Furama City Centre

e_von

Dear Yun,

Yah, I will be going down this coming sat for their wedding show..anyway work half day & office is nearby so pop by to have another glance...at the set up & LED lightings..I think Ling Ling is the banquet manager..i suppose..Actually a lot of my friends (getting married) are also afraid of the poor service, but after hearing to many feedbacks, everywhere also the same, have such problem (even the 5 stars hotels)..that depends on ur luck, so pray hard..heheh
yah the weekends pricing is very steep, me got the friday package...at $651nett per table..somemore mine got free flow of beer...and the cash vouchers..from what i heard from ivy, the cash vouchers can be used to room guest rooms, and use in their coffeehouse too...Mine jie mei room can't be used to stay over nite, the usage time is from 2pm to 8pm (i requested)...

cloudlessly

Hi e_von

So how was the wedding show on Saturday? Was there any new perks where we could request for

Yup LingLing is the banquet manager but heard tat she is leaving already.
Well, I do agree with u...it really depend on ur luck to see if everything goes well for your wedding nite with the service n food....ppl can tell u how gd it is but then when it cums to u..it might be different..lets just keep our finger crossed.. keke...
Hmm...how cum the cost of ur table is nett i thot they have +++? So who is your coordinator? Are we able to choose the theme for the ballroom? The cash voucher i heard abt it too. But wat i knw is tat last time the amt of cash voucher was higher than wat was given now. so sad

cinderella2005

hi gers, i'm also attending the wedding show this saturday... was wondering are you all having at least 30 tables for the grand ballroom...i understand if less than 30 tables, we will be given the function rooms on level 4 instead....?

e_von

Hi Yun,

The wedding show is on 25 September 2004 (this coming sat)...Yah I also heard that Ling Ling is leaving, think Ivy will take over all her weddings at the time being...
Yah the pricing of their wedding packages are all +++...me got Ivy to calculate the +++ and got that nett amount...My coordinator is Ivy..I think Ballroom only have a theme..no any other choices...I think the cash amount was enough..
heheh I intend treat my Jie Meis for a meal @ Furama Palace the Chinese Restaurant...So see you on sat..!

Hi Cinderalla,
I see you on Sat for the wedding show, haha

Yah the minimum attendance was 30 tables, but i think can be discuss with Ivy..i am sure if 27 - 28 tables, they are able to accomodate...

It is confirmed that Furama Hotel will be changing it name to FURAMA CITY CENTRE.....and Apollo Hotel will be changed to FURAMA RIVERFRONT... Must inform your guests of this issue, in case they got the wrong place..

See you all...*_*

cloudlessly

Hi e_von,

Opps pai seh :p thot the show was last Sat. Oh i see. So the price u quoted was after all the triple plus

Oh is it, they only have one theme to chose from. When i sign up tat time i thot i was told tat we could chose. But for the wedding flavour we could chose rite ;)

Yup, i was thinking that of treating the helpers for meal too.

How do you know that Furama is changing their name? Is it because there is a change of management. Oh no.. will the chef of the restaurant be affected too? Up to now the gd comment from this hotel is on their food. Wat if they change the chef too? I think Apollo is also under the same management from Furama. Apollo price is not as steep as Furama.

Yup u r rite..all those under LingLing will be transfer to Ivy.. wow i cant imagine how busy Ivy would be.

Lets just keep our finger cross with all the changes here n there.
Hopefully everything will turns out fine.

See ya during the show.

e_von

Dear Yun,

I just called up Ivy today regarding the wedidng show, there will be exhibitors too at the show, so we can go and have a look...
yah she gave me the price after the triple plus, as for the theme for the wedding dinner, i know that there is only one standard theme..me even thought of getting my florist to add up the decoration...Yes, helpers are important for me that day so treating them for a dinner is okie...appreciated their help..!! hahaha Ivy told me that Furama will be changing their name to Furama City Centre, and i think the novetel management is no longer taking charge of Apollo hotel, so furama & apollo is under the same management. I asked Ivy the same question on the chefs...both hotels have their separate chefs..furama hotel will using their own chef, and apollo using their own chef too, so glad that there would not be any affection.. Yah, apollo hotel pricing is lower than furama, but consider the location. Furama hotel is so convenient, guests can take MRT (North east line)..hahah me did the research.... Yah Ivy is getting more busy than before after taking over Ling Ling's weddings...what i did was to e-mail her, they are quite fast in responding to my e-mails...
Yah, let pray hard that on that day, everything goes smoothly...for me & you, ahahahhaha...

See you then...

cinderella2005

hi aeina, i've not been to a wedding dinner at furama ... but i've been to the furama palace restaurant for meals...i would say the food is good

dappy

i am a Furama bride who signed up last dec. My dinner is on 19 Nov this year. i went to the wedding show last sat. the setting is more for western style so we didn't stay. the prev Furama wed show i went to last yr was beta 'cos they lay the chinese style...overall decor is ok.

went for the food tasting earlier this mth, my parents and in-laws comment the food is good.

now praying hard that on my dinner, no hiccups. oh ya, next yr Furama wedding flavour will be giving out small bears that can hang on ur mobile phone. it's cute

cinderella2005

cool...mobile phone bearies heee...

hi dappy...you've got about two mths more..are you excited!? heee ... are you all done with your preparations?

aeina

Dappy,
So happy for u. Can u keep me update of your wedding after 19 Nov. I m keen to have it in Furama. Which package have u taken up??? Any free flow of beer???

e_von

Sorry, busy for these few weeks...Been to the wedding show, I love the flower decorations at the March in area. My package includes the free flow of beer because i signed up with them for the wedding show. I think the free flow of beer freebies is still on..perhaps aeina would want to call up them and check. Yes, the wedding favour is the bear bear handphone clip...It is quite cute..at least it is something new..
okie, any comments please update, thanks...so that we can take note when our big day @ Furama arrives...hahahah

dappy

hi cinderalla,
yupz, i am excited...everything has been settled. only still sorting the guestlist 'cos my guestlist is growing longer.

hi aeina,
sure i will update u when i log on. i took the package last year so probably our freebies is diff. anyway my wedding favours are chopsticks not the new bears.

canivy

Hi dappy, I'm having mine on 20 Nov. Just one day after urs. Wat type of deco r they providing u with?
I'm quite worried for the layout n they r not giving fresh flowers, all fake, how abt urs??

e_von

My package include only tea light candle theme, urs...?? i was thinking whether to get my own florist to do up the "extra" deco for me...and as for the wedding favour, mine is the bear bear hp clip...i saw my friend one who buy from outside supplier, the keychain..wow i love the keychains...me also thinking of getting the keychain for wedding favour...hehehe

Hehe...awaiting for more updates....

cinderella2005

hi ladies, but all of you are using the ballroom right? i don't have a min of 35 tables so i'm looking at the function rooms instead..any comments on it?

dappy

hi ivy,

b'cos i signed up last year, my decor is the tealight theme, not sure of the new one....as for the flowers, we can't choose...and the flowers are artificial ones. i wun't be getting a florist to do 'extra' for me 'cos i have friends who are experienced and they can help me done up the ballroom too...

and my wedding favour is chopsticks...din't want to change 'cos they oni give a bear per guest...i always felt that bears should come in apair then is more meaningful...

makiyo

just a word of caution. i was having dinner at the furama palace tonite and i was shocked to find crab's shells in the fried rice. when i tried to feedback to the 2 waitresses, they just brushed it off by saying that the crab meat is fresh?! so pls BEWARE of the fried rice with crabmeat!

huggiez

hi ladies i juz went for a dinner at furama last week. the centre piece is a star shape plate wif a candle lit in the centre. the favour was a bear which was cute and nice to feel. as for the dinner, it started quite late, close to nine. then after that watched a montage tink sponsored by furama then the bride has a first march in. the music was too loud and was blasting. by the time we finish our sharkfin, the second dish it was abt 2150. all of us were lamenting how come so long for them to serve us the food. the food over there was quite alright but the portion was kindda small. hubby and i was still hungry after the 8 course dinner.

service wise, it was not really good. my glass of orange was left empty for half an hour and only when we asked them to fill up then they did. 90% of the waiters were malay (even the manager present were malay) who knows nothing abt serving chinese banquet. for example the fish, ppl serving us will usually debone for us. but our waiter juz cut the steamed fish into several portion and dish it onto our plates with the bones. after he left, all of us stood in unity..... scooping the gravy onto our fish. and abt the changing plate thingy, he collected our plates and juz leave our new plates on the rotating thingy on the table, letting us self service. there was a time when he remove our plates, he even forget to replace our plate wif new ones hence we have to use the bowl lor.

as for the waiters to table ratio, i tink it should be 1 : 2/3. but most of the waiters either juz stand at one corner @@ ard anywhere but places which require their services, or they klkk pretending to be busy.

overall we feel that the experience was quite a disappointing one.

canivy

hi mush, thankz for the experience. Hmm sound really horrible! May I know how was the other deco in the hall? Was the mortage gd? Was the visual clear and lighting nice? Any other things that can comment abt, thankz! I need these urgently!

huggiez

at first the emcee announced that we will see a montage and i tot it was done by my fren. but once u see the first 10 seconds, u realised that its done by the hotel. the ceiling quite bare lor oni the special spot lights. there will be 2 screens by the stage so that the whole hall can enjoy the montage.

dappy

hi Heidi,

ok. I already feedback to Furama on some of the things the ex-brides had...well, they oni say thanks for my feedback and will let their stuff aware. well, not sure if they will really take our feedback seriously...praying hard that there will be not hipcups

dappy

hi Heidi,

ok. I already feedback to Furama on some of the things the ex-brides had mentioned here...well, Furama oni say thanks for my feedback and will let their staff aware. well, not sure if they will really take our feedback seriously...praying hard that there will be not hipcups...lol` looking forward to my wedding, another 8-9 days to go.

dappy

my wedding is over. had gathered some feedback from my guests.

Ratings (from 1-10, 1 being poor and 10 being excellent)
Food - 8
Ambience - 7
Service from waiters - 7
Bridal Suite - 9
Captain Service - 9
Ballroom Decor - 7
PA System - 8
Wedding favour(hp bears) - 9
After wedding service - 9

Well, most of the waiters are malays so if most of your relatives are dialect speaking or chinese speaking, may have communication barrier. However, the ratio is 2 to 3 tables (I had 36 tables). Our dinner ends at 10.40 pm, overall it is a success.

Ivy and Yvonne are most helpful during our wedding preparations. So I guess ours is a good experience! Must gives thumb up to our banquet captain (even though he is a malay guy). He helps us a lot on that day.

canivy

Im the the ex bride of Furama, recently just had my dinner there and the experience was TERRIBLE and HORRIBLE!!!
What I received from my guests are just complains and complains and complains nothing else.
I was very upset as they spoilt my big day.
Especially angry with Ivy coz what she promised abt the poor services was not improved at all!!!

dappy

Ivy Aw,

you care to share ur experience here? wat is the poor service you got? i feedback to Ivy a wk before my wedding rgd some of the comments made by ex-brides, think she has noted down
b'cos for my wedding, the rehearsal is ok, and our captain is very helpful. didn't see Ivy that day but think my husband talked to her over the phone on carpark passes and helper room.

I gathered feedback from my parents, relatives and friends, they say the service ok leh, got refill the glasses quite promptly. oni thing is most waiters are malays so may have some communication barrier with our chinese & dialect speaking relatives but so far ok lor...

and after our dinner, they continue to give us good service. btw, my guests commented the portion quite big and fish is very fresh.

dappy

To add on....

our captain help to extend our checkout time to 3 pm the next day...and he helps us to keep track on the red wine and hard liquor consumption. decor was also ok...oni thing is Ivy did inform us few days beforehand that our cold dish wun't have suckling pig (b'cos out of stock) and she replaced with roast meat and spring roll. And we started the dinner ard 8.45 pm. We had 3 montage to play (1st during reception, 2nd before 1st march-in and 3rd before 2nd march-in)

canivy

From beginning of the year, i read the comment given by ex brides and told ivy abt the services but the mistakes made were all repeated.
Probably lucky for u that she did alright.
1) I requested for a helper room but was not given any.
2) There was a function before my wedding and when my husband checked out the hall at ard 6pm everything was not clear and done up for my dinner yet!
3) They did not have time to do up the hall and the tables' setup were not done yet when the reception started. When my guests entered the hall, half the table with napkins and the other half without.
3) Food portion not enough and most were different from the food testing.
4) The waiter mistaken the female vip table as the male's vip, so they were like not careful and polite when doing the serving at the male's side, my in-laws were mad!!!
5) The waiters broke plates right in front of the stage behind my in-laws, while serving the shark fins, pour it onto the guests and did not bother to return another bowl.
6) When the guests went to the toilet, the waiters saw no one at the seat, they did not serve and when ask they for the food, they did not bother to serve too.
7) During toasting, most guests did not have the glass refill and this point my husband and I have reminded them many times coz we are very concerned abt it but same prob still repeated.
8) Dirty plates were given at the vip tables.
9) Cold muslim food served.
10) When serving the muslim food, the foil was opened in front of the guests, so unsightly and when asked why they need to do so, the waiters actually gave ans: So that ppl wont think that the waiters will eat the food in the kitchen.
There are lotz more complaints given by my inlaws and guests and my own relatives. So embarrassing!!!

canivy

To add on,
Ivy the coordinator is not up to the job at all, reason was becoz she is irresponsible in her work! To hold on the client, she made all promises but if anything happened like my wedding, she just behaved like a mute!!! She should not be the person representing the hotel to clinch any deal, becoz she was such a disgrace for that hotel. I wondered did she ever undergo any training? or her age is catching on her that she cant even managed any hiccups. Can all of you imagine how she looked like when she was a mute when asked why all requested were not been made during my special wedding night. i would appeal to the management of furama hotel, can you please fork out some money to send your staffs to some professional training!!! I am totally disappointed of your services. and please allowed me to give you some advice
: PLS DO NOT DISGRACE SINGAPORE SERVICING LINE. I SINCERELY HOPE THE RATING FOR SINGAPORE SERVICING IN THE WORLD IS NOT BEEN PULLED DOWN BY YOUR HOTEL.

dappy

hi Ivy Aw,

i am sorry to hear that these things happen and spoil your wedding night.

well, initially when i heard the good and bad remarks abt Furama, i was hesitating whether to change a new venue and forfeit the deposit but my husband decided to stay on.

well, i feedback to ivy rgd the bad remarks b4 my wedding and she said she would take note. i do understand that ivy jus taken over the position of banquet manager 'cos Lingling the prev banquet mgr left. i sign up with ivy during last year's wedding show (when she was still assistant banquet mgr).

hmmm...so far, i think ivy had been ok coordinating my wedding b'cos she called to remind us to get the invitation card for printing and do the free photo montage as well as food tasting. we had a few last min demands and she tried her best to fulfil our needs. when ivy was on leave, she will ask Yvonne to contact me. so i find them responsible.

dappy

just giving my 2 cents view,

....actually a lot of my friends (getting married) are also afraid of the poor service, but after hearing so many feedbacks, most places r the same, have such service problem (even the 5 stars hotels) also. therefore I think that really depends on ur luck to see if everything goes well for your wedding nite with the service n food too....

some places got good service during food tasting but bad service for AD...i think communication with the banquet pple are very impt...

i think your case is quite bad and i can understand how u feel. probably u need to bring up to their management attention rgd this matter so that history will not repeat itself for the benefits of other brides.

dappy

as for asking future brides not to take up their package, i think you are saying it out of anger.

it's really depend on individual judgement whether to sign up or not. many couples actually attend a few wedding shows then decide to sign up. and there r good and bad comments abt their furama banquet so can't really take your case and affects their decision making...

I believe the management will take some action and do something abt this so that this kind of incident will not happen again.

canivy

I signed up the package during the wedding show too. What showed during the show was just a "display" especially on the deco area.

My husband did talk to the banquet director, but what we received was just unreasonable reponse, they just said that everything over and that's the end. He even pushed away all the responsibility that ivy promised to do for me! What kind of service they provide even after the whole incident!!!

Honestly im very mad with them!!! Im just letting all the future brides beware of this hotel, not only their services but also their attitudes. I do not want any one to be a victim like me!!!

chrisna

Hi All...

I took up a wedding package from Furama too....after seeing all the feedbacks from Ivy Aw, I called up to Ivy (Furama)this afternoon and feedbacked to her...Cos I am afraid that on my BIG DAY, service & food quality is not up to standard...Ivy (furama) told me that the new operation team is all from 5 stars hotels before and they would be assuring to all future furama brides that they would provide services that is up to standard...after hearing all these, I would feel safer, hahaha
at least the management is looking into the issue of poor service..... My coordinator is also Ivy..she is alrite to me... Hopefully, everything goes smoothly then...Cheers!! awaiting for more updates then...hehehe

canivy

chrisna I really hope ur big day will turn up well. Tat ivy served me n she did promised all the things that i requested esp the services but in the end when the bad things actually happened, ivy just kept quiet n waited for the manager to handle and they will try to push away responsibility. So a word of caution, dont trust the furama ivy!

canivy

Rugrat be careful during the show.
Everything look nice and the manager or coordinator will promise and assure you many good things to make you sign up their package but in the end it wunt turn up as wonderful as what they promised or said!!! Just a word of warning.

Hi Rugrat,

Yes, there is a wedding show on 9 Jan at Furama Riverfront Singapore (formerly Novotel Apollo). For more details of the sign-up, please click on the link below:

http://www.singaporebrides.com/promo/furama_show.htm

You can also sign-up by:

1. Phone: 6739 6418 / 6739 6454
2. E-mail: [email protected]
3. Faxing the form at: http://www.singaporebrides.com/furama_form.htm
4. Submitting the online form: http://www.singaporebrides.com/furama_form.htm

If you are a SingaporeBrides card holder, you can sign-up with us to receive complimentary tickets.

remember

is it true that most pple will give an average $50-$60 angbao for the wedding dinner @ Furama City Center?

Close friends and relatives might not do that but what is the average angbao range for most pple?

yenyen

Hi, I have just sign up with Furama with 2 guy name William and Jacky. The package seem attractive, but i was told that they normally do not have any food tasting, is that true? Is the foods and service bad?

remember

Gal, they do have food tasting upon request. You've to sound firm enuff so they might give in.

Food wise so far so good but not for service.

You can read thur 2004 postings and you'll find most comments are quite negative but i believe the management have taken look into it.

You getting weekday or weekend? How much per table? They give you any new perks?

yenyen

Hi forgot,
I have requested for the foods tasting liao cos i dun really trust them as mine will be a vegetarian banquet. anyway, they agree to it but mention that if they let other pp know that they give food tasting, they will lose face.

anyway, mine is on weekend, they actually code me $638+++ per table, but I pay $650 nett after neg. As for perks, they extend the wedding shows freebies to us lor eg free flow of beer, montage for 35 picture, $500 voucher.

wat abt u? did u book the place as well? I somehow regret for not asking for more discount on banquet now. Cos for vegetarian, a table of $650 is a bit too high.

anyway I found the ballroom quite nice but the outlook of the hotel suck.