For All dog lovers

pegsfur

now i tend to miss her more n more during the day... especially now!!! hehehee

that time the number Mango picked, didnt come out, but got one nite we brought her to mil's place, mango poopoo rite in front of her main door area and they striked door number ah!!! hehehe...

hi everyone!

I just bought a new brand of greenies for my Mango, i find that its easier to get melt in her mouth than the last batch of greenies i gave her... she tried and tried and the old greenies doesnt seems to melt at all!!

This new brand also veg base works better in her mouth lor
Its comes with a plastic packaging unlike the greenies (without any packaging). I cost abt 1.50-1.60 each (mini size)

Go Try some!!

hi everyone:
i agree that many people can never understand our love for our dogs. they are just like our babies.
FYI, in singapore only regent and four season allow pets to be brought their hotel even to their room. actually i wanted to have my wedding diner there so that my babies can also attend my wedding diner and sleep with us in the hotel room. but later due to our budget, we forgo these two hotels.

Hi soupie, thanks
Yah she was very happy when I snapped pic cos you know how DELIRIOUSLY happy dogs get when they can roll on rugs, cushions, anything soft. Like heaven to them haha!

Oh she's very timid- HB even did excel spreadsheet to record the timings of her poo/ pee. She started HOLDING everything inside her for 52 hrs, now gradually reducing to 30 hrs. But still not normal yet- dogs should poo once a day, pee maybe twice or more a day! She won't poo/ pee when anyone's looking either... HB even slept in our kitchen (there's a bench for him to koon, not as bad as it sounds) to catch her in the act (so that can PRAISE and reward her with food). Mostly unsuccessful. *headache* But improving I guess.

We're using the playypen method- her playpen is now expanded to almost 2m by 1m... very big. Cos when she holds everything in SO LONG, by the time she "go", there's so much in her, the space not enough for her "use"! *sigh* Vicious cycle, cos if don't catch it fast enough and change papers, she'd end up lying on her own mess
and reinforce her reluctance to "go" in her playpen (and when we bring her out, if we're not careful, she can still find some leftover in her to poo onto our FLOOR eeeek! Thought she knew our bedrm at night is no-no, one night I woke up smelling shit. Somehow under the bed also can do it argh!!! No more sleeping with us now.)

Things getting better (or I'm optimistic). We watch her like a HAWK now. Hopefully she learns (give both us and her 4 mths to try). Pestering HB to get his friend dogtrainer to help (already asked for tips liao).

Just wondering if the new movie 'Good Boy' about dogs izzit worth watching anot? I recently have a keen interests in puppies so might wanna try know more about these cuties.

pegsfur

thanks again!! U noe huh, now my mango onli eat when there's wet food mixed with the dry ones leh... onli dry ones she dun eat leh...
38836.jpg

MTMMT,

My jrt oso dun poo or weewee when there is someone looking ... but he dun have this problem when we bring him outdoor.. In fact, i witness him wee or poo indoor b4.

My advice is dun "standby" to see her poopoo or weewee.. If she holds for too long, there will be a risk of unitary tract infection/ constipation.Do u use the puppy trainer for hsebreaking? I find it very useful..

If u want witness the process.. lay a layer of plastic on top of newspapers.. The moment she does her biz, u can hear the sound (poo poo dropping on plastic)then reward her.

Sorry to be direct... i wish to tell u that unsuccessful toilet training may be due to medical problems(in some cases), so u may want to bring poppy for a checkup.

Hi yen,

The doggies featured in movies are totally different from wat we shld expect when getting a dog. THose in the movies are well trained ones and to obtain that level, u need lots of patience and time to train them!!!

mag,

My coalie used to 'reject' dry food too ... I'll be coaxing her to eat in the morning, leave it in her playpen till i got home in the evening but guess what? She overturned the bowl & all the kibbles will be everywhere on the floor & she just refused to eat.

Now I feed her with homecooked food .... she finishes everything even b4 I finished washing the utensils .... even the finely chopped vege oso not spared
Maybe u want to consider switching her food?

pegsfur

she finishs everything if i mix her wet and dry puppy food together lor, but if i onli give her the dry food, she just wont take lor, walk over smell awhile den walk away :P

My frd suggesting giving rice and powderpounded dry dog food put on top of the rice, i duno if she keep eating rice will have side effect bo leh... wat do u think?

Hi la la,
thanks I suspect urinary tract infection cos instead of 1 big puddle, I see 1 small puddle and another puddle... like she's having difficulty. Reluctance to drink more water too so I'm tempting her with diluted cranberry juice (I drop beef jerky bits so to get the sunken bits she needs to drink finish the water first). Of cos keeping away from sugary stuff as usual practice.

She poops/ pees fine outside, so her reluctance to do indoors on papers is because she's confused doesn't know where to do it so holds it all in. I would like to papertrain her instead of relying outdoors so using the playpen method. Need to standby to witness cos need to praise her to let her know she's doing it right (cos she's confused). HB's friend a dogtrainer suggested giving treats so we're doing that right after she goes.

Plastic on paper is a great idea but afraid will confuse her further cos paper supposed to present a "unique" kind of surface different from normal flooring in the house. For her to identify.

I haven't bought puppy trainer cos her own urine is available to stain the papers.

We will bring her for a checkup soon... anyone knows any pet clinic in Holland V? I just moved here no yellow pages to flip either...

Hi mag,
My dog's eating solid gold- err, not fishmeal I think. The normal chicken etc flavours (I can't recall yikes). Her owner used that and I just continued. She likes it fine. On it's own or mixed with abit of rice. Supplement with cabbage when we have cabbage lor.

MTMTMT,

Yah ,i also feel its right to reward her if she poo in the right place.. but sometimes there is no one std way to train doggies, They r just like human, with diff characters..

some dogs just don like pple to see them do biz...(no privacy) Try to observe some symptons when she is abt to poo(ie: sniff the grd and make turns) then secretly take a peep.Till now i haven witness my jrt weewee or poo @ home. There was once when i was washing the dishes in the kitchen and he wanted to pee... he kept walking in and out , then i suspect something wrg. I hid myself in the toilet, then he let go. Halfway thr,i walked to him ..then he hold back again...

Yah,, since u r paper training her.. do note that keep all papers(except those she is allow to do biz on) out of her sight... I have a habit of lying newspapers ard after i read them , and initially my dog tot it is acceptable to urinate on any papers!! Maybe she sees newspaper outside her playpen.. thats y she confused??

Just my tots..

MTMTMT

oh i see, i just bought a pack of fish meal as her adult food, but havent start it yet :P

My mango doesnt have the problem of letting me watch her poo or pee but if she saw me looking at her circulating rounds in the cage(her toilet) she will stop and look at me :P then i have to pretend to look away like nothing has happened and she will carry on with the circulating rounds and pee or poo. when she starts to so her business, i will tok to her like :" mango shishi ah, good girl..." then after she finished and step out of the cage, i will walk over to wipe her backside and give her a treat
and not forgetting to keep calling her good gal :D

mag,

Too much rice is not good for doggie too ... heard doggie's body dun need the carbo from rice leh .... if you want to give rice, then u might as well give her cooked meat instead
Like me, I just boil the chicken/ pork/ beef, with vege & sometimes I add in salmon or chicken liver too. U lazy to cook is it?

pegsfur

i bascially onli cooking for her leh :P i seldom cook for ourselves lor hehehe now even if i cook instantnoodle, mango thought i am cooking for her leh! hehehe

My old dog previously onli eat boiled chicken or liver, dun even touch wet dog food ah! and i think these food doesnt have enough nutrients Mango needs now since she still in growing stage mah.

dog food still provides most of the vitamins she needs lor i feel

Hi la la, yah we are careful to keep all other papers neatly (actually we have shortage of papers at home, somehow the home delivery daily still hasn't come argh!)

Have to witness and praise cos otherwise she does it merrily on my laminate flooring and rug.
Or even under my bed

So far some progress though! It's been 2nd week of detailed excel-recording of her eating time/ poo/ pee/ play (when we let her out and keep eagle eye on her while intensive playing... easier for her to poo after running around hehe) schedule and the most recent lapse between each poo is 11 hrs (compared to 52 hrs when we started). But somehow I suspect she's not voiding everything in her yet, so will keep up with the playpen, reward with food and praise when we see it.

She doesn't catch on very fast I notice, and already 2 yrs old... I'd probably "maintain" til 3 mths to be safe and then see whether when loose, she will make accidents elsewhere at home

Hi mag, I give her abit of rice too but not much, and only occasionally. I avoid giving chicken liver cos that's very fattening ah. My cousins' dog was indulged with chicken and chicken liver since puppyhood... and ballooned to dangerously obese had to kanna severe warning to diet! Now still plump though not as overweight as before. I think not wise to have fat dogs, I like mine healthy and lively- so I human food is big no-no, beef jerky treats occasional (except now toilet-training lah), rice occasional, best is when we have cabbage the ones we ourselves eat raw (or is that lettuce oops) I give her abit. I also think dry dog food is sufficient usually. When we have fruits also pass her a piece or 2.

MTMTMT

hey i am also going to try giving her raw garlic, pet shop told me it will serve like a insect repellent, and the insects can onli crawl onto her fur and cant bite her... magic rite hehehhe... will try to put some in her food see if she wants to eat bo..

Actually, between commercial dog food, cooked food & raw food, commercial dog food ranked the lowest among nutrients leh ... Do some research on the net and you will know why

Chicken liver is actually very nutritious and has almost (if not all) the nutrients/vitamins a doggie needs. But too much will cause problems, as highlighted by MTMTMT. The recommended amount is to feed 2x or 3x a week.

Btw, have been told that lettuce or cabbage will result in 'winds' in the tummy .... avoid if you dun want yr doggie to fart like nobody's biz ......

Garlic has been proven to repel insect, most likely fleas & ticks. But dun feed too much oso ... too much is poisonous!

pegsfur

wow! thanks for yr info gal!

so chicken liver are actually the best ah... maybe will give once a while, scally she dun want dry food at all i die liao :p

My other dog I used to mix in abit of raw garlic to repel ticks/ fleas but anyway dogs dun like garlic so hard to overfeed.

hehe, yah Poppy been farting becos of cabbage heheh.

Commercial dog food vs cooked food vs raw food... well the key is what cooked food and what raw foods, sometimes humans don't eat "well" as is, doing the guesswork for balanced meal for a dog is not so easy. So I prefer easy way out- good brand of commercial dog food (I mean dry kibbles and not canned) + occasional fruit, veg, rice.

"What cooked food & what raw food"??? MTMTMT, what do u mean?

Yeah, I agree that coming up with a balanced diet for our doggies is not easy, but I think it is good to give a variety of food instead of just sticking to 1 type like only pork, or only chicken etc. By giving a large variety of food(in moderation), doggie will be taking the different variety of nutrients/ vitamins present in these food mah ....
So in this case, it's hard for the dog to miss out anything rite?

I've fed Coalie kibbles when she's a pup. She poo more, pee more & the poo is very stinko. After I switched to home cooked food, she only poo once a day, and it doesn't smell as bad. She drinks lesser now than before too
I've got friends who feed their doggie raw food & the result of it was so good she swears by it. I can't quite accept the idea of eating raw stuff yet but I'm giving Coalie raw chicken drumstick every weekend for a meal .... wonder if I wld be able to switch her to barf

pegsfur

are kibbles dry dog food? Coalie onli poo once a day with home cooked food could it be becos home cooked food are harder to digest??

Drinking less means good isit?

Hi pegsfur, I read about barf... I don't quite like it. I think someone on another site mentioned cod liver oil and the usual diet would work as well if not better than barf.

Poppy's suffered another setback (I think, not sure) to her toilet training, she lapsed longer again... 19 hrs. Then again, sounds about right for "once a day"? Anyway she's doing it right at the edge of newspapers- very dangerous for me to clear hahaha! Aim at the tray beneath, Poppy!

magdalene, pooing less doesn't mean indigestion. if ur doggie is on kibbles and poo more while on homecooked food less poo.. so that shows u which one more nutrition and which one has more waste? so which one has more of something that the doggie dun need? :P

pegsfur/MT, my frosty is on BARF.. and so far yes i swear by it too :P i've tried kibbles with canned food, homecooked food and now BARF

Typed something and my comp hung. Never mind

Do a google search on BARF and you'd find some sites for and some sites against.

I don't feed canned food think too fatty and salty. Just kibbles (good brand) and raw fruits and raw veg and rice supplemented that's all. Then occasional beef jerky treats (good brand) and greenies.

MTMTMT,

Yeah ... there are some who are for & some who are against the idea of barf .... It'll depend on how you view it lor. I don't agree 100% on barf (which is why I'm cooking for coalie instead of giving her raw food), & I don't disagree too. Like I said, I've friends who swear that after switching to barf, their dogs underwent a change .... nicer & shinier coat, no bad breath, cleaner teeth etc.

Mag,
Yeah, barf is giving raw uncooked food to your doggie ..... U find it appalling?
That was my 1st reaction too ... but after reading it up & hearing so many people who feed raw food to their doggies, I've accepted the idea already
Think of how your Mango's ancestors eat in the wild .... raw, fresh, dead animals rite?

pegsfur

i will think tat if u let the dog eat raw food who knows one day yr dog might think of eating u up hehehhee... scary... :P

i have heard ppl giving raw food to their guard dogs but for home toy dogs, give the normal dog food will do lor.. raw food for guard dogs are to make them more related to biting robbers or strangers coming into their owners home.

I think for toy dogs like my mango need not have such diet

Yah but some also argue that wild wolves are already very distant and different ancestors of nowadays pet dogs. So can't say what worked for wild wolves will work for pet dogs.

How healthy the wolves were on their diet is debatable too- splinters, raw meat poisoning, there are cases of pet dogs which have adverse effects from BARF. As many as those which benefit probably.

Hard to get hold of fresh, raw, unadulterated chicken meat- there may be possible contamination from bacteria since it was slaughtered, the growth hormones in the chicken may leak more directly to the dog who consumes it raw (since the theory is raw means more direct, fuller nutrient source the same cons should apply).

Anyway alot is speculation, alot of info on for AND against BARF. Just read through and decide for yourself what works best for your pet's case

I've missed everyone's pet's pics- anyone care to show me their dogs?

Hi Mag, she's a lively looking dog!
I have a weakness for WHITE dogs heh, my other dog's white

Just asking, how do you all maintain cleanliness in the home with your dog/ anything extra you notice you need to do compared to before you have a dog?

My dog sheds alot (due to her breed the type of coat, got undercoat blahblah must brush often). SO I find have to clean very often
last time the problem would be my own long hair, now she's more "problem" than me huh!
And have to brush her very thoroughly before visitors come cos as is, they already complain about fur getting on their clothing when they pet her :P

Plus she's abit clumsy tends to step on her own waste duhhh, so after she goes, before we let her out, need to wash her paws at least.

Any housekeeping tips to share with regards to owning a pet? :D

MTMTMT

my living room doesnt have much things laying ard but actually we had a ikea carpet on the living room floor b4 she came to my house, but after 2-3 weeks we throw it away cos with mango ard, we felt tat the carpet is very dirty looking with her matt furs on it :P

We do comb her everyday but its not tat she sheds fur its to prevent her furs to matt lor.. we have a biy bucket of her grooming sprays and combs ah!

We use dettol kitchen detegent to clean her missQ poo and pee. usually she missQ on kitchen floor. We have trained her to pee and poo in her cage lor Tats her toilet. and now she is more or less aware tat her 'business' is dirty leh, after she pee or poo she will walk to the other side of the cage then step out of cage lor! very funny! then she will walk to me and wait for me to get kitchen towel wipe her backside for her

Having furs on clothes are very common with u have long furs pet lor, i do have furs on my blouse too, just try not to wear dark colour for a change? :P Buy those rollers to roll out the furs be4 u go out also can :D

I will tend to pick up any dirty things from the floor b4 she go licking it up in her mouth lor.

mag,

Aiyoh ... that is an old wife's tale lah ...
My mum also told me abt the biting of humans if dogs eat raw meat thingy ....

The giving of raw food is based on nutritional value, not based on whether you want you dog to become a guard dog or not

Hey, mango very cute leh ... with a top knot on her head ... I wanted to tie coalie's hair too but she wouldn't let me ....

MTMTMT,

Yup, that's the thing I worried abt which is why I'm cooking her food. But then again, hygiene is the most important in handling raw food, so i guess people who do barf have to pay more attention to it lor.

Have I shown this pic b4?
39041.jpg

pegsfur

Tieing up her hair practice makes perfect leh
Mango wouldnt let me at first too but now she will just hold there abit more longer than b4

being like her ancestors eat in the wild .... raw, fresh, dead animals or not doesnt realli make me think that it will be better lor, then our babies shld still drink condensed milk for feeding, y wana pay more money for better formulated milk powder leh? hehehe

mag,

No lah ... our babies shld drink breast milk wat ... last time where got people drink condensed milk one

Coalie has finally finished her menses ... time to think abt spaying her ....

pegsfur

last time ppl drink 'hong zi nu nai' wan mah, tat want is condensed milk wat... :P where got mum can produce so many years of breast milk hehehe

My hubby notice Mango's toilet cage got blood leh, but i didnt notice the floor have any blood stain leh... duno issit menses anot :P How long did Coalie's menses last?

mag,

Hahaha ... thot u talking abt the olden times mah ... that time condensed milk not yet invented

U mean Mango oso starting her menses liao? Mango 'zhang da le ....' Coalie's menses last abt 2 and 1/2 weeks for it to clear completely. The 1st week was quite terrible ... she felt moody & lethargic, kept licking her private part. Oh, she can't play too rough oso ... sometimes when she jumps, there will be a drop or 2 on the floor ....

pegsfur

Hye i notice Mango licking her private part frq these few days too but when i check for her its clean lor no blood ard the area. :P

She is still very active leh
She has been jumping up and down from my sofa but no traces of blood too :P 2 n half mths! wow! i thought will last onli abt 2 weeks hehehehe.. actually huh, the day my hubby notice the cage blood was the day i starting my menses too hehehee... now easier to count her days cos same as mine

was this the first time for Coalie???

Mag ah .... 2 and half WEEKS lah ... where got months? U want her to die ah ... in heat for so long ...

Maybe Mango might be in heat soon cos Coalie oso kept licking her private part b4 her menses came 'officially'
Yup, it's a 1st time for Coalie .... she's a real woman now

pegsfur

oh yeah hor :P early in the morning see wrongly :P hehehe

u will need to wait for another 2 mths after finishing menses in order to spray her rite?
lots of time to consider whether to spray her anot liao :P

but i heard tat after spraying, will gain weight wan leh... i dun want Mango to get too fat leh :P

Hi pegsfur need to wait awhile after her heat ends to spay her, check with vet first

My dog too many changes recently (adopted her from previous owner- urgently moved to my mum's place and now at my place) so will wait til things settle more. Dun want wait serious behaviorial problems *hope she didn't get separation anxiety from these changes*.

Hi Mag, my other dog was spayed when young... she's still slim as ever
9yrs old now

Hi MTMTMT,

Yah, separation anxiety very jialet one...my xiaobai(jrt) also got that. He was adopted from spca, so got phobia to see us leaving the house.. at least now much better liao..

When we take keys and wear nice nice he noes we will be out for quite awhile, then start to kancheong liao..The moment open the door, he will run ard the corridor...

My coalie ah .... will bo chup when I give her some treats b4 I leave the house ... say bye-bye to her she will look at me, then continue to eat her treats liao ...