Dragon Gate Restaurant

Hi Ray,

Actually, i also wan to pop in one wedding(a day before) to look at the deco and arrangement. But my FH say not very gd to do so, as he also dun wish pp to pop in to see see, touch touch on our wedding day... Signz... He say i'm over-reacting. So i jus hope nothing big crop up on our AD, or else, he'll be the one to blame for under-reacting! Hee...

Hi purelyz,

I agreed.. but its very contradicting to myself.. I want to take a look to ensure my AD will be smooth, yet I know I will not like it if someone else intrude..

I told my HB, that he is to ensure all things goes smoothly on that day. I will plan and coordinate all things, but on AD, i will pass the responsibility back to him. I will be there, smile and be pretty.

hi ray,
ya getting a florist for the deco.. i already tell the florist wat i wan.. but i worry mah.. so i wanted to give her some pixs n ideas so that she can do it nicely for me... headacche man... dunno wat i have missed up... now i have to keep wondering wat i miss out...

hi claire,
ur trip sounds fun n relaxing... 5 days in bkk is not alot mah.. just c c n eat eat... can spend more than 5 days liao... btw can i check with u hor... can DG play mp3 har?? me still wondering whether i should prepare my own songs for the dinner... seems like i really short of time...

Ray,

i've not go for food tasting yet... so maybe hope got wedding goin out that day, i can KPO.

I think for my FH, even i pass the respo to him, i'll worry whether he can do a gd job a not, cos plannin and coordination have been done by me from the start.

Bluey,
i'll sugg that u burn ur selected mp3 songs to CD better. If u've the songs in mind, it shd be fast to do so. Mp3 songs easily found on net. I'm asking my bro to help me with it.

If u wan, i can ask my bro for the website he go.

Clarie,

Thx for the contact. As for deco with the florist (big table bouquet, reception table, added leaves to the stage backdrop and provided rose petals for flower girl and tables), how much u spend total? Reasonable price? How much time u give her to work?

U mean ur table vase w number and photo table done by coordinator? Ur frens or u pay him/her? So Emily is the florist or coordinator? A bit blur...

halo ladies,
anyone got a floor plan of thr ballroom A....wan to get hold of the floor plan so tat i can plan the deco n march-in as u noe the aisle is damn short

hi purelyz,

thanks for the website.. would go n c c...

hi gals..
for the invitation card, any idea would there be any map printed behind the card? thanks

todae went down to get the floor plan of the ballroom.....

bluely,
i dun tink there's map...i guess everyone will know where the restaurant....

Hi.. I'm back. Was on a long leave & didnt access the site.
My prep's not too gd. We jst sent out the invitation card yesterday but verbally had invited & kinda confirm with one & all. Actually,I was at DG twice to settle some issues & witness 2 couples' wedding, including Claire's! (She did a great job with flowers & balloons) Since u r jst standing at the entrance, & watching discreetly, I thk it shld be alright la..

hi purelyz,

Emily is the coordinator. The table numbers done by coordinator. The florist charged us $75 for both vases of flowers, $25 for rose petals, $18 for the leaves onstage. The bride and groom chair sash/flowers were $10 each. The price varies according to the type of stuff you need tho. The more you need, the cheaper the stuff is
Ask Emily to get the quotation from the florist for you
Erm, the balloons on the stands? We called Em the night before AD (sat night!~) and she did the contacting for us. So I think they can work with quite a tight time frame. But dun stress them too much lah! I think they do my wedding a bit stressful...so many last minute things.

PHL,
Didn't realise you were there. So you probably saw me running around like mad helping out with the table numbers til my MUA came along and whisked me off to the changing room!

Now busy coordinating the assembly programme in school...give me my own wedding to coordinate anyday!

Hi Clarie,

I've meetup with Emily. She has told me abt the table numbers design. Now still waiting for her to quote me the flowers with the whole package. U mean ur VIP cetrepiece is $75 for both vases of flowers? $25 for rose petals and $18 for the leaves onstage are a bit too exp...
Ya, i also found out from Emily that the bride and groom chair sash/flowers
were $10 each. Total up all the decoration, out of my budget le.... But still hoping to get a good price from her..

Hi Claire,

Saw that you had many tables too! I'm having my headache now trying to group pp. (Having about 69 tables). Ha.. cant wait for the banquet to be over.

Btw, did you bring you own glasses to hold the rose on each of your guests' table? (Emily sd that they dont provide any) .

Actually, I didnt see you but only saw your hub & Raymond (he's my classmate from a tuition centre during secondary school days..)

Oh, for the rest of you, I jst learnt that Carefourre not only has a good selection of inexpensive wines, they allow returns too for unused bottles ;p

The VIP table one was $40, then the recep one was $35. FH actually did the rose petals on his own, but I KS, got Em to get one bag for me. Apparently, the rose petals were sufficient for all our 60+ tables and FH's ones not used...

Yep, we got the vases on our own. Bought them from Value$ shop...just $1.05 each, cheap and nice

PHL,
small world! Raymond was our uni mate, so he agreed to do the photography for us FOC. Of course, gave him a big ang pow for following us around the whole day.

halo PHL,
oh yeah my friend has her wedding..she mentioned to me tat carefour has consignment for the red wines..so unused bottles can be return..moreover, the price is nt too steep

Hi d_woof,

Check with u, u fax the invitation card form to them or personally send it dwn? may i know how long they took to send you the template?

hi novel,
i actually went down to pass the form coz i wan to c the difference b/w the colours.....
actually it takes abt a few daes b4 they sent he template to me...very fast

i confirm the template n send for printing oreadi.....it will take 2-3wks

hi phl/d_woof,

thanks for the information on map... I goin to get my card over this weekend... which card do ur choose har??

hi Beng Wei,
the min. table is 45.

Hi d_woof,

thanks for your info. maybe i need to give them a call to confirm they have receive my form if not... heard fr emily, kessler quit liao. haiz.she is my so call co-ord over at DG. Now don't know pass on to who? DG turn over rate very high. I booked the tables with ERIc and he's very good ,show me almost everything,sound system, lighting etc then he told me he's gng to leave soon now its kessler turn

Hi Bluey, I chose the One Heart Shaped BEIGH over the other color (white I think...) as mum sd older folks may not like the latter.

hey bluey,
no problem...i chose the peach wif one heart one...

hi novel,
ya beta call them to check as they onli nid a few daes to do the artwork....yeah lor, i booked wif james n heard tat he quit liao

hi phl & d_woof,
opps i choose the ivory card... bt haven collect the cards yet...

hi novel,
har kessler going to quit ar... she is also my so called coordinator... now dunno need to check with who on the stuff liao... haiz...

btw any gals know if it is possible to serve vegetarian by per servings??... for eg we order one table for vegetarian but the food are like spilt and serve to each guest sitting on separate table...

hi bluey,

yes, veg is by per serving. U just tell them before dinner where the vegs are sitting and they'll handle the rest. Confirm number of vegs a few days prior to wedding day. I had 7 vegs sitting at different tables, and heard everything was fine.
only muslim food must be by on a per table basis.

hi claire,

thanks. luckily can sit on different table. If not we would be having headache man. coz quite a no. of hb frends are vegetarian. but how much do it cost? by per pax or per table?
thanks..

hi claire,
r u refering to the muslim table which is of the same price as the rest izzit?
ok will check out the menu....

Muslim table is a separate price, not related to the menu we choose; gotta check with DG abt the price. Vegetarian menu is charged per pax.

Hi Claire, finally it's AD day tmr. Thanks 4 yr well wishes. With help from Raymond, I manage 2 do my Montage. He's an angel.
d_woof, I believe they hv set menu for both Muslim or veg if they r sitted together in a table. But for the indv'd who sit separately, they r charged per pax & items are slightly lesser than the full menu.

My last post for the 11 AD photographers contacts and package for reference have been removed.

Anyone interested to have the list. Please email to [email protected].

I'll reply u all with the list.

would like to hear ur comment. I intend to do without having red wine...wat do u all think? we do have hard liq... ...

Hi Novel,

I also intend not to have red wine, and I already have 6 bottles of hard liquor.

For my case, thinking of red wine cos of my colleagues and my husband colleagues of Management Level. I dun suppose they drink hard liquor nor beer.

Not having red wine, cos our relatives and most of the guest 70% are contractors and they drink more beer too.. It helps that DG has free flow of beer..

Anyway, if I got bonus, I will cater for red wine. No bonus, no red wine
I have source for red wine at a bottle of $18 each and I will only have 36 bottles.

will provide red wine with limited stocks lor..
i tink most youngsters drink red wine liao.....so even friends oso red wine...when i attend wedding, i oso drink red wine...
but den work within ur budget lor.......if nt u will suffer a lost...

hi d_woof & Ray,

yup agreed that youngsters nowadays drink wine but budget constraint...cos we attended my FH colleague's dinner at oriental hotel, the couple cater for red wine and guess what? after awhile, few tables started to request for a bottle and so on... the wedding couple told me 'heartpain' ah..cos after the dinner all glasses are 1/2 filled with wine. wasteful. 5 cartons left few bottles.

for my case, scare of this (cos my FH's friends are all from navy so can drink alot) cos if does nt cater enuf then abit wierd..somemore budget constraint.

my friend did suggest to have 'limited' wines but still considering.

Hi Levynn,
yup kessler left. maybe u can call DG to check with TOny. better to check.

Novel,
Great to see u here. Jus realise that you are the Novel we know during poly yrs... such a coincidence!

For the red wine, i'll use the "drink while stock lasts" tactic. I'll have 3 cartons for our 25 tables.

I've check with the restaurant manager. He say for his experience in wedding dinner, no matter how much red wine is not enough when guests start drinking.

He say his staffs will open abt 3 bottles 1st, depend on the no of tables. Then will only open new when last one finish. As he also noe that we can refund unopen bottles.

His staffs will sugg guests to take beer or liquor when red wine running low. And most guests are fine with it. Ya... i think they also can't do anything. Finish is finish... they also can't "magic" more wine out! Happy occassion, enjoy food... i think it's fine to 've limited wines.

I'll sugg 1 bottle per table. Then 1 carton for backup. As not all tables have pp that drink wine... Jus my 20cents worth!