For All dog lovers

MTMTMT

Oh i see.. My Mango still having the long tail hehehe, dogs with no tails look funny leh... :P

Anyway i shall sterilize Mango after her one yr old birthday
I heard tat its better to take leave and stay at home with her rite? I wonder if she will start to hate me after bringing her to such pain...

mtmtmt

HUH... u using neighbour to compare with dogs ah.. hehehe...

Do u think if we have a baby, will Mango be more gentle to the baby after herself being a mum before?

Found this info
:
"Spaying & Neutering, in short, is good for your furbabies. Done early enough, it offers complete protection against testicular cancer & prostate disease (for males) and pyometra, endometritis & breast cancer (for females).

I'm not sure when is the right time to neuter males. But as for females, you can do it anytime from 6mths of age. There are 2 schools thought:-

Spay early (@ 6mths) before first heat. It's not conclusive or scientifically proven, but advocates say spaying your female early retains all their child/puppy-like qualities. Most vets would agree to spaying your female at 6mths. I have friends who've done it too.

Spay later after first heat. Can be 10mths of age, 11mths, 12mths, 14mths.... depending on when your female came on heat. Vets would advise a waiting period of 2mths (after the last day of the estrus cycle) before you spay. Proponents argue in favor of this (spaying after the female has had at least one heat) because they would have had a chance to "develop", specifically the sphincter muscle."

And some more
:
"It has been observed that erratic dogs changed for the better after spaying / neutering – they become less temperamental and more responsive when it comes to following instructions.
Dogs having undergone the procedure were also said to live longer by a couple of years."

And contacts:
" Namly Animal Clinic is at 74 Namly Place. Tel: 6469-4744
(Charges is about $130 ~ $170, depending on breed size, and no. of tests carried out)
Animal Recovery Clinic is at 3 Greendale Avenue (also Bukit Timah area). Tel: 6463-7100
(Charges was about $200 for toy breed, small size)."
--> seems ARC is the one that allows owners to stay such that 1st thing dog awakes is see owners

"* Make an appointment with a vet (one recommended by someone who's had their dog/bitch neutered/spayed there)
* Tip: Fridays are good.... so you have the weekend to look after your furbaby.

* Nurse/receptionist at veterinary clinic will tell you to NOT give food or water after 10pm the night before surgery.
* Rationale: to prevent pee-poo-accidents

* Take a day's leave or more, if surgery is performed mid-week. Your dog/bitch needs you..... in all likelihood, they'd be so weak they can hardly pee
* You'd be asked to pick up your furbaby in the evening (4pm or 5pm). Don't expect your furbaby to eat that evening or night

* Some take as quickly as a day to recover (ie. back to bouncing/hyperactive self).... some take longer.
* Prior to surgery (not day before but weeks before!), "beef-up" your pup. Nothing is more debilitating for a small scrawny pup than a bout of anaesthesia .

All said, advantages of spaying/neutering far outweigh the perceived emotional & physical trauma that your pup will go through."

--> actually I don't recall my Champagne being traumatised by spaying, she was wearing the Victorian collar to prevent her from licking her belly, but that's about it, everything else as per normal. But 9 yrs ago... my memory not so good maybe.

thank you very much for the response. My concern is whether will wye wye be angry with me for bringing pain to him. And after the surgery, will he be more naughty? In other words,will he be revengeful becos of the pain.

Hi dor, according to above... supposed to become "less temperamental and more responsive", instead of more naughty... as for revenge, I don't know, my 2 dogs neither are revengeful types- when they make mistakes it's either confused or some other reason.

I think he will associate vet with pain, but not likely you bringing him to vet and therefore your fault... cos that's a longer more complicated thought process he may not be capable of- dog's thinking very straight-line: vet = pain.

MT, i heard about tying rubber bands to dock tails... yeah.. can't believe there are pple doing it and LIVE with it somemore gosh! poor puppies.. i think it's against the law u know... for docking of tails and the one is abt dog ears one... i think ears can be so-called cropped too.

magdalene, maltese comes with tails hor!! please please dun think otherwise :P other breeds like the schnauser sometimes will get their tails docked.. cockel spaniel too.. just observe other breeds' tails the next u go for some doggie gathering hehehe..

as for spaying and neutering, i'm going with the 2nd school of thots.. i dun agree with spaying and neutering before or even during their 'puberty' period... to me it will not only stop their growth.. but i think basically u just create another set of problems altogether... not forgetting that growth is not abt getting old only.. but also to develop the critical organs, bones, teeth etc etc.. and all these requires a balance of hormones. so sterilizing at a too early age may not only stun growth but also development of healthy bodies.. so for me, i would rather wait till they are over a yrs old or a yr and a half before i'll sterilise them.

btw, sterilizing males is supposed to curb their territorial behaviour like pee markings and aggressiveness.. but all these can still be tied down to training too.

my only concern is the professionalism and skills of the vets and the anaesthetics used.. frankly speaking the local vet scene still needs much much improvements as compared to overseas.

doremon, i dun think ur doggie will bear a grudge against u... i think more likely he'll want u to sayang him more and pay more attention to him.

my doggie went for a minor op before to remove a big pimple on his butt.. dun ask me why but i was really ignorant a couple yrs back.. and after the surgery when we brought him home.. he'd keep coming to us and show us his butt and wanted us to sayang him... aiyoh.. when he did that my whole heart melted.

i know there's more pros than cons in sterilizing my doggie especially it will prevent testicle or prostate cancer in future...i guess my hesitation is why do i wanna subject him to such surgery when he's perfectly fine and wat if after surgery there are complications.. that sort of stuff.. sigh.. so until now he's 3 yrs old i'm still thinking :P

Oh nowonder my frd's dog always poopoo & peepee when they step into the vet clinic!!! They are scared of the vet!!! wah, wat if my Mango also like them after sterilizing... headache leh...

Hey i nearly forgotten to tell u gals something which happened last nite!

My hubby and i dripped some ear solution into Mango ear mites affected ear, massaged for a while after tat we let her walk away allowing her to shake her head and ONE ear mite actually flew out of her ear crawling on my floor!!!!! SCAREY RITE!!???? Hopefully tat's the ONLI mite in Her Ear! We will keep doing this every week see how
so happy for her!!!

soupie

need to check u if u can discribe to me wat are the types of hair cuts for Malteses? I noe tat there are sporty, lazy and puppy... wat are the differences? have Frosty tried all?

magdalene, are u sure it's earmite? or is it ticks? cos earmite i dun think is so visible by the eye leh.. hmm...

btw, i only know puppy cut and long coat.. i didn't know there are so many types of cut leh..

Soupie

Isit...duno leh but i'm sure from the ear lor

The cuts' names were told by the groomer shop which i made appointment this Sat.

magdalene, then u check whether they have any photos to show for the different cuts or not lor.. depending on how u wan ur mango to look

Soupie,

hehe we did buy a maltese calendar 2004, will bring it to the groomer this weekend

check wat i have found,
Fleas need moisture to survive and get this from the dogs' tears/eyes/. Naturally this can cause an irriation in addition to red stain from the fleas' left behind feces. Another problem tat comes with fleas is ear mites. These are carried by the fleas. Ear mites can cause severe ear infections and as a result tear staining.

Maybe its a flea in mango's ear...

Hi Mag, my champagne doesn't poo/pee when she visits the vet, just doesn't like it. Even if no op, your dog most likely but not always, will dislike the vet cos that's where all the jabs etc are.

The dog doesn't know going to vet cures it of flu etc... only know the vet put pain lor.

Champagne never had fleas, as far as I know, no ear mites either... but had ticks before even in the ear. Poppy (my newly adopted) has nothing as far as I can tell- the ear discharge I was mentioning last time cleared up with more regular cleaning with just moist cotton pad, yay! :D

Fleas very yucky... I had fleas before when I was staying in a flea-infested house overseas... most unpleasant and nightmarish. Imagine step out of bath and little fleas hop up from carpet onto you, yuck yuck yuck!

If really fleas you must clean your bedding, rugs etc... cos fleas FEED on warm-blooded eg. rats (they spread the Black Plague in those days), humans too.

MTMTMT

Are flea also called bed buds??? these when u kill it will release a very bad smell wan??

Last nite that insect is brown in colour wan lor.

Mango onli have a personal cushion Smooth material which i will wash every mth wan... other than tat, she onli sleep on the floor...

hi soupie,

hopefully he will not. becos now i look at him, my heart already feel pain whenever i think of the surgery.

Hi MT,
Lost your email so cannot send to u. can pm me?

magdalene, wat did u do with the insect after it jumps out? for ticks/fleas i will squash it till they spurts blood then i'll be satisfied.. u can't just wack them and expect them to be dead like ants... they dun! they'll still wiggle around.. when u squeeze them they'll burst and if they have already sucked enuff blood from ur furbaby most prob u'll get to see some blood. btw, ticks can also infest ur home.. just like bed bugs.

last time found 1 or 2 ticks on frosty.. but now no more...

My hubby throw it away after pressing it but no blood leh. I am sure its not from her body cos we groom her everyday and didnt bring her out on grass.

Lately she seems to be trying to endure urine and once she go shishi, its alot of urine leh :P

HI magdalene,

i bringing wye wye to companion animal surgery at boon teck rd. Here is the link: http://www.comvet.com/index.html

My sis bought her chihuahua there for sterilisation before. Initially i want to bring wye wye to pet lovers clinic in simei becos that is the clinic we always brought him in for check-up and jabs. But since my sis highly recommended companion animal surgery, i thought why not.

For wye wye, he also got this habit. But only during bedtime when i going to bed. He is worried that if he go, i will lock him outside the bedroom. So what i did is make sure he finished his biz, then i bring him to the bedroom.

Otherwise i will pretend to go toilet and then he will quickly run to his dog pan to urine. When i am done, he is already outside waiting for me. :P

Doremon

I see... I go to AMK Clinic at Sembanwang Road.. But have not heard any of my frds' dog going there for such surgery... they usually go to Mount Pleasant.. the exp clinic hehehe

Doreman

I can see that companion Animal Surgery clinic are all ang mo vets..hehehe.. how much will it cost u for the surgery there?

Ya, this is commonly known as the bow-lingual ... got kitty one oso .... & the kitty one was the 1st to come out, then followed by the doggie translator.

I've seen it at Pets village but didn't ask abt the price though

pegsfur

do u think it reali works? hehehe

Hey Hotdog.com having home grooming services at usual price of $45 now with 10% off! Can also use their $5 voucher which they gave out during their openings. So its onli $35.50 on HOME grooming... hehee i had aready booked one for end of nextmth

Hi magdalene,

Where is this Hotdog.com? I am interested in the home grooming service. That means the groomer come to your place right?

I was told that it cost $140 for the surgery.

Hi mag,

Me and baby are fine.. My baby is a Boy! He is finally out already on 2 dec... He is now two weeks old liao... having my confinement now...

So when is your turn??

Rachel,

I bet he must be a very handsome fellow like his dad!!

So hows yr doggie so far? got make noise bo?

My turn??? hahahaha, maybe another two yrs lor

We let mango sleep with us in the room already!! hahaha... I will have yr problems very soon... hehehe

You must eat more now noe... to regain the strength... very important at this stage
Take Good Care of yrself and boyboy! btw wats his name?

hi magdalene,

guess pegsfur had help me to answer yr query liao. thanks pegsfur.

maybe if anyone here have bought the bow-lingual. can give their feedback here.

personally, i have not seen it in singapore though. i also think it's a little bit over priced leh.

Hi magdalene,

they charged by breed...

I went to the website to take a look and realised that the home grooming means they come to your place to fetch your pet and then send the pet back when the gromming is done.

errr...i am looking for a home groomer who come to your place to do grooming.
Any idea or recommendation?

Hi mag,
Thanks for the compliment... next time I will show you his photo...

My dog got make noise, whenever baby cried, she will panic and run to go and see baby...

We still let her sleep in our room with baby now... she is well-behave what... always like want to protect baby... sometimes baby cry we also don't know and she is the one getting very gan cheong... and ask us go and see baby..

Why you wait until two years later.. actually has one baby is quite fun leh... looking at him will make you very happy one...

Mango is a gal gal right? I think gal gal dog will like baby more than boy boy dog lor...

Yalor, after giving birth really very weak and tired... so now slowly regain some back... look like a panda with a very pale face now...:p

My boy boy name is Cyrus Lexnar...

doremon

hey, ignore hotdog's red conditions at the bottom, i've already check with them, they say its not correct on that comment! They will come to yr home for grooming!
U can call Sandy to make appointment!

Rachel,

Hey yr dog is getting as busy as u2 ah! hahaha!
So now she's like yr alarm clock to tell u Cyrus is awake ah!!

Yr boyboy's name veri special leh! Hehehe

Morning Everyone!!

Mango visited 'fur n away' grooming shop last sat and find the place clean and groomer gentle too
Will go there again next time

Hows everybody today? Fine?

Hi Magda:
where is fur n away? how much they charge for full grooming for maltese?
i sent my dogs to groom at Serangoon North Ave 1 PEts's Playground. they are superb nice people and grooming skills good.

Dabee

Fur n away just opened at Sembawang road opps kahib camp, they do have FOC transportation for pets. last week was their grand opening so they give a discount for the full grooming, $45 is the usual price, last week i went was onli $30.

they have a very big see thru grooming room lor, i actually sit rite outside, infront of the full lenght glass look at my Mango Grooming session lor

and Mango can actually get to look at me sitting there the whole time not getting scared..
actually the groomer has been very gentle to her lor. At first i was so worried at the collar that she need to wear during the grooming on the grooming table. But Mango actually didnt resist on the collar and stood there paitently for the groomer and she didnt make any noise and nv struggle at all!

The previous groomer i went doesnt have the collar restriction and she will struggle a bit when she was grooming. but this time was a bit different lor! I was so proud of her!

Hey people!

Anyone know abt dogs who seems to be licking its paws like a cat is a prob? I saw my Mango licking her front paws quite often these days? Is it becos of her teething prob?

She has dropped 9 tooths so far!! :B

yah, my xiaobai oso tend to lick his front paw. maybe out of boredom? Whenever he does that,i try to distract him with other things.

Just to share my anger..

My friend's bf was so rude to my dog that i got so pissed off...
We were having a gathering at my place and the guy(call him x) says he wanted to come up n see xiaobai. Then xiaobai sniff him, he complaint dirty and whenever xiaobai gets near him.. he pushes him away!!! OK, I can understand some pple who r afraid of dogs do it unintentionally.. so i ask xiaobai to come to my side..

Then we plan to have xmas celebration at my place.. that stupid Mr x says y not we "drug" xiaobai(an mian yao) so that he dont cause unneccessary fear to others(one of my galfriend afraid of dogs). I tot he was joking , then i say xiaobai not so stupid to take pills. Then Mr x says he will pound to powder and mix with the food...

I was so angry!!! I told him that i wun let anyone harm xiaobai.. If anyone ever do that, i wun forgive that person. Then her gf(my friend) sided him and say "wah i so protective"

I said that xiaobai is No 4 in my heart(followed by parents n hubby). Then she says y rank dogs higher than friends..

I was sooo pissed off by that guy(Mr x). Though i was not an avid animal lover last time, i cant imagine myself "drugging" a dog!!!(Unless for medical purpose)

Simply hate those who harm animals!!!!!! Sorry for being so long winded...

lala

hey i can understand how u feel lah

Actually if i were you, i might say more stupid stuff to suan him back ah! hahaha example, 1) why not i drug u and put u in one of the room with xiao bai, so tat u will be the Hero to save the rest ;) or ,

2) Respecting friend's belongings when visiting is one of the first qualities i look for in a man
its totally the least manners that anyone shld have

hehehe hope the above can give u some tips for the future getherings

Hi mag,

Yalor, she is getting more excited than us... Now she and Cyrus are our alarm clocks... Hubby even said now everytimes go work earlier...

Thanks! Hope he is as special as his name too...

lala,

Tell Mr X 'da2 gou3 ye3 yao4 kan4 zhu3 ren2', must see who's the owner of the dog before he beats it ..... next time he spouts nonsense again, tell him,'Why dun u shut up?'
I hate people who has no respect for animals ... it says alot abt them. I ever fought with my family member becos my dog was barking at her & she tried to kick my dog .... hahaha ... we 'pak gah luan'
Lucky never end up wif 'orh bak kak'

My MIL oso dun like dogs & sometimes she will say bad things abt dogs, but in fact, she's talking abt my dog ... I hate it & the worse thing is, she will act as if she likes my dog & go & sayang my dog .... wat a great actress but with lousy acting skills ....

Yar lor.. those pple just cant understand how much our doggie means to us.

My hubby family oso dun like dogs, always say dogs dirty and more troublesome than children...now my mil dont dare to come to our hse liao. Last time she always complain y i din invite her to stay over, now she dont even dare to come in liao..

I ever told my hubby that i will never give up xiaobai(or any pets) if his mum is gonna stay with us.

lala & pegsfur,

My old dog long itme ago, doesnt come to me even if i call her until my mouth dry, now Mango follow me everywhere i go, so feel so shiok having her walk behinf or beside me everywhere... this kind of feeling is so unbelievable!!

My muminlaw likes Mango to visit her, so tat she can get Mango to pick 4 numbers for her to buy 4D!! hahahahha!! But she also told me not to let Mango walk on herself outside, she say very dirty... always remind us to carry her :S

Mag,

Yeah lor ... I think partly oso becos pups are very kay poh one, that's why want to follow u to see what u are doing
My coalie like that oso

Hey, my mum oso leh .... there was once when it was my previous dog's birthday & she got my dog to pick numbers for her chap-ji-ki ... my mum strike & won abt $250 ... then she bought 1 big drumstick for my dog