Furama Riverfront Singapore

questy

Hi antares,
Just my personal view, i've attended a banquet there a yr ago, personally i felt the food was a NO NO to me even though i'm not a fussy eater, and the lady who served our table was like rushing us to finish our food.

The banquet was held with "malay tables" (cos my friend married a malay) and i do not know if this had affected the quality of Chinese food.

I do not knw whether if the food and service quality has improved or not,so still got to chk out with other brides hoh.

mickeyntt

Anyone just had their wedding at Apollo? Me just sign up with them, wonder how's the food and service like. Anyone had Caroline as their co-ordinator, how is she?

lester

Hi to all

Just spoke to Selestina today about the package. I was pleased with the plc. I am still worried about the food and service as experienced by fellow forum users who got married there earlier up to 2 years back. Hope some feedback comes soon. I am debating on Maritus Mandarin, Novotel Apollo and maybe Pan Pacific. Thanks.

Lester

kahhoe

Hi to all,

I too have been served by this nice lady, Selestina. Same experience as Lester, I am very comfortable with her as she is very responsive and understanding to our needs. For everyone information, I am doing a full vegetarian banquet. We do face some difficulty in getting some hotels to do vegetarian for us as they say it is not their standard package and will not entertain us, even after we have appealled to them. However for Selestina, she not only agreed to help us and come out with a menu within two days, she even arrange for a pre-confirmation food sample session (3 vegetarian dishes) for us to ensure us that the food quality is within expectation. That is what I call service! I do pity Jaslin experience and really hope this will not happen to us. In any case, all the best to all who sign up for Novotel Appollo.

Would really like to say Thanks you to Selestina for her promptness and kind consideration. She really project a very good image for Novotel Apollo. Please keep it up!

On the other hand, I do wish the current staff of Novotel to re-look into this past incident and ensure it will not happen again. I can almost feel the agony and disappointment myself when reading the original post

Good luck to all. Happy sourcing!

Kah Hoe

lichristin

I am new to here. Me just went to view Novotel Apollo hotel on Sat and was just deciding to sign with them. But i just find out a lot of negative comments abt them. Anybody who just recently held their wedding there can give me some advice?

chatterbox

Hi Christine,

I'm thking of signing up w them too....
Thk quite worth.....
So when is yr AD?
did you manage to ask for extra perks?

I attended a friend wedding 2 yrs ago.....
Everythg was gd so tot of signing up with them for my wedding

lichristin

Hi Chatterbox,

Hee .. i agree...quite worth it..
my wedding date is on 9 dec. how abt yrs?
actualy i also heard from my friend that the ambience and food is not bad there, so that is why i thinking of signing with them. I went to see Selestina on last sat and found that she is very nice. We ask her for an additional nite stay for us and an additional room for our parents. and we trying to get her to throw in the free projector for us also. how abt yrs? did you ask for extra perks also?

katherine

hi christine and chatterbox,

such a coincidence! we also went to see seles last sat!! and thinking of signing up with her also..

christine, how was the negotiation for extra room for parents?? i did asked her about extra nite stay and she said it's a small issue, can always discuss later...dun know wat tat means....

my hubby went there for his annual dinner 2 saturdays back adn he finds the food quite nice, serving large enough, tat's why he asked me to call and find out the price..then realised tat they having promo..rite into our budget!!

hope she is nice enough about asking for extra stuff

lichristin

Hi Katherine,
wow..so coincidence...
I just spoke to her today and she say she would give me the extra room coz i am taking 40 tables. As for the extra night also no problem. How abt yours? How many tables you taking? And when is yr big day? I think she is quite nice and she told me if she is able to give me she would..or else she will say a straight no...
you can try to negotiate with her.

elaine77

Looks like Novotel Apollo hotel is quite flexible on thier packages, i will be going down to meet Selestina tomorrow, theres some problem with my hp and i missed her call last week, if not i will have gone down last sat to view the actual wedding setup at the ballroom. How was the ballroom.. any pillars? My dad went there for a relative wedding before and he told me that the food was nice and big portion.

katherine

the venus ballroom quite nice..no pillars, and when we went down on sat, it was the garden theme, very nice with marquee on the stage, coincidentally, tat's the idea i have in mind...so fit nicely....

christine...good tat u can get watever u want...we are looking at about 30-32 tables, so dun know if she can give the extra room, will try asking her.....my actual day not fixed yet, just emailed seles today and asked her to check for availability of a few tentative dates, she haven't get back to me...so u confirm booking apollo already???

chatterbox

Hi kath & chris,

I have not chosen a day yet, but tentatively 1stQ of 2005.
But the person I spoke to was Jenny.....
Didn't really go down to bargaining of perks yet.... she mention that if is within the hotel control, likely they can compromise. But heard from her that the proj is nt theirs and they rent it on our behalf, hence might be diff to waive it.
But if you all manage to bargain, do update me.

Me too luv the garden theme..... Saw it from the pix and will be gg down again tis sat to view the actual decor for this theme.....

chatterbox

I'm refering to the projector.
The hotel doesn't own 1, so if we need 1,
they will have to rent on our behalf. Hence unlikely to waive the rental.
And if we have 1, it's alrite to bring in ours.

elaine77

chatterbox, you mean that there is a wedding banquet going on this sat? Selestina told me that they will be no wedding meantime.. hmm.. will have to check with her again. But 2 person had put a tentatively booking for my wedding date, im suprised that so fast pple already booking for next yr.. i thought me KS.. but others more KS.. hehe

katherine, i remmebered going to a few hotels and most of them told me, they do not own the projector, they also rent it from some co.

katherine

i c i c....elanine, when's ur wedding date?? emailed seles yday and apparently all the dates tat we want for this yr are taken up also!
only left 31st oct, and tat one got 2 tentative....sigh...is this yr really tat packed???

yvonnesteven

I already signed the package with Caroline last year, but just got news today that she left. So any recommendation of who to look for for follow up?

chatterbox

Hi elaine,

I juz confirmed with Jenny, there will be a wedding this sat & sun. Both garden-theme.
Will be popping by. Wat abt u....
Maybe we might bump into each other :p

lichristin

sorry for the late reply.
ya try to check with them..the projector is not theirs so difficult to waive..anyway..most likely i will be confirming with them soon. Will let you gals know of the package that I got.

sugar_cane

My wedding is in Jan 2004, I had a lot of -feed back from my wedding banquet.

1. Service is bad - commit arrange with 2 waiter to 3 table but that is 1 waiter to 3 tables, guest are not served properly.

2. Waiter/waitress - no experience and a lot of them is from China can't speak well in English, take 2 hours to get a glass of s/drinks, service is very slow.

3. Free floe of deer - service is very slow and reason is not enought staff and my guest was over heart from their staff "DON'T SERVE TOO FAST IS FREE BEER FROM THE HOTEL"

4. Food Quality - is was very very bad and lousy (Shark's Fin Soup was not up to standard, Abalone was not up to standard{commit with real abalone but given Jin Bao abalone, feed back was given on food tasting but their sales manager was saying their only serve Jin Bao abalone as ABALONE}and a lot more)

5. Hong Kong Food Or Local Food - During site inspection, sales manager was enphasize that hotel are serving HONG KONG FOOD AND HANDLE BY HONG KONG CHEF BUT on that night it self one of my relative find out actualy is all food is handle BY LOCAL CHEF (we feel cheated)

6. The ballroom is very nice and no pillars but stage setup is so so only.

lastly PLEASE DO THINK TWICE OR EVEN MORE BEFORE CHOOSING THIS HOTEL FOR ANY OF YOUR FUNCTION.

PROMISES WERE NOT DELIVERED.

for your information

best regards
sugar cane

scribblez

Hi sugar cane,

Sorry to hear abt your bad experience!

Do you mind my asking who your coordinator at the hotel was? What promises did they not deliver?
I'm considering Novotel Apollo too, and your comments are really making me think twice.

sweetie26

Hi Sugar Cane

I am curious who is actually your wedding coordinator.
I had actually sign up with Novotel for my wedding in November 2004. As per my coordinator she mentioned to me that this is the first time whereby the hotel is actually offering free flow of beer.I signed up with them is due to the free flow of beer and at the rate of S$588.00nett.
All the things she have committed to me is actually stated in the contract itself. Before i signed up the package, my coordinator brought me around the whole ballroom and i was quite pleased cos mostly i saw the service staff was actually youngsters and no aunties at all.
I could see you are pretty upset over this, think i would call my coordinator and clarify the issue with her

bear

Just wondering if anyone of you know what is Novotel's website (if they have one). And, does anyone of you have the wedding coordinator's email address?
I would like to get them to email me the packages & prices.

sugar_cane

Hi Scribblez/Ruthern,

The banquet sales staff have been changing(3 person).

Service standard: commint as 2 waiter to 3 tables on top of that their will arrange few more service staff to handle beverage.

Free flow of beer: take 1/2 hour to serve a glass of beer and beer are not top up before tosting not even solf drinks.(stated in the contract)

On my wedding banquet I saw the service staff was actually youngsters(Chinese from China) and I saw few of them is aunties or students do me I'am ok at lease aunties can speak/understand English,we are looking at standard of the hotel.

Food was serve by Hong Kong Chef(stated in the contract)and now all food is HANDLE BY LOCAL CHEF.We feel cheated and can't acceptable at all.

If you already booked yours with Apollo. Good luck!

sugar cane

sweetie26

Hi Sugarcane,
So bad, you mean your coordinator had been change for 3 persons
I did mention to my coordinator about your issue, but she really empahsise that the free flow of beer is only for the promotion package.
Honestly i do not think Novotel is that bad cos there are good comments on the coordinators itself.
So you mean the intial sales manager has left Novotel is it?

pixie

Hi Sugar cane,

Just wonder did you lodge a complaint to the Banquet Manager after the event?

My sister's friend held her banquet at one of the hotel located at Marine Square about 2 yrs ago and was not satisfied with the hotel services (drink not top up and have to keep requesting for it; dishes were served too fast and the guest were rushing to finish it and etc).

The newly wed couple were furious after getting the feedbacks from the guests and went back to lodge a complaint with the banquet manager and strongly demand for a refund of the service charge. Luckily they succeed in claiming back the svc chg.

Hi Katherine,

I've actually signed up with Apollo last yr and honestly rather worried after hearing all the bad comments.

I've seen the current wedding setup themes and find them so-so only. The only thing that attract me is the high ceiling and pillarless ballroom.

I definitely would not dare to recommend anyone to sign up with Novotel unless I've personally experience their service on my wedding day which will be in June04.

Luckily my friend is holding his wedding banquet at Novotel next month and I will be attending and check it out myself what is the standard of this hotel. Will share my view with everyone after that.

One advise to share with all who intend to sign up with Novotel. You must ensure all details discussed between you and the coordinator are clearly stated in the contract. For my case, the ex-coordinator who liaise with me has told me that if I don't like to wedding favour provided by the hotel, she can deduct the cost from each table and I will purchase the wedding favour from other source. However the new coordinate does not allow such practise. There is no way for me to argue further as it was not stated black and white in the contract at the first place.

Better to kiasu and insist them to indicate whatever they agree in the contract to safeguard your interest should the hotel changes coordinator again...

scribblez

Hi Pixie,

Do share with us your feedback after you've attended your friend's wedding dinner at Novotel! I'm sure a lot of us would be keen to know how it went!

sweetie26

Hi Scribblez,

So have you actually drop by to the hotel, heard from my coordinator that there is a wedding going on in the ballroom this Saturday, will be arranging to meet up with her.

scribblez

Hi sweetie26,

Hey, I'll be going down this Sat too to view the setup again! Cos the last time i was there the wedding had only around 16 tables and didn't use the entire ballroom. So I'm going to see the setup for the entire ballroom this time round.

sweetie26

Hi Katherine,

My coordinator is Jenny.This is the very first time Novotel is offering free flow of beer for wedding dinner.This promotion was only launched in January 2004 after chinese new year

Hi Scribblez,
What time would you be there?Maybe we would bump into each other. See you then

chatterbox

Hi Ruthern,

My coordinator is also Jenny.
BTW, may I know what the ballrm theme for this sat wedding? Thking of gg down too.

sweetie26

Hi Chatterbox,

What a coincidence we share the same coordinator.
The set up would be done by the old florist(cant remember the name, but she did mentioned to me that they would be using fresh flowers.So have you confirmed your wedding with her already.

Hi Scribblez,

I would be dropping by at 3.00pm.By the way, who is your coordinator.

Hi Katherine

Hopefully they would improve on their standards, but i dont think the situation would be as bad as what sugarcane has mentioned.

chatterbox

I thk maybe all of us should highlight this to our co-ordinator....
When they know that more are aware of this, then they will take this matter seriously.

What do u plp thk?
Anyway, I juz highlight to Jenny.
Maybe for those who have highlighted to their co-ordinator, juz update the rest on their response.

katherine

ok, will let seles know and see wat she says...

personally, i find the hotel quite nice...from outside, it doesn't look impressive, with the nightclub and all, looks quite small also..but once stepped into the foyer, it's very nice, cozy...and looks quite classy...i like the lounge area at the first floor also...looks a bit like sheraton towers hahha...but the waterfall is really unexpected..didn't expect to have such nice setting within the hotel....

the third level where the ballroom is...looks a bit dim at the reception area..also looks a bit empty, cos vast and maybe becos when i went, there were only a few guests mingling around...didn't notice any pre-dinner cocktail..did u girls request for it?? maybe tat cause the emptinesss...the ballroom itself looks good...saw the marquee..love it at first sight cos i saw a similar one at pan pac and i kept telling my hubby i wanted one like tat...ahhahaa.....tat nite was 39 tables, find it a bit cramped..if we have it, only about 32 tables, then it's alrite....

that's wat i feel...wat about u girls???

after a bit of scare by sugercane's experience...i feedbacked to my hubby and we are considering other venues and see how issit...initially we were on the verge of confirming....rite now, he is proposing to do the relatives dinner on one day, and the friends dinner on another day...friends wise, maybe luncheon in hotel, or maybe on a cruise...i find this idea not too bad also..wat do u girls think???

sweetie26

Hi Scribblez,

You would be meeting up with her this saturday also lah.So you have decided more or less on Novotel already isit