For All dog lovers

howesy

Dear Worry,

How about "Snowy" or "Milky"?

Actually, anyname that you're comfortable, and that you can call out, very fast, when she does something naughty!!!

Like my parents prefer to call my dog "Baby, bad boy", very, very fast, when he's up to his tricks!!! Initially, my boyfriend wanted to call my rascal "Tuscan", but very hard to call it out real quick, so we dropped the idea.

Don't worry, I also change my rascal's name a few times, in the first 2 weeks. Dogs will remember, when you repeat the name over and over and over....

Bailey's breeder used to call him Whisky, before I bought him, and after several name-changes, he responds to "Baby" and "Bailey", so don't worry, lah!!

worry

actually I almost change her name 3 times a day, it's just like 3 meals :p hahahah....I still can't make up my mind...:p it's a headache...

aliblue

Hi Howesy,

Weekdays evenings is fine with me & benji. In fact, now all my weekends is spent packing & shifting my belongings to my new place.

Unfortunately, I don't drive so the only place I can think of is Eastpoint, Simei (Where the Pet Safari is). Is that ok with you?

Monica,
Wanna join us too? This time, rain or shine, i bring Benji out lah. Cannot pamper him too much liao. Furthermore, I love listening to your funny stories abt Tiddy & woofer. Also want to know if there is any "cure" to my benji's excessive barking. I going crazy everytime he barks (non-stop). So noisy.

Worry,
Take your time to find a suitable name for your doggie. Try some names & see which one she response well to. Or get some inspirations from the website Howesy recommended at : http://www.malteseonly.com/names.html
For me, my doggie got his name even before I adopted him cos I have always wanted a male dog name "Benji" since young. (Lucky my fren didn't give me a female doggie or else i also headache what name to give lah. Maybe Yuki or Gigi?)

monica

Yipeee Yipeee,
Yap yap Tiddy and Woofer hooraying now.
Eastpoint is alright for me. Weekdays are perfect. Not today thou. Today shooting but let me know when. Afternoon? Wed and Thurs I meeting customer in the afternoon and evening. So I'm left with Tues. Fri have to sleep early to prepare for Sat's shoot.
Call me to let me know when then see how I can adjust my time. Cannot get me call me ok!!!

EXCITED EXCITED!!! i bring my woofer there

howesy

Hi Aliblue and Monica

My Bailey jumping up and down already!!! If Tuesday nite is also good for Aliblue and Benji, then we can all meet tomorrow nite, at Eastpoint!!

I will try and leave the office at around 5-ish, and I can make it to Eastpoint, with Bailey, around 6-ish.

Let me know if tommorrow nite's good!!

aliblue

hi Howesy & monica,
Tomorrow? Ok with me but can we meet at 7 cos I knock off at 6. We meet outside starbucks. Ok? :D

howesy

Hi Howesy & Monica,

YES!!! Let's meet outside StarBucks tomorrow at 7pm. Quite easy to spot each other, coz Monica will have Woofer, Aliblue will have Benji, and I will have Bailey!!! I hope Starbucks is okay with us just hanging outside there! The last time, my friend bought his Golden Retreiver there, and they told us that we couldn't sit outside, coz the dog was too big.....sigh......

Anyway, do send me an email at:

and I'll send you my cellphone number....

Till tomorrow.....

howesy

Hi Aliblue and Monica,

I don't think I can make it for tomorrow (well, later on today, actually) for our gathering.

Initially, my colleagues in the US were supposed to start flying today, from Connecticut to Singapore, for our budget meetings. Now, the JFK, La Guardia and Newark Airports are closed, becoz of the tragic crash of AA 587, and basically, everybody's travel plans are affected. So, I am pretty sure that my team will have to be doing a video-conferencing tomorrow nite (starting from 8pm) with our colleagues, so that we could still get a head-start on our budget plannings. To make things worst, it's Veterans Day today in US, and we are all still working from home, at 4.40am in the morning.......

Sigh.....sigh....sigh......the tragic world we live in.....

eunicetan

err.... could we meet on deepavali nite? i wanna join in as well leh

aliblue

Hi Howesy,

Ok. So we shall cancel our mini doggie gathering today. I will inform monica.
I feel so sad & shock to know there's another aircrash in the US in just a short period of time.

Eunice,
Of cos u can join us but Deepavali nite I cannot...I go pak tor with my hubby. :p
Let's arrange a gathering another time, ok?

claris

To Aliblue and Howesy

I would like to keep a Maltese dog. May I know how and where you both got your dog from? Thanks.

aliblue

Hi Claris,

Benji is a local breed. My best friend's doggie gave birth to 3 pups & benji is one of them.
As she cannot keep all 3 pups, she gave one to me as a gift since she knows I long to keep a doggie myself.

Oh..Howesy, Monica & Eunise,
What abt our 1st doggie meeting?

cookiecorgi

Just saw this thread and was soo excited... I have a Corgi named Cookie... haha, not diff to guess huh? Anyway, he's the sweetest dog on earth and he is ever so friendly to adults and kids alike....

So have you guys met up yet? I stayed in Simei so I'm sooo happy that you guys are meeting up at Eastpoint!!!! So when's it gonna be??

Cookie would like to meet all of you!!

Lynn and Cookie

aliblue

hi cookiecorgi,
no..haven't have our 1st meeting yet leh.

waiting for the rest of the dog lovers' replies.

Wahz..u have a corgi???

COOL!!!

cookiecorgi

Hi Aliblue,

Yes... Cookie is a Pembroke Welsh Corgi.. (a doggie with a long body; short legs; without tail)

Wanted to do attach cookie's photo, but dunno how to... Can anyone teach me how to do a file attachment?

Otherwise, cookie's photos are also located at
http://www.picturetrail.com
Goto album: cookiecorgi

I believe there's also someone by the nick "winik" whose has 2 corgis... wondering if she's ard...

eunicetan

halo cookiecorgi,

well, to paste pics, simply type

\ image{description}

but without the space between the \ and the word 'image'. hope u get wat i mean. then when u post the msg, they will ask u to upload the pic. make sure u hav saved ur pic in ur harddisk first.

aliblue

Hi cookiecorgi,

My friend also interested in adopting a corgi but AVA list of dogs for HDB don't have corgi leh.

I also want to post my benji's pic here! But guess all maltese look the same lah..hehee!!

eunicetan

GOOD NEWS!!

for all dog owners, there's a new place where u can bring ur doggy to play while u sit at a cafe to hav ur food n drinks. they r considering to even serve ur dog food
. the shop is divided into 2 sections. the left section is a cafe for everyone n dogs r not allowed into the aircon section but u can still hav drinks n food with ur doggies outside the cafe. the right section is a pet shop. me got a frisbee for junior
. if u go further into the pet shop, there r stairs which lead to the playroom upstairs. u can let ur dogs play with other dogs while u relax in the cafe. i went there yesterday with my friends (it was their opening day) n i saw a golden retriever, a charles king spaniel, 3 poodles (white, black, brown), a pug n a schnauzer

Urban Pooch
530 Balestier Road
#01-07 Monville Mansion
SIngapore 329853

(there's a mobil station along balestier rd n turn left immediately after the mobil station. it's just infront of anglo chinese primary.)

lifetime

Hi to all,
I have just got a puppy English Cocker Spaniel. I would like to find out more about how to take care of them and what are the things to look out for them. And how do i train them. Any cocker owner? Pls share your experiences.

And anyone to has own a puppy before? Can you also share your experiences? Thanks alot!!

twinky

hi all dog lovers,

do u get pple asking if u will give up ur dog when u have a child later??? can i have ur views?? I have a dog myself, a lovely Sheltie, it's a double coated breed and it has a really sweet personality.

I always answer them, i will not give her up, coz she's a really good dog and to me she is also a commitment and my resposibility. I really hope the day will never come if i have to choose between my dog n my child.

pegsfur

Hi twinky,

I will NEVER give up my dog
She's a small dog & easy to handle, though she likes to bark. She's a part of our family too & she IS my child.

twinky

Hi pegsfur,

My dog likes to bark too. Esp when the doorbell rings, wow she goes crazy. Mine isn't taht small, she's small medium breed. Can't really carry her around much, so we always hug and stroke her.

U have any children?? Guess when i have a child, I will have to be extremely careful and clean like xiao... but i think it's good for a child to grow up with a pet.

Is there anyone here that has a pet and a child at the same time??? How do u handle it??

pegsfur

twinky,

Nope, I don't have children yet but ultimately will have

Actually I did think of wat will happen if I have a child later on. But I've seen the way ang moh kids r raised with their dog, & not only 1 dog ok, sometimes more than 2 dogs
So I wld think if they can do it, why can't i?

As for me, of cos I'll have to make some adjustments if my baby arrives like no more sleeping on our bed with my dog, she'll not be allowed on the sofa either. Take her to grooming more regularly & vacuum more regularly. Btw, I've seen my friend having something like a air purifier beside her baby's bed. Maybe I'll get that as well.

lifetime

Hi Twinky, nope, me and my girl will never give our dog up just becos we have kids. Both of our family have dogs since we are very young and we love them. Infact becos we are moving into our new home and we cant bring the dogs with us cos parents want them, thats why we actually brought a new dog for our new home.

I think that to us they are not only a dog, they are part of the family. I still keep the ashes of my previous dog which i had for abt 15 years. When we have kids next time, We will just have to be careful, and i think it is good for my kids to grow up with them too.

er....any answer for my post earlier??
Monica, can you provide me with any tips or info?

eunicetan

halo twinky,

so u hav a sheltie too?!!
they r such wonderful creatures arent they?
btw, do u hav any reputable groomers to recommend?

here's a recent pic of my junior
3027.jpg

cindy

Hey lifetime

I've got a English cocker spaniel too. There's also a Amour Cocker Spaniel club in S'pore. You may like to join the club. Their webpage is http://clix.to/acsclub

In fact, the club is having a cocker spaniel gathering this sat.

cindy

As regards to training, my dog has attended "obedience training" conducted by Patrick Wong - Waggie Pet Care. He's very famous for training "star dog".

His webpage is waggie.com.sg

He's charging S$ 350 for 10 lessons (lifetime guarantee). Check his out!

twinky

HI Yunise,

Ha U have a sable n white sheltie too!!! Ha Ha, they all look the same, my doggie also looks like that....hee hee...with a full white chest and collar. I brought her over from USA where i had stayed for 2 yrs.

Yah, they are really sweet. Very good tempered and playful, only thing is they bark quite alot.

I had her shaved twice, coz she has skin problems, brought her to Joy Doggy in Thomson area. I think it's ok coz for $60 they come and fetch her at abt 9am, groom her then send her back abt 4pm. But after shaving she looked so naked, so now I dun think i wanna shave her anymore.

eunicetan

halo twinky,

one gd thing abt my junior is tat he hardly barks. he only does it when there's someone in the house n some strangers walked past/another family member is coming back. other than tat, if he's alone, he wouldnt cos he's a chicken lah

as for groomer, we used this guy called stephen n he comes to our house to groom junior for $70. pretty steep but he did do a gd job.

monica

HI Lifetime,
Yap yap I got 2 of them. Cockle Spaniels are basically very happy dogs. Always wagging their tails no matter what happen. And of cos they are real attention seekers always sooooooooo manja. How old is your CS? Basically what to expect is that by 4 months old they will start to grow new teeth that means old teeth will drop and you'll see bloody mouth sometimes but it's ok. Just give it some water. Oh and if you CS loves to chew on your furnitures and all you can try spraying some white vinegar mixed with water on the corners. And if he eats his own shit just drop some tobasco sauce on the shit and I'm sure he'll not touch his shit again after trying it.
Cockers are very easy to train and very intelligent dogs. But puppies are always more playful and active. CS are also known to be collectors. You'll see them collecting little things around the house and putting them in a little corner. Mind will pull the table cloth down then go on his "shopping spree" so when you come home you see everything has been placed in their "shopping bag" (table cloth)

twinky

Hi Yunise,

Mine is good when she's at home, same loh, when pple walk along the stairs, opposite neighbours opening their door, and cats meowing downstairs (i live on 3rd floor so can hear easily) she barks like crazy, esp when door bell rings. Even when she knows we press it...hee hee...

I find it amazing that they know when we are coming back coz she will be there at the door waiting for u, wagging her bushy tail.

Just so sad that her skin condition is so good. How abt ur's??? So how often do u groom ur junior?? I will groom her myself, cut nails, trim fur around the paws and her under belly... and her backside. The rest of the body i dun know how to do it so i just brush her as often as i can, else her fur will be everywhere on the floor drifting abt. And i bath her every week. Double coated dogs, more maintenance but she looks soooo nice with a full coat.

Hi Lifetime,

Tot u have experience with dogs??? Maybe too young to experience the puppyhood of ur 1st dog huh. To me toilet training is the most impt training a dog should have. I train mine to do her business on newspapers coz we may not have time to bring her downstairs so regularly. Sometimes I do feel guilty when I dun spend enough time with her...

Toilet training takes time, but when ur dog gets it, life will be easier. Spread some newspaper in the place where u wan ur dog to go regularly. I used the common toilet for mine. And bring ur dog regularly to the papers, esp after meals and u know it has drank quite alot of water. Encourage ur dog to do it's business by repeating the word u wanna use as a cue for it to pee. "shh shh" will be easy to understand...hee hee baby language.

If after some time ur dog still doesn't go, then let it off, but keep an eye on it coz usually they will wanna pee anywhere else besides the place u wan it to. if u see it squating....quickly grab it and place it on the papers...may need to do this a few times. If it has pee on the papers, praise it greatly and pet her or give ur dog a small treat so it'll remember if it goes to the papers to pee, it will get a treat, once they are used to it, the will remember to go to the papers, even when the treat is no longer given. One way to encourage them to go to the papers is leave a soiled sheet so they can smell it and know this is the place to pee. Same goes for poo poo training.

My dog will only do on papers at home, sometimes I wash the toilet and the floor is wet, so i dun put any papers for her, and sometime she will signal me, by going into the toilet several times, sometimes when i not at home and she can't hold it anymore, she'll look for sometime that looks like papers and that is usually the floor rug....

Basically to train ur dog, u need to show it how to do it, be clear abt the command when u give it and praise it when they get it right. I did all my own training and my dog can catch ball, shake hands, roll over, stay still and off the food when i say so,and play dead when i point my finger and say 'bang'. Not that all difficult. My frens seems amazed when she can play dead. It's their fave trick and they are so happy when they can get her to be 'dead'. But of coz, it's best to teach them when they are still puppies, easier to train.

well hope u find this useful, and dun mind my long posting....skarly ur dog oreadi toilet trained....
.....well nevermind loh, good for other 1st time dog owners.

catz

i've had doggies before but my mom's a housewife so it was never a problem. now that me and hubby have our own place, i've been thinking of getting my own doggy but i'm worried about leaving it alone for the whole day as we're both professionals. does anybody have any advice? i was thinking if we adopted a doggy, i could wake up early to walk it and then after work, another walk. but is this too cruel?? there's nobody at home during the day to keep doggy company.

lifetime

Thanks yunise,Monica,cindy and twinky.

Wow! yunise your dog very big leh so nice
.My CS is only 2mths old. Today i m going down to bring my Woody(heheh call her woody cos she is whole tan in color
) home. She will be staying at my present place with another two of my chihuahua before moving to my new place next mth. So hope to use wat u gals mention here to paper train her before going over to my new place.

Hi Cindy, so are you going to the ACS gathering? Too bad i cant join this sat as this weeked my furniture and other stuff will be deliver to my place. o yes! Abt the trainer, is the 10 lesson over the weekend? and what does it include? Can you provide me the contact? Thanks alot!

Hi monica, You really put the sauce in the poo poo? But if it work then i think i will try on my chihuahua, cos he is having the hablit now. Thanks!
Twinky,
Yes twinky, i had experience with dogs. But they are all given to us when they are abt 1 year + or 2, when their owner dun want them. So i dun have any experience with pup. Wow! you very good leh, can train ur dog to do so many thgs.
When do you start to train her? Now only 2 months can she understand?

Heehee very hapy , going to see her later.

lifetime

Thanks Cindy , i m able to access the website of Waggies pet care now. So i have got the info abt the training from there.
Thanks! But do u have have any ideal when is the best time to send?

cindy

Hi Lifetime

It is advisable to send your puppy for training only after it is fully vacinated!

I bought mine to Patrick when she was 5mths old. Frankly speaking, puppies are very playful hence you got to have alot of patience when training them...

If you're seriously thinking of sending your dog for obedience training, Patrick is a right choice...=)

eunicetan

halo twinky,

my dog's skin condition is pretty good n as for grooming, we would bathe him every 2 weeks cos my sis-in-law says shelties cant bathe too often or it'll remove their natural oils. anyway, we dunno how to cut his nails n we hardly comb his hair nowadays
it's time to get the groomer again!

say, y dun we meet up n u can show us how to trim the fur from their paws as well as how to cut their nails

lifetime

Thanks Cindy,
I think i will sent my chihuahua for training instead. lastnite he pee on my bed! *faint* Imagine, just brought Woody home, busy with all the stuff. Wawa running here and there, and that coffee go and pee on my bed! *faint again*
Hi to all who like to know the progress,

The frist nite for woody at home was perfect! On the way home during the car trip she was very quiet and cute and ..sleepy. But the moment when we reach home, wow! She is very excited when she saw Wawa and Coffee there. So i put Woody in the playpen (to prevent the other two from javing too close contact with her) and let the three of them to say Hi to each other. And yes, they get along very well.

And into the nitetime, Woody sleep in the crate inside my room, all the way till this morning.
When i woke up and me and my girl spend some time playing with her for a while and i m off to work.

*The Wawa like big sister like that,whenever Woody make some noise she will go and check what happen, So cute!*
Very luosuo, but just want to share my joy with all dog lover.

twinky

Hi Lifetime,

Training can begin as soon as u know how to train. I think 2 mths old should be fine. I got my sheltie when she was abt 3 mths old, and started toilet training on papers. Heng she only took 2 days to get the concept. Was living in the US then, and the whole unit is carpeted. Poo poo took a while longer.

Cindy is right, u should finish all the vaccinations before u bring her to training class where it will meet with other dogs. But u could still teach ur dog the basic commands like sit, down n stay at home.

Hi Yunise,

I left my dog with my pil for a period of time coz we were renovating then, and she develop hotspot, aiyoh i so heartache leh, and some areas of her skin got black spots but they do come off if i scratch it out. Glad to say her skin has improved much more liao, but not as perfect as when we were in US, coz of the climate lah.

I know we were not suppose to bath shelties that often, when in US, i only bath her every 3 or 4 mths, hee hee...but she doesn't stink. But here is different, i have to bath her every week, else i see her so itchy and dirty looking, i also bui tahan.

Wah so how often do u have to get the groomer?? Not expensive meh??? I only get the groomer when i wanna shave her clean...hee hee...Nails grow very fast wan leh, I cut her's abt every 2 weeks, if not u will her nails clicking on the floor. Actually basic grooming isn't that difficult, or maybe i am used to it. U should brush them often to remove tangles dead skin n loose fur, and shelties got lots of them, and i think they enjoy the brushing if u are gentle. Kinda like a massage for mine.....

Triming fur around the paw is easy, just get a pair of sissiors for cutting hair, get cheap wan will do liao, and just trim the fur off the bottom of the paw, those that r sticking out from in between the pads and trim around the paw. After trimming, the paws will look so nice and neat.

Nail cutting is a bit more tricky, tat wan need more practise, coz if cut too much, will coz them to bleed, happen a few times to me. But most dogs dun like to have their nails trimmed, always will pull away when u are abt to cut it. Grooming is also a kind of training and should start when it's a puppy, make ur dog accept grooming as part of it's life.

Hmmm i think u stay in the east right??? Me stay in AMK. Too bad i dun have a car, coz i would love to bring my doggie around, go bishan park, go east coast. <sigh>..... now saving up to buy a car, but not so soon.

twinky

Here's a photo of my precious...when she's a puppy n when she's all grown up...hope u all like it...

3059.jpg

3060.jpg

eunicetan

halo twinky,

me realised tat my dog looks feminine while urs look a bit macho. hehehe....actually ur dog looks pretty different from mine cos mine's from aussie n i believe shelties from US have broader noses. say, do u hav a problem with bad breath? my junior's breath stinks!!
brushing his teeth doesnt seem to help. HELP!!

twinky

Hi yunise,

Is it??? Mine considered feminine face liao leh....u should see the males from US...lagi macho leh. I didn't know there's a difference between aussie n US shelties.

Yah, her breath stinks...smells like the kiss of death. hee hee....
and it's all kinda yellow and horrible looking for her molars. Not diligent enough to brush her teeth often before. I'm going to send her to have her teeth nicely cleaned by the vet next week and really make an effort from there on.

Besides brushing, u try other methods?? Coz now she doesn't chew those rawhide stuff anymore, so the plauge builds up. when it's really bad, i spray breath freshener specially for dogs. we tried to feed her fisherman's friend....ha ha..so cute, but she won't take the whole mint, we had to hold the mint and she'll lick it...coz it's v minty and 'hot'...she'll stop licking the mint and keeps licking her lips...very cute...
...then lick the mint again, she does that when she eats spicy stuff too, like chilli n curry....hee hee. but of coz i didn't feed her human food often.

By the way, how old is junior?? Mine is 3 yrs old liao.

eunicetan

halo twinky,

there was this lady trainer whom i met at s'pore expo n she owns 2 collies from USA n she told me some differences btw USA n aussie collies so i assume tat it would be the same for shelties.

as for the scaling, i believe the dogs hav to be 'put to sleep' in order to carry out the procedure issit? dun really like the idea leh
not only does junior's breath stinks but his saliva is potent as well. one lick on ur face n ur guaranteed to hav pimples the next day

my dog wouldnt come near any minty stuff n he doesnt like hot stuff either
his favourite foods r durians, egg tarts n sausage among all other edible stuff eaten by us
. junior is 5 yrs old oredi n we got him from another owner who had to give him up. in fact we r junior's third owner.

twinky

Hi Cindy,

Thanks.....

Hi Yunise,

Yah, need to let them sleep for a while then can do a proper job mah, she oreadi resist when I spray breath freshener, can't imagine the struggle she will put up if we try to scale her teeth.

I think it should be fine, it's better for them anyway, esp now since u say junior has really bad breath, u dun wan him to have toothache right, then he'll be in such pain n suffer. If daily or weekly brushing doesn't help to control the cleaniness of their teeth then send then to the vet for scaling is the next best thing....that's what i think....

Ho ho....so far I dun let dogs lick my face...hee hee....legs, feets and hands are ok with me, but not face.

How's the condition of junior's teeth?? Something like what i describe mine or better off?? Why not u try the breath freshener if his teeth looks fine to u. (Not yellowish or brown looking) May help u out with the stinky breath, spray it b4 u wanna play with him. But if the teeth doesn't look clean to u, then it's better to have the teeth cleaned out at least for once and see how it goes from there. What u think?? If not U wait till i have send my doggie for the scaling and I'll tell u how it is....OK.....

So what do u think u will do when u have kids?? Is junior's shedding giving u housework problems?? Care to share with me??

twinky

Tot to just let u all know, there will be a gathering for dogs, organised by the Singapore Chihuahuas. This gathering is mainly for chihuahuas n minpin...but other breeds are welcome too. So pop by if u can and see ur dogs play together. It's be so fun for them....

Place : Mac ritchie reservior(next to the main carpark)
Time and Date : 4pm 19 Jan 2002
Bring along water and doggy treats for yr furbies!!!

lifetime

Hi yunise and twinky,
Both of you have got very beautiful dog.

They will grow to big size rite? So good!

Too bad i cant go to the dog out, as Woody havnt got all injection and i will be busy with new house too. Matbe next time. If you gals are going, remember to share your fun back here!