'll change to Hilton as the price is right for me and in town, so that next day I wake up still can go shopping, haha.

Khai Ying,

haha.. oic.. ur sis in law so funny de.. haha...

its ur decision to choose the hotel u like. as long u ok wif the price n place.. its ok liao. haha

gd luck...

hi gals, its been some times since i come in. miss out quite alot ya. been busy uploading my shots onto multiply :D

siling, gd luck to u and hope u get the date u want

grace, no worries. just kindly email me when u found the vendor contacts ^_^

Anyone got latest news when Venus room going to renovate on their carpets? heard from last year that this year they doing renovation.. But base on so many ppl booking on FRF. think may not even got chance to renovate already.

Anyone got latest news please reply. Thanks so much

Thanks alot Soulsista.

Yup anyone here got wedding on in August this year?

I really hope in Aug they will start renovation.

Soulsista, can i know u hear this news from who? and when u hear it.. Sorry.. reason asking is bcos abt a month to 2 month ago. i did ask my coordinator, he say till now still no news yet.

So i hope is really August to start renovation

Bonjour.. i asked Terence in mid april i think..

Who did u hear it from?

Anyway whether they renovate or not, i will still hold my wedding there.. coz my package is soo complete.. cant find packages like that nowadays..

Anyone ordered small cake favors for ur guests? Mine is a typical eurasian wedding where we have to give sugee cake to every guest.. so i was juz wondering whether i can pass my cakes to them the nite before.. and whether they will put it on every table for me..

Soulsista,

My Coordinator is Kriss. he did told me alot of ppl getting marry thus is been delaying their renovation works. And i believe this is one of the main reason that he dare not commit.

what u say is true. no matter wat we still need to hold our wedding there and is true their perks is really very gd as compare to other hotel.

Btw, anyone here know any not so pro Videographer, cos i just need a not so pro videographer to take video on my big day and then just burn to dvd that all.

I do not want to spend huge sum on videographer.
If anyone know any such videographer. do let me know. I know is nt many.

Gracelourdes,

maybe a few hundred the most. if too exp i will just ask my friend to take the video for me instead.

Maybe i do not know the actual market rate. i know a pro videographer cost alot alot more. but i dun need a pro videographer so i just want a beginner who has taken some video before for wedding and then just burn to a DVD that all.

If have please do let me know.

oh my.. im one stressful bride.. my bridal shop photographer was sacked, my coordinator resigned and the person i signed the package with, went to another bridal shop!!!!!!!! all this within one month.. and im paying by instalments.. how how how????

hi Soulsista,

Wat happen to ur BS? so big changes.. Hw u knw tat they all hv left the BS? when is ur AD?

hmm.. dun b so stress. c wat is the prob wif the BS first.. then c wat is the next step...

btw, ur BS is wat name?

i saw in the forum posted by the management that the PG was sacked.. then i called my coordinator to enquire who will be my new PG.. then my coordinator said he left the company already..

Dunno wads happening there.. my AD is in april.. my PS is in nov.. still quite a few months to go.. but still very worrying to know that everyone good is leaving the shop..

i shall not mention the BS la.. coz its quite reputable and tied wif a few 5 star hotels..

wow.. if like tat, then mayb u shld visit the BS or call the BS directly to check wat is happening lor.

dun wait til last min. but since they are tied wif the 5star hotel, believe that their service shld b still up to standard.

but as u still worry, best is to contact the BS directly to confirm the situation..

can PM me the BS name? i actually quite curious. haha.. like very bad like tat hor... haha

Hi Bonjour,

i also didnt wan to spend too much on videographer since i have a PG...u ever thought of asking ur frens to help then just give a ang bao?see who got videocam loh...

hihi, anyone tried on furama riverfront? any gd opinions? i will be meeting zoey this sat..understand that there are 6 pillars in mercury ballrm..so sianz..but still have to go down and view b4 making decision..heard that nearby the htl, there are nightclubs?

Hi Bride09,

Yup i totally agree with you. I already have a PG for my big day no point spend a sum again on VG in which i rather spend it on my honeymoon. I did have a friend who has a Videocam but is abt 2 years ago. and i do not know he has enough batt to last for few hours cos i heard one batt last abt half an hour or so.

Thus i looking for those who just started not long for VG thus is not a pro and will like to take this chance to have more experience and also i need not pay much also.

If anyone got friends who just started as VG will like to gain more experience do let me know.

Stella,

Hmm. i haven had my wedding there. so cannot comment much. but then heard fr the brides tat has already held there, the comments were quite gd...

yup. actually juz beside the hotel, there is 1 nightclub le. the nightclub shares the same carpark. but i tink it is nt big prob lor.

i even joke wif frens tat they can go for 2nd round at the nightclub after my weddin then. haha

Hi hi

i also holding my wedding in oct..03/10

Anyone know any new wedding favours coming up? i actually quite excited ald, i taken my photoshot and choosen the photos ald...ganna knock $2k off my pocket for the additional photos developed