Furama Riverfront Singapore

lichristin

I have just book for my wedding in Dec04.
Hopefully it would all be well...

ruthern,
so you already book for yr wedding with them?

scribblez,
are you signing up also? when is yr AD?

itwin

ladies, i have read thru your postings and felt that sometimes, things like that do happen but it also depends on your luck too.... although the hotel might have promised service of 2 servers to 3 tables but if they can't find any staff to work, they've got no choice... attended quite a few weddings and most of the hotels face the same problem... one of my friend got a wedding planner to co-ordinate all details and run her event for her, and things work out well, and she got to relax and don't even have to worry much... at a good deal too....

eighteight

l agreed with Shi Jie .. this type of thing sometime really depends on luck .... thats is why l think some very reputable hotels at time also received bad comments .... l once engage a service company that is so reputable in the forum and end up to be a nightmare ...

l have booked my wedding with them late 2003 ... l find my coordinator quite nice and the ballroom is quite acceptable to me too ...

scribblez

Hi Ruthern and Lichristin,

Care to share what made you decide to sign up with Novotel?

My AD is in June 05.

lichristin

Hi Scibblez,
actually i don think they are that bad, heard some feedback from my friends who attended wedding at Novotel, and they say food is nice & ballroom is big & nice...and i find that the package is quite attractive also....and best of all the co-ordinator is very nice & co-operative to us too...

katherine

just to let ull know, have highlighted to seles, the coordinator who attended to me, wat sugarcane wrote...she mentioned that she will look into it and get back to me...will update u girls....

chatterbox

Last Sat, went down again to view the garden-themed set-up this time. The set-up was very simple, with just a marquee on stage n flower stand along the aisle. A little disappointed for this theme!

Would like to highlight somethg to all. When we were there @ abt 5:30pm, was shocked to see that they are still setting up the ballrm. Jenny explained that there was an event earlier on. This was what happened to the bride who posted the 1st msg in this thread. So we left and returned @ 6:15pm. By then, the stage was setup and the staff were still busy doing up the tbl arrangement. Personally, if I will to decide on Apollo, I will make sure that prior to my dinner, there shld be no event in the same ballrm to avoid such hiccups.

And also, I did mentioned to Jenny regarding SugarCane's unhappiness. She explained that Apollo only introduced this fee-flow of beer promo in Jan and all along they do not have such promo. Hence unlikely for SC to have sign up this promo since her dinner was in Jan. And she mentioned the 1st couples who signed up the this promo will only be having the dinner this month.

After last sat visit, I'm a little hesitate in signing up with Apollo. Worried abt their service level.

pixie

Hi Chatterbox,

What a coincidence, I & my bf were there on last Sat too, we were there to attend his friend's dinner. I think the three themes they have are really very simple. But the nicest one is still the garden-theme...

Let me just share my experience as a guest...
1. The food are quite nice, better than what we expected and the portion is alright. Oh ya.... must mention this, their shark fin soup are nice, they are quite generous in providing the shark fin.

2. I don't see any china waiter but they do employed quite a number of Malay waiters which is fine with me as long as their services standard is acceptable.

3. The ratio of waiters to table i.e. 2 waiters to 3 tables proved to be a bit insufficient as can see they are busy serving the food, drink and changing plates almost non-stop. Feel a bit pitiful for them. This also result in drink not filled up and we have to ask for it sometimes. But the good thing is upon request the waiter will serve you immediately.

4. The background music is too soft and the light was a bit dim at the 1st part of the dinner but after the 2nd march the light was adjusted. Of cos, these are some minor things which can be communicated to supervisor on the wedding day itself so we are not too worry about it.

5. As regard to the service level, of cos we can't compare it with the 5-stars hotel. Based on the package Apollo is given, we would think it is okay. Sometimes, it's really depend on our lucks. The service level depends on the individual waiters.

My overall experience is a pleasant one. At least I and my bf feel more positive & confident in Apollo now. We are praying very hard that everything turn up well on our wedding day.

chatterbox

Hi Pixie,

Actually, I have attended a friend's wedding at Apollo abt 2 yrs back. I'm pleased with the ballrm, but din really notice the staff service.

So is yr friend's wedding held in Venus ballrm? coz that is the garden-theme.
BTW, have u signed up with Apollo? Care to share what perks did they throw in for u? Is yrs a weekday/wkend?

eighteight

hi chatterbox

l just had my food tasting over the weekend ...

The food portion is huge and the quality is not bad (in fact exceeded our expectation after hearing all the bad comments in the forum)and the service is good....

Is your coordinator Jenny? Personally l find her quite nice and responsible ... very comfortable with her, that is one of the reasons for signing up with Apollo. Another reason is the grand ballroom which is pillarless and looks quite new to me

Not much choice in the theme offered ... still not too sure to take the garden theme or bubbleglass theme .... any advice ?

chatterbox

Hi eight*2,

Glad to hear gd comments.
Yup, my coordinator is Jenny too. Yeah, very comfortable with her too. Did you manage to get extra perks? Me too, luv their ballrm, feel very worth for their package. So when is yr AD, wkday/wkend? I'm looking @ the wkday package.

Have not seen the actual setup of the bubbleglass theme. Nice? There is another theme, can't remember the name tho. So far I prefer that theme. As for garden theme, look very nice in pix but look very empty in the actual set-up.

pixie

Hi chatterbox,

Yes, my fren's one at Venus ballrm. The one you saw.

I should say the staff service is quite alright. I'm not able to comment further as basically I'm only able to judge their services level based on the few tables around me. But overall, I can see that their serving are quite fast and constant. At least it's not like some dinners which I've attended before whereby some of the tables have their dish served to them while other tables are already halfway thru with the same dish.

I've signed up with Apollo last year so no freeflow of beer :-( It's on wkend and also at Venus ballrm. I've asked for an extra room and my coordinator agreed. Actually, there is nothing I can think of to request for.

May I suggest to you that if possible, choose to hold your wedding on sat cos the one I attend start almost at 9pm and end at 11.15pm. I've attended a few of my fren's dinner on weekday and quite a number of guests did not turn up and some left before the last course so it doesn't look very nice.

Hi eight*2,

I'm going for my food tasting next month. So when is your wedding? How many table you intend to hold?

eighteight

Hi chatterbox

mine is a weekend package....

actually l only saw the garden theme ... its quite nice but l find it quite empty ... also my hubby find the tent on the stage very congested ...

the other 2 themes l saw it from the photos .... hmmm hard to choose as non really caught my interest

so when is your ad ? have you gone for your food tasting?

Hi pixie

most likey 30 to 35 tables or slightly more .... we are taking the grand ballroom ..

so when is your ad ? will yours be a weekend or weekday package ?

pixie

Hi eight*2,

My ad in Jun'04 and I'm taking weekend package. What about you?

30 to 35 tables will be just nice for the grand ballrm. I noticed that 40 tables will be a bit squeezy. If I'm not wrong, they will open up the whole ballrm if you have more than 42 tables.

chatterbox

Hi eight*2,

I intend to hold my dinner 1stQ nxt year. Haven't decide on the date yet :p

Hi Pixie,
I thought u will still have the entire ballrm even tho < 42 tables. The set up for yr friend's wedding is actually the entire ballrm. Is juz that if you really have many tables, then the stage will not be infront but at the centre to maximise the space.

pixie

Hi Chatterbox,

Oh... I thought they have partition up the ballrm as my fren has 40 tables and the whole place is quite crammed. I think I better check again with my co-ordinator when I go for food tasting.

yvonnesteven

Hey all,

Last night went for the food tasting liao. Got a few advise/ observations to share:

1) Ratio was 1 waitress to 1 table - Naturally last night service was really good, so u must get assurance from your coordinator that this service must maintain

2) Food portion is really huge - 11 of us got to struggle to finish the food

3) A comment card is given - Remember to put down every single comment from yourself or family members. Eg. Dish too cold, must serve hot, dipping sauce is required for certain dish, decorations not appealing, replace with vegetable engraved, etc

4) I bought along my digital camera - Kiasu lah, I took down every single dish as proof lah

5) I managed to bargain for more stuffs - additional night, additional litres of beer, free projector, waiver for liquor and red wine (there is a change in coordinator and they do not bother to inform me, so I made a fuss and they compensate me in this case, so I am not too sure if it will works for u gals)

I think thats abt it

lichristin

wow so u mean you can bring along 11 people for food tasting? i thought only 10 people?

hey do you mind to share wat dish you choose? is the food good?

btw who is yr coordinator? is yr package weekday or weekend? how many tables do you have?
wow you manage to get waiver for free projector..hmm...
sorry to ask you so many question....

yvonnesteven

Hi christin,

1)Last min, my husband's brother turned up, so I got them to add in one more setting. Luckily he came, otherwise we will probably "ta bao" the balance food home

2)Cold dish, sharks fin, steamed grouppa, deep fried crispy chicken, broccoli with lingzhi mushroom, noodles, dessert and garlic prawns. Overall the food is good, except that the chicken is cold and skin not crispy enough. The fish was very fresh and around 1.5kg.

3)They will provide a comment card. You must write all remarks (+ve and -ve) so they will follow.

4)My coordinator is Mr Halim. He is the Director of Catering. My coordinator used to be Carolyn but she left without informing, so I demand someone of higher authority to take over.

5)Mine is a wk end package. I have 60tables. No choice. My mother in-law got alot of business friends.

6)Carolyn promised me a free projector, but it was not stated in the contract. So Mr Halim sound apologetic and gave in to my request.

Overall, you must BARGAIN ......... Maybe I am the kiasu type, but ultimately we just want it to be perfect.

ann28

I just sign my wedding bauquet at Novotel Apollo with 20 tables (Jupiter room). Can't get any where else because of the date 30 Oct 2004. Anyone attended any wedding there recently about 1-9 months back. I want to know about the place, food &amp; services. Read about the negative comments about 2 years back. Do let me know soon. Thanks a lot!

ann28

Hi Yvonne

I understand that yr wedding date is the same as mine 30/10/04 and my coordinator is also Halim. Overall how would you rate the food tasting? Do let me know about it thanks.

wanlow1

i still considering apollo, can share with me the food and service there?my is weekday, will u feel the location is not convinient?

dingdang

Heyz gals,
I have more or less decided to sign up with Novetel. Will be going down again to further discuss with Selestina next week. Need advice from you gals. I intend to hold 25-30 tables and would like to negotiate these perks with her:
1. Extra nite stay at bridal suite.
2. One room for make up.
3. Waiver of rental fee for projector.
Is she flexible to give all these perks?

yvonnesteven

Hey Ann,

So u book apollo already? 30oct? Me too. The food tasting is good, I would say

Which floor is the Jupiter room? I think we will crash if we are on the same floor

ann28

Hi Yvonne &amp; wanlow

Its on the same floor. They told me that there will not be a mix up cos there would be staff directing them to the correct place. Its better for your guest to take the escalator to the venus ballroom &amp; the lobby lift to jupiter room thats what they told me.

The jupiter room have 4 pillars, there will be blockage but its fine with me cos i only need 20 tables no choice only a few places can cater to such a small group.

barleyan

hi everybody,i am interested to hold my wedding banquet at novotel apollo also.but my wedding will only be in nov 2005.is it too early to book now??and is there anyone here got any ideas whether the promotion will still be on till nov 2005 or if we book early b4 2004 then we will get that promotion??

okipoki

Hi Chatterbox,

I will be meeting Jenny next week, however can to share what promo are they having currently ?? Am looking at Dec this year.

chatterbox

hi okipoki,

Free Flow of beer, and no corkage charges for wine &amp; duty-paid liquor.
$488 for wkdays (ecl Fri), $688 for sat and 588 for sun. friday thk is 588.

okipoki

Hi chatterbox,

Thanks for your reply... Actually $488 for weekday is consider good isnt it ?? When is your big day ??

chatterbox

okiopi,
yup, quite worth. Have u seen their ballrm?
High ceiling and no pillars.
Have got a date yet, waiting for tongshu.
Most likely wkday for me.

okipoki

Hi Chatterbox,

Havent see their ballroom yet and will be meeting Jenny this coming monday. I am taking the weekday package as well.. Btw have u been to Le Meridien ?

chatterbox

okipoki,
Nope, haven;t been to Le Meridien. Their package also quite attractive. U seen their ballrm?
Do update me wat u thk of Le Meridien.

okipoki

Chatterbox,
Yeah been there.. their ballroom is nice and pillarless with high ceiling and square shape. The recep area is quite spacious and nice but heard from someone that their toilets near the ballroom is kinda old. I didnt visit their toilets so can't comment.

okipoki

Finally met up with Jenny... actually the package also quite comprehensive... Aiyo in a dilemma liao which to choose. Any comments ?

evevanus

hi okipoki,
hows the package at novotel like? wat perks did they give u... the ballroom really very nice?
cos the hotel is quite "old" already.

chatterbox

Hi evevanus,

Dun be deceived by the exterior. Tho the exterior of Apollo looks old, but the ballroom is still very nice.... Hugh ceiling and pillarless... One -ve point is juz the location and perhaps besides the famous nite club.
I luv the ballrm and the big reception area.... must say very personal and there's also couches at the reception too. I'm considering there too.

okipoki

Hi Evevanus,

The packages are as stated by Chatterbox above. Actually not much lah, requested 2 nites stay and more carpark coupons. Other then that, all covered except projectors. Do u think can request for more perks ?
The hotel is old but still looks good leh...

chatterbox

okipoki,
so u actually got 2nites stay and extra coupons huh..... then if I really want to sign up with them, will try bargain for these....
Projector wise like very diff to get FOC, coz they rent it too and not the hotel property...
Do update me on the extra perks u getting ya!

okipoki

Chatterbox,

Well, Jenny has made a tentative booking for me till tomorrow as what she said. But I am in a dilemma between here and Meridien. Projector bo bian either to source ourself or rent from them at $250

chatterbox

okipoki,
so did u get to c the actual setup ytd?
Hmm, tot quite the same, but they have just chg the florist but the theme remains the same.....
eehhh... I tot hotels are able to reserve the tentatively booking till if someone wanted the same date as u then they will call u to check if u still want or not. If u interested then got to plc deposit.

dingdang

ya i agreed with okipoki, the exterior looks old but interior looks so grand. ballroom is nice with high ceilling n no pillar. btw I liase with Selestina and was told that they have alreadi came up with the 4th Theme. I went to take a look at their pillar theme, quite nice leh. though i was advised to take teh garden theme which is the nicest among the original 3.

okipoki

Chatterbox,
Yup saw the bubbleglass setup.. No leh, the previous set up is much nicer. Anyway, I also thot that once u place a tentative booking &amp; if anyone wanted the same date, they will call.. Aiya maybe she just want to push me to sign with her.