For All dog lovers

lala

how is yr hubby treating xiao bai? better now?

pegsfur

When i go to work, Mango will look at me until i close the main door and she will jump to my sofa and start barking leh :P Can heard her from my ground level :P

Hi mag,

Yah he treats xiaobai much much more better... but sometimes i help xiaobai tell white lies to prevent any scoldings. I am so glad that my hubby learns to accept the soft approach of teaching..He now uses coating and treats liao..

Hi pegsfur,

xiaobai oso like that.. but the barking will last less than a minute..everytime i hear his bark downstairs,i will call home so that he will be distracted by the phone rings..

lala

i do tell white lies for my mango tooo reasonable doubts mah :D

i use to call home to distract Mango from barking too, but i think she got used to the ringing sound already :P still bark as usual

today i tried giving her onli dry food without wet food, my hubby told me she actually finish up the whole bowl this morning!!! not at once lah but slowly lor
so happy for her!!!

Hey lala, great tip about phoning home to distract the dog, will try that
Mine only barks until we walk to end of corridor but still very paiseh

mtmtm,

same!! xiaobai oso bark only when we reach the lift lobby!! think he need some time to realise we r going out, not going to throw rubbish

Hi la la, was going to try yest evening... lo and behold, before I could try, she stopped barking when we locked the door :/

Her paper-training going well, except... I have a cockroach problem (tackling that too). Poppy goes only at 2, 3am ungodly hour! So when I do see it (enroute to toilet lah) I throw some newspapers over the mess for time-being til when I'm fully awake. There's ALOT of space in her playpen for her to lie in one corner all clean, since I'm using 6 pieces of the metal gate.
By morning, she usually ransacks the newspapers to expose her by then all squashed poo. At first was (quietly) furious with her, then HB looked closer and said, "hey, there's a squashed cockroach near her poo (possibly the roach was moving BETWEEN the papers to reach her poo)- Poppy squashed a cockroach and pulled the papers off to show you!"

Hahaha! Her going in the middle of the night benefits me too hehehe, cos HB wakes earlier than me, so now he's decided, INSTEAD of his before work jog, he'd:
- clean up the papers, mop the floor, bath the dog (cos she always inadvertedly steps on her own poo, pee), play with the dog, lay fresh papers all these chores as his morning workout routine. :D :D :D

See how long this situation lasts til he drags me out of bed to share the fate... :P

do your HBs take active role with your dogs? My HB is a 1st-time dog owner, so he's quite clueless but fortunately very supportive- he read up on it, called his friend who's a dog trainer for tips, and generally takes the whole responsibility (chores of taking care of her, as well as running home earlier when we're out so she's not home alone so much) as a prelude course to being a father haha.

We also quarrel less with the dog around I feel, cos she gets very scared when we have screaming matches (she thinks it's all her fault or something when things go banging about), and HB keeps telling me to control my temper/ lower my voice, at least around her. And I do try... hopefully I will improve.

hi MT, both me and my FH are first time dog owners too. i'm the 'management' while he is in 'operation' since frosty is staying with him for the time being.

he doesn't read up except for training part..he left all the nutrition and products to use to me... actually he's the one who train him, groom and bathe him, sleep with him, feed him etc etc.. u must be wondering wat the mummy is doing rite? hehehe actually frosty is closer to him than to me.

actually we got our doggie at a time when our pak tor life was very monotonous. it was so predictable that u can basically find us at the same place at the same time on weekends of every week :P but after getting frosty, i guess it sort of give us a common interest. we would bring him out for walks.. just like a young family... except our 'son' is a dog.. we'll go for outings to meet other dog owners... my hubby is into photography.. so he got another outlet to express his creativity hehehe.. taking photos at dog events or carnival that we visited.

i would say having a doggie not only gives us a common interest together but it also make us realise how we can make our lives together interesting in other ways too, to enjoy our couplehood

and sometimes, the way he talks to frosty and the way he look at him and the way he takes care of him gives me a 'preview' of wat kind of daddy he'll be hehee

mtmtmt

My hubby and i are considered as puppy first time owners, we both have been very active on fixing her toilet and cleaning up when she mess up our place lor. But when he tries to clean her tear stains she kept running away, he gets angry and i see tat he seems to be using to much strength on her lor, then i will scold him say dun force her too much, how would he feel if someone keep forcing him and rubbing his eye area? of cos not comfortable mah.

Like last nite, he fixed her tear stain ard 8pm, took abt 30mins and above. then abt 10pm, he say she tearing again, wana clean her and put corn starch powder on her again. I told him dun bother lor, she is like tat everyday wat. Why wana apply so many times??? Just clean with tissus will do lor, dun force her to another round of horror! :P

My friend's photoshoot is coming soon & she will be bringing her doggie along. She was asking me to find some clothes or accessories for her dog & I found this very nice doggie collar:

39384.jpg

What do you think?

MTMTMT,

My hubby and i are oso first time dog owner..If u see all my previous posting, u will noe the conflicts my hubby and i gone thr cos of xiaobai..Mainly due to his job nature..He is in Police dog unit, can u imagine he applies his skills on xiaobai?!!!!Luckily now he soften alot...

The process of looking for a pet dog accesories was like shopping for an unborn human babies..In fact, is my hubby who made more trips down to spca to visit xiaobai before we brought him home..

I was an inexperienced mummy while my hubby is like those "confinement nanny" who knows how to bathe , groom, the dog etc..

Lotta of interesting stories ever since xiaobai walked into our life..On the whole, life will never be the same with a doggie!!!

pegsfur

yr frd's dog is hairy wan or short fur wan? if hairy like my maltese, then the collar sure will be covered up by the fur lor, if short hair still can consider getting this collar
anyway the dog will have photos taken with the couple, so the image of the dog will be far from the camera lor, cant realli see the details of the collar wan leh.

y not get nice clothing instead? at least can see the whole body of the dog

mag,

Her dog is a schnauzer so no problem with the fur
Actually I thot of getting clothes also but u know lah, s'pore dun have nice doggie clothes. I saw some quite nice clothes from u.s websites but VERY expensive leh. So i found the collar & find it quite suitable lor .... And I think the colour & glitter (
) will stand out as the dog is dark in colour mah. What do u think?

pegsfur

Actally this kind of collar, can made ourself, just go golden dragon buy the material, they do sell curved wire, crystal stones and pearls.
i think the cost is less then $20.

Auntie mag .... where got the time???
I dun have nimble fingers leh ... furthermore, quite troublesome lor, have to go buy the stuff, measure properly then put everything together
Worse is if i doesn't succeed, then all my time & efforts wasted liao leh ....

From the pic, it looks very well done, so quite tempted to buy. Furthermore, the dog can still wear the collar on special occasion like x'mas
She's a glam dog

What abt the rest, lala/soupie? What do u think of the collar?

Wow everyone's HB so proactive with the dogs so good

Yah soupie, we also talk to our Poppy... my mum also talks to her, even though we know Poppy hasn't a clue what we are saying (mostly rubbish too haha!)
Ooo- photography for dogs is cool
My HB not into that heh, me also lazy.

True can add different dimension to life with a dog, but sometimes, do clean poo until very sian :/

Hey mag, heh your Hb very keen in grooming the dog hor
So dedicated in wiping tearstains!

Hi la la... sigh, you know, my plumber was an ex policedog trainer (or so he says), I didn't like his notions. He was the one who gleefully told me about his friend breeding pups and tying rubberbands to their tails. Once, for "fun" he even swung a razor at MY DOG. SO ANGRY! But realised, he's not bad just ignorant which is very ironical... the kind who tell you to smack the dog when it pees wrong and it won't ever do wrong again.

Hmm the collar is nice but I like my dogs as doggy as possible, not glammed up or cute. Used to with my other dog but realised she felt absolutely miserable with clothing on (even put kid's sunglasses on and take pic...).

Now, I never dress Poppy up in clothing, and her collar is functional- I use a cat collar cos those are expandable, less risk (eg. cats get themselves in all kind of dangerous situations and this collar enables them to get loose). Going to put an ID tag on the collar in case she somehow runs out of the door? When outside we use a proper harness with lease lor.

MTMTMT

i always sing in very high tone and Mango's head will go up higher and higher very funny!!

pegsfur

hey i just bought this china top as Mango CYN outfit! Comes in 3 sizes, i bought the smallest size 3, got size 4 and 5 also. size 3 is the cheapest, abt $26, size 5 is abt $32 i think

39415.jpg

pegsfur

actually i see the collar u posted, i also like it alot

If making one is too hard then just buy lor :P Wat do u think abt my Mango's outfit?

The collars looks very classy.. But in my opinion, i think they suits those "feminine looks" dogs(eg: shih tzu, maltese) more. Schauzer will look better in simple bandana or bow tie..

Hi MTMTMT,

yah i find those police dogs very poor thing oso, and i dun like their teaching methods. My hubby says the dogs there are treated as working partners , not pets .. tats y tough training.. haiz..

Tks for the comments ... my friend specifically asked me to 'glam' up her dog, which i think is ok, cos taking photos in formal gowns and all, I thot the collar is quite glam mah
Actually, they have other colours but I thot this suits the wedding atmosphere more

mag,

Hey, the cny shirt looks cute leh ... where u buy ah? Got red one?
Hehehe .... now u oso like the collar ah
I thot it was nice but oso quite expensive leh ... abt $30 - $40 when convert to S$. But nevermind lah, it will be a gift for my friend

MT, like u... we dun like to dress frosty up.. but me the 'heow' mum would once a blue moon buy a pc of clothing for him to try so the clothings end up as 'white elephants'.. but my FH is totally against the ideam of dressing up and i think 'like father like son' cos frosty dun like it too.. whether it's just a top knot on the head or clothes :P.. if we do intend to include our doggie in our PS. most prob he'll be with a nice collar.. nothing fanciful tho.

pegsfur, i like the bottom one.. it's very elegant yet not overpowering. too bad my dog is white :P

pegsfur, fluffy choice (they have one shop at petsafari at eastpoint mall in simei) do sell cny clothings such as the one mag posted above.. i've seen red ones.. very nice!

pegsfur

I didnt see got red wan for size 3, onli loyal purple and this yellow colour
i got tis from Bishan junction 8 basement tat pet lovers centre.
i think other size they do have red

soupie,

Actually both pic belongs to the same collar leh, just that the top pic is the front, the bottom pic is the back of the collar where u buckle it.

Ok, I got some more here, can help me to choose which one is nicer among the 3?

39450.jpg

39451.jpg

mag,

Oh, now I know exactly how it looks like cos I was there last week too. I didn't buy cos I couldn't find the red one

hi pegsfur:
those collars are beautiful.
i am bring my two dogs for my PS in May. but i am kinda of worry about cannot handle them. i wonder which photographer your friend has? i also duno well good my photographer is with dogs. i am only taking indoor shots. my hubby does not wan to go outdoor at all. i am still looking for nice bow tie for my doggie boys.

Hey everyone good morning!!

last nite there's a dog barking somewhere out there and Mango went out to the living room to join the barking, waking us up!!! :S very tired now
so sleepy...

dabee, i think if u're bringing ur doggies for ur PS.. it's better u have a fren or relative to take care of ur doggies. one, u wouldn't want them to dirty up the studio... two, u would want to concentrate on wat u're doing instead of worrying abt ur doggies

hi mag,

I wld like to know oso!!!!! xiao bai also got this habit..but not to the extent of scratching.

Every time i come back from work, he will put his paws on my legs and wag tail. When he wants to resume his normal position, his front paws will drag along my leg!!!

lala

I am planning to wear pants everyday liao hehehe!!

Mango gets so excited when i reach home tat she keep wanting to stand on two feet! I keep telling her "DOWN!!" or another way i found is to carry her up ASAP! haha

Hi Dabee,

Oh, my friend's photographer is from her bridal shop one ... so I'm not too sure abt his skills too ...

Hey mag & soupie,

I've decided to get the Pearl & diamond collar for my friend liao

Btw, Coalie's birthday is next week & my sis got her a bath towel with hood .... very cute leh, can just wrap her around & put on the hood after bathing so that the water from her head will not drip ....

Hi mag,

it seems that "down" wun work..at the same time, i feel so guilty if i were to push him away from my legs.

The most jialat part is when he does that to visitors oso..got to say sorry to visitors everytime..

Gals, during the cny period when friends and relative come, will you all keep ur dog away from visitors? My relatives consist of young children and elderly... gotta put xiaobai in playpen but i feel so bad

lala

hey Mango will also do this to my guests too!! But normally when i carry her for awhile sort of to calm her down, she will be alrite lor

hi amore...

so cruel......the scene where a dog stands amongst the dead bodies is so heartwrenching..he cant do anything but to wait for his "turn"

i witness a dog catcher from ava catching strays..equally cruel...

mag,

Really? I haven't seen babies putting it on leh ... I thot it's for bathing use one? Anyway, that towel fits Coalie just fine ... next time when I bathe her no need to endure all the water splashing on me when I 'bundle' her up in the towel & the hood liao cos she loves to shake the water off when I was abt to wrap her with the towel

lala,

Coalie will be allowed access to the whole hse unless she gets barky or if my friend is afraid of dogs, which is prob very rare
If I were to confine her, I'll put her inside my room so that at least she still have space to move abt

Hi Gals & Guys!

I just booked a sterilizing surgery appointment for Mango with Namly Clinic with Dr Ling on 16th Feb Monday (the earliest appointment from now).

My heart feels nervous.... :S They say cannot stay at the clinic, evening time go back to fetch her... isit always this way?

Hi Magdalene,

that's what happen to my dog too. morning send him for the op, then pick him up in the evening. remember to bring a small blanket along (u'll need it to carry her), cos when u pick up yr dog, though awake, she will still be under the anasectic (dunno how to spell, hope u know wat i mean) she will be very lethargic one.

a bit heart pain lor to see my dog after the op, even go toilet to pee, also very chiam. so weak keep falling down, especially so, when he about to recover from the jab.

but after one night should be alright liao.

yvonnelim

Thanks for yr tips, however, i am still thinking whether to sterilize her anot... :I

even if ppl say that sterilize be4 first heat will prevent some illness.. if we will to be very careful on wat she eats maybe she might just be as healthy even without sterilizing, dun u think so?

opps...

me have no clue abt what u have mention.

the main reason y i sterilize my dog was he too much too handle. very defensive when we scold him & most of my family members was bitten by him. hence, doctor advise us to do it so as to tame him down. my mum had 4 stiches on her finger once, when my dog pee outside the toilet (usually he will go in & do his business), my mum uses newspaper to smack him, & he bite my mum on her hands ( blood everyway, i almost fainted man)

for yr case, if u have no intention to breed yr doggy, i think sterilization is a good choice, cos of all the mess u have to clear when she having the menses, dunno if it's every month for dogs too.

Hi All..

Does anyone know of someone who is keen to adopt a dog??

I have a English Cocker Spainel (female) who will be turing 2 in May for adoption to a good home. I wld prefer someone who owns a dog before.

Reason for giving up : Inlaws

Ps - Strictly not for breeding.

pls contact [email protected]
40261.jpg