For All dog lovers

pegsfur

Aliblue,

Serious?? The dog followed u? Aiyoh, then u must be real scared rite?

My peggy also crazy one .... normally she'll bark at dogs too but when they r near each other, she'll stop barking & they'll start sniffing each other. If the dog 'smells good' to her, she'll just walk away. If not, she'll start to bark again!

Hi Sam,

U can look up the Forum Guide on the left on 'Getting Started', then go to Formatting Codes. It'll tell u how to post the pic

eunicetan

halo julian,

no dogs should be left alone for more than 8 hrs a day. so if u n hubby r away for longer than tat, u'll hav to think twice abt owning one or maybe hav another dog to keep it company.

pegsfur

hi julian,

I agree with eunice. If the dog is left for long hours at home, chances are u'll find the dog destroying yr house.

If u really want to have a dog, maybe u can adopt 1 who is used to being at home alone, instead of a puppy. Like my dog, she's ok alone at home when my hubby & I are working in the day ... & she's coming to 10 yrs old liao
She probably finds it peaceful without us cos we always disturb her when she's trying to sleep

eunicetan

pegsfur,

u hav peggy for 10 yrs liao issit?

i tink first time dog owners would understandably wan new puppies so maybe not easy to agree to adopt one. moreover, it's even more difficult to adopt a dog which is to ur liking.

eunicetan

halo all,

does anyone watch animal planet? they hav this programme which talks about adoption for dogs. im always amazed at the amt of effort they put in at the adoption centre for dogs. they put the dogs in a cage each with lots of space, bring them out for walk, train them n even assess their character. even before u can adopt their dogs, their staff would assess the potential owner's home n character before allowing them to bring the dogs home. the staff would even visit the owner in a couple of weeks time to see how both owner n dog have coped. compare this to our SPCA
im not sayin tat they r not doin a gd job but our resources r really too limited for our abandoned cats n dogs

julian

hi eunice , pegsfur,

i do agree with u gals...
but i really love dogs.... maybe should get 2 dogs huh......

aliblue

hi pegsfur,

ya lor. And my rascal kept barking at the stray even when i tried to run away from it.

Hi Julian,

Both hubby & I are working and we own a dog. He is now 1yr+ but we have "trained" him to be alone by himself for long hrs (but not more than 13hrs lah). I kept him in his playpen when i am away to work, keeping him busy with toys, snacks stuffed in kong & water & also his pee/poo tray. I realised dogs usually sleep most of the time when no one is around. My doggie has the habit of taking afternoon naps with or without me in the house.

But I do feel guilty that i am leaving my doggie alone at home. And everytime I need to stay back late or want to have some drinks or go shopping with my friends after work, i will feel guilty that my doggie is at home waiting for my return.

Eunice,

I'm a Animal Planet fan. My fav programmes are battersea dogs home & Barking mad.

Well, our society not so tolerant on dogs & cats lah. So cannot compare lor.

pegsfur

Hi sunflower,

Think that cute doggie is called cavalier kings' charles spaniel ... er ... or something like that

The doggy looks very cute leh ... biting the toy ... i assume it's yr dog?

pegsfur

julian,

2 dogs may equals twice the trouble ... be careful hor ....
They could have so much fun destroying yr house together

eunice,

No lah ... my hubby picked her up from the streets & when we asked the vet roughly how old is she, & the vet said between 3 - 5 yrs. So till now, peggy has been with me for abt 5/6 yrs liao ... now 'bo geh' & 'lao cha boh' liao

freesia

Hi, Sunflower

Yeah..that's a cavalier kings charles spaniel...I have one
Whose dog is that? It's so cute!! Mine looks like this dog except the ears are slightly shorter

I need some advice from you gals here...my dog is slightly over 1 year..a male. He was actually toilet trained but recently..he started peeing all over the house..you know like marking territory! It is driving us nuts 'cos we keep hving to look out for him and cleaning up the mess. He knows it's wrong 'cos he only did it when we are unaware and will give us that guilty look after he did it....Does any one of you encounter similar problem?? What can i do?

julian

Hi Aliblue,
i understand how u feel when u know your precious is still waiting alone at home...tat's why i'm so worried.
btw, how do u solve the problem of giving your dog his/her meals while u are out to work during afternoon or dinner?

hi pegsfur,
yeah! *hee*....end up have to clean up everday!!!

pegsfur

julian,

Hehehe... just hope u are aware of that, esp puppies .... cos they are still in the learning stage .... 1 dog does that & the other will follow. I'm not saying all are like that but the possibility is there lor ...

Btw, for my peggy, i normally leave dry food for her when we work so that she'll eat when she's hungry. But most of the time she doesn't eat, then I'll put wet food with the dry one together when we return from work & she'll eat all

juilan

hi pegsfur,

*hee hee*...tks for your advice.
your peggy seems like so cute,...'bo geh'...

aliblue

Hi Julian,

I feed my dog dry food so every morning, I leave a bowl of dry kribbles & when he's hungry he will eat lor. But most of the time he onli eat a little then wait for me to come home & then finish the rest. :p

sam

Tks eunice and pegsfur,

will try and figure out and post it up soon. I have some pics of my westie in my hard disk already. Thought can just copy and paste over...seems like cannot. so I will go read on the text formatting part...

eunicetan

hey Aliblue,

those r my fave programmes as well!
i remember laughin at the dog which liked to bite onto hanging branches n the cat which juz refused to be combed

sam

This is the pic of my Westie.
We took this pic of her during x'mas last yr and she looked so mournful becos' she was having her mensus..she kept wanting to bite the "pampers" off her bum and had just got ticked off by me...

5515.jpg

pegsfur

Sam,

No pics leh ... did u type in yr pic's filename?

eunise,

I've always wanted to subsribe to scv becos of Animal planet .... wat is scv's subscription like? I mean they have a new package recently rite?

sam

hiyas pegsfur,

I was experimenting just now and guess I didn't manage to upload the file successfully until the 2nd time round.

Ya, a few pple have commented she looks "he", but that's after we brought her to trim her fur...when she's fluffy and has long fur, she looks more feminine lor..hahaha but she doesn't act like a girl at all also! very rough one!

rdgs

sam

I read in the above postings that there are some of you who are having trouble with your puppy eating its poo.

I just like to share that if the "tabasco" trick doesn't work, then you can buy some garlic pills from the pet shops and add 1 into their food everyday. Supposedly the garlic smell is so strong that when they poo out, the smell will turn them away.

This works very well for my dog previously and the garlic pills also has some health effects on your dog, good for the heart..keeps them strong. My dog doesn't suspect anything when I add it into her dry food every morning...and after barely a week, she starts to literally jump away and "siam" her own poo!

hope this helps...

another_doglover

I will like to ask if there is any medication for cataract ? If it is in the early stage adn mild, any way to save it without going thru operation ?

Thanks !

eunicetan

halo pegsfur,

dunno if they got any new promo but it's abt $20/mth for 3 groups (can choose from world news, education, entertainment, chinese and kids) the education channel has animal planet, discovery n national geographic. maybe u can check their website for more info?

eunicetan

halo sam,

nice westie! but she looks like a she to me n not a he leh. maybe it's the red pampers tat cued me

btw, thanks for sharing tat piece of useful info with us. sure to come in handy for new owners

sam

hiyas eunice,

no problem! hope to pick up some useful tips from this forum as well!

By the way, has anyone brought that female dogs for spaying b4? Can share more info with me? Or any good recommendations for a good vet? I am thinking of getting my dog spayed in a few mths' time. I currently bring her to Animal Clinic for standard check ups and vaccination...but not sure if they are good in spaying.

aliblue

Hi Eunice,

I saw that episode too! From Barking mad. :p
But I realised animal planet always show those repeats!

Hi Sam,
U have cute westie there.
I would love to have a westie too but 1 doggie is already too much for me to handle. hehee...

Oh..can't help u on the spaying cos my doggie is a male. If you asking abt neutering op, maybe can help u abit.

sam

I always felt that maltese looks very "girl", esp those in pics where their fur is tied in ribbons...like showdogs.
But I have a liking for white dogs...althou' pple always say it's very hard to maintain white dogs but I don't feel so, except for maybe the tearing part that stains their eye parts.

The other day I saw in west Coast Park a 10 yr old maltese but looks the size of a 2 mth old pup...the owner told me she got it from Australia...so small size!

Any golden retrievers owners here? That's my dream dog!

pegsfur

sam,

My hubby loves retrievers too ... my sis has got 1, now abt 5 mths old but gosh, the size is like a full grown dog! He's a mischievious pup, always eyeing at our pillows/stuffed toy/teddy bear ... he'll bite it & show it to us & run away b4 u can catch him

My peggy is very small size too ... smaller than a cat .... & altho she's abt 10 yrs old, everyone thot she's still a pup.

sam

pegsfur,

yaya golden retrievers are very big-sized dogs. I ever saw 1 very big one in a pet shop in Serangoon, only 8 mths old but he's the size of an adult height. Easily abt 1.6m in length! And that's excluding its long tail!

What breed is peggy? Wow, 10 yrs is really old, imagine x 7, she's abt 70 yrs old already...the bond must be very strong between u 2...so many yrs together?

My westie is named Cheery (but everyone seems to think it's cheRRy, noticed the "e" and "r"? She's so mischievous too...like I have a soft toy dalmation at home, abt her size...and she loves to bite that poor dalmation everytime she wants attention...it's as thou' like she takes that dalmation as her friend...

sam

Pegsfur,

sorry side-track from this topic a bit...I happened to be browsing through some of the brides' photo and saw yours! Just want to let u know that your morning and dinner shots looks great. I like that side parting hair-do, very elegant looking!

Did u just have your wedding this yr?

aliblue

Hi sam,

Ya lor..I also think maltese look more "girl" but i refuse to let ppl mistaken his "identity" so I usually ask my groomer to give him a puppycut & never let him wear those girlish ribbons. :p

I only know maltese from taiwan is smaller than australia ones...didn't know australia also have such small ones leh. *blur*

Oh, I have a fear of big dogs! hahaa..maybe becos i hv been biten by my ex-neighbour's german shepherd when I was a small kid. But retrievers have such kind eyes & happy smile.

pegsfur

sam,

Yeah, peggy has been with me quite long liao ... & she's rather 'sticky' to me, altho she was picked up from the street by my hubby. & she listens to me more than my hubby .... hehehe... sometimes it just makes my hubby jealous.

Yr doggie also very cute ... so that poor dalmatian must have been in a tattered state now?
When peggy wants attention, she will come to me & rub her body or head against my hands as if i'm 'sayang-ing' her

Oh, u saw my pics .... paiseh leh ...
The photos were taken by Mabel Lee. Hey, u like the hairstyle? I love it too ... makes my face looked slimmer
Yup, I just had my wedding this March
I'm missing those preparation days already ... how abt u?

sam

my FH and I are planning to have our wedding in Sept 2003 but so far, we haven't booked anything yet...still scouting around. And worse thing is, we cannot decide whether to make it a grand event (means invite almost everyone who knows us!) or have a personal one (looking at only 12-15 tables)...

bridal shopping also another headache...but this forum is very good, can help us steer away from those "reputation-not-good" studios...

I am very into-the-idea of having cheery with me when we have our photoshot next time. Were u also toying with that idea when u took yours? But I see from your photos that you didn't take with peggy...

Will take note of your side-parting hairdo cos' I got broad face.

pegsfur

sam,

We can't possibly have peggy during our photoshoot cos she'll bark her head off .... must admit she's a spoilt brat
But i insist to take 1 with her during my actual day (admist all the barkings) ... u must have seen it too

Hey, Sep 03 still a long way to go ... u still have lots of time to shop around & make comparisons .... it may be tiring but it's fun

monica

Mini Pinscher for ADOPTION!!!

Hi got this email today. Interested parties please call Ricky at the number below.

We have a pair of mini pinschers that need a good home as their owner
is sick and cannot take care of them anymore.

The male is 4 years old and the female is the daughter and is 3 years
old. Both are of very good temperament and of good health and are
about 1 feet in length

They should preferably be adopted together as they are virtually
inseperable

If you feel you have the heart,responsibility and commitment to
continue to care and love them, please call Ricky at 91454818 after
6pm

Thank You
Ricky Yeo
ASD

eunicetan

halo sam,

i brought junior along for phototaking n it was pretty daunting. tis is when junior is oredi well-trained n doesnt bark. prob is getting his attention n luckily my sis-in-law went along with us or else we might not be able to get junior to pose at all

sam

morning eunice!

Can I see some of the wedding photos taken with junior? If it's convenient and u don't mind lah.

Pegsfur,
I didn't see the shot of you with peggy leh...I thought I missed it and went back to scroll scroll but still never see it leh?

pegsfur

Sam,

Aiyoh, have lah ... it's the 4th pic in my Actual Day folder .... maybe peggy too small to be noticed lah .. but the shot was taken with my siblings together with peggy

corrie

Hello Eunice,

Can I take a look for your wedding photos taken with Junior? I also intend to take my wedding photos with my two dogs. Dunno how it will turn out. Still looking for someone who can bring my dogs along for the photoshoots.

eunicetan

halo corrie,

wow!! 2 dogs??! wat breeds r they? i tink u would need more than 1 person to bring them along. r u goin to bring them for studio shoot as well? i brought junior for both n for the indoor shoot, was a bit paiseh cos junior's fur flying everywhere n lying on their couch. abit troublesome oso cos his fur got stuck on hubby's suit. sometimes he would jump on me n leave paw prints on my gown (actual day WG somemore!
) so i cant imagine having 2 dogs jumping on u

corrie

Hi Eunice,

Mine is a Maltese and a Sheltie. They are both so playful. Think I will be having a hard time getting them to settle down and pose cos they like to chase each other around!!

Yar, most likely must find two person to help me with the dogs. Did your dogs stay with you throughout the whole photoshoots?

eunicetan

halo corrie,

hey my junior is a sheltie too
yep he stayed with us for the whole day from 10.30am till 7pm. he was all tired out at the end of it
me even bought a bow tie for him but it kept falling off so end up never use. waste of my money

how abt gettin each dog to pose with u separately? tink it'll be easier n faster oso n then u can finally hav some pics with both of them in it
will definitely look forward to ur pics n btw do get prepared to be outshone by ur dogs

p.s. have u checked if the photographer is afraid of dogs? i didnt check beforehand n thank god the photographer assigned to me is a dog-lover.

sam

Ya I believe one of the biggest headache is getting them to pose right! My dog doesn't really like to take pics, cos' of the camera flash I guess...it seems to hurt her eyes and she will run ard the house..then I have to slowly creep up to her to snap a pic of her!