For All dog lovers

pegsfur

Eunice,

I've actually seen a chow chow near my place at hougang ... will meet him & his owner when I bring peggy for a walk. The chow chow is very lovable & likes to play alot and he always makes noises when my peggy ignore him. Actually, he looks more like a bear than a dog

All dog lovers,

Just want to share this with u
I just got married 1 1/2 weeks ago. As my peggy is a barker, I've to put her in my brother's room on my wedding day cos she just bark non-stop when the photographer & videographer came. When I was about to leave for my hubby's home, peggy just jumped from the bed as if she's afraid I'll not be back! She will never jump from the bed becos she doesn't dare to.... but what she did that day really makes my heart melt ... so I quickly went in to sayang her b4 we left.

Then as we stayed overnite in the hotel after the dinner, peggy was left in my mum's place so that my sis & mum can help to look after her. When we returned the next day to fetch her back, she was already at the door, waiting for us! My mum told us that she's been waiting at the door for the whole morning .... seems like she got 6th sense to know that we're coming for her.

1 1/2 weeks living in my hubby's house, she sort of misses my mum. When we went back to visit my parents last week, she was happy to see my mum & wagged her tail vigourously.

Dogs....

fennie

lifetime, i think u can check out the straits times, classified, i think i saw some freelancer advertising some time ago, dunno if it's still there?

lifetime

Thanks Fennie, I m actually hoping to see some recommendation here. Atleast i know the groomer did a good job from u all.

Claris, i jus brought a tear medicine...feedback to u abt the result later>>cos i jus try it on my cocker..

Hi Pegsfur,

If you have problem uploading the image, e-mail me the picture and I'll upload it for you.

pegsfur

Chin Leng,

Tks! I can't upload the image as it says the file size is too big. I'll email the pix to u. Tks once again!

The picture of the puppy is uploaded here.

<CENTER>
4316.jpg
</CENTER>

corrine

HI Pegsfur,

I am interested in adopting your puppy, I have got one Westie who just turned 1 and is in need of company as we are all working in the day time.

Can you also give me more details on the puppy?

My email address is : [email protected]
Rgds

Corrine

me

My dog is diagnosed with 3 rotten teeth and mild cataract. She's about 10 years of age, small breed. The vet suggested extraction of the 3 rotten teeth. May I know what's the procedure like, and how I need to take care of my dog right after the extraction ? I believe she would be under anasthetic during the extraction. Also, what can be done with mild cataract ?

pegsfur

Hi me,

U r rite. Yr dog will be put under anasthetic during the extraction.... something for her to inhale so that she'll pass out.

My dog also kena extraction b4 cos she's got lots of bad teeth. She's still in a blury state when we brought her home after the extraction. The vet advise us to put her tongue sideway so that it'll not choke her. We brought her home in the afternoon abt 4 but she only woke up in the middle of the nite. The vet advise not to feed her until she's ready to eat but let her drink plenty of water. My mum told me she's eating the next morning already.

I remember the vet gave some medication for her to take too though I forgot the purpose.

Just to let u know, it was quite sad to see her in this state cos she's still half in coma, half awake. When she saw us at the clinic, she wanted to get up but kept falling down due to the anesthetic ... sort of broke my heart to see her like this.

Anyway, hope this info helps.

grace

I need some advice here. I have a sheltie of about 3 mths old. He is very active and like companionship alot.

My problem with him is that after having him for about 1 mth plus, he still duno how to pee and poo at the distinated place (newspaper) especially after either my hubby or I, or both of us leave the house. After we keft the hoouse, he will tend to relieve himself at our entrance foyer. I caught him a few times liao by going out and lock the door (pretending to be going out), wait for a few minutes, then open the door again, and there lying on the floor of my entrance foyer is his pee and poo.

Does anyone know how do I correct this behaviour? My hubby is beginning to lose his patience liao.
Please help.

eunicetan

halo Grace,

this is wat my sis-in-law advises:

when u see ur dog pee and poo at the wrong place. take a cane if u hav to, threaten the dog with the cane and bring him to the correct place and tell him to do his biz there. then after if he does it at the wrong place again, cane him and bring him to the right place.

we hav a sheltie too n he's abt 5yrs+ we got him from someone else when he was oredi an adult so he's oredi toilet-trained. but sometimes he still does it at the wrong place n we would scold him n threaten him verbally with the word 'cane cane' n 'bad dog' n he would look guilty

eunicetan

juz to share a cute pic with all dog lovers. too bad no sheltie leh

4509.jpg

eunicetan

monica,

remember i told u abt brad pitt bear program during the thurs chat? it's showing tonite on animal planet on scv channel 10 at 7.30pm. dun blame me if u havent got SCV

grace

Hi Eunice,

Thanks for your advice. However, my Sheltie only do it when we are not at home leh. My hubby says that he just want attention and wants to show us that he is unhappy that we are leaving him alone at home when we go out, so he will pee and poo and the entrance foyer, minutes after we left.

Besides, some strange inccident just happened today. My hubby was in our room with my dog and with our room door close. Suddenly, my sheltie poo again anyhow on the floor. So, my hubby got angry and glare very angrily at him. My dog give him a guilty look and then guess what.....he started to eat up all his poo. My hubby got a shock. He suspect that my dog had been doing that to those poos on the floor (which is din do it on the newspaper).

Now, headache liao....what should we do?

milo

hi all dogs lover,
i have been wondering last nite, does dogs only have a lifespan of around 15 years? my dog have been with me for about 10years already. when my hubby ask me yesterday how long a dog can live i told him 15 then i realise that my dogs lifespan is almost up. that is making me very sad cos he has been staying with me all this while even after i got married. does any one know of dogs that life more than 15 years?

eunicetan

halo corrie,

yah hor! the last one IS a sheltie
me never open eyes n checked
but i've yet to see it on the shelves leh. u noe those small soft toys tat come in a box with only the head sticking out? so far ive only seen a few breeds but no sheltie

corrie

Hi Eunice,

Yar....I also looking for the sheltie. You know they also have the handphone chain? Trying to find the sheltie but dun have too....

monica

URGENT : Shetland Sheepdog for adoption

Got an email from ASD. Please call Ricky at below number if anyone is interested

We have an approximate 3 year old male Shetland Sheepdog urgently in
need of a home. He is paper trained and of good temperament, but he
can be active at times. Middle length fur so some shedding to be
expected.

Size wise, he is about 2 feet, so apartment dwellings are ok.

If you wish to give him a second chance at life, please call Sharon
at 92727067

Ricky Yeo

monica

URGENT: 4yr OLD DALMATION FOR ADOPTION

Got another email from ASD. Please call Ricky at below number if anyone is interested

If you are looking to adopt a beautiful dalmation let us know.

We have a beautiful 4 year old female sterilized dalamtion that is
affectionate and youthful. She is about 3 feet and is good with other
dogs.

Owner reluctant to give up but is moving to a small apartment.

Give this dog a second chance !

Please call Ricky at 92590698 for a further discussion !

Rgds
Ricky Yeo

eunicetan

halo Grace,

me really dunno how to advise leh cos personally never encounter it before. however, some time back, someone oso mention abt dog eating its own poo n i tink monica suggested putting tabasco sauce or axe oil on the poo to deter it from eating.

as for ur sheltie misbehavin when u guys r not around, it could be really due to lack of attention. strictly speakin, dogs shouldnt be left alone for more than 8 hrs a day. try to play with ur puppy before u leave for work n when u arrive home. u might wan to search the net for more info on separation anxiety.

eunicetan

wahhh monica,

how come u got so many lobang
make me so tempted to get the sheltie

eunicetan

halo milo,

i did a search on the net n found tat chihuahua has the longest lifespan of 16-18yrs. apparently small dogs hav longer lifespan than big dogs.

wat's the breed of ur dog cos lifespan differs quite a bit. not all hav an average of 15yrs. in fact 15 yrs can be considered abnormal for many breeds. typical lifespan is abt 12 yrs.

lifetime

Good news Dog lover in the west! I saw this pet shop at Bukit batok East Blk 271 doing renovation on Sun. I think opening soon.
Heard from them that they are also providing tables and chair for pet lovers to hang out, Cool!

Lifetime

monica

Yah loh Yunise,
Today long time no hear from them, suddenly today 2 adoptions. If you want better call fast cos pure breeds get snap up pretty quickly. They are left with many mix breeds or Pahrias.

I pray my tiddy and woofer long long life. ........

eunicetan

halo lifetime,

wahhhh bukit batok beri beri far leh
btw, did u happen to notice tat nowadays got a lot of pet shops n cafes popping up? really so gd business meh? i only wish tat there'll be a park just meant for pets to roam abt
i saw a clip on tv tat japan has this park for pets n ppl without pets can even rent pets from the park to bring them for a walk! tat would be soooo coool!

monica

Go t this urgent email Today. Anyone can help foster them for awhile. Those thinking of getting a dog but not too sure can actual take fostering as a trial period. If you like it keep it. If not after few weeks/months can return to ASD. While fostering the dog they will look for interested owners. Please help!!

Email from Ricky:

Hi fellow volunteer
Pls help us to find homes for these recently rescued dogs by
circulating this to your friends and relatives

Tess and Bravo are urgently looking for good homes. Please call
Sharon Kwek at 92727067 after 6pm

Tess
Breed : Jack Russell Terrier
Sex : Female
Size : 1 feet
Color : White/black
Characteristics : Playful, active, not barkish
Paper trained : No
Basic commands : Yes
Health : Healthy

Bravo
Breed : Shetland Sheepdog
Sex : Female
Size : 1.5 feet
Color : White/brown
Characteristics : Very good temperament, good with people and dogs,
easy to handle, not barkish
Paper trained : No
Basic commands : Yes
Health : Was found undernourished with lacklustre coat; needs to be
given good food to boost her health and immune system

Rgds
Ricky Yeo
ASD

pegsfur

I was being attacked by a cat last week when my peggy &amp; the cat had a fight. Peggy's eyelid was bleeding &amp; the eyeball had red patches while i suffered 12 scratches &amp; 7 punctured holes on my legs. Wld I turn into a Catwoman?
Just kidding ... was wondering wld cats spread any kinds of diseases cos i didn't see any doc.

Wld also like to ask all of u what can i do in the event that the cat wants to attack again? I mean, I can't grap a broom or stick &amp; hit it rite?

aliblue

pegsfur,

Did u apply antiseptic cream to your wounds? wahz..that cat really bold leh. Fight with dog &amp; human somemore.

Oh..I were u &amp; I am face with that cat again, I will try to grab a broom or something &amp; swing it at it but not hitting it lah..just act act like going to hit it. make it scare only. Cannot hit lah..later other people complain cruelty to animals. :p

aliblue

pegsfur,

Did u apply antiseptic cream to your wounds? wahz..that cat really bold leh. Fight with dog &amp; human somemore.

Oh..if I were u &amp; I am face with that cat again, I will try to grab a broom or something &amp; swing it at it but not hitting it lah..just act act like going to hit it. make it scare only. Cannot hit lah..later other people complain cruelty to animals. :p

i used to have a dog

Hi "catwoman",

just being KPO here... i dunno if this is sun zi's tactics for warfare, but "san shi liu ji, zou wei shang ji!", if both u and your peggy also can't outfight the cat, just run lor! heehee!

Just wondering, why can't u hit the cat? For defence wat, don't need to kill it, just to scare and chase it away!

i used to have a old pom, dear old meek little thing, because it can't run fast, i like to unleash it while it does its business around the trees downstairs, and once dunno why my poor dear offended a stray cat, who hissed and bared its teeth, and its fur was all standing! Lucky the cat never attacked, maybe my old dear looked too feeble to be an opponent?? heehee!
Anyway, i had the leash in my hand, so i kinda whip the floor with it, yelled and made lots of noise, and managed to chase it away!
U can try this noise tactic next time u see that mean cat, if it doesn't work, then run lor!

pegsfur

Hi Aliblue,

I applied some cream lah but dunno if it's anticeptic cream or not ....

Well, we were at the garden when the fight took place....no broom or stick around leh ... My hubby quickly carry peggy away &amp; I tried to stop the cat from pouncing on them by stepping loudly ... that's when the cat attacked me ... it actually pounced on me &amp; grab my legs with the claws ... can really feel the pain ... was wondering if spraying water wld help? &amp; I still saw the cat yesterday when I bring peggy for a walk.

Hello 'I used to have a dog',

Aiyoh, cannot outrun the cat also cos it run faster than us ....

Actually peggy has 'confronted' some cats several times liao ... &amp; everytime we managed to carry peggy away b4 the fight broke out ...like wat u said, those cats wld bared their teeth &amp; arched their bodies, ready to fight &amp; we'll chase it away by stamping our foot to make loud noises but I guess it doesn't work this time.

Btw, maybe I'll go see a doc this evening cos skin around the wounds seemed to swell a bit.

doglover

peggy's mother...wow, u very hero. save your doggy. teach peggy how to fight back with cat....i don't know why cats will win dog...since dogs have more sharp teeth. Think next time husband must carry and peggy and RUN. don't attack cat anymore. just save peggy and go...ok?

pegsfur

doglover,

Hahaha.... no lah, I not hero lah ... anyone wld have done that rite

Aiyoh, peggy can't win cos most of her teeth dropped liao .... she can only bark fiercely. Anyway, I think the reason why cats always win is becos they use their teeth &amp; claws whereas dogs wld only use teeth .... then somemore peggy no teeth, so ....

Hahaha ... I where got attack cat? Was just trying to chase it away mah ... So i think the best thing to do if this happens again is like wat u said - save peggy &amp; go

aliblue

Hi pegsfur,

Did u see the doc? hope nothing serious.

Oh..I think u must teach your peggy not to provoke any more cats lah. Most probably the cats already know your peggy no teeth liao so not scare of her. :p

I worse than u ah. My benji (a maltese) likes to bark fiercely at BIG dogs!
especially the strays! Wahz..can u imagine how scare I am everytime I see a stray around when I bring him on a walk? I will pick him up &amp; RUN! :p

jes

pegfur

my shih tzu is afraid of cats, she is an ultra friendly dog and she even wants to make friends with kittens.. but the little kitten is not cute..she is ever ready to use her claws at my poor dog when my friendly dog trys to get near to her.

from there onwards, my poor dog hv a phobia of cats.

pegsfur

Aliblue,

No lah ... didn't see doc cos it was quite late by the time I went back. Anyway, the wounds have dried up &amp; healing nicely
Phew .....!

Actually, big dogs don't usually care abt small dogs leh ... sometimes my peggy also bark at huge dogs &amp; they are like 'what is this little rat barking abt?' &amp; carry on walking ....

Aiyoh, my peggy old dog liao .... hard to teach lah ... i think after this incident, she will hate the cats even more ....

aliblue

pegsfur,

Great to hear u r alright.

Well, I really hope big dogs don't care abt my doggie when he goes crazy barking at them. But unfortunately, I have a few incidents that little rascal barked at bigger dogs (strays) and some barked back &amp; 1 even follow us b4!

But he is alright with cats.

sam

Hi All!

can I join in this thread too.

It's interesting that there is a topic for dog lovers like us as well. I have a 1-yr old female Westie and would like to post a pic of her here for all to see. Can I know how do I post her pic here (me not very IT savvy).

Looking forward to share more of dogs' info with all dog lovers here!

julian

hi all dog lovers,
want to know any newly weds out there or newly weds gonna-be, planning to buy a dog?
I'm thinking of getting a dog once i move into my new house, but is worried about will my dog be lonely once my hubby and i are off to work?
ANy one in similar situation?

eunicetan

halo sam,

to post pics simply type

\ image{description}

but do not leave any space between the backslash n the word 'image'. take note tat the file size is restricted to 50kb only.

hope to see ur westie soon