Dragon Gate Restaurant

Ray,

For my past exp with my sis and frens's wedding. Most guests dun take so much hard liquor, compare to wines.

The restaurant manager also sugg me to take only 2 bottle of liquor for my wedding. He say maybe cannot finish too... Cos he've handle one wedding with 60+ tables, also can't finish 2 bottle of hard liquor!

I'll sugg if budget constrict... Just dun get red wine! Cos if too little, pp will start talking: the couple so stingy, only so little red wine, not enough... blah blah...

When pp are left with no choice, they will go for beer and liquor. Jus my 20cents worth...again...

Hi purelyz,

I understand..thats why my HB said dun cater for red wine at all!!

My HB's contractors and my dad's friends drink hard liquor..so six bottles should be enough..

Since when wedding dinners have red wine?? spolit the market, everyone getting red wine..and its not cheap. I can drink up to 2 bottles myself.. Imagine for a wedding dinner.

Im having 40 tables, so have to at least buy 72 bottles?? Looking at $18/bottle, its going to be $1296?!?!? With that $$, I can have another 2 tables, 20 guests!!

Since when red wine goes with chinese cusine??
There is no beef nor mutton..

Ray,
Ya, dunno who go spolit market... Menu got fish,prawns,chicken goes with red wine?! All white meat... strange. Maybe trying to have more "class" for chinese dinner...

Thousand over dollars for red wines only, a bit not worth it. U get which menu? i got the 3rd menu. Guest have to "bao" >$60 each then we can "earn" back the cost.

But too bad, my parents wan to have red wine for their friends... so have to get for all tables. They drink red wine often, so can't "play cheap' a bit, get the cheapo ones. But still luckily, mine only cost us abt $700.

Novel,

Nope. We got red wines from one of our friend. Got lobang. But cost about $15 per bottle. Have not order yet, so also not cfm the price. Bulk purchasing different pricing.

purelyz,
wan to know more abt the red wine....i tink value for $....izzit dry?

btw anyone knows whether can use D** one in the restuarant? when i made my booking....they say ok.....so now dunno ok or not coz james left....

FYI.....my invitation cards r ready..so anyone sending out in the mth of qing ming huh

Woof,
I check with my frens. Maybe if we order together can get lower price. U've any specific brand? How many carton u need?

another thread mentioned that carrefour sells wine on consignment, and also brought up the name winebos for wine. Too bad my lobang came before all the recommendations and was from my mom, so we bought our wine from her friend: we got 7 cases of jacob's creek for our 64 tables, left 17 bottles. $14+GST

hey gers,

anyone knows the ans to the earlier qn tat i posted?
can use D** one in the restuarant? when i made my booking....they say ok.....so now dunno ok or not coz james left....

purelyz,
will c how first..watz the best price tat u can get?

halo serene,

welcome....so hw many tables r u having?

hey gers,
this thread seems very slow hor...any updates....can ANYONE spices up this thread?

Hi woof,

I will be will D** one. shldn't be a problem. I did check with DG but they saw shld be no problem.

hey novel,
thanx...i oso haf those....

bluey,
thanx for sharing....

purelyz,
D = duty *=free *=...
relate to airport one

I'm Back !! Thank you one & all for you well wishes. I will post my pix when they are ready.. U
Oh, just a word of advice, pls arrange or remind restaurant not to give out the wine freely. We forgot & realised that few of our guests were drinking the free flow beer. I thought that some of the waitresses were like pushing the wine. We were left with many bottles of half drunk bottles of wine which cannot be returned.

Halo d_woof
I am having 40 tables... think about it... seems like a lot... heheh...
I am having the main hall... looking forward to my big day

hey PHL,
glad tat urs is over.....
u mean muz remind them to save the wine since there's free flow beer izzit? cannot really get wat u mean

hey gers,

juz collected my invitation card todae...
checked out the muslim's table price as well too

Woof,
Oh... DF wines... I'll be using DF wines maybe. If got frens can help.
U collect ur invit cards already? My FH still "dragging", say he can't cfm the no of tables yet. So headache... I told him that my family are "pushing" me to get the cards...

hi d_woof,
no problem.. we r here to share...

hi purelyz,
u can just collect the cards... den later den cfm the no. of tables... me oso not confirm ya... coz my parents n pil tables like got increase... so later toward may den i go n cfm with DG...

btw can let me know more at the details of red wine? coz my parents considering to have it?

My exams are coming so wont be able to log in as often but do keep me update. Retreat! ;) hopefully after exam, i can concentrate 100% on wedding preparation.

hey purelyz,
ya collected over the weekend....now haf to really start cracking my head to confirm the list so tat i can send out the invitation card....

so r u still ordering more red wines?

Woof,
We've not order the red wine yet. As there might be some changes, cos my FH's frens say can help us to buy DF wines everytime she go overseas. If u 've a preferred brand, u can go check out the price. Then i can help u to check how much my frens can get for you. He say usually cheaper than outside.

thank.

BTW I will be gng down to DG this sat to collect my invitation card. anyone got thing to check with DG?

hey purelyz,
will discuss wif my HB tonite n let u noe again

novel,
rem to get a copy of the floor plan too

update...

bluey --------- 28 May
d_woof -------- 4 June
novel_chew ---- 19 Jun
purelyz ------- 23 Jul
Ray ----------- 17 Sep
Angela--------- 1 Oct
elaine -------- 6 Nov
levynn -------- 28 Dec

anyone got any good wine to recommend>??
i need wine for my dinner too but sound like must buy alot hor then cannot be to cheap ones cos cheaper ones usually etaste not nice... anyone got good n cheapones to recommend?? If buy from DFS which brand taste nicer??....

helo elaine,
thanx for retriving the list...i was tinking abt it den i saw it...haha....
regarding the wine, as wat purelyz said, she has lobang...mayb u provide her wif the details n she might be able to give u advice

so bluey,
urs is next, so how's everything?

Elaine,
i'm not a wine drinker, so dunno which is gd. My dad's frens recomm one brand that cost btw $15 to $18.

U can go check out the wines in supermarket, write down the name n price, also the qty. I can help to ask my frens wat price he can offer.

Anyone? Any recomm of the brand to buy?

my preps still a lot not done... especially guestlist for my frends... feel veri demoralise after a few say cannot come... one even say tat he would give ap despite he come or not.. but still nvr say he coming or not...

i oso need to call DG to ask abt the prices if i wanna change some dish... red wine my dad still considering whether he wan or not... i headache leh...

work oso veri buzi... now i superstress feel like giving up n stop doing everything... hb oso veri stress up n we just like not communicating to each other a lot...

everything like not in place...

d_woof, how's ur getting on?

purelyz, how's marriage life?

bluey,

mine oso lor...in the "headache" stage of calling pple to come to the dinner

as u mentioned....gt to find "replacement" for those nt coming...i tok quite a long time to finally finalise the guest list but den after making the calls, got to strike off some names as they r not coming n tink of other choices

hw abt ur march in songs, MC, angbao box etc? all the small small things done oreadi?

hello bluey n d woof...

juz realised that both ur weddings r coming soon... (thanks to elaine for dragging out the list) anyway, no stress la... maybe try to take a few hrs off to relax then go back to "work". i'm sure everything will turn out fine.

anyway, me and hb also had a little disagreement abt the wedding banquet's date... sigh... dunno how also...

Bluey,
U r real stress... Must take care. COs must look best on ur BIG day! Still no marriage life, cos not married yet. Now buz wif hm renov, ROM coming soon...

Levynn,
Last time i also have "fights" over the dates. As we have to bring forward our AD to July due to DG have been bk on Sept.

Sugg: Jus sit down, list down reasons why u wan to have it "tat" date, and also listen to him. Maybe in the last u might think he is more reasonable...

hi levynn,
i agree wif purelyz,
i tink date is a minor thing.....hope tat u both will work things out...

from my experience, when comes to co-ordinating n sourcing for the things for AD, the bride is usually more ganjiong like me....so no grumbles lah..juz get it done n automatically the groom will chip in too!
ITz the guest list tat is the toughest part coz we both haf individual list n haf to do our part to call pple up n check whether they can make it or not

HOpe tat this info helps

juz a suggestion on the guestlist.
For a start, maybe both u and ur hubby can decide how many tables u guys are allocating for ur friends. For eg: if u have abt 35 friends, then keep 3 tables aside.
Then, leave the problem of the rest of the tables to ur parents/PIL... for example: total have 30 tables, 3 each for both u and ur hubby friends. that leaves 24. Then maybe 10 for gals side and another 12 for guys side. So juz inform both party tat they have this number of tables, and it's up 2 them to see whom and how many people they are inviting. Tat spreads the problem-solving to both side families rather than only both of u!...
One tip, when I invited my friends, I have allocated 12 person to a table coz I know for sure that not all people will turn up even though they have agreed to it. Even if on the AD, and all turns up, u still have the spare tables available!

Hi Levynn,
i do all co-ordinating for the AD, the more interesting things- deco, favour, music, invitation card, wines, photographer, videographer, venue for ROM, catering and etc...

Then leave the more troublesome things to my FH- GUEST LIST!

thanks for all the suggestions, ladies...

coz fh actually thinking of shifting the banquet to a weekend now... n maybe the tea ceremony remains on the 28th coz that date was chosen as a "good" date. so i was juz wondering is it better, or more feasible...

Hi Elaine..
My AD will be on 14 Dec at DG

Guess we brides are usually the more gan chiong kind. My hubby seems quite cool about our coming wedding......

Welcome....Serene...

new update...

bluey --------- 28 May
d_woof -------- 4 June
novel_chew ---- 19 Jun
purelyz ------- 23 Jul
Ray ----------- 17 Sep
Angela--------- 1 Oct
elaine -------- 6 Nov
Serene -------- 14 Dec
levynn -------- 28 Dec

Have been busy with nothing..
Actually, I busy with preparing myself for my photoshoots end of month.
Just went facial and dye my hair..

The parents said they are going to meet up in May and at the same time for food testing.. so that everyone will proceed to prepare for the AD. My AD in Sep..so it seems weird to have food tasting in May.

Anyway, I'm suppose to confirm the wedding cards by end of the month.. But I have more or less confirm the deco for the recept, my ang bao box is ready.. (I'm KS), corsages ready, march in songs ready (less the dinner songs).

And I'm cooking more often...
going to bake a butter cake for MIL, she has requested me to bake one at her house.
I have corrupted her mind in using her oven.

Wow ray,
i really envy u.....so well prepared...i m like dying liao...gt to juggle wif work as well as the prep.....my goodness, songs, ang bao box etc not done.......

me buzi buzi.. so a few days nvr log in liao....
work is still in a big mess n i haven official apply my leave... oh no...

wedding preps... guestlist most of my frends settle liao except for a few...

small small little stuff i buy liao.. but haven put together... now trying to revise my schedule...

hi purelyz,
sorry i make a mistake... how's ur reno getting on??

hi d_woof,
i had facing the issue as u leh.. headache man...

Ray,
I think food tasting in May for Sept wedding shd be ok. Better to cfm 1st than last min, all things cramp together. My AD on July, still not went for food tasting... signz...

U doing deco for the recept urself? I plan to get pro to do so... can save a lot of troubles. but now still in discussion stage. ang bao box i ask my FIL to buy from HK. corsages i plan to ask from my bridal. U handmade urself? Haha... march in songs ready and dinner songs all done... also very KS!

Seems that ur relationship with ur FIL very gd...

Enjoy ur wedding preparation!