Furama Riverfront Singapore

• Thread starter Thread starter jaslin soo
  • Start date Start date
Hi Jennifer,

it's hard to gauge whether you will make losses or breakeven. It all depends on your friends and relatives.

If they are generous, I'm sure you can even make some money but if they are the kind who give small angpow and whole family comes, you will be in trouble. On the whole, FRF's package is very reasonable so it's highly unlikely that you will lose a lot.

In fact, I'm positive that I will at least breakeven.

Just my two cents' worth so hope it helps.

Hi precious moments,

Thanks for your advice, did you hold your AD at FRF? How is it for the ambience and food like? I saw some negative remarks the other day from the forum but didn't know if they are refering to FRF or FCC?

Need a favour frm BTB who had signed up the packages wif FRF last year.

i remember there a complimentary facial for mi & my hubby. A letter was sent frm them to us to inform us to use the facial before feb'06.

However, i had misplaced this ltr. would appredaite if any one could forward mi the addr & the tel no of tat facial shop.

Milliion thks

hi jennifer!
i think its not for FRF..coz i myself went to FCC n was horrified at the co-ordinator's service..

you should make an appt to go down n take a look..the venus BR took my breath away.. ! =) n they're not pushy at all.. n if u search the archives, there're pictures of the themes posted here..can take a look..=)

i'm also positive that will break even...coz their package is so affordable without compromising on quality n service standard...super looking forward to my day in 3 mths time!! =D

hi joanne!
ey...i signed up last year too but got no free facial ley...=(

maybe can call your co-ordinator and ask? they should know it i think...

Can u all send me the pics for ur wedding banquet @ furama riverfront as well?? thks...roughly how much is their banquet??

i signed up last year but i dont remember any facial leh.... I guess its dependant on the period that we signed lah.. I signed in July, no facial.. (they dont want me to have good skin. Hee)

haha!
aiya, anyway once u go for the free one they'll try to make u buy their package..so once i found a good place for facial and spa, i signed up n stopped going for those vouchers ones liao..

btw albert called me up today n asked me to go down to discuss the theme n so on liao..now feels like hafta start work again to plan liao..

magical dear.. but isnt it fun? to be planning for ur wedding?
For it, my weddings in 10 months time.. time passes so fast! when i signed it last july, everyone was like, "haiya, still far".. now not far lor....

ribbons,
yeah loh! time flew by so quickly!
2 mths ago my mum was pestering me to go buy m,y wedding jewellery, n i still keep telling her 'still long way la!!'..but now left 3 mths only..luckily i got most of my jewellery last dec n in jan liao...

hm..i kinda did the fun part liao ley..searching for venue n bs, PS over..now the fun things left are seeing my album n choosing the theme for banquet..then all the non-fun part will come in..the guestlist, seating arrangement, printing n sending invites,rsvp, jie mei duty list, arghhh!!
stil must go search for wine suppliers (that's hubby's job), n still worried abt getting my flat...sigh...

hi ribbons,
my hubby now change his mind..coz i told him forum can get good deals..then he ask me go n search..basket...
anyway will inform u when have good contact..am asking from a gal in another thread..

will be goign to see albert tomoro..dunno want to talk abt what ley...hope he offer to let us eat free buffet in the cafe again ..haha...

i got my photos back today!
album can only collect in march..=D

glad to hear u had fun jewellery shopping! =) my experience was so so..like, she ask me to choose wat i like, but what i like is super ex..so must look around again..in the end got find something lah..but very tiring.. then also went to buy a set of gold ma, then hubby suay suay was with us..n he kena stuck in the gold shop for 2 hrs! haha...my dad smarter..went off to best denki himself...

okie.. cool. I will share my contacts with u if my FH finds any..

Really?? They can offer u free buffet??? hmm... but i dare not take up lah.. diet racker.. =)

Jewellery shopping is fun.. when u have the money for it. I really dont want my mum to buy expensive stuff cos shes already giving us a big ang bao.. but she wants too.. so ok lor..
but its fun... mother and daughter shopping for wedding stuff.. i hope it allays some of her empty nest syndrome...

Hi FRF and ex-FRF brides,

I'm in some sort of confused mood now.

I have previously went down to view the venus ballroom end of last year and felt that with the wedding decors, the ballroom will be very pretty and the pricing and perks are quite attractive too.
However, I was concerned abt the nightclub(tiennanmen) beside the hotel and the location a bit out of the way (not near to MRT station) thus gave up and went on to view other hotels.

Now, aftering reading the forum and heard a lot of good comments abt FRF frm FRF ex-brides and friends. I got a bit of sway if I should change my banquet to here instead of the hotel that I have previously set my mind on...( I have not paid any deposit but already negotiate most of the items and abt to sign the contract)

FH ask me to go by my heart but I cannot decide...but he mentioned that the other hotel we set our mind on seems to be a better deal...how?

Do you all gals think that my 2 concerns mentioned above are significant??

Any gals can help to advise?

hi ribbons!
that time he offered , but we still tried to pay the cashier, but they said ours already covered..
but today didn't eat la..went down quite late..
he's given me a load of things to do! must contact the suppliers for deco, invitation cards..etc..sigh..so busy..

hi whitepearl!
hm..actually yhe ktv didn't bother me at all..after all, the banquet is in the ballroom, not outside wat..
n location i also didn't really bother..maybe coz most of my relatives do drive, n i'm sure they wont mind taking a cab just for that one night...aftet all, they dress up nice nice, take bus also weird..

i guess u have to know what u're looking for. for me, once i set my eyes on the venus ballroom i was already convinced to take up their hotel..the good service n food are bonuses to my choice..

Hi whitepearl..
Like magical (and i'm sure many other brides here too), my mind was made up when i saw the ballroom.

My FH was the one who went round sourcing for hotels and shortlisting them. I didnt know where FRF was.. He told me about the KTV, some very high class KTV it seems and got hostess kind. I was a little 'disgusted' with it. I was thinking "ee.. so sleazy.." so my guard was up already. i told him i most probably wouldnt want this place. He said just go take a look.

When we went there, my guard went up even more when i saw what it looked like.. with the huge MArtell VSOP sign there.. hee.. Then when i went to meet my coordinator and she showed me the ballroom, it was like WOW! Suddenly the worries of the KTV disappear from my mind! i was so in love wih the ballroom! High ceiling, pillar-less, package was what we wanted and we were very pleased with the package and the service and the place.. I told my FH i like the place very much and i want! He so bad he suan me "I thought someone say dont want cos of the KTV?"

anyway, we signed up about two or three weeks later..

The KTV isnt part of FRF, its just that they are next it. And as my coordinator Selest says, my wedding is on a saturday, the KTV usually isnt patronized so much during weekends. Cos the customers are usually business man, and they all spend time with family on weekends. Weekday nights they come out to entertain. so sat and sun u wouldnt see them. And i was worried if parking will be a problem becoas of the KTV customers, she said no. cos again, they dont come on weekends.

And my older guests, when i tell them is FRF, they dont know. When i tell them its the former apollo and where the TIanamen KTV is, they know immediately.

Also agree with magical about location. maybe its far to u now cos u take public transport. but if i am dressed up for a wedding, i wuoldnt take public transport know. weird to have everyone stare at a very well derssed person on the train. haha..

SO transport and KTVs dont bother me cos the inside of the hotel and the package surpass everything..

whitepearl, which is the other hotel u are considering? i mean, there are pros and cons. Maybe u can share with us which hotel u are considering so we can help u clear anything that u may not know about FRF.

Hi magical and ribbons,

Thanks for sharing so much with me

In fact, when the 1st time I went down to view the ballroom, there was a malay function going on in the venus ballrm so tt time, me and my FH were like didnt pay attention to the ballrm + the KTV beside the hotel makes me feel nothing abt the ballroom but the pricing does interest my FH so he ask me to consider....

The 2nd time, I thought to myself, I should make another appt to go down to see the venus ballrm with the wedding decors to see if I can feel for the hotel. True enough, it was very nice with the long aisle frm the last door to the stage at the side. The 2 LCD screens were also its plus point! Btw, do they have intellgient lightning??

However for the other hotel, we manage to negotiate for a good deal too however, rumours the service is only so-so and the food is sometimes up and sometimes down so I'm a bit worried...

Hi ribbons,

Not so convenient to say out the the other hotel here, maybe you can leave me your email add so I can let you know?

Hopefully, I can make a wise decision

Morning whitepearl..
where the aisle is placed also depends on the number of table u have.. We maxed out the ballroom (full capacity) so my aisle will have to be a short one (from middle door walk straight down. my aisle is right in the centre) but i dont mind... cos the ballroom is so nice.. hee

my email add is [email protected]

hi ribbons!
i went to see albert liao..
now got loads of things to do..going for food tasting on 5th march..
hafta to contact the vendors direct n liaise with them..the deco, cards..but wedding favours i chose the salt pepper shakers lah...so settled liao...

at first was worried couldn;t make our min 30 tables, turns out we have 43 now?!?! siao! gotta re look it again already...

HAHA!! Oh my! 30 to 43 is a big increase leh!! U got me a little scared about my list liao.. but i guess if my dinner lists exceeds, i can always move on them to the church wedding list only. =)

I like the salt and pepper shakers. really cute. U can use them in ur own house also..

I hope by the time i have to choose will have even more choice!

share with us when u've done ur tasting k..

hey, u guys realise something..
That guy who got shot in serangoon? He owns the KTV at furama there.. That Las v*gas KTV is the new one behind tianamen...

please replace * with an e. Dunno, for some reason, that word is not allowed. y? is it some kind of a bad word? vulgarity? body part?

ribbons,
ya loh! dunno why suddenly increase by so much!
but the good thing is with FRF we dont have to be afraid of exceeding, coz our tables are considered a much reasonable price as comparedto other hotels at 600+700+..that's where we really need to cut down .. but for this place think most ppl will still give 80, or at LEAST 60...then give allowance for a few jokers who give 20..still can survive i think..

ah really ah! i only knew he owned some night club..so co-incidence..its the KTV outside! hm..maybe they'll close it down then whitepearl don't need to worry about it liao..heheh...
i think the * thing is just to make sure of the privacy of the place la..for any outlet, some ppl in the forum will replace * with a letter...just in case you get sued by the place by using their name on a forum, then if got *, you can say 'i'm not talking about you what'..

hi magical..
i was just typing my post and the word v*gas appear in my post lor.. but when i tried to post, it said that that word not allowed. hmm...

no lah.. dont think the KTVs will close down just cos the lao ban not around liao lah.. still got lao ban niang leh.. but maybe not so many pple will go patronize it.. Seeing that it has such a story connected with it..

hm? so weird... i try...
ei? really eh! why huh?

oh anyway, yeah that guy lives in the same area as someone i know..but i think this kinda thing will blow over very soon...singaporeans will always find something else to talk about..
n i think the ktv must have alot of regular customers who will still continue to patronize that place loh..

Hi Magical,

You were saying that your tables exceeded 30, which means you have to take the venus ballroom...Was told by Albert that it costs $618+++ ($720 nett) per table over weekends (under Afinity Package)Did he say that to you as well?

I'm just confused...initially thought I can get the 488+++ package even though I exceeded 30 tables...

Jennifer: U mean ur 488 packaeg is for a lower number of tables, but u thought u exceed the no. of tables the place can hold so acn use the ballroom but albert says must then take the ballroom package?

Hmm.. if thats the case, maybe lor. Cos ballroom is usually reserved for the 618 packages mah. If u take 488 and use ballroom, then someone who wants to get the 618 package cannot use the room cos u are using it, FRF lose money mah.
So urs is in ballroom ah?

Magical: yeah, when something else comes up in the news, singaporeans will gossip and chat about that then.. maybe next one is constance Chee's sentencing.

hi jennifer!
erm..mine's venus anyway..n my package was signed last year under the old scheme...i'm not too sure about the new packages..
n my banquet is on monday .. so definitely cheaper..
so sorry i cant help much, its best to clear your doubts with albert..

hi ribbons!
sorry to sound like a bimbo...but what's about the new news? haven't had time to read the papers..heheh..

hi jennifer!
erm..mine's venus anyway..n my package was signed last year under the old scheme...i'm not too sure about the new packages..
n my banquet is on monday .. so definitely cheaper..
so sorry i cant help much, its best to clear your doubts with albert..

hi ribbons!
sorry to sound like a bimbo...but what's about the new news? haven't had time to read the papers..heheh..

Hi Ribbons/ Magical,

I see alot of difference between the weekday & weekend rates, maybe I will be taking the weekday if I exceed 30 tables....

But I'm afraid that some of the guest might not turn up last minute due to work commitment, do you guys think that this will happen?

hi jen and magical.

jen, i guess ur guest will know that they are suppose to attend ur wedding, and will try not to miss it lor. but u know lah, sometimes, they really may not be able to escape..

even if some of ur guest really cannot turn up due to work, i'm sure it will only be about 1 or 2.. Another alternative is, call them to RSVP one or two weeks before ur date lor, drill it into them that they have to come.. =)

magical ah.. that busy meh? i talking about the serangoon shooting incident. and new news i mean, when another incident thats more interesting and fresh comes up like another killing, or constance chee sentencing or tok's appeal, etc comes up, they will forget about the shooting incident and move on liao....

hi jennifer,
i was also quite worried..but i told myself no matter how much i plan, something can n will always go wrong..so i just heck care loh...on of my close friend n my jie mei just told me she cant come to my wedding coz she has to go overseas, so no choice also..find another one loh..

i mean, if they really can't make it then we can understand la, but what i cannot tahan are those who promised to come but decided too lazy to make it n no ang pao given too..just MIA.. i have some potential cases like that, but really if u decide to invite them, then hafta run the risk loh..

ribbons,
yeah...i start my day at 7am, then classes all the way til 2 plus..then busy again all the way to i go back home at 6 plus 7..by the time i reach home n shower n dinner..already 8 plus 9...then its time to sleep already...don't even feel like reading anything or watching anything..

yeah i got what u meant...but what i wanted to ask was why was constance chee sentenced n what was the case behind..hehe.. see? that's how much i'm out of touch of the world

HAHA!! ok.. i see u are THAT busy...
Constance Chee threw the daughter of her lover down, from about 7th floor of a HDB flat.. that was in 2004.

I know what u mean about those potential MIA ones lor... but hor, just asking ah, since u know they have high potential for MIA, then cna u dont invite them? or, why dont u put another name next to theirs, just in case they really tell u b4 the diiner that they cannot come, u can straight away invite other pple.. but if they dont tell u and dont turn up, no choice lor. Have to live with the fact that there are such pple in the world lor.. I scanning thru my list too to see if got any such pple or not.

ribbons,
oh...so that's her name! yeah i rememebr that case.the horrible woman..

hm...hard ley..coz like quite close friends..for eg,a few times we arrange for a gathering, she'll be late for an hour but don't inform us until we call n ask where she is..n once i called her n she said she's not coming coz not feeling well..(also never call n inform beforehand), n another time she decided not to go for anotehr friend's wedding n only said so after i called her at 5pm that to ask wat time will she be there ..she didn't give any ang pao to that friend...

but still must invite ma, coz close friend...no choice..

i think will prob put such people at a table of 11 loh...

Hi magical,

i tink it is so stressful to have frens like that. Last min dun turn up, also nvr gif ang bao! i tot if the fren is close to you, it is so natural that u will wanna attend her wedding. Sigh, makes mi start to tink if i do haf such frens.
mayb i sld start going thru my frens list. hopefully not too mani of them though...

I do have the problem of my close relatives having children who are under 9 years old. Lotsa them in fact! Do i have to allocate a seat for them each? haha my wedding is only in 07. but i oredi worried abt seat planning. Looks like that is the unpleasant part about a wedding. Headache~~~

Wah.. got such thing one ah? always fan fei ji one ah..
drop hints to her lor.. If she is close to u as a friend, maybe say something like "eh, really coming ah? we are very good friends so i really wanna have u at my wedding celebrations.."

and i guess ur plan also works lor, put her at the table of 11. If she is offended.. no choice then. who askher to always pull this kind of stunt?

Hey, juliana.. if close relatives, should invite the kids lah.. what u define as close? if they are like my parents siblings, my cousin's kids, i will invite. my parent's cousin's kids, i may not invite.

hello juliana!
yeah the guest list so troublesome! did u know i started planning my list a year ago.. n now still not confirmed...argh!
n got more ppl now..luckily venus is so huge!! if not i'll get super stressed out ..
hm..i think like what ribbons said...close relative kids must invite loh..unless they automatic offer not to take them la..

ribbons,
yeah..very disappointing to have this kind of friend..but aiyah..what to do..already friends for so long..jsut be very careful when planning loh..n i don't really care if she's offended anot coz she never bothers if we are offended when she does this kind of things to us..

yah.. i know what u mean about such friends.. i have a best friend.. well, at least i consider she's my best friend.. but i'm her best friend only when she needs me.. sad hor.. this kind of fair weathered friend..
but oh well, what to do..

Hi Ribbons and Magical,

They are my parents siblings children. I am definitely inviting them but my auntie was commenting i don't need to allocate a seat for them cos they probably will be running around. Haha that is my worst fear. Imagine lotsa children running around? Hmmm maybe i should start to think what i can do to prevent them from running around.

I took Venus ballroom also cos FH didnt like Jupiter. Still kindda worried we won't be able to meet the min 30 table requirement then.

Anyway, think it is okie to put her at a table of 11. Don't worry about offending her, cos in the first place it is cos she is like that. I figured out it is difficult to please everyone at your wedding. It's YOUR WEDDING. So be happy and do what you think is appropriate. =)

Hi Ribbons and Magical,

They are my parents siblings children. I am definitely inviting them but my auntie was commenting i don't need to allocate a seat for them cos they probably will be running around. Haha that is my worst fear. Imagine lotsa children running around? Hmmm maybe i should start to think what i can do to prevent them from running around.

I took Venus ballroom also cos FH didnt like Jupiter. Still kindda worried we won't be able to meet the min 30 table requirement then.

Anyway, think it is okie to put her at a table of 11. Don't worry about offending her, cos in the first place it is cos she is like that. I figured out it is difficult to please everyone at your wedding. It's YOUR WEDDING. So be happy and do what you think is appropriate. =)

juliana,
you could put some colouring books n coulering pencils/markers or puzzles on the tables where u'll put the kids..or just drawing paper.. or storybooks..

some ppl suggested having a kids table where all the kids could be put there n have 1 or 2 helpers to help look after, then the parents can also enjoy their dinner, but i dont think its a very good idea la..imagine they play together then cry n wail..wah...headache..

don't worry la...i also worried i wont hit 30 tables..but in the end got 43..crazy 1..

ribbons,'
yeah that;s the word for them..fair weathered friends..
but its ok..coz for every one person that's like that, u'll have scores of others that will help u to no end.. my best friend, who's my chief jie mei, took the initiative to help me contact n ask our friends if they could make it.n she super efficient..just the next day she had a list of who said can make it, n even got some of their addresses liao..
so nice right? but she also knows i'll do the same for her too..

Magical.. i wish my chief jie mei can be like urs.. but unfortunately, i think my jie mei is one of those fair weathered friends too.. oh well.. will just have to pray and leave it all to God then.. nothing i can do about pple's personality and their level of committment to friendship..

juliana.. maybe u can get ur MC to say out in his/ her intro. Say something like "... before we carry on, we will appreciate if all parents, for the safety of the children, can refrain their children from running about as there are lighted candles about and waiters with hot food around.." or something like that lah.
Or if that doesnt get the msg across, get ur MC to scream into the mike, "wah lau eh, who's kid is this? mei you jia jiao ah?" then yank the kid up onto stage and ask the parent to come and redeem them.. guarantee that will stop all the runnign.... hee... a cruel but very effective way..

and, take it from magical, ur tables will increase... i also scared of that problem.. my original guest list already max out the place liao.. i think i shall stop making friends from now on...

Just want to share some experience I had at FRF.
I just held my wedding in January at FRF.

My husband and I had a enjoyable nite
.This special nite wouldn't be successful without the great help of my co-ordinatoor Selestina and her crew of co-ordinators that nite.
If anyone of you are planning to sign up at FRF, you can consider to look for Selestina. She never fails to put on her smile whenever she meet you and always try to accomodate to our needs. Thumb up for her!! ;)

Our guests including our muslim guests are very impressed with the food served during the dinner. Heard from some of my muslim colleagues that this is the best muslim dinner they ever had among all the top hotels in Singapore.
The portions of the food is more than enuff for 10 pax and the quality is definitely there.

And wat I like best is their cystal theme and decoration at the foyer layout.It is simply beautiful!

Hi PoohGer,

Actually wen we went to view the ballroom, the couple who was holding the wedding that day was also using crystal theme. I tink everione in this forum comments it is very nice. But it looks quite bare to me and FH. Perhaps i didnt really see what is goin on, cos i was there wen they were abt to end dinner. Only saw some of the crystal lights stands. Is it supposed to be 'wow' wen the lights is dimmed? Actually i like lotsa flowers... hmmm hoping they have some more theme by time i have my wedding.

Care to share your AD photos wif me? [email protected]
Thanks in advance and may you have a blissful marriage!! =)

Just want to share some experience I had at FRF.
I just held my wedding in January at FRF.

My husband and I had a enjoyable nite
.This special nite wouldn't be successful without the great help of my co-ordinatoor Selestina and her crew of co-ordinators that nite.
If anyone of you are planning to sign up at FRF, you can consider to look for Selestina. She never fails to put on her smile whenever she meet you and always try to accomodate to our needs. Thumb up for her!! ;)

Our guests including our muslim guests are very impressed with the food served during the dinner. Heard from some of my muslim colleagues that this is the best muslim dinner they ever had among all the top hotels in Singapore.
The portions of the food is more than enuff for 10 pax and the quality is definitely there.

And wat I like best is their cystal theme and decoration at the foyer layout.It is simply beautiful!

hey Pooh Ger.. congrats on ur wedding and great that everything turned out well..
Ur muslim guest, u consolidate all of them into a table, or individual servings at different table? great that the food is good! At first, when selest told me that the food will be a 5 course meal, different from the main chinese food, i was thinking that they will serve the usual malay fare... but if the foods good, then i guess is ok lah..

I agree, selest is a nice lady.. She always has a smile on her face, she's very pro at this (she's had other experiences at other hotels too so she knows her stuff)

u mean ur coordinators will be there on ur AD to watch over stuff? i know they would be there for the actual dinner but will they come down befoer that to check?

Hi Juliana,

Actually when I went there to take a look at other's people setup I find that it was ok only but when it comes to my AD, I find that it was really very nice. I have frens who actually wants to copy the setup for her weddings. They like it when the lights are dimmed.
so dun worry, it will be nice.

Have not got the soft copy yet. will email you when I got it.

Hi Ribbons,
I have a table for muslim as well as a few slot in to chinese tables. But dun worry abt the muslim food it will be nice.

Selest is there until the 2nd march in. If you have any problem can call her.

oh... okay.. cool. Didnt know they will be around.. Always thought they will just instruct the managers around..

hey, can send ur AD pics to me too?