For All dog lovers

twinky

Hi Lifetime,

Ah, to s'porean standard, they consider big loh, coz most s'poreans like to keep toy breeds like chihuahuas, sliky terriers, minpin, etc. Shelties are considered small/medium breeds, lucky still can keep them in HDB...hee hee...CS are not that small anyway, i think they are abt the same size, but CS have heavier bone n body structure, so they are heavier.

U know by looking at the size of ur puppy's paws, can tell if they are gonna be big or not. Big paws, big dog, small paws, small dog....

So u having fun with woody??? she's only a pup once, so enjoy her antics while u can....

eunicetan

halo twinky,

tink i'll wait for ur feedback on scaling before i sent junior for one
his teeth is yellowish oso but brushin his teeth does help a bit.

actually, ive no plans to hav kids as yet. hopefully, my mil wont insist tat i have one
junior's sheddin is abt twice a yr n other than those times tat he's sheddin, we dun really hav much problems abt his fur. anyway, we hav a maid who helps out with the housework so we dun really bother

halo Lifetime,

my dog's full-grown liao n he's not really tat big altho' apparently he's bigger than other shelties. for wat reason, i dunno, maybe we overfed him
as for outings, we could arrange one when everyone's available

twinky

Hi Yunise,

Really no problem??? So nice to have maid to help u out. Good life....i am the maid at home loh. Poor me...
. maybe mine somehow tends to shed alot all yr round. I can see a small bundle of her fur drifting in the living room even though i have just swept n mop the floor the day b4. but it helps if i do brush her often.

eunicetan

halo twinky,

junior used to shed quite a bit but i think the condition has improved. it could be due to this supplement tat ive been feedin him with. it's called 'omega acids' (if i remembered correctly) it was recommended to me by Puppy Patrol n i realised tat it cant be bought anywhere else. it's a powder n said to improve his coat n hence reduce sheddin. it works for junior. maybe u might wan to give a try? this petshop oso sells sausage by doggyman which u can hardly find in other shops as well. in fact my fren always buys them from japan until she realised tat this particular shop has it as well. but it's rather expensive, abt $7 for a pack of 10 sausages. but junior loves it like anything

twinky

Hi Yunise,

I heard of supplements to improve dog's coat. But never tried them. Ok maybe I will try it this time.

say what food r u feeding junior?? I used to feed mine Nutro lamb n rice, but decided to change her food lately. I'm trying Advance Turkey n rice by pedigree, I visit Joy Doggy in Upper Thomson and the guy recommended this to help improve coat n skin. Another product would be what Holistic, which should be the costliest dry dog food around. But should be really good, if the Advance doesn't help then I may switch to this brand.

Thanks for the info!!!

eunicetan

halo twinky,

currently my dog's eatin canidae dry food but he doesnt seem to enjoy it now
i wonder if dogs get sick of eating the same food everyday?
canidae is supposed to be a very good brand with no by-products. he used to eat it initially but now he only eats them if he's really hungry. i've to mix the food with some other brands like marks n spencer (which my gf bought from london). even then sometimes he would even spit out the canidae's food
but no choice cos we bought the largest pack so gotta make sure he finishes it. i heard tat abady is a good brand to try too.

btw, i oso use this green tea spray with aloe vera from this brand professional pets (i think) which helps to improve their coat as well. u might wan to try it on ur dog. say, u havent mention the name of ur sheltie yet

lifetime

Monica HeLP! MY Woody(cocker) is slowly turning into Coffee (chihuahua). Do you beat or scold your cocker when they are only two months old? My woody is starting to chew paper, pee beside the paper, bitting, and play with her poo and thats wat coffee do (abt 1 year old). *faint*
By the way, all dog lovers here. A pup at 2-3months old, can they really understand?
haha Twinky, i m having more then fun with her, i m also having headach.kekekek

Hi yunise, there is this supplement at the pet n fur shop which is ghood for fur. Cant rem the name, next time when i go down i check for you. Think it cost abt 40+, take once daily.

twinky

Hey Lifetime,

U know puppies learn from older dogs in the same household. So what Coffee is doing, Woody will follow. Either u train Woody seperately or u train all ur dogs together...ha ha....super big headache....
....but Coffee is used to the ways oreadi, so will be kinda hard to break the bad habits.

I think pups at 2-3 mths old can understand. They can learn to listen to our tone of voice, like when we shout means they did something wrong. and when we are gentle or excited means they did something right. But u should only scold ur dog when u catch it doing something wrong red-handed n on the spot. no point scolding Woody when she has pee on the floor 2 hrs ago, coz they dun remember and won't know why u r scolding her for. If u really need to discipline ur dogs, use a rolled up newspaper and hit them on the backside (lightly but not too light, else no effect).

As for play biting, dun make it a habit. Coz she still a pup now, her bite isn't that strong, but if u dun control or curb it, she will continue to play bite with u and when she's older and stronger, her bites get harder, by then if u wanna break her habit, it'll be difficult too. To control the play biting, if she did bite a bit too hard on ur hand, just shout really loudly 'ouch' and pull ur hand away and give her a hurt look, that will scare her and she'll stop. so keep doing this and she'll learn how to control her strength of the bite when she's playing with u, coz she won't want to make u shout.

Puppies r alot of work, u need to know how to train them properly when they are still young, teach them some manners, else they'll give u super big headaches when they grow up. U can make the training fun and it helps the bonding and be proud when u show ur frens how well behave or how well trained they are....like me.....
...hee hee

twinky

Hi Yunise,

Aiyoh, now then know so hard to get a booking for teeth scaling. The next available appt will be in Feb...I didn't plan early enough, maybe gotta postponed liao.

Ah the name of my sheltie is my nick ...Twinky....

Ah, ur dog food brand I never came across b4 leh, I think all dogs are like that lah, they dun like their own food.
. Human food always taste better. I also mix some biscuits and our food at times to make her food bowl tastier. She also dun eat unless she's really hungry. But i regret it when i induldge her too much sometimes and feed her too much of our food and she gets diarrhoea......
....and i have to clean up after her....
...so now i really only stick to v safe foods like biscuits n chips...no more gravy n meat

Many frens often comment, aren't dog's suppose to eat wet food like shown in ads...looks so tasty....the dry food looks soo
. Really tot of buying cans of wet food to mix liao but the guy at the pet shop say, u can't really treat dogs like humans....and say they won't remember so much of what they eat and also as dogs get older, they tend to eat less. Maybe when they are really old and r losing their teeth, then should be the time to switch to soft food for them.

wow u use so many things to help with the shedding. think i should too. I only rely on brushing her, now her shedding is really making me xianzzzzzz abt the housework....should make my life easier so i can enjoy her even more...i shall look for such products asap....

hey just a note to all dog owners, dun feed ur dogs anything that contains chocolate or cocoa....not good for their health.

monica

hi Lifetime,
Yap I do scold and "threaten" them when they are young. But you must catch them in the act. While they are peeing on the floor I will use the cane and whack very hard beside them so they get frieghtened by the sound. At the same time scold them loudly. So they know it's wrong. As for playing with the shit thingy. My pups used to do that. They eat their shit too. So what my friend taught me was to put tabasco sauce on the poo before they can do anything. It works very well. Once they eat that poo they will never want to go near any other poo. Or you can pour "hong yew" on it. Dogs are very scared of the smell. It's true one dog learns from the other at home. You should consider training your CHH too. Puppies takes awhile to toilet train. You'll have to wait a few months. 2 months is still too young. Remember to clean the places they pee thoroughly. Does he chew your furniture? If he does you get those very strong chinese medicated hong yew. the super hot and strong smell kind and rub it onto the corners that Woody likes to attack. He'll go off it very fast. My Woofer and Tiddy is very repelled by such smells. And would go as far as possible I had vicks on me. Must be firm with your puppy he has to see you as the Boss Dog. That way he will be scared of you.

lifetime

Thanks monica,
Think later i will set a trap of hong yew and tobasco poo poo for Coffee and Woody.

dodo

Hi monica,

My friend's 3mth old cocker spaniel(Bailey) is also eating & playin wif its own poo-poo & it'a driving her crazy until she feels like giving up the dog! I told her to try putting chilli or alcohol (!!) to Bailey's poo but she said she always 'miss' the dog when she is passing motion & before she know it...Bailey is immediately 'in the action' of eating & playing wif the poo!
I'll tell her to try ur method...no side effects hor? I dun want her to blame me shld anything happen to her dog! Looks like she has to watch over & wait for Bailey to bomb b4 'poisoning' her!
Hee,hee...can't imagine the dog's reaction! Thanks for ur advice!

eunicetan

halo Twinky,

i think dry foods r supposed to keep them healthier n hence live longer. personally i think eating our food (like rice n meat) will make the dog look ugly. dunno if anyone feels the same

as for chocolate, my fren gave me a box of chocolate coated dog biscuits (bought from Harrods London) n junior pretty much enjoy crunching them. is it really bad for their health? i try to feed junior with fruits as often as possible. he pretty much eat anything except for citrus fruits. he absolutely hates lemon

pegsfur

Hi yunise,

What twinky said is true abt chocolate. It's not only bad for health, it also contains toxins which may kill dogs. Strange that such yummy stuff is toxicated to dogs ... too bad our furry friends can't share with us

Btw, I remembered u like 'la bi xiao xin' rite? Did u watch the latest series?

eunicetan

halo pegsfur,

yep! me watched finish the 2nd part of 'la bi xiao xing' oredi
he's disgusting as always
i pity his dog but 'xiao bai' is sooooooooo cute.

well, it doesnt matter tat junior cant eat chocolate cos he sure has lots of other stuff to eat
maybe tat's y he's been picky abt his food.

btw, u been to urban pooch yet? it's opened by my frens

pegsfur

yunise,

It's opened by yr friends? So got discount or not?
My hubby & I were planning to go there either this sat or sunday. We are not very sure where it's situated though ... where is it har?

U finished watching the latest series already??? So fast! I'm half way thru only ...

eunicetan

halo pegsfur,

errr.... discount ar? me not so sure cos i never ask n oso too paiseh to ask lah cos we arent exactly very close, juz school mates
. the address is as follows:

Urban Pooch
530 Balestier Road
#01-07 Monville Mansion
SIngapore 329853

(there's a mobil station along balestier rd n turn left immediately after the mobil station. drive all the way in n it's just infront of anglo chinese primary.)

pegsfur

yunise,

I have the address from yr previous posting but don't exactly know where it is leh ... never mind lah, think my hubby will find the way there.

Hey, u like xiao bai ah .... I also like xiao bai
But I think Ah Dai is also very funny .... he always got 'bi ti' running down from the nose one

eunicetan

halo pegsfur,

me dun really know the area well oso, so cant really describe the location. i oso found the place using street directory

yah, ah dai really funny. very gong gong lookin oso

me juz bought dvd of 'Annie' n vcd of 'lord of the rings' cartoon. u watched the show 'annie' before?

starhub_babe

A very kind moderator on www.doggiesite.com is organising a get-together this Saturday, 2 February 2002, for our darling pooches at

Urban Pooch
530 Balestier Rd
#01-07 Monville Mansion

I believe it’s from 3pm to 6pm.

Shall we all go …..

Urban Pooch is located in the map indicated below. Hope it'll help you find the place easier.

<CENTER>
3361.gif
</CENTER>

eunicetan

juz turn left immediately into the small lane when u see a mobil petrol station on ur left

claris

I wish to share my joy with everyone here....I've got a new maltese puppy! I have kept her in a cage in the kitchen, but I don't know where to place her if I am to switch on the dryer to dry my clothes, as the kitchen will get very warm. I used to switch on the dryer (about an hour) and go to sleep at night. Can puppies take the heat or feel warm, as most of our windows is closed when I go off to work? I am also afraid feeding her twice a day might hunger her. Any advice?

brur

I am also afraid feeding her twice a day might hunger her.

Sorry, I dun understand

lifetime

A puppy? I think twice a day is enough, my cocker puppy is also feb twice aday oni.

claris

brur, I rephrase my sentence. I am afraid feeding my puppy twice a day is not enough for her, and she might get hungry.

Will dogs feel warm? Can I switch on the dryer when the dog is also caged in the kitchen?

aliblue

Hi Claris,

Congrats!! I also have a maltese...he's not a pup liaoz..he's going to be 1 yr old &amp; turning into a terror! :p
How old is your pup? Got name already?
1st qn - dunno how to answer leh cos I dun have a dryer.
2nd qn - 2 meals a day is ok. When's she's older, can feed her once a day. BTW, i only feed my doggie with dry food.
Btw, I think I stay near u leh. would love to see your doggie! Pls..can I???
Can write to me? email me at :-

lifetime

Claris,
you can try by sitting at the area where ur pup will be and switch in the dryer. If you feel warm or hot, then most likely ur pup will feel the same.As you know Singapore is already quite hot and the pup, they already have their fur to keep them warm, if the heat from the dryer
will make you feel hot without any fur, i think they will feel worse. Am i right?

Lifetime

monica

Twice a day is more then enough. I feed my dogs once a day and they are overweight leow. You gals can actually order your dog food and accesories thru the web now. No credit card payment. You just pay them when they deliver the stuff to you. Very friendly service and prices are very reasonable too.

Can check out the website. www.doggycorner.com

connie

Hi all dog lovers here....

Teddy is desperately in need of help!!!!! He's a maltese and is abt 3 yrs old now. But the big headache now is he's having rather bad skin problem (and allergy). We hv been bringing him to several vets since Oct 01....but all doesn't seem to help!!! He's also been put on the collar which is supposed to deter him fm chewing and scratching, but somehow, he managed to bend and reach to bite his bum!!!! and whenever we wanted to remove the collar for a little while, he'll start biting his fore legs!!

We've tried multiple creams and doggie shampoo but his condition doesn't seem to improve much. We r at the extend of even applying Tiger Balm on him!!!!!!!!! This helps to soothe him though....but I dun think it's a long term solution.....And whenever the spots disappear fm one place, it appears in another.....seems never ending though....

It really pains me to see him in this state
....always running around the house jus to find some spots which he can scratch his body against...

Wld greatly appreciate any suggestions or advice which we can adopt to reduce Teddy's suffering...

Thx!!

lifetime

Connie,
So sad to hear abt wats happening here. Did u try to ;
Change his food? Maybe something in his food is causing the allergy?

Try bathing without any shampoo (just water) for sometime? Maybe his skin is very very sensitive.

Do you bring him down for stroll? If you do, try not doing so for a period of time. As something down might be causing the allergy.

Check out the area/spot where he hang out most. e.g under the chair, bed, etc. Might get some clue.

Is he always like dat?If not, then recall wat happen during the time he got this problem. e.g any injection given to him? brought to anyway?

Hope these suggestion would help.

Lifetime

pegsfur

Hi Connie,

Cld it be a habit rather than allergy? For my peggy, whenever she has nothing to do, she'll lick or bite her paws/nipples/area at tummy ... I wld check her body for any fleas or ticks but didn't managed to find anything. Sometimes there'd be blisters, sometimes there's nothing.

From what i observed, those licking &amp; biting of paws r habit, cos she always does that when I washed her paws after a walk/after bathing.

Btw, did u try shaving him bald to see what's really happening to the skin?

monica

hi Connie,
Send Teddy to Doctor Lye , Animal Recovery Centre. He's controlled the skin problems in all the dogs I've sent there. However dogs with skin problems may need to be very careful in the things they eat and their personal hygiene. Try to get an apointment with Dr. Jean Paul Lye personally. They have 2 branches. One at Greenwood ave and one at Simei Pet Safari

eunicetan

hmm... seems to me tat maltese r quite prone to skin problems. my fren's dog is a cross maltese n she has skin problems too. my fren shaved her dog bald n put her on a strict diet ie. no more treats n other stuff. her dog has some spots here n there as well but her dog's skin condition has now improved a lot. i will go find out from her wat she did with her dog n tell u more later.

corrie

I just bought a Sheltie recently and am having problem with the toilet training bit. He sometimes does it correctly and sometimes doesn't. He also like to tear up all the newspaper meant for his pee and poo.

Any advice on how should I go about successfully training him to do his 'business' properly.

eunicetan

halo all dog lovers,

juz wanna share a couple of pics with u gals. take a good look. it's not a panda! heheh... i think it's a chow-chow
think we can do something similar to our dogs??

3885.jpg

3886.jpg

twinky

Hi Connie,

When my sheltie has skin problems, I had her shaved, coz she really has too many black itchy spots on her, did help her relieve the itch a little. now she's back to her full coat again, think the itch not totally cleared but it's not serious now. Regular brushing helps, the scabs will be brushed away too. Always find a bit of black dirt on the the floor after brushing her.

My doggie also like to lick and chew her paws whenever she is free, not just after bath n washing. Really to relieve boredom?? The insides and inbetween of her are all reddish brown. I dun know if it's becoz it's itchy or becoz she lick them too much. Heard that white fur turns brown when the dog keeps licking it.

Hi Corrie,

Toliet training need constant supervision. Just try to watch him when he need to do his business, so that u can correct him when he starts tearing papers instead of peeing n pooing. I m not sure if male doggies r harder to toilet train or not?? coz they have a tendency to pee in alot of areas so as to 'mark' territory. I had my gal sheltie toilet trained in 3 days. I had posted my experience in toilet training, dun know if u had read it or not. It's somewhere up there, a few msg b4 I post my dog's photos. Hope it helps.

claris

I also have problem my maltese puppy tearing up newspapers. Do you think when they get older, they will NEVER tear up newspapers for their toilet purpose? Even if I buy a pee pad, they will still bite and tear it. Anyone buying pee pads for dogs? How is the result?

claris

Hi Dog Lovers...my puppy will sometimes squat on newspapers but no pee or poo come out...does it mean she has constipation? And I know we need to praise the dog when they eliminate in the correct places...but should I praise when they are still doing business or after they have finish business? What do you usually do?

About spaying dog, should I? Anyone send their dog to neuter/spay? Pls advise.

twinky

Hi Claris,

I usually will praise when she's in the midst of doing her business and when she's done.

I had my gal spayed at 6mths old, that's when they are ready. Heard that spaying ur dog b4 they gain sexual maturity will keep their puppy behaviour.

If u dun intend to breed, then spay might be better for ur dog. reduce risk of ovarian or womb cancer.

claris

Hi twinky

Thanks for your fast response.
I am afraid the spaying will cos my dog much pain, or those after operation effects. Or the dog will just behave and feel fine after spaying? Yes, I don't intend to breed. Which vet did you send to for spaying, and how much? How many days needed for them to recover?

About the constipation, do you think my dog is experiencing that?

twinky

Hi Claris,

My dog behave ok. Still v playful at 3 yrs old, she just dun chew anymore. Used to chew alot of rawhides when she was young.

When u bring her home, she'll still be a little drowsy, just let her sleep in a nice n quiet place. I feel that they will feel some discomfort of coz, and will try to lick the stitches so u need to let her wear the big plastic cone thing around their heads. All in all i think my dog took it pretty well. No hassle or complications.

I had my dog spayed in US where i bought here, and stayed for 2 yrs. So I can't recommend u any vets here. They should recover within a week. Can't remember if i did change her diet though, to something light like plain chicken porridge. I do that when she gets terrible diarrhoea.

Abt constipation, i dun really know leh. She hasn't go for a few days??? sometimes my dog dun go for a day. It doesn't bother me so much, coz the next day she'll go. She's pretty regular loh. I had more experience with diarrhoea then constipation...hee hee.

twinky

Hi all dog lovers,

Got this in my email today, brings tears to my eyes when i read it. Hope u all will appreciate the message.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Not only to all dog lovers...this is a wonderful narrative of the point of view of a dog...

A man in Grand Rapids, Michigan incredibly took out a US$7,000 full page ad in the paper to present the HOW COULD YOU? By Jim Willis, 2001</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">When I was a puppy, I entertained you with my antics and made you laugh. You called me your child, and despite a number of chewed shoes and a couple of murdered throw pillows, I became your best friend.

Whenever I was "bad," you'd shake your finger at me and ask "How could you?" -- but then you'd relent and roll me over for a bellyrub. My housebreaking took a little longer than expected, because you were terribly busy, but we worked on that together.

I remember those nights of nuzzling you in bed and listening to your confidences and secret dreams, I believed that life could not be any more perfect. We went for long walks and runs in the park, car rides, stops for ice cream (I only got the cone because "ice cream is bad for dogs" you said), and I took long naps in the sun waiting for you to come home at the end of the day.

Gradually, you began spending more time at work and on your career, and more time searching for a human mate. I waited for you patiently, comforted you through heartbreaks and disappointments, never chided you about bad decisions, and romped with glee at your homecomings, and then you fell in love.

She, now your wife, is not a "dog person" -- still I welcomed her into our home, tried to show her affection, and obeyed her. I was happy because you were happy. Then the human babies came along and I shared your excitement.

I was fascinated by their pinkness, how they smelled, and I wanted to mother them, too. Only she and you worried that I might hurt them, and I spent most of my time banished to another room, or to a dog crate. Oh, how I wanted to love them, but I became a "prisoner of love."

As they began to grow, I became their friend. They clung to my fur and pulled themselves up on wobbly legs, poked fingers in my eyes, investigated my ears, and gave me kisses on my nose. I loved everything about them and their touch -- because your touch was now so infrequent -- and I would've defended them with my life if need be.

I would sneak into their beds and listen to their worries and secret dreams, and together we waited for the sound of your car in the driveway.

There had been a time, when others asked you if you had a dog, that you produced a photo of me from your wallet and told them stories about me. These past few years, you just answered "yes" and changed the subject. I had gone from being "your dog" to "just a dog," and you resented every expenditure on my behalf.

Now, you have a new career opportunity in another city, and you and they will be moving to an apartment that does not allow pets. You've made the right decision for your "family," but there was a time when I was your only family.

I was excited about the car ride until we arrived at the animal shelter. It smelled of dogs and cats, of fear, of hopelessness. You filled out the paperwork and said "I know you will find a good home for her." They shrugged and gave you a pained look. They understand the realities facing a middle-aged dog, even one with "papers."

You had to pry your son's fingers loose from my collar as he screamed "No, Daddy! Please don't let them take my dog!" And I worried for him, and what lessons you had just taught him about friendship and loyalty, about love and responsibility, and about respect for all life.

You gave me a good-bye pat on the head, avoided my eyes, and politely refused to take my collar and leash with you. You had a deadline to meet and now I have one, too. After you left, the two nice ladies said you probably knew about your upcoming move months ago and made no attempt to find me another good home. They shook their heads and asked "How could you?"

They are as attentive to us here in the shelter as their busy schedules allow. They feed us, of course, but I lost my appetite days ago.

At first, whenever anyone passed my pen, I rushed to thefront, hoping it was you that you had changed your mind -- that this was all a bad dream... or I hoped it would at least be someone who cared, anyone who might save me.

When I realized I could not compete with the frolicking for attention of happy puppies, oblivious to their own fate, I retreated to a far corner and waited. I heard her footsteps as she came for me at the end of the day, and I padded along the aisle after her to a separate room.

A blissfully quiet room. She placed me on the table and rubbed my ears, and told me not to worry. My heart pounded in anticipation of what was to come, but there was also a sense of relief. The prisoner of love had run out of days.

As is my nature, I was more concerned about her. The burden which she bears weighs heavily on her, and I know that, the same way I knew your every mood. She gently placed a tourniquet around my foreleg as a tear ran down her cheek. I licked her hand in the same way I used to comfort you so many years ago. She expertly slid the hypodermic needle into my vein.

As I felt the sting and the cool liquid coursing through my body, I lay down sleepily, looked into her kind eyes and murmured "How could you?"

Perhaps because she understood my dogspeak, she said "I'm so sorry." She hugged me, and hurriedly explained it was her job to make sure I went to a better place, where I wouldn't be ignored or abused or abandoned, or have to fend for myself -- a place of love and light so very different from this earthly place.

And with my last bit of energy, I tried to convey to her with a thump of my tail that my "How could you?" was not directed at her. It was directed at you, My Beloved Master, I was thinking of you.

I will think of you and wait for you forever. May everyone in your life continue to show you so much loyalty.</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">A Note from the Author: If "How Could You?" bought tears to your eyes as you read it, as it did to mine as I wrote it, it is because it is the
composite story of the millions of formerly "owned"pets who die each year in American &amp; Canadian animal shelters.

Anyone is welcome to distribute the essay for a
noncommercial purpose, as long as it is properly attributed with the copyright notice.

Please use it to help educate, on your websites, in newsletters,on animal shelter and vet office bulletin boards. Tell the public that the decision to add a pet to the family is an important one for life,that animals deserve our love and sensible care, that finding another appropriate home for your animal is your responsibility and any local humane society or animal welfare league can offer you good advice,and that all life is precious. Please do your part to stop the killing, and encourage all spay &amp; neuter campaigns in order to prevent unwanted animals. -Jim Willis

Please pass this on to everyone, not to hurt them or make them sad, but it could save maybe, even one unwanted pet.

Remember...They love UNCONDITIONALLY, If you give them LOVE</FONT>

fennie

hi monica and the rest of dog-lovers

2 months ago, i just got for myself a Maltese puppy from a friend, she's extremely playful....but headache is i just can't seem to get her to toilet trained....actually during daytime, she's quite intelligent, while she's playing at the living room, she will walked back to her litter pan and pee/poo but during nighttime (i kept her at my service balcony) she doesnt do so accordingly!!! EVERY MORNING i woke up to a BIG mess in the service balcony. Becos i laced the litter pan with newspapers which i clipped on to the pan, she managed to tear it away and shred the papers to pieces!!! And to top it off, becos of the poo and the urine, the poo flies everywhere when she shred the papers, and she eats her own poo too!! In the daytime, she doesnt eat her poo, so, i couldnt drop the tabasco sauce in her poo and wait for her to go consume it, right...? But night time, when no one's watching, she'll eat it up!!! I've tried putting her in the crate at night cos i read dat it's good to put the puppy in a confined area to get her to sleep, but when i woke up next morning she's drenched in urine and poo!! Another time i put her ona leash and tie her to the playpen, but the leash was actualy long enuf for her to reach her litter pan and also to drink from her water bottle, again, after leaving her for sometime, i heard her whining and again, her tail and legs are drenched with her urine, cos she stepped into the litter pan and doesnt know how to get out ....not smart enuf to reverse!!! grrrr.....really at a loss here....

She's now 5 months old and her fur is coming off whenever i comb her and not just dat, she sheds her fur everywhere now...is it normal? is this the right age for a puppy to shed its fur and renew their coat? i've just put her on a collar, but she just keep scratching it, does it mean dat everytime a dog scratches its body, there's flea in her body? or is it just habit?

Twinky, my vet advised me to wait until after my puppy has reached it's first menstruation before spaying....did u spay yours before? is there any danger in spaying the puppy? Will she die?

claris

Hi Fennie

Nice to know you have a maltese puppy. I have one too. I keep mine in a crate most of the time, and let it come out to the playpen area for pee and poo. I find that we must regularly bring them out to eliminate, else they will relieve themselves inside the crate.

My puppy is worse. I tried wearing a harness on her, she will bite and chew at the thing, even the leash, she treats it as a toy, keep biting and chasing after it. So now I dare not try....how to bring her out like that?

monica

Hi Fennie,
Yap puppies do start shedding at about that time. Try to brush her everyday so that less of the shedded fur will fly all over your house. Or there is this liquid from pet shop where you massage over your dog that actually prevents shedding. As for the toilet problem. I think it's a way of him to display his displeasure. I'm sure if you put him in your room at nite he will not poo or pee there. What you can do is try to feed him earlier and don't give him too much to drink at nite. That way he has nothing to let go in the middle of the nite. Sometimes dogs just don't like to be confined so they do mess up to show you that they are not happy. My dog has the same problem. If I give them can/cooked food they will be really good and do their business in the toilet or kitchen. But if I give them kibbles over a long period (more then a week) they will start to mess up the living room big time. Like this morning I found 2 puddle of puke, 2 pieces of Poo and 2 puddle of pee in the living room. That's cos I've not cooked for them for more then a week. Very spoilt!!

Scratching may be dryness of skin or tick. If your dog is not a garden dog chances of fleas are quite slim. You can actually feed your dog cheese once in a while to prevent fleas. As for dryness of skin, you just part their fur abit if you see that the skin alot of square square or flaky means it's too dry that's why they itch and shed. Then you'll have to get him some moisturizing conditioner or change his shampoo too. Try putting him on Velcote if he has such conditions. As for ticks. Look out for little black round things that stuck themself to the doggy's skin. Usually there will be blood when the tick is crush.

If you spay your pup before it reach puberty will result in stunted growth. It's much better and healthier for the dog to be spayed after first period. Spaying will not cause the dog alot of pain. They will be bed ridden for a day or two but generally they recover quite fast.

EUNICE!!! The CHOW CHOW look soooooooooo silly and cute!!! Is that yours?? Second picture look like a walrus!

eunicetan

ehhh....monica, i wish man! it's juz a couple of cute pics emailed to me. really cute hor
i dun seem to see chow-chow anywhere in sgp leh. wonder if junior can pass off as a wolf if i spray him all over in grey?

btw, any idea where to get canidae?? been to many pet shops but all out of stock. is solid gold any gd?

monica

Eunice,
Why not try solid gold? Canidae abit fattening. My dogs put on a lot of weight after I put them on canidae. If not try Tiny Paws at Century Square

I've seen them selling chow chow at Pet safari in Simei. Cost $1300 for one.

fennie

Hi Mon

Thanks for your advice, i read u wrote dat u put tabasco sauce in your dog's poo to prevent him from eating it in the future....do u catch him pooing then put the tabasco sauce and just leave the poo them as a bait for them to eat? I felt like it's such a bad thing to do, just leaving the poo there for them to eat...but got to try....

All along i've put her in my service balcony (the whole of it) free for her to roam, i just section off the part where i have my washing machine.....but yesterday, i put her in a playpen of a squarish area, and she whine and whine........the next morning thankfully she didnt shred tha papers but again, there's poo all over the playpen and again, she ate part of it!!! I've heard from my friends dat they act like dat becos they're still puppies and when they grown up, they won't shred the papers anymore...is dat true? My hubby has set a rule NOT to let her into our bedroom at all times! She's quite intelligent, nowadays, when we walked into our room, she'll stay put just outside the edge of the door! I dun think letting her sleep in our room will stop her from urinating and pooing cos she did dat in the living room too!!

Hi Claris

Thanks for your comments. I can't put her in a crate cos i think it's just too small for her.....cos before we wake up she's already up, so, i now put her in the playpen so when she woke up (and we haven't) she can still play on her own.