Ex-schoolgirls meeting place

fireflies

Ayone know the lecturer by the name of Tan Cher Hwee?

What is your final option? Mine is Tool & Die Design.

What are all of you working as now? I am the Asst Procurement Manager.

sparky

Just to check, what are you all working as now?

I intent to move to Toa Payoh or somewhere near to send my son there to study in 2 yrs time. How about you all?

Anyone join the alumni?

seiko

Harlow ladies

juz came back not too long ago fr Esplanade. So excited cos i was finally able 2 grab hubby 2 go down 2 Amor Meus. The designer cum boss Francis offered personalised service even though the shop had another 3-4 interested parties. The reason he gave the other customers 4 not being 2 serve them was that I had made an appointment b4hand. Very impressed cos some shops wld multi-task in order 2 gain more customers. Anyway, i have already ordered a mtm CS, will have my 1st fitting in early Apr. Actually i was quite surprised 2 be able 2 confirm the design in juz 1 visit. I told Francis i wanted a 2 piece CS, so that after the wedding, i can still recycle it. My CS is pastel orange in colour. dun really know how 2 describe it cos im not gd wif fabric names.... so bear wif me huh *heheh* the inner layer is a darker, slight shimmer orange. The outer layer is sheer floral ( orangey, pink in colour ). He did drape the materials on me n hubby found it quite complimentary 2 my skin colour. Francis quoted ard 800 without crystals but hubby thot CS wld look grander wif crystals, so the total came up to 1200. already paid half. It was over our budget but then it was really too lovely 2 resist. I dropped the gold CS after Francis told me it wld be too OTT. Now that ive settled the CS, got to diet liao.... super sianz.

wah, got photos to see issit ?

Carol, cld i have the honour 2 view yr wedding pix pls ?
my eddy is [email protected]
Many tks

Jojok
finally got the CS done. My appointmt wif Santiago is on the 20th.... like quite rush hor?
Dunno if can make it for late May PS anot?

Wenn
Wow BP de silva rings r nice too! my sua koo hubby only know how 2 patronise Soo Kee cos he vip member. After we bought our rings, then i saw nicer designs out there. Haiya.....

may

I'm from Business.. graduate from SP in 1989.

I'm now into Human Resources.. somthing different from what I studied during those poly days...

wenn

Hi carol,

just managed to take a look at ur photos. u & ur hubby look great
17195.gif

ehhhhh, u still look about the same leh.. minus the glasses only
17196.gif

wenn

hi seiko,
saw ur message last nite.. but too tired liao.. so reply u this morning

yup, the amor meus gowns are very nice, pretty & intricate. wow, ur hubby is very generous worh...
17197.gif

mine ah? if i push him, he'll say yes
17198.gif
but then,, i dun wanna him to break the bank ...
17199.gif

dun worry about the rings,, i'm sure that it is just as nice
both me & FH wanted something different.. the one we want has a band of woven gold around it.. it's made in NZ..
17200.gif

pam

Fireflies: Which year did you graduate in? Can't remember much lecturer's name. Can only remember Mr Ho who teaches industrial engrg, really funny guy.

Mine is major Quality.
Currently working in Aerospace industry.

fireflies

Hi, Pam

I graduated at yr 89.

Anyone when for further studies after poly including PT studies in Singapore eg SIM, MDIS?

I got a degree from University of Bradford from MDIS.

pam

Hi Fireflies,
I went to Melbourne after Poly for my Hons Degree and then my Masters so I just started work not too long ago.
Planning to do PT studies next year. Any recommendation?

seiko

Morning Wenn

actually i only wanted the CS wifout any embellishments, n it wld have cost 800 according to Louie the designer/boss. But hubby thinks it'll look grander wif crystals, so Louie said he'd quote us a special price at 1200. I saw a full dress crystal studded CS ( crystals dispesed thruout the CS ) n it a;ready cost 1500. He said he'll even sew some crystals on the collar itself.
Hmmmm... i think the price is considered ok cos of the hand sewn crystals though...

Ei, what a coincidence leh.... my ring also has a line of gold running thru the ring in the middle. *heheh*

jojok

Just confirmed my actual day photographer today. Another item down fm my list. Have to start w my church booklet soon.

Carol, cld i view yr wedding pix pls ? my email is [email protected] Many tks

Seiko, your CS sounds v nice. Your hubby really dotes on u alot ya. Guess u shld b able to make it in time for your PS in May. It also depends on how elaborate your gown is.

Wenn & Seiko, I do not have a line of gold running thru the ring but my band is white & rose gold in colour. We seem to have similar taste ya.."hehehe"

jojok

Carol, thanks. Shall pop by orchard plaza & scout around. I m not tall, only 1.59m, while my hubby is around 1.72m. Didn't want to wear too high cos will get tired easily. I m considering 2.5 to 3inches as my office court shoe/sandals is around that height. I m usually comfortable in flats or sport shoes. Was it easy to walk & is it tiring wearing a 3.5inch shoe on your wedding day? One of my ex-school mate wore 5inch platform on her wedding day. That is real high !

seiko

Morning Gals!

heheh greta minds think alike mah :p
Yalor, i wanted something fancier but hubby says the ring we chose muz look classic wor, thats y settled for what we have lor.

Now very kan chiong liao, haven even been to Santiago yet.

carol

I have sent you the link.

Yvonne, are you a TY bride too? cos I saw your posting in the TY thread.

Jojok, we are about the same height. But my hubby is quite tall, so I have no choice but to wear higher heels. It was quite ok for me to wear 3.5 inches heels cos that's my normal heel height. In fact, some of the time, I am wearing 4inches. But, most friends have cautioned not to wear 4 inches with the evening gown cos you have to go table to table toasting and its quite tiring. For me, I am very comfortable with heels so no issue at all. Your friend wore 5 inches heels, a bit too much leh, I think I will sprain my ankles, haha...I wish I am taller, but no choice leh, got short genes from my parents.

Seiko, agree with your hubby's choice to have the crystal, imagine when you go up the stage and the way the crystal catches the light.. wow! Wedding is once in a lifetime, you should get the best!

seiko

Hi Hi Carol

Tks 4 the link! Muz say u look gorgeous in yr lime green EG! really exquisite design there... TY did a great job i say. The photos turned out very well too! For yr PS, how many changes in outfit did u get? Cos i think i saw quite a few outfits leh?

blossom

hi alhana,
just to let you know that i finally finally start work liao.... it was a boring day reading all the operating manuals.... you know i dun really like to read lah.... not hp mah.

my hubby bought the hp dvd for me.

jojok

Hi Carol,

Thanks 4 d link. Yes, you look really beautiful. You must have paid alot for your gowns due to their exquisite design. BTW, who was your photographer?

carol

Hi Seiko and Jojok,

thanks for your compliments, hee hee... TY's designs are really quite good. My WG is called the "Swan" design. So far, only one of my guy friend managed to guess correctly.

Photographer is Benny Ang. Hmm, actually I prefer more natural shots, so I regretted not going to Andrew Choi, especially cost wise,its quite the same as I took BA's premium package.

Did you gals have photos to share too? Will be good to know how you look...heehee, thot we said want to meet up when I am back rite? Or are you gals too busy with wedding now? Actually I missed preparing for wedding leh..

seiko

Hey Carol
tks again 4 sharing yr pix wif us... now its my turn 2 return favour *heheh*

Most of my kakis have seen my rom pix... how bt leaving yr email here n i'll send u the link

Cheerios!

carol

Hi Seiko,

saw your ROM pics, you looked very pretty!! I like your hair and those pictures taken at the fort canning garden is very nice.

carol

I feel like going on holiday again. Hubby just told me he may have to go official trip to US in april but he is going with a politician, dun know whether I can follow or not??

I am very sian in office.

wenn

hey gals

the bridal shop called this morning.. my 1st appt will be in early march.. so still got time to slim down a bit :p

aiyah carol, u dun need to work lah,,, just resign & become a tai-tai lor...

yvonne

hi carol,

no i am not with TY..
i am with Sophia Wedding Collection..
TY gowns looks great !!
i love ur WG..
but no $$ to pay for expensive gowns lor ..
my next gown fitting is 22 feb.. will try to post the photos here

wenn

hey gals!

long time no chat

just realised that i may have to increase tables as my dad was on an invitation frenzy during our CNY visits to relatives & frens...

my sitting list have to re-arrange liao, as some frens migrated,, new colleagues ,, overseas guests

carol

Hi Wenn,

I wish I could resign and be tai-tai... too bad, this is not the right time yet, hopefully next time when I have kids and financially more stable.

Dun worry about the sitting list cos it will change and change till you confirm with hotel. If your ballroom still has the capacity to increase, then not a problem, but if like mine, already max capacity, then it can become tricky. Can't tell both sets of parents to reduce, so in the end me and hubby got to reduce our tables for friends and colleagues. Luckily we got common friends, so not so bad.

I am sure your gown will look great too, do let us see your photos when they are ready.

wenn

Hallo Carol,

Well, life is really stressful & competitive here. Like what they are saying now.. really ex to have kids.

The problem is that my dad said he wun invite all relatives, only a few... then now, he went to tell them to bring their families.. We can increase tables but since mine is on a friday, I'm not sure if all guests would turn up.

Anyway, my guy just told me that he can cut his list of classmates. So that's a relieve. Anyway, will be getting my invitation cards done b4 the 7th month.

jojok

Hi Wenn,

Ai ya... all parents same lah... both FH & my parents also go round tell all relatives during CNY abt our wedding.

Since ur wedding in Nov, u dun need to rush your invitation card b4 7th mth ya? Thot I have to instead cos my wedding in Sep.

Guess, most of ur guest will still come 4 ur wedding though Friday cos most co. work on 5-day wk nowadays.

Seiko, where r u? Busy w the kids?

wenn

Hi Jojok,

Eh, it is the banquet manager that said that we should settle the cards b4 7th month... Maybe u can check out with ur banquet manager...

But my helpers will have to take leave lor... so must compensate a little for their ang baos...

Seiko seems to be very busy *wink*

pleides

I am so surprised to find this thread! Reading thru the message, and hearing those teachers' names once again. Really miss those days. I graduated in 1993.

To seagull, Mrs Martina Tan is Miss Martina Ng. When she taught me in Sec one, she was Miss Martina Ng. When I was in Sec two, she became Mrs Martina Tan..

Nice to see all of you here..

calyx

Hi pleides,

welcome here! this thread is abit quiet recently. why dun u self-intro abit?? when r u getting married etc??

Seagull, ur wedding is just over rite, can you update us on ur wedding?

pleides

hi calyx, surprised to see that someone respond to my message so quickly. Like you say, the thread is a bit quiet recently so I was a bit surprised..
From the earlier message, I think u are 1 year my senior right? I also had a lot of friends in girl guide, but I am not. Some of my teachers are Mr Lim Choon Tai, Ms Quek and Mr Ong. I think Mr Ong no longer teach in Hai Sing?
I will be getting married early next year, what about u?..

pleides

hi maro,
I think the first batch of sec.1 student in Pasir Ris shld be the 1990 batch right?..heheee...:p cos' I attended my Sec.1 in Pasir Ris in 1990...hheee...:p

calyx

Hi pleides,

Yes, Im 1 yr older than u. i was the last batch of all gals in Pasir Ris.

I was not taught by Mr Ong so not sure if he is still ard. i should be inviting Mrs Lowe and Ms Quek to my wedding. we met each other a few times when my fellow classmates invited them to their wedding.

My wedding in in Sep this year. have u confirm ur wedding venue, bridal package?

pleides

Hi calyx,
Mrs Lowe is the one who used to be in charged of the dance club right?
No, I haven't confirmed my wedding venue. Looking for it now. Where will your wedding be held?
You had your wedding photo taken?

maro

hi pleides..

So sorry.. remembered wrongly. I'm the 2nd batch of the new campus. btw, what ECA u were in back then? Have you gals been back to see the teachers?
I still remember Ms Quek.. i wonder if she still remember me?? Anyway, i believe quite a few of them have left the school already. Wonder how have they been doing? I was taught my Jamilah,Mrs Quek(homeEcon),Mr Ng,Mr Lee,Mrs Sito,Ms Lee,Mrs Sue Ang,Grace Lai,Angela.. Wonder how all of they already..

pleides

hi maro,
Ms Quek has a fantastic memory!!! I went back for a Hai Sing fun fair last year and I met her. She still remember me. While I were talking to her, then a few recent-year graduates from Hai Sing also came forward to her. Guess what? She told the few girls there, "She (referring to me) is graduated in 1993" *faint* I still need to count. She can really remember very well. So I guess she will still remember you ..

I think a lot of teachers we know are no longer teaching there..

I was in the dance club. what abt you?
how's preparation for your wedding..

calyx

Hi Pleides,

I'm not sure if Mrs Lowe taught dancing. ha..

My wedding will be held at Raffles hotel. me havent take my photos, will only take in June. just met my bridal designer, Ted Wu few days ago. gonna see the designs of my gown in 3 weeks time.

seiko

Wenn n Jojok, i called Ivan juz now n asked him 2 reserve the WG 4 me tentatively. Initially, I told him i wanted to mtm that gown. But he said there's no point in mtm 1 if i wanted an exact copy of it. He added that its new too. I asked, if i wanted that gown, wld any1 else get 2 wear it? he said once ive reserved it, he'll keep it in the storerm 4 me. I've thinking bt the gown ever since yest.... its juz wonderful... an unexpected find.... b4 i went there, i told myself not to have too high expectations, but was impressed by the new gowns they carried. I showed the pix 2 my colleagues, 1 of them even thot i went to Ted Wu *heheh* Aiyo, Ted's embroidery is unbeatable ... The Real thing, the gown i liked is a Kopi Cat :p
Most prob i'll take that gown ( otr ) since I really love the design. My worries initially were 1) if i mtm the same design, it may not turn not the same as what i saw in the beginning. 2) No point mtm the gown since there's absolutely nothing i want to change in that gown. Okie, now waiting 4 my next appointment on 3/3 2 confirm n try the gown again 4 confirmation.

Jojok, looks like we're sharing the same banquet manager
Zainal is friendly n sounds very enthusiatic over the phone.

wenn

Morning Seiko!
That's great! U reserved ur dream gown!

Me too! Reserved the WG 1st & they placed the gown in a separate room.

U gals know when is the summer sale in Aus?? Maybe wanna go there for HM...

sue

Hi Pleides: Nice to meet you. I'm a very senior HS gal, graduated in 1988. Mrs Martina Tan was my gal guide captain. She is a very nice lady.

Hi Calyx: Seagull wedding went very smoothly & she told me that she will be honeymooning during the CNY period, shld be back by now. Guess what, she & me were in the same class when we were in Sec 1. So happy to find a long lost classmate here and thru her, I got the update of other classmates. I like Ted Wu's wedding gown very much but I signed up with Bridal Veil. Will be taking photos in April.

Hi Maro: 1st batch of HS students shld be in 1989. I'm the last batch of students when HS was still in Upper Serangoon Road.

What subject does Ms Quek teach? Her name sounds familar but I can't recall, is she a new teacher?

calyx

Hi Sue,

Its so nice to hear from u and thanks for update on Seagull's wedding. Cant wait to c her fotos!

When is ur first fitting? mine will be early May and photoshoot in late June. I heard alot of good comments abt BV.

Ms Quek taught us English and History. Very fierce one but a very nice lady. ha..

pleides

hi calyx,
oh i know...Ted Wu. His design always got lots of detailed embroidery wan right? Went to his wedding show at Fullerton hotel last year... pretty impressive but I think real ex. right? So u got to look for your won photographer?

hi sue,
nice to meet u here too..

calyx

Hi pleides,

Me signed up with Ted during the fashion show last year. really like his embroidery lor. I have oso confirmed Montage as my photographer. He was tied up with Ted.

seiko

HI Gals! juz came back fr my bridal studio

got evrything settled loh!! wahhh, me the super chope chope type.... already chose my actual day EG ( otr again ) n also chosen all my outfits 4 PS!really a load off my mind now.... hubby also mtm a jacket since the contract only came wif a mtm pants. Phewww, i chose a 2 tone metallic green EG.... for PS, i chose a burgundy, a metallic purplish blue EG + my green EG. on top of that, got my actual WG, Kua, outdoor WG. total 6 outfits. Ivan said my CS not included in the 6, so ive gto 7 outfit changes... now a bit worried cos more outfits, means i may 2 order more pix.

Hey Joan!!! guess who i met at Santiago! remember Celestine Lee? she's gettin married this Fri, dinner at Hyatt, So farnie, cos after i tried on a go0wn n came out 2 show hubby, i saw him talking 2 a gal who introduced herself as his colleague ... after i got her name Celest, i was like thinking,: " ok, now she looks familiar." when i matched her name n face, i asked her if she's fr kc, n she said YES! alamak! we gave each other a hug after learning that we're classmates! Small world ya? She n hubby used 2 work at Neurosurgery unit. She even joked n told hubbu not 2 send cases ( SAR ) to her *heheh* I thot she was a doc, but later hubby told me she's a staff nurse.who's really nice 2 all there... juz like in sec sch hor? how's yr trip ?

Wenn
i bought 2 pairs of shoes fr Jwest ( the pair featured in newest Femalebrides n Her World brides) i bought 1 pair in white , 1 in gold. So at the moment, ive got 3 in total, plus the silver pair i mtm fr Leapin Lizard 4 my Rom.

I have no more fittings until 10 days b4 my PS, cos i told IVan i'm dieting, so he said 10 days is enuff time 4 them 2 make alterations... or lese the gown may be ill fitting if i have my fitting too early .
I'll be buying a tiara so am on the lookout nwhenver i go nshopping now

sorry 4 the typo m,istakes cos using hubby's PC tablet, so not used to the keys.

wenn

hi seiko!
wow, u r really fast!

all the gowns sound lovely.... can wait to see ur photos.... did u took any photos while choosing the gowns? Since both ur gowns are OTR, will they give u extra photos? My OTR EG entitles me to 3 more 15R photos for the album.

i know that Chryster at ChangeAlley, Raffles Place sells tiaras... for cheap tiaras, can try Arab St. Great! U have settled all ur shoes