Furama Riverfront Singapore

sweetcyanide

I was just wondering.. my wedding is end of this year but i signed my package last year.. seems like the perks is even better now!!! such as additional night stay and a night stay for helpers.. do u think we can request for it as well?

ctrus

Jac >> no harm trying.

Btw, for FRF the billing settling is die-die by end of banquet rite? Can split the bill and pay by credit cards?

sweetcyanide

ctrus, who should we talk to?? since the package already signed, i think cannot nego anymore right?? can we go straight to magaer to ask for it??

btw, i think i remember i asked my coordinator before... think can pay next day when we check out lehz.. coz i ask, if end of banquet both the bride and groom drunk how.. haha!! can also pay by split cash and credit card but recommended using 1 credit card.. can call up to increase credit limit temporary and also better to accumulate points...

ctrus

Jac >> U may want to call your coordinator and bargain?

Thought of temp increase credit limit but even if we do it the limit may still not be enough to cover the whole cost. So need multiple cards wahahaa...

sweetcyanide

ctrus>> actually i ask before le but say cannot.. den i wonder why lor.. seems like although its this year's package, the perks a lot diff leh...
i check with my friend before, he works in a bank under credit card company.. they should be able to increase to the amount. They will ask u how much u need to increase.. den u gotta show them your invitation card. Theyw ill then call hotel wot verify.

mashi_mashi

Jacqueline,

Becoz this yr suppose to be nt a gd yr to get married. so hotels give more perks for couples that sign up this yr. haha... tink is like tat. once u sign on the dotted line then cannot change or add anything le.

ctrus,
the bank can raise to the amount tat u mention so long u can produce proof tat u holding at which hotel n the no. of tables u having. tink the max is the amount of the total tables n best to inform the bank ard 1wk earlier...

tat time my HB request to increase the limit fr 2 banks. in case not enough. both banks increased but the amount we request is nt enough. so in the end use 2 cards to pay for the bill.

Yes. FRF is after banquet settle the bill. if nt they will say tat u can settle the bill b4 the banquet if u worried u get drunk. haha....

krazimitzi

Hi anyone already signed with FRF and have tried the food? I'm very worried on the menu as it does not instill any confidence the way, for example, a Tung Lok menu does.

I asked them if I can change the Shark's Fin soup to just Braised Crabmeat and Dried Scallops soup as I do not want to harm the sharks, but they said that is not possible. My hubby and I love just the shark's fin soup base without shark's fin - why would it be so hard to do? They said, it would harm the hotel's reputation - to which I said then I can put it into all my invitation cards, programme and even announce during the meal that it is "the couple's request" to have this special soup to share with their friends and family. Still cannot.

If I want to incorporate more "western" elements into the sit-down banquet menu, they are simply unable to do because they say its two different kitchens doing it. I cannot even replace any dish in the menu because they are not confident in being able to do it. They only have one set number of dishes and if you dare to try anything else it is at your own risk. I think the chef only knows how to cook that number of dishes, which is scary!

Also they refuse to close the pool even though I will be using poolside for cocktail reception. They say people hardly use the pool but when I stopped by I saw at least 20 ang mohs splishing and splashing and being rowdy at the poolside. They would not even let me place a friend there during my wedding to advise guests that perhaps they might like to come back to swim later in the day after our event is over.

Grrrr... seems like a lot of things they are simply not willing to do. I am a bit hesitant before I sign on the dotted line.

What are your thoughts?

sweetcyanide

krazimitzi, i have signed with them but haven had my dinner yet... i do not have sharks fin in my menu.. sharks friendly.. haha!! they changed it to Braised Fish Maw Soup with AbaloneSilk & Golden Mushroom.. I think thats the only 1 they have but to me its fine as long as no sharks fin..

if u want western style den u might wanna consider other hotels who specialise in it so that u wont have a chance to be disappointed..

i think asked about the pool thingy beofre also.. their reason is they have to be fair to the guest also.. but i think after certain timing there wont be any guests there le..

my friend just went to a dinner there and say the food is not bad.. pretty good..

krazimitzi

Hey Jacqueline, add me to MSN? [email protected]

Got so many things to ask you why you made your choice hahaha... I'm so torn right now! Plus I don't know if it's bridezilla obsession or just me PMSing!!

I'm doing a lunch so it's a noon time which is the best time for ang mohs to get a tan... so the swimming pool is always crowded... it makes more sense that there won't be a lot of people if you're having a dinner I guess...

Have you gone for your food tasting? I'm worried about the food because most of my friends who have tried dinners there said they would give it maybe 4 upon 10, or at most was 5.5 upon 10. Then friends who work in F&B line all tell me "Honestly, FRF food really CMI." :S This kinda info really scares me...

When is your wedding by the way, and which ballroom are you using? *excited to hear from you!*

sweetcyanide

krazimitzi, paiseh.. no access to msn at work...

i think probably too many to choose from?? i m not sure if they do lunch though, u have to check with them.. i went to the ballroom for viewing before in the late noon.. not many ppl though..

my wedding is in nov and i m taking the venus ballroom... havent gone for food tastin yet but so far the reviews i had is not bad! i went there for wedding dinner before but it's the jupitar ballroom.. food standard is there also.. like i mentioned, my friend just attended a wedding there recently and he says the food standard is there.. so.. i m not sure why ur frens told u that..

i cant confirm now also as i have not gone for food tasting.. my food tasting would prob in aug i think?

sandymoo10

Hey Jac, sandra. my fiance and I just signed w Furama and waiting for our contract to be out to be signed. paid deposit already..
Me taking Venus Ballroom as well. Do share w me your pics k? hehe.. My AD 22 Jan 2011..=) dinner. do share w me your food tasting reviews.. mine only in Oct..=)
Hear from you soon..=P

sandymoo10

dun scare me i just signed furama... I guess u can always get your florist do do it up alittle more if you wish..=) but the catalog that my co-ord show me...looks fine lei... maybe cuz of the low ceiling? r the choice of colour...

kacie

Hi, anyone hold his wedding at the jupiter or mercury ballroom ? i'm comparing this two rooms ,nt sure which is more worth it. the price is so much different between this two. any good and bad comment for this two ?

anne77

Hi anyone knows whether during the food tasting day, are we given complimentary carpark tickets? Or we need to ask our coordinator?

mashi_mashi

Anne,

They will give de. The waiter or waitress tat serve u will ask u hw many u need.

If they forget, u can juz ask fr them on tat day.

kacie

I will decide on FRF on this sun wedding show . the package seems to be comprehensive . Is that anything privilege that i still can ask from the coordinator ?

skydreamie

hello!

I took Jupiter

Mercury is prettie too.. hehehe but i guess i dun need such a big space + more expensive + beside pool and hotel guests will be peeping in lol!

however main reason why i chose jupiter over mercury is becos of the cost ba

i got jupiter ballroom pics... if u need can email me @ [email protected]

skydreamie

btw sgbride for so many FRF thread.. which 1 should i post in?!

i posted in another 1 which enquire about the copyright of songs.... im not sure whether any1 experienced issue with the copyright of songs in Furama?
because we will be using our own unique march-in songs la etc rite.... sian, dunno will have prob or not!

kacie

Hi Jeanie , can you send me the picture of the Jupiter ballroom ? My e-mail is [email protected]. Btw, who is yr coordinator ? Did you ask for anything beside the wat u have in yr package ?
I took the jupiter room too becoz of the cost also. Just that i cant invite all the guest that i listed b4.
Please share with me since i'm taking the same ballroom as yours . Thanks!

krazimitzi

kx>> i got pics of mercury only. you can email me [email protected]. but i think shldnt need liao since u will be going for tomorrow's show right? they said they have new themes to show off tomorrow. i will also be going down to give it one more last chance to meet my expectations of decor before i write it off for good! :S

kacie

Thanks Jeanie , i really appreciated that. At least my HTB have a rough idea of the setup and theme. I have the same coordinator as yours . So far, how u find about her?

blur_crab

MERCURY
Love outdoor weddings but hate the outdoors?
The new Mercury Ballroom (Level 5) presents a stunning panoramic view of a lush tropical forest on one side,
and a resort-style swimming pool on the other

Im referring to the above.
May I check if their back drop is similar to Grand Corp Hotel? Izzit nice? What is their max table for this room?

Many thanks in adv!

anne77

Hi all, just to share something. I just attended a friend wedding in Venus ballroom. She had 46 tables & it was cramped up. The wedding favour were chopsticks which were unique & nice. The sharkfin was too starchy, cold dish was good, the rest were normal. Service was terrible, the aunty serving our table kept standing beside us after serving, wanting to clear the plate even the dish were still left alot. At 1 point, she took the whole plate of the mushrooms & ask, u want or not! Which was quite a portion left. I felt that she could simply ask if she can transfer into a small plate for us, rather then wanting to clear all the food immediately. Another friend of mine seated another table, waited very long for his wine, till he had to walk to the waiter & remind him again. Anyway the dinner ended at 1040pm, which i feel is not a late timing!

pinkyloving

i just happen to be in Furama hotel..and so just take the chance to look around the ballroom...i' shopping for wedding banquet.

Venus room is big enuff but it have partition. Today there were 2 event held in venus room. 1 wedding event n the other is dunno some Karoke singing. Gosh! IT WAS SO LOUD. I not sure the wedding which was held beside the partition can hear anot. quite bad thou.

Anyone can advise Venus room can hold how many tables?

i went to mercury oso. Nice outdoor view. But from outside, it look not presentable as for a ballroom. Is like curtain over the glass panel. I went to peek inside. Is a low ceiling. Quite small. Not sure what is the max table. Anyone can advise?

ohx2

Hi Jeanie

Just went down yesterday to Furama but they did not have the set up done for Jupiter ballroom so can you send me the photos of Jupiter ballroom too?

My email add: [email protected].

Thanks a million!

skydreamie

sent!

haven't been checking in here for long time, hence sorry for the wait

Do assist me to send to future BTBs if u see them requesting for pics here :D

thank u!!