Eczema problems

stepford

Just to share, I use Cetaphil's moisturising cream to prevent winter itch and apparently my gf who suffers from psorarsis tried using this and she claims that it helps somewhat.

For face, I have been using Shu Uemura's Depsea Water (unfragranced) to calm the skin before I apply Lancome Blanc Expert followed by Avene's Skin Recovery Cream. When skin turns sensitive, I will just spray on the Depsea Water and apply Avene's Instant Moisturising Mask for a few consecutive nights. And in extreme cases, I might even consume birdsnest for a few consecutive nights.

pinkbunny

hi stepford, oh winter itch is horrible! i get it even when it's not winter, but just cold and dry. this cetaphil moisturising cream - is it available in pharmacies? or need prescription?

stepford

The Cetaphil cream is available in Guardian Pharmacy, no prescription is required but if you are buying in bulk, you might want to check out Mustafa.

jengcc

Hi stepford,
i used to use those baby bath before switching to Dove (recommended by my doc) by i just can't seem to get the facial wash to work for me.. sometimes my face esp my forehead is so terrible that when i touch or littlely rub to ease the itch.. my whole top will b cover by the dead skin flakes.. my doc recommend me this cream with vit E from seba med.. but can't seem to c it at the phamarcies.. any idea anyone??

stepford

Hi JL & ZZ, it's good to have more ladies sharing their eczema woes here. Trust me, it took me alot of trial and error before I got some of the products right but I'm still trying so if anyone has anything to share, plse post them here.

I'm currently using Avene's Soapless Foaming Gel for facial cleansing and so far, it works pretty well for me. My skin does not feel stretched and is not red after cleansing.

I think you can try out Eucerin's products too. It's another reliable brand for sensitive skin.

pinkbunny

thanks stepford. i have a guardian pharmacy in my office building

gervynne

i am a victim of eczema too, but more on the body esp the joint areas instead of the face.

do i use cetaphil for it as well??

stepford

Hi Gervynne, we meet again!

I'm not sure if Cetaphil will work for you. I think it costs around SGD14 per tube. My gf with psorasis says it helps in her case.

jengcc

think really gotta go try some other products..
else can't always go out with red patchs on face n body.. esp. under spotlight damm obvious.. haizz..
>> Hi stepford,
where can i find that brand >> Eucerin n avene??
both at guardian phacmary have??

veevee

For eczema, u may like to try Renew Intensive Skin therapy. It's totally made from natural products, no chemicals and certainly no steroids. Price also reasonable, at $13.90.

veevee

Forgot to add, actually for eczema, it's important to watch your living environment ie.bedsheets, blankets, curtains, sofa etc. It's better if these are washed frequently and disinfected. Apart from that, it's the many toxins and chemicals that are contained in our household products that helps trigger eczema as people with eczema have very sensitive skin. It'll be best if the household products like detergents and disinfectants etc could be changed to environmental friendly ones, the ones we have in the market now contain chlorine bleach, phosphates or other caustic chemicals..

twinstars2112

I am a new registered user. I am also suffering from eczema for quite sometime. So sick and tired of the itching and redness esp on my legs and hands.

I went to see a GP at Woodlands (Martin Medical Center), his medicine is good for my skin, but the prob is once I finished his medicine, my skin prob came back. That mean I need to relie on his oral medicine, which I feel that it's bad for my health in long term..applying cream alone and using appropriate soap is insufficient as the small boils is very hard and can only reduced or recovered after I took his oral medicine.

Is the anyone other good health products for eczema? Or better GP in which can cure my prob?

I even went to see chinese doctor but of not much help. Chinese doctor said my blood in my body is hot..do u all know any kind of chinese medicine in which I can buy at Chinese medical hall or hearbal drink which can cool my blood condition??

icebaby0

Soon Bee,

My legs sometimes also come out eczema but it's due to dry skin. After I used this GP's medication, it worked. I didn't suffer anymore.

I think it really depends on pple. If u like, u might wish to try him.

Dr Kelvin Goh
8-11 clinic
Ngee Ann City Medical Centre
8th Floor

PM me for his full address.
His consultation fee is $20.

twinstars2112

Thks Icebaby

U mean after taking his medicine, u no longer need to see him? Any idea what is ur medicine name?? How much does he charge u per visit?

icebaby0

twinstar,

I was not given any medication to take.
I used the cream he gave me.
No name on the cream.

Each consultation is $20. If his medication works, u don't even need to see him to get medication, u just go and get the refills, so no need to get charge consultation.

The cream I use on my leg considered a "big bottle" only cost me $20.

Another thing, u can get MC from him too. *grin*

**Please note: depends on person, hence cream also depend on pple.

yyingg2

hmm...i tried those creams n stuff before...quite scary cos the doc told me they're mostly steroids so he advised me not to apply it unless i really cannot tahan the itch n all hehee

so later my fren intro me to an organic food product that really helped me to rid this irritating prob that has plagued me since sec school...wah can u imagine how great it feels to get rid of all these itchy pus-filled n sometimes bloody spots??? the feeling is amazing!!! great solution to my long-time eczema prob sia

twinstars2112

yingying...what kind of organic food product u took?..u mean after taking stuff product u no longer got eczema prob?..i understand the itchiness feeling...me cant stand it too..

juztea

I feel there is no 100% cure for eczema. The only way is to keep it in control. Applying too many steriods will cause skin to darken. So take supplements, good healthy diet, keep cool and stay away from stress! Heat and stress is the worst for eczema! Moisturizing is a must. I use QV creams and body wash. I prefer it way better than Cetaphil. Cetaphil makes me feel unclean.

Hi ladies and guys..me also suffering from Eczema from young (like 8 -9 years old)...it's usually outbreak at my legs and hand. Over the years it has accumulated many many ugly scars and marks..which make me very low self esteem. I dun dare to wear skirts nor i dare to go swimming at all.Same as you girls..visited NSC many times..all they can tell me is they can only supress it..there's no cure to it. How sad! Same here..they gave me moisturiser cream and also steroid cream of different concentration to apply on the eczema. But it just come back time after time. Yesterday i broke down in front of my GP...i just cried uncontrolledly when he say such a pity that i am so fair and good complexion and have this eczema problems.I ask him if he can cure me! I am so desperate as i really hate my own skin!! SO UGLY. My GP advise me that i shldn't be so obessed with my skin problems cos this is a quite a common skin problem. I can still do whatever i want..like swimming..or wear skirts and shldn't care too much abt what other views. But to me is..i really dun dare to. I hate tat kind of stare tat i get from ppl.I think of doing lasar to lighten the scar before..but no use..even i cure this scare..next scare will form a few months time. I know i sound very paranoid..even GP advise me to see a psychatrist if i needed. Just wonder if anyone feels like me also?? Due to my work stress and wedding prep stress..my eczema just get worst.Yesterday juz got injection from my GP cos iof the itch and infected wounds.

venusian

Hi Victoria,

Dun be too stressed out this time. I'm suffering from eczema too and I'm scratching my leg now,haha.

At 1st i was TOTALLY DEVESTATED like you. Scare people look at your legs and hands. I too dun dare to wear skirts. Always wear long skirts and jeans to cover up. When I 1st suffered from it, I was only 15 and that age, I also like to wear mini skirts and my school skirt was short. So people saw me straight away ask, what happen to leg! They have those goldfish eye staring at my leg until I feel like a weirdo.

But as time goes by and i grow older,my marks has faded a bit and I just let it be at natural course. My leg is still dry due to lack of moisturising it (too lazy to apply). But now i JUST DUN CARE.

I ever went to a hawker ctr and this man has i think, eczema or some skin problems on his face. It's those fierce and red rings form on his face but he still eat his lunch with his colleagues and as per himself. I was very amazed by his courage. If my eczema happen to be on my face, I think I wun dare to go out.

I think for your case, you need to learn to let it go. It's true that many pple in SG has this condition. Partly cos of weather and many many factors. Just try to control it and dun let others' comment affect you cos other people who stare at you may not know, they may get it the next time too.

So dun worry ok? Stay pretty and relaxed, I'm trying to salvage my hands too. My PG is this Dec 06 and my hand is so dry and so many scars and marks. I've tried using Vit E oil on my hands' scars and it does help. Provided it doesn't cause any reaction on your eczema.

venusian

Hi Victoria,

Dun be too stressed out this time. I'm suffering from eczema too and I'm scratching my leg now,haha.

At 1st i was TOTALLY DEVESTATED like you. Scare people look at your legs and hands. I too dun dare to wear skirts. Always wear long skirts and jeans to cover up. When I 1st suffered from it, I was only 15 and that age, I also like to wear mini skirts and my school skirt was short. So people saw me straight away ask, what happen to leg! They have those goldfish eye staring at my leg until I feel like a weirdo.

But as time goes by and i grow older,my marks has faded a bit and I just let it be at natural course. My leg is still dry due to lack of moisturising it (too lazy to apply). But now i JUST DUN CARE.

I ever went to a hawker ctr and this man has i think, eczema or some skin problems on his face. It's those fierce and red rings form on his face but he still eat his lunch with his colleagues and as per himself. I was very amazed by his courage. If my eczema happen to be on my face, I think I wun dare to go out.

I think for your case, you need to learn to let it go. It's true that many pple in SG has this condition. Partly cos of weather and many many factors. Just try to control it and dun let others' comment affect you cos other people who stare at you may not know, they may get it the next time too.

So dun worry ok? Stay pretty and relaxed, I'm trying to salvage my hands too. My PG is this Dec 06 and my hand is so dry and so many scars and marks. I've tried using Vit E oil on my hands' scars and it does help. Provided it doesn't cause any reaction on your eczema.

twinstars2112

Hi Victoria..

Dun be too sad..we are all suffering the prob...so currently which GP are u seeing??..I went to the GP recommended by icebaby at orchard..so far so good..cost me $100 for consultation, 2 types of cream and medicine...my skin condition has improved slightly n also under control. Previously I went to a GP at Woodlands..his medicine was v effective but in the long run, it's harmful to my health..

Try not to scratch it..it will make it worse (altot i know said is easy)..the itchiness is unbearable that u die die must scratch rite...

I didnt eat alot of food that is harmful to my skin...till now i still dun know what i am allergy to..coz i didnt take the allergy test which cost me a bomb...haiz..

Hi Twinstar and Venusian,
Haiz..I will try to let go lor....but still i feel so inferior becos of the scars.Really envy you girls able to face this bravely.It's really hard for me to have that courage.
My scars are all quite raw and new..hence very dark and visible.Not only that sometimes it's so itchy tat i scratch until bleed!During this peroid..I dun even dare to walk into shoe shops...even at home i try to wear pants..cos the ankle there all are scars.I jus feel very inferior..not only the pain i suffer from the wounds..the itchness..and the ugly markings!
Tat day i am really unbearable and go and see my GP at my void deck. This injection is quite good..after the jap..there will be no itch anymore..and the wounds will heal faster. But is only temporery..only last for a few months and come back. It cost me abt 60 whenever i visit him.

stepford

Hmm... thought I just share. I have been taking omega-3 supplements for the last 2 months and my hubs think that my complexion has improved tremendously!!! You might want to give this a go!

bliss79

Hi Victoria,
I understand how sad and no confidence we can feel. I also suffer from eczema. It started at the leg for many years. Recently on the hands also. More or less used to it, when people start staring at me. My eczema some times becomes very wippy. "Crying eczema" I was tell people the eczema is crying. I will cover gauze all over my legs. That even attract more staring eye. Begining i do cry, but now no longer. Be brave, don't scratch. Find out what trigger your eczema. Stress, food, dust .....

ii_yume

instead of taking steriod cream for eczema, it is better to use the green tea oil. only unicity has green tea in oil based. it is easily absorbed and is 100% natural. using steriod cream will thin our skin.

my friend's niece whom is only 4-5mth old is using it. it is safe for baby. it is safe for adults.

PM me for details. i have pictures for reference.

vkdwnett

like to share about an incident where one of our friend's son was having serious eczema, to the extend that every morning he will find blood stain on the bedsheet due to the scratching throughout the night. Now after using Renew Intensive cream together with the change of washing detergent he is totally cure. This is a true testimony. PM me for details. Cheers

vkdwnett

Have another incident where our friend's husband also having eczema on leg and back. He has been using all sort of cream - practically you named it he has it. After using the renew intensive cream, now he has throw away all other brands of cream on the dressing table. PM me for details. Cheers

pinkhippo2002

Did anyone tried TCM ?

I had eczema since I was a child. Initially was confined to the sore of my feet area. Now even spread to palm of my hands

I tried all sort of cream, even had jab once. It always re-surface. I want to get rid of the root cause, not just symptoms

I have seen a Eu Yan Sen doctor twice. no effect so far, but doctor already warned me eczema takes quite long time to cure, didn't give any promise because quite hard to cure 'root' of eczema

anyone can recommend a good TCM doctor who had cured your eczema permanently?

muscat

hi pinkhippo
seem to be bumping into u

i've eczema too. but mine is onmy face!!!! there;s really no real cure. I've a tube of steroid from my gp. but only use it when it's very bad cos long term usage will wear ur skin thin. but i have been taking pycnogenol and 3000mg of evening primrose for the past 6 months. seem to help curb eczema as now i only get very mild rash nearing my period

yanfen

hi.

i've eczema too.

it's nearing new year now and i'm gettin pretty worried over it. coz of you know, the relatives.. they'll start exclaiming over your skin and introducing you to all kinds of docs and stuff.

anyway, i've heard that aloe vera is good for eczema? how do you use it if you just buy the aloe vera plant itself?

in addition, does rebonding affect eczema? i would really like to go and rebond my hair for the new year. =)

actually my skin has been clearin up quite ok since i started seein the doc again. i've visited NSC, polyclinics, private clinics.. they all give me the same med. but coz most of my itching n scratching occurs at nite, and the docs give me this med which is supposed to help me sleep better, reduces my itch. also, the skin heals better n faster at nite, so not scratchin at nite helps a lot.
i tried the chinese doc before visiting a private clinic. there wasnt an apparent result after 3 visits so i gave up, lols.

sherrie

a few years back, i developed hives. i think the hives problem lasted for almost a year and it subsided after some usage of anti-histamines. however, eczema hit me afterwards. i just chanced upon this chat room. really understand how all of you feel. i used to like swimming and jogging alot but i havent swimmed for years cos of the scars (on my legs from scratching). i have also stopped jogging cos i heard from someone that when the body is "hotter", eczema will hit one again

anyway i doubt there is a long term solution for ezcema but we have to live our lives as normal as we can. stay positive! at least we are physically healthy!

ohstrawberry

I have mild eczema when i was young, it recovered gradually with all the necessary precautions to prevent it.
But strangely after a recent trip to BKK in feb, I had these "mosquito-bite" kind of bumps on my arms, body and legs, it's itchy and will leave marks when it subside. Seen doctor once but he said it's just rashes and only gave cream to apply. He said it's not eczema problem.
Anyone can advise and help? Cause the bumps still coming out now and then.

sok_yee

Can somebody pls pls advise me on my eczema problem?

I have eczema since 12, to me, it's real bad, with dry and red skin on my whole face, including my forehead. When I'm under the sun, my skin will get even redder. From what I read on this forum and some other webbies, it's impt to not to sweat or to stress...but the thing is, I have very active sweat glands and I have very oily skin, so it's not possible not to sweat.

Currently, I am using sebamed cleanser and cetaphil moisturizing cream. I'm thinking of switching cleanser, does anyone have very recommendations? Also, is there any spray that I can use to reduce the oil on my face? I always use tissue to wipe away the oil, but my face is very sensitive, it will turn very red after that, it seems as if I've gotten a slap...could someone pls help me? Thanks

ellew

do try Gaia bath wash as cleanser...its very mild as it doesn't contain a lot of irritants. I've used it upon recommended by my colleague & it's really gd! My eczema-prone skin is so much better now as i also use the moisturiser on my face daily. U can get Gaia range at Guardian pharmacies, baby section
hope this helps!

sok_yee

Thanks so much for your suggestion, I'll definitely go to the stores and check out gaia products.

It's so frustrating havinf eczema, esp. when the weather here in Singapore is so warm, anything can be an irritant @_@

shellie

Hi frenz, if u're still bothered by Eczema, and looking for a good cream & soap for daily use, do visit my thread "ECZEMA GET CURED". Post your email add there, and i'll forward u the information of this good product that has helped me and many of my frenz. No steriod, no irritants, no synthetic fragrance. U may like to take a look. Regards, Shellie.

purplebird

Hi all, I ask doc, she tells me eczema cannot be cured, only have to learn to manage, and keep stress level down! I have been using Cetaphil gentle skin cleanser and its moisuturing cream for years. Have tried QV, Avene but still prefer Cetaphil. For those, who likes to keep clean, have found out that Cetaphil gentle skin cleanser can be used without water..dry clean! So when I feel sweaty, I just rubbed a little Cetaphil on the skin folds and wipe off with a wet tissue!! No sticky feel at all. Maybe this will help you. : )

natsuk

No need to go for any treatment, I went to so many doctors and it keeps coming back. Try the Eurecin pH 5 lotion from watsons or guardian pharmacy. It works like wonders, apply after bath and after a week or two you can see the difference.

purplebird

Hi Natsuk,
You also suffer from eczema? I found that when I am stress or forgot to moisturise the skin, it comes back. I also tried Euccerin samples that were given out freely in the pharmacies. Somehow I find rather sticky and smell funny. Still sticking back to this Cetaphil Moistuising Cream. I recommend you to try too.

destinychao

My friend's son suffered from eczema since primary school.I remembered seeing his skin red and rough I heard that chinese medicine and acupuncture can help the itch and improve the scars. The last time I saw him, his skin has improved alot and the mum told me that he went for acupuncture. Those who suffer from eczema should try tcm and acupuncture.

cupcakejess

Ezcema can really be a pain. I have it too.

I read a few posts here that said some doctors gave you a jab and it disappeared. Please do not go back to that doctor again. He just gave you a steroid jab. Yes it cures it quickly, but it'd def come back and your body will have its anti-bodies, one day, even the steroid jabs won't work on you. Every yr, you can have max 2 steroid jabs cause its very bad for your health and body.

It'd be best to use steroid creams for a short while to get the inflammation away then use moisturiser to keep the area moisturise and clean.

There really isn't much you can do. One thing for me is that I try to find out what triggers the ezcema and do everything I can do avoid doing that or being exposed to that.

Ezcema really sucks, but I guess there is no cure except for long term care.