Eczema problems

catz

Hi :p

I've nagged him to see a specialist already ('cos his SAF MO always prescribes some lousy cream which doesn't work, dunno what it is). OK, will look for Dacktacort.. I guessed it was fungus too. He's too lazy to use the antifungal powder.. *sigh* Men can be sooooooooooo disgusting!

For him, his entire foot looks like it's rotting if he doesn't put Dermovate. It goes all purply and the skin peels off in big chunks. Yuck yuck yuck!

Thanks for the advice!

no problem catz!

I am still nagging my FH about his feet. Men....Now I start to understand why all the aunties like to nagged. I guess they are "trained" by their hubbies.

catz

Yeah, :p I'm trying not to turn into a nag but sometimes, can forget! Learning the fine art of 'FINE... BE THAT WAY! Just don't come running to me when your foot drops off!' Hehe...

Just realised that there is another person using :p in this forum. err.. the :p here is different from the person giving sex advice.

appletree

Dear ladies,

I have come across a health supplement recently which has helped alot of ppl ease the problem .. if interested do let me have your email address and will give u more info ... (",)

Appletree

ANY moisturiser will help to ease eczema. Eczema is worsened when the skin is dry and you itch more!

Amelia,
I agree with you the body butter series is quite good, but a bit too oily if apply at during day leh.

Another cheap way to moisturise will be using emulsifying ointment as a soap.. ie dun use any soap/shower gel etc. wash and rinse off with warm water. This way, the whole body will be coated with a layer of moisturiser. We always use this esp in kids.. their eczema can really be very very bad and soap worsen it.

chrysanne12

Hi Pochacco,

are u having this problem? if it is bad, it is gd to see a dermatologist as he will tell u whether it is an atopic or another type (can't remember wat is the difference between the 2 types)

u can try dermaveen, it is a lotion for itchy and sensitive skin, use it after bath or whenever the eczema area is dry, it was recommended to me by my dermatologist, it worked very well for me till today after seeing him abt 3 yrs ago

u need to drink lots of water and avoid very dusty places

demio

hi pochacco,

perhaps i can help. i know of someone who got completely cured of eczema in about 6 months. Perhaps you'd like to leave your e mail addy so i can give you more info?

demio

Hi Brenda, You've got mail..

Coco, seems to have some problems sending mail to you. can you confirm your email addy?

maya2715

Hi demio,

Since alot are interested to know can you not post it on this page so all who walks in can have knowledge of it as well.

many thanks!

a_mardjo

I suffers from eczema for several years (I got this from my dad's side)
and the steroid cream that the doctor gave me made me better only for a while.
When I stopped the steroid, the eczema was getting worse.
So, please avoid steroid creams.
But now, I use Elidel (it's a new medicine, just arrive in Singapore. You need prescription to buy it).
It's totally helping my skin. I never feel this good after so many years.
Maybe, you can go to your GP and ask about Elidel or Protopic (both are non-steroid creams).
For the moisturizer, I use Triceram. www.triceram.com.
Usually, I bought it directly from their website.
For your info, I am not related or earn anything from the above medicines and moisturizer.
The only reason that I told you all these is because I know how eczema can make you feel.
Not just your skin, but also your self esteem.
I just wish, somebody introduce me those products long time ago.

a_mardjo

You only can buy elidel or protopic by prescription. So, you need to go to your GP. That's what I did. Pls beware, the medicine is quite expensive because it's just being released in Singapre.

a_mardjo

I also need to warn you. The first few days that I applied Elidel on my skin, I felt a bit burn or hot, especially around my eyes area. But after few minutes, the burning sensation would be gone. Then when the skin is getting better, I don't feel it anymore. I think if you meet your GP or dermatologist, s/he can recommend you whether elidel or protopic is more suitable for your condition. I prefer elidel because it is milder than protopic. I don't like to put 'heavy stuff' to my skin since the steroids caused my skin worse.

inlove

I also suffered from Eczema, got it a few years back and it became worse. It will get better each time the doctor change the cream for me but over time, it will spread further. I am using Protopic currently. My eczema occurs at the bottom of both feet. Protopic brought my eczema under control and does not cause my skin to keep peeling. Steriod cream that I used before always cause my skin to peel and harden and worse, skin flaks everywhere. I bought Protopic from my clinic $62 for a small tube.

a_mardjo

I am glad that I finally found people that also encounter the same problems like me. I also encountered the same problems like InLove when I used steroid. But, the worst part was my eczema is on my face, so when the skin flaked, it looked like I had dandruff on my face. And it was very dry, no matter how much moisturizer that I applied on.

demi

I just went to see the doctor at Peace Center. He is very expensive, but he cure my problems when Skin Center cannot. Yah the lousy docs at NSC put me on steriods. I won't go to Skin Center again, now I know you pay peanuts, you get monkeys.

double_luck

i saw tis thread by chance.. and went to check on eczema.. days ago i hv tis 5 cents coin size reddness on the spot under the neck where my pendant is (start wearing week b4).. it was itching & i kept scratching..

then i decided dat i may be allergic to the pendant then i took if off & stop wearing but its stil itch.. then i use my 100% pure lemon essential oil and apply on the reddish spot.. the next morng, the red spot reduces in size & itch.. on 3rd day, its cured!

even my FH notices it & ask for the lemon essential oil to use on his leg..

if u want to try tis, my word of caution is: dont buy from unreliable source of essential oil becos the oil extracted has to be pure to be beneficial.. and it muz not be scented oil fragrance..

i tink a type of ezcema category is applicable here, may be for myself:

Adult seborrhoeic eczema

Characteristically affects adults between the ages of 20 and 40. It is usually seen on the scalp as mild dandruff, but can spread to the face, ears and chest. The skin becomes red, inflamed and starts to flake. The condition is believed to be caused by a yeast growth. If the condition becomes infected, treatment with an anti-fungal cream may be necessary.

btw, the lemon essential oil dat i use its antiseptic properities..

i also apply small drop on my scalp & its cleared up on my scalp as well after i see it work on my chest.. i always feel am allergic to my washing shampoo.. they say muz keep changg shampoo brand so wil reduce such problem.

i_panda77

Hi DL,

may i know where i can buy the 100% pure lemon essential oil? Cos I also suffer from skin problem...for very long, over 10 yrs liao. Went to skin centre but no use leh...now my feet got dark patches cos of the ultrascanning. Wear shoes very ugly. You can email me at [email protected] if its not convenient for you to post here. Thanks in advance.

demi

Don't buy the rosehip oil from organiconline unless you are prepared to pay extra.
They are overcharging about extra 50% if you do the maths.

http://www.nzpacific.com/Trilogy_Rosehip_Oil_Products.html

It's selling for USD$21 here.

Some person was aggresively promoting this organiconline website at another beauty forum I visit.

The contact for the Peace Center doctor is

Loke Skin Clinic. 1 Sophia Rd, Peace Centre, #04-20. (Beside Parklane & Paradise)

Tel: 63374926

Waiting time is about 30mins to 2 hrs. It is not cheap. Consultation alone is at least $50 iirc. Be prepared to pay depending on your medication, could go well up to the hundreds. I paid $70 in all, got one small cream only.

My ezecma is healing well, it takes very long coz I scratched it continuously for 6 months... a lot of scarring. Not itchy anymore, the scars are lightning.

From my experience, it's not wise to self diagnose or see a GP for skin problems. The stupid GP at polyclinic tot I got fungus and I applied fungal cream for 2-3 months before I went to NSC. Then the cream they gave me at NSC sucks.

cclyn

I need some advise. My friend's is having sensitive skin, GP said he is probably having eczema, and gave some lauric acid for him to bath.
Is it adviseable for him to use showerform with PH5.5, or any moisturizer or cream to apply.

junec

ccyln

Is it call lauric acid or lactic acid. My doc gave me lactic acide and that's all you need to cleaning no need for any other wash. It will be better to follow up with a moisturiser for eczema skin. Can get from Guardian just ask the pharmacist.

maya2715

Just wondering if anyone who read the SHAPE mag (oct) can share the info on Eczema and Bone loss article. I saw it in the front cover and cldt browse thro as it was in plastic. I just want to know what the article says.