Four Seasons Hotel

Hi Schnauzie,

Err.. 50/50.. I am considering another hotel as well. The thing i can't decide is the food menu.. The delux menu seems simple without any scallops or abalone.. Jiang Nan Chun looks great and the price is something i need to work out with my FS. I guess it's the venue and ballroom decor that i really like, at the same time i do hope my guests' stomach will be well taken care of.
U signed the letter of agreement? Want to share some the limited perks we managed to get? Haha. FS is super sticky... Hee.. You can email me at [email protected] and we can discuss further.

Hi cookiemonster,

I do not have the soft copy, maybe you can email FS for the latest copy. From my understanding, FS is going revise their pricing so better hurry to make a tentative bookings with them.

I think it's best to go down to speak to the wedding coordinator and get the menus from them. I went with my fiance to look around last month and I really like the Crescent ballroom! The pricing is also better than Raffles Hotel.

hi, i am attending a wedding in 4seasons on a weekday this yr. Not close to the couple, may i know what would be the min reasonable angpow that i should give? thanks..

Hi Compassrose,

I have signed up with the Regent instead already. FS really v stickly with perks...dry ice also cannot give free...and like wat u said the menu dun look fantastic unless we upgrade..so in the end chose regent lor.

hi all, i'm looking forward to my wedding luncheon at FS's crescent ballroom in less than a mth hah! No worries on the food cos it's really great. I had the food tasting, tho no abalone n scallop, the dishes were prepared in the finest manner and both parents gave v good comment. No doubt they're sticky, their service is really thumbs up. Diana, dry ice is abit outdated liao tat's why they're not offering. But one thing is they dun even allow u to hav fresh rose petals to b used. So i'll b preparing those bubble guns instead.

I've went to Regent, and almost all the 5 stars hotel along orchard and marina, but my heart sets off for Four Seasons. It's simple decor yet romantic and cosy. I like the deep red roses set up coupled with the warm chandalier n high ceiling, pillarless.

Emily Chew, for a wkday, i think $80-$100 shld b more than enuff. But again gotta depend on the menu. U may wanna give slightly more than $80 cos their package doesn't include any wine nor beer. Perhaps $88?

Hi Diana,

Regent is under the same management as FS, i am sure the service will be as great.. Congrats. I seen the decor at regent, it's nice too. However, the function room there have is very small compared to FS cresent ballroom.

Hi tansy,

Congrats. Guess you have send out your invites and all set to your special day. Oh ya, that is the thing, no rose petals as not to stain the carpets.. Think it will real romantics to have rose petals. I had the same thoughts too, my FH prefer other hotels but i set my heart at FS right from the start. Which flora set up did you choose? And which wine did you selected? Thanks!

Hi Emily,

If it's not really close, $88 should be fine for weekday.. knowing how much each table cost, guess just do our part to ease the cost alittle.

Compassrose, I've no time to really go in details those set up cos I just changed to a new job based overseas. I actually met up with lewis jus 2 days before my departure to quickly settle the stuff haha! I think I've chosen the deep red rose set up. The simplest and most elegant look i feel...as for wine, i've chosen all red...and other details, guess hav to wait till both me and my fiance go back to SG then settle liao.

Oh yah, u getting any beer? I dun intend to get a barrel, likely go by per glass basis cos we foresee more wine drinkers haha!

Hi Emily,

No probs! just sharing my 2 cents worth.

Hi Tansy,

If you are not really fussy bout the little details like me.. You can leave to FS to do up the necessary for me. I am sure they will do a great job since they are the experience people in wedding.
I am going for the red roses set up as well.. to match the black seat covers i intend to have. By any chance, your AD is on 7 Oct? (it's a hot date in Oct)

For wines, guess i am going for a mixture of red and white of the cheapest range.. (Which comes up to quite alot as well) haha.. Beers, i am going by glasses as well cuz FS will still charge by barrel even tho it's half or barely consumed. Foresee more wine drinkers as well.

May i asked if you indicated formal attire in your invitation cards? Cuz one of the close friend did when she had her's 1 year ago and all the guest turn up in suit, tux and cocktail dresses, it real nice and glam, go well with the entire theme of the ballroom. Tho, i strongly believe most of the guest will dress formally if they are invited to FS, guess a gentle reminder do help. Share with me your thoughts!

Emily, we signed up for the weekday package, cheapest range and with the triple +++, the nett amount came up to $930 per table. We have not factored beer and additional liquor n wine.

Hi Wee Wei,

The deluxe menu look simple.. guess most hotel food is just so so... it's the ambience and decor of FS that is impressive so it depends on what you want...

Compassrose, sorry for the late reply. I'm back in SG. Oh my wedding is 8 Oct, next sun. For the dress code, i din indicate anything on my invite card. Cos partly i'm having a luncheon, so i dun wanna impose my guests on formal attire like suit n tux.

Hi tansy,

Welcome back..

Best of luck and warm wishes in your upcoming wedding... Have lotsa fun and be the star that nite.. Wishing you a blissful marriage too.

Share with us your experience after that..

Hi pple..
Glad to see so many FS brides/grooms here...
I am holding a luncheon at FS too..My AD is next September and my coordinator is Eugene...
I am taking the ballroom..the only downside that I didnt really like was the projector..But I guess i cud live with it given that the ambience wins over the projector...

Btw, for those who are holding the luncheon.
Can i ask whether did you ask your makeup artiste to be there to do a second makeup??
I am quite confused as I don't know whether it is require or not..

Tansy, congrats and do share your experience, ya??

Hi Kenshare,

You can loan the projector from your office or FH's office. Just test it before hand... Is the luncheon menu different from the dinner menu? Care to share?

I am not getting the MUA to stay for 2nd makeup. Cuz, firstly, one of the few changes will be the lipstick colour and hairdo.. For eye makeup, it will be too cakey if they add on or too tedious to remove the makeup all over again.. Just my 2 cents worth... plus advises from one of my friends to top up for MUA to stay for 2nd change.

How about styling the hair is a way which can be let down when u change to your EG? Removal of some pins..

hi compassrose
Oh, what i meant was the projector screen. I didnt like it that it was on the side of the ballroom...I cannot recall if the lunch n dinner menu is the same..Let me go home n check n let u know again..

Is yours a luncheon or dinner?
Mine is a luncheon, so I only have one outfit change. I told my BS that I only want 1 makeup which is in the morning only..but now I worry that by lunch, my face cud be too oily n cakey..

When is your wedding Compassrose?

Who is your coordinator?

Wow...seems like luncheon is getting popular!! I'm looking forward to my luncheon this sunday! Haha finally getting excited keke...

I'm oso not asking the MUA to stay as i tot no point changing makeup. But I'm one vain pot...i'm hoping to change 3 outfit during the luncheon. WG then EG then finally a Cheongsam aka teadress to send my guests...

Yes, projector can borrow fr office...FOC! Nonetheless i'm not getting any cos we're skipping the photo montage. I've consolidated all pics n created a wedding website. So all frens can go see the webby before hand than to wait for the banquet to see the projection.

ladies - if i engage a videographer, will they normally provide the projector FOC?

anyone of u did not choose the leafy invitation card which seem to be most popular? i don really like the leaf design ;(

It's been a while since my last visit to this thread...didn't have time to really sit down after the wedding n honeymoon are over...

Tansy, all the best for ur coming luncheon!
It'll definitely b memorable..FS did a great job and provided wonderful service during my wedding.. u just need 2sit back n relax... It's a good idea to make a website. I made one too so the guests can see the photos b4 the banquet..

I am not getting the wedding invites from FS as I didnt really like them unless they are planning to change it..
So since I am not getting the Wedding Invites, my coordinator told me that they will waive the projector fee.

It makes perfect sense to me that the projector can be borrowed from office..save more $$$$$..

Shall see what the coordinator can exchange for in that case...

Wishing you a wonderful wedding on Sunday, Tansy!!!

THanks all for the well wishes

For the invites, I had my printer to print on this shiny matt art paper instead of the paper tat FS provides. But i still took theirs and passed it to my printer to print. Cos i'm using offset printing, they need more paper to run the colors. Oh i've used up the leaf like tracing paper. It's looks quite nice leh.

Yes, the main card material is real thin. I din use that. Erm, afraid i dun hav soft copy to share. Actually most importantly is to choose a nice art paper to print the stuff. Perhaps I'll leave a copy of my invite card with FS. Then interested parties can look for my coordinator, Lewis for reference and ideas?

Hi everybody,

Can anyone send me the banquet package that you all have signed up with FS? My AD should be somewhere in June 2008. Is it too early to be searching for hotels now? Btw, is there any min number of tables? Sorry for asking so many questions cos i am totally new on this.

Thanks a lot in advance.

If possible, try to negotiate for waiver of corkage charges for all wines, else it will blow a big hole in your wallet. From what I know, it is almost impossible to get such a waiver. If anyone manages to do so, do tell us how you did it!

You can get decent wines from outside the hotel at SGD 20 or less per bottle; the cheapest wine from Four Seasons is SGD 34+++ per bottle (ends up as SGD 39.65 per bottle) which is quite a lousy wine (e.g. Tyrell's Moore's Creek Shiraz 2004 was quite disgustingly tannic and can be bought for SGD 20 at any supermarket).

I hope they change their policy soon; many other top class hotels waive corkage charges which adds up to a lot of savings for you. Just do the math yourself. Hopefully with enough customer pressure they will relent one day, and also all the other hotels that insist on charging corkage for wines. That would lead to great savings for all of us.

Hi Raymond,

We meet again in this thread..
It's still possible to get a few bottles of corkage waive.. To get all wines corkage waiver, it is mission impossible.. haha...

Hi wp,

Never heard of this guy... by any chance u have his full name?

Not possible to waive the corkage for all wines, erm let alone one bottle. But we managed to get free corkage for our cordon bleu...

Honestly speaking, I am very pleased with the service from FS. Rite from sourching FS, to signing up with them, to AD. We're v well taken care of and they're more professional than i've expected. Tho we did spent quite abit on wine, we're still quite willing to pay haha. Actually the amount is still affordable. Erm, if u're not expecting to make profit fr ur banquet, angbaos shld b enuff to cover the dinner n wine
So dun take it too hard on no free corkage on wine.

I guess being a wine amateur myself, it irritates me to pay SGD 34 for a crappy wine, and you have to pay SGD 38 to get anything drinkable when you can get good drinkable wines at SGD 20 or less. Savings of up to SGD 1k is not really a small amount. But to each his/her own.

Yes I have heard many other good things about FS and this is my only minor gripe; if you have chosen FS you have made a good choice.

Perhaps with enough customer pressure, they will consider changing their policy since many other top hotels give waiver of corkage charges (e.g. Conrad where we had our wedding). Oh btw Conrad was fantastic.

hi compassrose and schnauzie,

thanks for responding. full name is mr ho mun hoong, the director of catering and conference services. he attended to me, so was wondering if he wld be the coordinator for my wedding shld i sign FS up, esp since he is the director. also, noticed he is not being mentioned (or perhaps it's due to i did not finish reading all postings), so dunno if he will be a good and meticulous planner.

Raymond, i recall reading ur posting on slamming the wine n such sometime back (some sharkfin too?). Yah to each his own.... I'm not a wine fanatic and i do believe our guests are there to celebrate the reunion n not for wine tasting yah. So i'm not too particular.

Yes i've been to a wedding at Conrad, great n nice ambience too!!

i think Mr Tan is quite lucky
A recent Conrad wedding i went to was very sucky.
Maybe because it was on a Monday?
Waitresses were inexperienced and one even split the drinks.

Hi tansy,

First let me say (again) that FS is a great wedding banquet venue and if you have chosen it, good choice! Don't let what I say deter you! I think the hotel has great ambience and we have always enjoyed eating at their Restaurant 190. Their service is always top notch.

Ok now that the disclaimer is over...

Singaporeans are gradually getting more wine savvy; but that is not the point of my posting. Wine savvy or not, you still have to pay the corkage charges for the exhorbitant wine prices because you cannot have a wedding without wine.

I did not intend to slam FS; problem with such e-forums is that sentiments come across stronger than they really are. I was just pointing out something that bugged me. Sorry if it came across as slamming.

I was complaining about FS that time because they wanted to charge my friend a higher room rate for his relatives (from overseas) than initially stated; only after complaining to the US HQ did the local Singapore side relent and charged the original room rate. That was just a one-off event and in case it happens to any of you, you know what to do.

I was referring not only to FS; any other hotel that insists on charging corkage gets my displeasure. But that's just me. And like I mentioned before, FS is a great hotel to have your wedding, so don't let that deter you. I was just pointing out to those who are still shopping around for hotel venues that the corkage charges can work out to quite a bit (SGD 20 * 50 bottles = SGD 1k), and many other top-class hotels waive corkage charges. Maybe 1k is no big deal in view of the huge wedding costs anyway, but any savings are surely most welcome. You could spend that extra 1k on your honeymoon.

As long as you get some decent wine for your wine-savvy friends then it is fine.

The other gripe I have is that many Singaporeans new to wine drinking think that all (cheap) wine is lousy because of the general crap that is served at wine weddings due to hotels that charge corkage. That is just not true, and if hotels did not charge corkage, we would have many more opportunities to serve decent wine to our guests at reasonable prices.

I was telling my friend that for the SGD 38 that he paid per bottle at FS, I could have gotten him a wine that all guests would remember for life.

Ah then maybe that's the whole point of it; serve crappy wine so that your guests will not drink so much; keeping costs down. I don't think that's the general strategy of most couples. Surely our guests deserve the best? And it *is* the celebration of your lifetime; so I think it is only right to serve at least a decent wine; not just the cheapest available on the market. IMHO as always.

Hi lys,

Sorry to hear about your bad experience at Conrad. The main problem we have in the service industry (and frankly I don't see GEMS having any noticeable effect) is that there is insufficient training provided. We even had a horrendous service experience at the iconic Raffles Hotel. Looks like our four-million smiles campaign is as successful (not) as our decades long courtesy campaign.

One of our friends got a free bottle of champagne from Conrad after they complained about a waitress breaking a wine glass.

Hi Raymond, so much so on ur long posting on WINE! Certainly i've a better insight on different wine's perspective hah! Erm...I had my wedding at FS 2 wks back. Enjoyed myself to the fullest there as like u've mentioned, service is top notch, even to single little details.

Pardon my ignorant, my taste bud reads $48 gold label wolf blass (fr DFS) taste similar to lousy $20 carrefour guci gurak wine!
I'm tat lousy wine drinker lo...

Complains fr guests regarding the lousy quality wine, seriously we hav yet receive any. Cos like i've said, guests are there to celebrate, not wine tasting. Only thing is the dishes are cleared too soon, my poor VG & PG had their dishes cleared away while they were taking pics for us.

Four million smiles campaign, I've sent in my pic thru my previous co. hah! Anyway SG's service level is really not too bad already. I'm now based in this babarian place! Ppl here r simply uncivilised....let alone service!

HiHi,

The main reason why i choose FS was the cozy ballroom that have which suit my small wedding affair.. As I am having a small wedding of 12 tables. That left me with no much choices around.. Fell in love with the ambience of FS when i first stepped in..

At a bad experience with Oriental hotel. Dissapointed with their service. Sadly till now, that is one place i will not recommend to my personal friends.

Hmm... a free bottle of champagne.. i know what to do.... hee.... hee....

haha...witty exchange here..good to see some activity here. compassrose, maybe we shld try get some fren to 'accidentally' nudge the poor wait staff so we can enjoy some freebies too *grinz*

well, yeah... this thread is getting active. At least it's healthy and liberal way of exchanging views over here. I have seen some threads where vendors and clients exchange fiery remarks bout one another..

hi tansy, if you don't mind can share a pics or 2 on the decor of ballroom pls? Did u use cresent ballroom? Btw, did u settled the payment on the same nite or can we do it the day after our AD?

hi schnauzie,

ya.. hee... i dun mind sipping on some free champagne with my hubby the next day.. haha..

wow...this thread is really active now :P

Tansy, glad to hear that your wedding was a success
Do share your pics ya..

Compassrose, I had my wedding at Crescent coz it was also a small wedding of just 15 tables. Let me know if you wanna see the pics
Dun worry, the decor was really nice I think. I settled the payment the day after the AD, when we checked out of the gorgeous suite...

Hi schnauzie,

sure
actually all the pics are in my website, so maybe u can just take a look there rather than I send you one by one ya... there are some pics of the suite there too, just see the pics where I was having my make up done. The website add is www.jimmyvania.com. Look under "Photo album". From ur nick I gather ur pooch is a schnauzer? I'm a schnauzer lover too!

Thanks Beary for sharing! It's very well taken, and you look stunning.. U guys have place card of guest names on the tables?

I requested to view the bridal suite before I signed up. It's very vintage, city view from the room. And they have 2 basin in the bathroom, which is quite important for me....

Hi compassrose,

Thanx
Yup, we used place cards. a bit troublesome, but more personalized I guess. I also love the 2 basins in the bathroom. Wish I have that in my own home =P