Furama City Centre

laughing

Hi Annie,

Thanks! That's very informative. I am surprised that the Furama rate has risen so much compared with the price list in this website(perhaps Chin Leng can update the info) : )

The lady IC has called me back to follow up since, so I must give them some credit for good service. Ya, you are right they are very friendly. But becoz the date I want is already booked, and the price has risen beyond my expectation, I'll need to think again. Anyway, really appreciate your help, Annie!

God Bless!

laughing

Hi Ivy, my wedding in Nov 04.

The main reason I give up is that the price not too good considering it's $700+ for Sat nite. It's beyond my budget.

However, if I have $700+ to spend, I'll consider grand waterfront, hilton, etc...juz my personal opinion, no offence ok.

laughing

Hi Ivy, mine's on 20 Nov. Popular date, very hard to find a good place. In the end we settled for copthorne king's - tien court. have u found your place yet?

chrissng

I just had my wedding at Furama at 11 jan at the grand ballroom.
the place was nicely done up but the service fall far off expectation.
i had guest left without drinks for a long time with no one refilling their drinks. it is pretty embarassing when i had a whole table of colleagues showing me their clean tea cups by the 2nd dish. some tables even had theor dessert served only when most of the guests are gone and some had left after the desserts are not served after a logn time. i had a table telling me about the poor attitudes of the waiters and waitresses.

i was promise 2 waiters to every 3 tables but it seemed that it was not so and it really embarassed me when more than half of the guests complained to me about the services after my honeymoon.

this is my 2 cents worth of comments on the hotel, anyone had such experience as well?

ssl

hi chrissng

U must be very upset to hear about all those feedback after your honeymoon. I had mine at another hotel and got complaints from some table on the very same night. Even before the banquet starts, I'm already very angry as I realised some stuff are not done up as per what we wanted. But hubby and I still have to put on a strong front for the guests.

My colleague is checking out his wedding banquet locations. And now that the MRT is nearby, he is considering Furama Hotel as one of the shortlist.

Usually such dinners are served by those part time people. Thats why service not up to standard at times. But how do you find the service and attitude of the sales person??? Is he or she pushy??

What about the food quality?? Do you like the grand ballroom?? High ceiling?

Sorry to ask so much. checking out for my colleague.

chrissng

the sales person is ok. the banquet manager was not pushy though he had reminded me about 2 times about the timing. but also heard bout the bad attitude of some waiters, waitresses.

i heard that the food are so so, even though it taste good during the food tasting.

but the ballroom is nicely done up, supporting facilities are good.

wish your colleague all the best

ssl

Hi chrissng

Ya, usually food tasting would taste better cos not mass production mah.
At least the ballroom was nicely done up

colleague still shortlisting. will feedback to him. Thanks for your input

kckh

can someone please share with me more on the service provided. I read with discomfort as I had just place my weding banquet deposit there.

makiyo

Hi Ivy,

Welcome! U like their ballroom & bridal suite too? Just some advice:

* Ask Ivy for a suite wif jacuzzi facility (i.e. level 13-17)
* Ask ur guest relation officer for late check-out (e.g. 2pm) when u check-in so dat u dun have to rush for 12pm check-out
* Be aware dat their carpark is always full...most of my guests complained dat their carpark is full at 7.20pm if u refer to my previous postings...u'll know wat I mean when u go down during their bridal show...ask for the complimentary coupons & distribute b4 hand.

makiyo

Hi Ivy,

Sorry, my banquet sales asst manager is Ivy Yio but I'm not sure who is liasing with u...just ask ur banquet sales manager for a suite wif jacuzzi facility...

canivy

Hi Thankz Makiyo. I think it's ivy who is handling my banquet. I feel the hotel is very rigid, not fexible in accepting request.
I remember u said that the camera not focus and i told them that as well. Did u have any rehersal for everything? Wat was the theme u had on ur banquet?

makiyo

Hi Ivy,

I'm not sure whether it is the hotel or Ivy who is rigid. Cos I booked my banquet thru Cecilia initially. But she left Furama. So Ivy was recruited to take over her duties. When I signed up for the banquet, Cecilia said dat I can choose the design of the arches & flowers for the reception area & stage. But Ivy said no, it is standardised.

kellyjo

hi ivy,

quite upsetting to hear that they become so rigid???i will be calling them soon.my wedding is sep so i thought of calling later.hearing your view i better call & check
i have aso booked my wedding with cecilia & is a pity she left Furama, cos she has been really helpful from the date i call up for enquiry & she is very professional. However or so, i think you can talk to ivy cos watever is agreed upon should be fulfil. i will call later & let you know my outcome

annmiko

Hi Kelly,

Mine wedding is also Sep at Furama. Mine's on 23 Sep 04. Yours?

Ya Sng, so upset to see what happened there. I was surprised cos I tot they usually train their waiter and waitress well. Eg give briefing before they start the wedding banquet.

Actually I noticed in one occasion when I popped by that the flowers are not really that fresh. Looked almost dying when the guests start to come.

Think I'll have to push Ivy more. If not, think all these won't be paid value for money liao.

Since already put deposit so no choice lah. We just live with our choices!

chrissng

eh??? i got my choice of flowers, arches, stage layout leh... she is quite helpful in giving suggestions to the choice of flowers.

and perhaps luckily, i got a jacuzzi rm...

in fact.. everything was perfect that day except for the service and attitude of the staffs

oiio

I had my wedding there last year and i am totally displeased and disappointed in how they had done for my wedding dinner.

1.decoration and flowers not done up properly

2.lousy attitude from the service staff

3.miss out a dish from one of the tables, and did not bother to explain to my guest why when my guest had inform them about it

4.Did tell me that the carpark was able to park 220cars but i found out at the end of the day it only can park 80cars. Alot of my guests was late and fursrated about it. Give us so many complimentry tickets so no use.Very stupid

5.A VERY IMPORTANT POINT for all who consider to take with them. Each table cost about $700++ but the guests who came to my wedding only give an average $50-$60 angbao bcos they had no idea that the ballroom had done up, they all thot that itz only a hotel resturant. I think it is very important becos you will tend to lose out quite a bit, better still take up a more classier hotel is more worth it.

6.On the overall i would NOT recommd any of my frens to take them becos we even had a huge arugement with them given their substandard service to us. There are lots more mistakes on their side that i dont want to bring it up anymore, so i think it is really not worth to spend $20k in this way.

chrissng

oiio... think you are in much worse than me.. at least i breakeven on the banquet... mine is bout $680 for the weekend one... flowers, decors are nice...

but the service really really suck.. hahaha.. think i am still sore about it....

btw... if i had known on that day.. i would not pay the full amt of service charge... and i do have a table not served their dessert. my fren still claimed that the waiter act blur even though he know that their table is not served.

i also had another colleague who argued with them over the grossly insufficient parking lot.

sore sore.....

piggie00

As a guest, I couldn't agree more with Chris. Their service is lousy with a big L.

Asked them to refill drink, waited for more than 15 mins, also nvr refill. Can see that they are badly shorthanded.

janteo

Any1 liaised with Ling Ling before (the banquet manager at Furama) ? I was surprised on their inefficient waiter & waitresses attitudes... but i heard their food's not bad. I had already confirmed my wedding with Furama (Nov 04) & now with quite a no. of bad comments, me feeling a bit sianz...
Was wondering what other additional stuff can i request frm the hotel, they seems a bit rigid... Me a bit worried on the decorations part too...
Any advise?

chrissng

Hi Jan

actually ling ling is ok... she was quite good in suggesting the flowers arrangement and set ups.

what i got was free flow of beer, seat covers for all.... my decor was well done.. lots of flowers done nicely...

so that day.. just worry bout their service.

canivy

hi oiio,
that's very sad.
I'm going to have mine in Nov, so what can i do?
Furthermore i just find out that the photo montage they are giving not worth $350 but only $100.
Any suggestion for the car parking lotz?
How abt the slide projector? Is the sound system and Led effect gd?
Any technical problems?
Anymore things i need to take note?
Pls help!!!

dappy

I am also having my dinner at Furama in Nov. Did anyone feedback to the banquet manager rgd the service of the waiters/waitress? I check with Ivy abt the carpark area. she said she can't allocate the lots for us 'cos the place is open to public...

Do you think we can discuss with the banquet manager before the wedding regarding all this issues and make sure they do not make the same mistakes? if the service is really bad, i think i probably will not pay full for the service charges.

luckystars

My younger sister held her wedding in the Grand Ballroom last year end. She landed there cos no other hotel available on that hot date. No doubt, the ballroom is beautifully decorated, everything is so new. Bridal suite is equally new too.

Food served during the banquet was really so so and cost for each table very ex, considering its location. Invited guest won't know of the rate for the Grand Ballroom and is very hard to achieve break-even.

blurunicorn

Hi to all,
I've juz attended a wedding din during the weekend ..
Realised that the food portion was not really sufficient for a table of 10 ..
Coz there were only 8 ppl (3 guys and 5 ladies) at our table ..
The food was juz enough for 8 of us and we are not big-eaters ..
And the waitress that served us was not professional enough ..
Her tray kept hitting our heads when she tried to clear the dirty plates ..
We saw the noodles touching her fingers and she juz scooped them back into the bowls ..
Perhaps the Furama brides shd take note of that when talking to the mgr ..
Juz a few cents' worths of tots ..
Other than that, the rest were okie ..

dappy

hi Unicorn,

if that's really the case, then i muz let my coordinator know abt the food portion and waitress hygience.

i had at least 6-8 tables which housed 11 ppl...so worried abt food portion. really muz feedback to my coordinator liao.

Thanks for all ur feedback and advice.

blactornia

dear furama brides,

jus two cents worth of my tots. i hv never been to their wedding dinner neither m i a furama bride. But i do liase with them. i must say their service level is far from good, logistics coordination can be a tricky business. My suggestions are - communicate to them early and make sure they understand, nearer to your event, make them run thru what u have told them. I m not too sure if this will help but one thing i can reassure u - their food is good. enjoy yourself brides-to-be!

tootsieroll

I just emailed Furama for their wedding package details, and they advised me to go directly to the restaurant....that must mean Ocean City? Wonder why?

dappy

hi tootsieroll,

Ocean City Restaurant not at Furama hotel leh? Probably it's best you call Furama hotel than emailing them. Or u can go Furama hotel and at reception, ask to see a any of their banquet manager.

chrisna

Does anyone had their wedding held at Furama Grand Ballroom? Can u share your experience with me as i am considering to held my dinner there.

e_von

I am a Furama Bride, anyone has anything to share..
Furama has a nice ballroom, but don't know how is the food quality...They do have a wedding show on 25 September 2004, anyone going..?

e_von

Hi Chrisna,

My friend, who is planning to get married next year, went down to Furama and met up with the Ivy... Their suite room is very spacious, nice and sea viewing... went through the wedding packages with ivy, she was nice and accomodating to my friend's needs. I will also be meeting her soon to discuss my wedding plans.. Brides to be: if u are thinking to hold ur wedding @ Furama, can signed up with them during the wedding show, coz they are giving away more perks....

cloudlessly

Hi Chrisna,

May i know what are some of the perks that Furama will be offering? Do they give any discount of free room for helper etc?

e_von

Hi Yun,

I think Furama will be giving away free flow of beer for your dinner, cash vouchers i think and a free video montage....

I think if u talk to Ivy on the helpers room, she might be able to accomodate to it...helper rooms for your "jie mei" & "brother" to change isn't a big issue..will you be going for the show..??

e_von

Dear Chrisna,

Will you be going down to Furama wedding show..?? I love their Grand Ballroom and suite room, that's why hubby & I decided to take on their wedding package.... My wedding date is in June 2005, what abt u..??? Anyone had feedback on Furama's service level..??

cloudlessly

Hi Vonvon

So u sign up with Furama already. I've also signed up with them. But then find that they did not give other benefits. So I'm just wondering what can we actually request from them.

So who did u liase with?

e_von

Hi Yun,

I had signed up with Furama Hotel with Ivy...Me also didnt managed to get any "extra" from them..Me & hubby took a Weekday - friday package..at the Grand Ballroom...I only requested for a "jie mei" room on that day of my wedding...My package already includes free flow of beer....and that is my main concern other than the pricing...Who u liase with...?? My close friend also took up the wedding package, but hers is end of Year 2004...Their food is alrite, service wise..okie only....but scare that that day food & service turned out not my expectation..a bit worried..

e_von

Hi Yun & Chrisna,

Hubby & I will be going down for the wedding show of the year on 25 September 04...There is a bridal fashion show by Graceful Image.... *-*...see you guys there..(if u r going).....

cloudlessly

Hi e_von

Oh..you are still going down for the wedding show after you've booked with them
I liase with LingLing. Do u knw who she is? for ur jie mei room can they stay overnight? Friday is considered a weekday? Yup i heard that the food is not bad except for their service.. so quite worried abt their service. Maybe if really that bad...maybe we shld not pay full for the service charge since its not satisfactory hee hee. Considering the price for the weekend package is quite steep. Is yours of average price?