Four Seasons Hotel

Hi gWn&jEf,
I am also a FS bride to be! :D
Have not met up with Lewis yet, though have briefly spoken on the phone...

From what i understand, a 30litre barrel can serve about 90 glasses...

Btw, how's the food at FS? What are the feedback from your guest for those who have held their wedding at FS?

juz finished my wedding on sunday, was a successful one i shld say.Food was gd as commented by my frens.

Had abt 26 tables consumed 31bottles and abt 30l of beer.

Can say break even,coz we gave our parents few tables if din give we would have made a profit.

Hi Josl

Congrats on ur wedding!

Do u get the wines from FS or other source? As for the beer, how do u guage whether to get the 30l or the other size barrel? How abt the ballroom decor?

hi dollie...me hav not gone for d food tastin yet..so i can't really comment on the food...
299013.gif

hi josl..congrats!! Wow..u not bad leh...still can break even despite giving ur parents a few tables...my wedding oso on a sunday...was urs a dinner or lunch?

hi JJ...the ballroom is AWESOME!!! i jus fancy their ballroom...compared to other places...FS has one of d best ballrooms arnd...they're very meticulous in their deco, tables, chairs...very english style...but oni thing : stingy abt their freebies...!! mayb they need to upkeep their image bah...

Hi JJ,
I go the wines from FS,coz will need corkage if get from outside. Nowadays pple drink more wine, if have more oldies then they will drink more beer.

I got deep red roses for decor with the stage (cant rem they call it wat) like tentage,which is the more modern kind compare to the ice crafting.

Hi Gwn,
mine was a dinner, best to book during a bridal fair got more perks. Guess the price is 838 now right, mine was cheaper as they juz raised their price this yr.

Made a loss generally lah but juz the guy's side AP is ok loh..gave parents 6 tables, so if dun count the AP for parents side ok liao.

Hi Schnauzie,
yups, thumbs up! I packed my bridal car at the valet and went i came out everybody was like wishing me congrats.

I kept emailing my coodinator and she helped me out with them loh.

But lastly it all comes down to the guestlist.

Josl,
we havent confirmed..but earlier is later part of 06. Have gone to see the ballroom..realli luv it..me n fiance almost cfm already just havent book ;)think will wait for the weddin show but FS apparently havent found a BS to tie in for the show yet

Hi Schnauzie,
oic , AD pixs only out is aug hope its nice.

i also like the ballrm and i dun have many tables also.
FS only does bridal shows if following yr banquet isnt that gd, did they have any bridal show this yr?

hey Josl, congrats on ur wedding! share ur pics with me when its ready ok?
hmm for me, im lookin at 30 tables but FS assured me tt it will not be cramp.. i heard they have a bridal show late last yr or ard feb this yr..din hear abt it leh!
but i heard they r incresing price again

Hi Schnauzie,
Ohh, the wedding shows are not advertised, usu the hotel coordinator will inform u or during the time u ask regarding the banquet then if there is a show then they will let u know. Quite low key one. I booked my during last yrs wedding fair.

The price have increased already this yr, wkends is $838++ and wkdays is $768++ if i am not wrong.

hi josl..thnks for ur advice...yah..i was informed tat they'r goin to raise the pricing..tat's y i book on the last day of 2004...'heng' got the old rates..1/1/05..raised price....heehee...

me oso dinner...me oso "gu ji" may lose abit...but abit ok to tahan...not too much...wait cough blood...heehee..

Hi Schnauzie,
pray hard they will let u know, coz i ask once a coordinator to inform me as i sure will book , then he din call until last min i found out myself was quite pissed. I signed up with Yvonne Creative.

Hi Gwn,
yupz, ur coming up soon already.

hi sgwestie

yes, intending to hold a function there...maybe it is too small...do u hv any pics tat u can share? is there a stage?

hi moo,

may i know what is the function u're planning? we had our ROM for abt 50 pax with theatre style seating. didn't wanted to hv round tables so that we can mingle with the guests freely and create more room for movement. it was also not recommended by eugene. however, we had 2-3 small tables (those coffeebean type) for guests to use. the rest simply pull their chairs and sat down for buffet.

there is no permanent stage in the function room. hwoever, if u're looking at an elavated platform, then u gotta discussed with FS on the whole concept.

Schnauzie, u may wish to consider Silhouette the bridal atelier

swwestie - thanks for recommending. was SIL your BS? how are they?

Josl - i attended a weddin where the bride wore a YC's gown too. v lovely and sweet ;)

Hi JOsl,
havent gone BS shopping yet, but gone for a couple of bridal show. goin to see Ted wu at ther fullerton wedding show this sunday!
my fren attended a wedding where the bride fell down while walking down the stairs in the fullerton ballroom....*gasp* *phobia*

Hi Josl

Do you pay extra for the tentage set up in the ballroom?
Can share with me your photos when they are ready? [email protected]

Hi Gwn,
Indeed, FS ballrooms are very nice! We also like it at first sight and find the rest that we went to not comparable. When's yr AD?

juz testing the previous msg, now at airport gg to BKK.

Hi Schnauzie,
Ya lor, heard got brides fall before or somebody stepped on the gown and the whole gown came off.Thats even worse.
Me dun wanna pay so much for PS .

Hi JJ,
Now i remember its called the canopy, so depends on wat u want, the canopy or ice carving.

hi sgwestie

bday celebration or even my wedding :P

eugene commented that we can hv 6 rounds tables in e rm...btw, is it v like a function rm? can we look thru e window?

i know 4season has a smaller br - crescent that can hold 10 - 15tables but i dont really like it lo...4season br is too big 4 our small cosy affairs lo...

Hi schnauzie,
thats what i heard but dunno which hotel, think after the bride din come down for the dinner liao.

hi moo,
we held our solemnization at windows east. we had a buffet dinner after the solemnization so had 4 round tables for our guests. quite spacious and aisle also quite spacious. everything went well.
lovely deco & tasty food. beautiful view.

hi milkmilk

appreciate yr sharing

will take a look in sept as they have an event then.

did u do any special deco? any photos to share?maybe on the venue itself?

hi moo,
you're welcome.

oic.
i asked for red roses for flowers. FS decorated every part from the reception table to the buffet line to the solemization table to the round tables and even the patio area with red roses. i had gold linen for the VIP table. FS decorated with the chairs with pale gold sashes.
no other special decor. venue is already lovely with pale lemon-yellow walls. quite a refreshing colour. gold curtains for the full-length windows. of cos didn't draw the curtains. there's lovely view out there. hehehe.
previously i saw a setup with orchids in glass bowls in the windows west room. very lovely too. so zen-looking the decor. was told it was for a birthday celebration!

hi schnauzie

i am not sure whether it is a weddg lunch or dinner. or is just a function lunch or dinner. it will be held in window east/west.

Apologise for my late reply. Me just changed a new job so was quite busy & also just back from my honeymoon. hehe....

Here are my replies.

Hi Shan.... Abt the band & food. Both complement each other quite well. Good food must go with great music. rite? My guests loved the band. Quite a lot of pple asked me if the hotel provide the band. Many complimented them. They were well-entertained while we were away. We didnt regret engaging the band.

Hi Aleixis,

Yes, I printed my cards at Jasvy. Chose them cos they seem to be quite pro & experienced. They got quite a lot of designs to choose from as well. We got the cartoons fr them. They will also give u their suggestions. But, u need to push them & check the artwork carefully. They can be quite careless....got some errors. Thats the minus pt. Beside this, they are ok. I used to liaise with printing co. quite often in my previous job so I know how to spot errors & do QC. Not a big prob.

I think my AD photos do show my wedding card & wedding favours. I will send them to u this weekend together with the contact for the favour.

Hi gWn&jEf,

We had 32 tables & consumed 35 bottles of wine & 1 30L barrel of beer. The beer ran out at the 3 last dish so we didnt buy extra barrel. We got 30 bottles of wine & 1 30L barrel of beer free fr FS. So, we just topped up 5 extra bottles of wine. Mine was a weekday wedding so liquor consumption was not tat high but still, exceeded the amt of liquor we initially estimated. We lost abt $3K in total. We set aside abt $5k for loss. So, didnt lose tat much. hehe...

Hi dollie,

The food was great. My guests loved them. They commented tat the food was one of the best they have tasted for wedding banquet. :D

You gals neednt worry so much. FS really live up to their reputation of good food & service. We got excellent service & attention fr the banquet captain & our wedding coordinator. Thumbs up for them!

hi jos & JJ...yah my AD comin soon..on 16 Oct...heehee..mine food tasting oso comin soon....

hi cheergal...me oso thinkin of havin abt 30 tables..was kinda of worried abt the beer & liquor consumption...but i gues u hav given me a good guide..thns girl...we are hopin to make loss abt 5K too...anyway, we are settin aside slightly more than tis amount...btw..do u know of the tradition whereby mum will request for tables money from HB?? cos i told mummy tat we're paying on our own for this banquet...does ur mum ask for tables money from ur HB? And also...heard tat it is a tradition tat money from relatives goes directly to parents...so if i have 10-11 tables of relatives...does tat mean tat i will need to lose abt 10-11 tables worth? ???? sorry sorry...i know this is rather personnal...but i really wish to hear of some usual practices, cos i dun hav any friends havin wedding at this moment....

troubled

Hi Joel,

Great! Hows your wedding? Everything went smoothly? Yup, just came back fr my HM. It was delayed cos hubby started wk not long b4 our wedding so cant take leave immediately.

Hi gWn&jEf,

The traditional practice is to give all the ang bao collected fr your parents' side to your parents. But, nowadays, most of the couples are paying for the banquet themselves so it is up to both of u to wk it out with your parents. For my case, my parents gave us back all the ang bao collected. So, my hubby gave my parents a bigger dowry. My PIL are very nice as well....they paid for the losses. So, we got more $$ to go for HM :p

wow...so good leh cheerygal..u PIL paid for ur 3k losses!! i guess i may not hav tat kind of "fu qi"...sigh...anyway, i hav spoken to my mum abt this before..and told her tat we are payin for the banquet...so she oso understand..jus tat i wanna wat is the norm now...thnks gal...

btw, u hav any photos to share for ur AD?? heehee...([email protected])...so where's ur BS?

Good tat your mum is understanding. I know of a fren whose mum is quite demanding...ask for a big dowry & still want at least 20 tables of ang bao.

Sure, will send them to u by this weekend. My BS was Silverlining Bridal Couture.

Hi GWn and cheerygal,
gave my parents 6 tables and dad topped up another 7 for his frens. If we din give parents the tables we wld have make...its a 7k loss for us. But not too heart pain coz 4k was deposit long time ago and 3k to pay upfront.

But my parents din take dowry,so the dinner tables is their dowry.

Hi Cheerygal,
everything was fine, i also got the bigger suite, din know until i checked in that day, so fun to take pixs with all the mirrors in the rm. Waiting for my AD pixs anxiously.

Hi Cheerygal,

Thank you very much!! Can understand how busy one can get especially when changing jobs. I also just changed jobs about 7 months ago. By the way, i went down to Jasvy 2 days ago and spoke to Jason. Was supposed to meet up with Ivy but she had to leave for an appt. Anyway, have sort of decided to go with Jasvy and my FH is currently trying to see if he can draw the graphic/cartoon on the cover himself.

Will make sure that i check and re-check the proof later. Thanks!!

Would really love it if you could send me the pictures and the contacts for the favours. How much did your favours cost per piece?

Look forward to hearing from you soon!!

Hi pple,
my mum said that we have to give them 10 table and they will top up for another 5 but they will keep all the Ang Pow money collected at their side. Havent asked them abt the dowry too..but apparently its Teochew tradition so they wont budge on this issue ;p so we r already prepared to bleed for these 10k plus ;~~(

Hi Schnauzie,
wah...u discuss with them loh,actually my parents wanted 10, but after talkin to my dad we agreed on 6. Say dowry be the tables they getting loh which will be quite a lot.

haiz ..said b4 but they say our family is big..havent include frens ...sometimes its easier to just agree to make everyone happie...;}
but my parents r quite zi dong so just have to adopt a wait and see attitude.

Hi Joel,

Good to know that your wedding went smoothly....also u gotten the suite upgrade :D Do share with us your AD photos once they are ready. :p

Hi Aleixis,

I see. I liaised with Jason too. He is a nice guy but a bit forgetful. Think my wedding favour costs abt $1 each. Very reasonable, useful & nice. hehe...

Hi Cheerygal,

not everything went smoothly hee, my EG snapped its the strappy kind at the back, but luckily they got safety pins so still ok, nobody knew anything.