Dragon Gate Restaurant

I guess they are worried that pp leave it last min. I only managed to confirm the no. of tables needed on 1st Mar & they managed to print out by 3rd.. Hee.. For the artwork, I think it's better to let them know earlier incase any mistakes.

I'm really sorry but FH has had some trouble at work so had no time to do the balloons. So he just told me at 8pm tonight that there wont be any balloon arches! Then we're difinitely not using the DG stands, so I'm not sure if we're going to have anything at all along the aisle
Those who were going to come and see, I'm really sorry abt this. You're still welcome to come and have a look at our setup, but at this moment, i'm not sure what it's gonna be.

We've decided on You Light Up my Life for 2nd march in and will save the heart of candles for when we reach the stage during 2nd walk in. Wedding music, I've decided to leave it to DG. Tony says they've got the usual love songs, so ok lah. Then first dish, they'll play all during the setup and let us choose

oh man...just got back to my parents' place, and it's hopping with my dad's family from taiwan. Really need to get some sleep...got drunk at my hen party last night and still a little hungover. unfortunately, my gran's put lots of stuff on my bed so I've no idea how I'm going to zzz. Hmm.

kk, shower, mask, and zzz...

claire,
congrats n hope tat tis dae will be a memorable one...rem to take fotos of ur recpt table....as well as the best part of ur life.....

claire... congratulations, girl! hopefully u have time to come in here to let us noe how things turned out on ur big day.

btw, ladies...
did anyone happen to ask if we can like deduct some money off or watever if we do not use DG's chocs as gifts for the guests?? thanks

hopes everyone is doing well! Im using 2 favour as well...my FH likes the choc and we are giving chopsticks also. but got the chopstick at a cheap rate..my friend went bangkok and she bought it for me. we just have to do the thank u msg and tie to it. just want it to be simple ;)

Woof,
I brought The body shop mini hand soap (passionfruit favour) from their sale. Then wrap it up like candy, tie with personlize ribbon. Each cost me less than 45 cents only...

Actually plan to buy from BBK, there sell very rose shaped candles... wrap indiv only abt 50 cents each. but my FH say no point spend extra to travel there.
That's my excuse to go there shopping...:-)

hi! have photos for the tables that I'll put up when I get the time. Will be flying to BKK tomoro, so maybe next wk

In general, went ok. Kept tripping over my train though
Some points. Pls check the first dish song...I didn't have time to choose coz was doing my makeup, then they blasted it...even I got a shock. Then one aircon was dripping on one of the tables, hope they fix that. There was also a cockroach in my young cousin's noodles! Thank goodness not in one of the seniors or overseas guests'food. In the end, they gave 2 tables FOC and 1 table 50% off. My mom complained recep too warm, but then I thought it was ok. At least ppl will be encouraged to leave the receop and get seated! There were also a couple of flies buzzing around the hall and not enuff hashima in the dessert...

Those were the bad things. Emily is an excellent coordinator, and v helppful. We requested for a change of love songs after the first 2 (for actual dinner) coz they were playing some sad heartbreak love songs, and they did change. Check on volume at all points in the hall. Food came out quite quickly and most said food was gd. first march in we requested not too dim, and so not too bad. I quite enjoyed it lah, but after taking photos at 62 tables, my face was numb...

will put up my photos asap ok
all the best brides!

Claire,

Welcome back in!

Cockroach?! That's really so bad... Files buzzing i think not much we can do... I've not went for the food tasting, so i'll take extra note abt their dessert. Which menu, $538 or $638 u get?

I 'll also take note ab the volume and lights...
Hope to see the pics soon... Enjoy ur trip!

Hi Claire,

Congrats!! The AD is over!!

The cockroach and flies not a good sight..Mental note taken to check the volume of the songs.

hi claire,
so gd for u....finally itz over.......wa..tat's quite bad for cockroach n flies being found...anyway luckily they compensate..at least they r doing something abt it......muz find out who is emily...enjoy ut trip.....

oh yes, which menu huh?

purelyz how abt u which menu? wow...u so nice...hw thoughful to wrap the favour up....did u buy for all ur guests?

Woof,
I got the $538 one cos i lov the dessert. But aft claire's feedback, i think i'll take special note of the hashima. Cos i only 've less than 25 tables, so jus wrap abt 250 to 280 favour. My FH dun like at 1st... He think DG choc is enough and i'm doin sth extra and spend more... But since i insist and i told him i'll get my frens to help... he've to give in... Hee..

We got the 638 menu. Am in the process of uploading the pics...it's a lot, but for friends overseas to see the entire day one. no time to email the link to everyone...leaving in a few hours! So anywayz, my photos are all at http://community.webshots.com/user/cljy80
restaurant pics can be found at the dinner ones. Still have some more not uploaded yet, will finish when I get back. Oh yar, and the chronology not qutie right yet. If u want to wait, it'll be all done nicely by next wed

claire, thanx
btw regarding the invitation card...wat do they mean by printing 75% of the confirmation no. of table??they dun print all.......

hey claire,
juz wanna find out..the deco wif balloons done by u or DG.....which part of the deco is by DG?

Woof,
75% of confirmation tables mean: if u got 10 tables, total of 100 person, they will print 75 invitation cards. They say is sufficent cos the invited people are usually whole family or husband & wife. So need not 100% of invitation cards...

hi purelyz,
so we no nid to go n source our own n print unless we dun wan to use theirs rite? oso wat happen is we dun haf enough? for example we nid 85% instead of 75% of the no. of table.......

Woof,
If u've preferred style, u may want to opt out their cards... but i think they do not discount your bill... so not worth it. U can try to neg with them, maybe need to pay? i also dunno, cos i think 75% is sufficent. Only my dad worries what if typo error... like write wrong words... Btw, some hotel only give 70%.

purelyz,
ok...i dun tink i wan to spend xtra cost on the invitation cards as i feel tat pple will c n throw away after attending the wedding.....no pt...typo error?? will it happen? they oreadi sent me the artwork for the internal part (for the insertion) liao n u haf to do the checking n confirmation.....so will error still occur?

hey anyone out there know the deco of DG....wat r the things they provide..oso after lookin at claire's fotos...i realise tat itz very dark when they march in.....heard fm my videographer (tat i m engaging for my AD)tat he had done one couple who held their dinner at DG n he mentioned tat for 2nd march in (fm the dressing rm if u using ballroom a) itz quite dark....anyone haf any idea?

Woof,
I mean 'typo errors' are by marriage couples. My dad afraid that he write words/name wrongly. Some mistake can use correction tape, by big one, nd to use another card....

I also think the march in very dark. I think i plan to keep the lights on, plus spot light=> for better photos! I think if the rm dark, plus spot light on us... we'll be too "shinning" to look at... Haha...

Hi dwoof,

The 2nd March-in is from the Dressing Room.
I'm also using Ballroom A.

It is dark when you march in. I also dunno what to do on the march in.. oh...You can ask DG to provide tea lights!!

I rem I checked with them before, they said they can put tea lights at the flower stands. So that it will add to the March in effect.

Can I ask, who you call to coordinate things at DG, that James Pang seem to have left.

hi ray....
i oso dunno who's the co-ordinator...but den the invitation card's artwork is handled by emily......read fm the previous thread tat emily is a nice lady.......James pang left? har i actually signed up wif him...so who shld we coordinate things wif?
will it helps if we add tea lights candles?

preulyz,
u tink so too rite? any idea how to "brighten" it with the lights off n the fotos turn out to b ok....

Hi d woof,

I called DG 2 weeks ago, they said James Pang left, so I also dunno who to liaise with. Anyway, I have sent a query to DG on the person to liaise with.

The tea lights are added to the flower stands. As the flower stands are located along the walk in area, it should help. As least my decorator said so, I'm liaising with a decorator recommended by DG.

agreed that its too dark during the march in. I think hoshi did said b4.
as for me, i will be using tea candles to brighten the ballroom. I don't think DG will provide the tea candles for each table.

hi...
anybody doing anything for the table number?? i remembered the last time i saw, they juz rolled up a pink piece of paper, made it stand up n stick the table number on it.

btw, my co-ordinator is kessler. she's quite a nice lady.

hey ray,
hw much did u pay for the decorator? dun haf budget for tis leh...juz wan the place to be brighten so tat the product of the fotos will b nice........

hey gers,
seems like tea light candles r the best option at the moment.....

levynn,
wat do u mean by rolling up a piece of paper? nt placing the number in a display card n den leave it in the stand meh.....die lah..so many things to follow up

I'm gng to send my detail for the invitation card printing. Anyone can help on what remark to put in?

Hi dwoof,

For the decorator, I gave her a budget to work on and asked her not too exceed. $300.

As ballroom A is small, I asked her to concentrate the reception and the stage. The walk in is too short to do anything.. She was proposing the balloons and sashes decoration, including making full use of the DG flower stands and tealights..

Oh.. I asked her to remove that love signage with the bride & groom names. My HB and I dun like it.

We removed the budget for the wedding favours for the decoration. Cos I noted most often, I dun keep nor use the wedding favours I brought home myself.. So chocolates from DG is good enough.

The decoration will be kept as memory in the photos..

Novel,
I plan to put in words like: "It's the happiest day of my life. Please be punctual" or " Appricated if reply by date" (i saw this fr forum). But my FH want it to be the trad way, so I didn't put in anything extra.

Ray,
Can i've the contact for your decorator? I tot to ask frens to do.. but a bit troublesome. So it's better to ask a pro.

hello ray...
may i noe when is ur banquet date?? did u n the decorator go down to DG n go thru abt wat u wan n dun wan?? i'm thinking of changing the deco a bit... but dun wan to spend too much $$$...

hello d woof...
it's like a piece of A4 paper, then u roll it up like a popiah... so can stand up, then the table number is stuck to the one end. i'll b using the smaller ballroom. i noe the bigger one have stands for the table numbers.

Levynn,
I tot they have normal, typical table no stands for smaller ballroom too. Cos last time i go, the manager show me le... u mean u saw them put the "popiah-style table no. stands"?

Hi purelyz,

You can contact Rachel (Pink Tangoes) at 91800506.
Just said you can recommended by Mandy (the one from Dragongate). She remembers me deeply cos DG spoke to her about me.

Anyway, I yet receive her drawings about the deco, she will only fax to me when she finished drawing.

Hi Levynn,

The decorator is the one who helped DG with their existing deco, apparently DG changed their deco once every 2-3yrs. My wedding date is in 17/09.

Oh.. The decorator seems to be doing not only decoration, they also provide wedding favours.
I saw that they have this small drawstring pouch, its very nice but cost more than $2/each...sigh..
I was joking with her that I dun mind having wedding favours at a budget of $0.50/each, my budget very tight..cos I allocated budget for video/photographer, wedding deco, bridemaid's gifts, the red packets & the red wine..Already in the red colour acounts..

Hope the info will help!! Cheerios.

hi ray,
when would the decorator pass u the design?? can share?? i still haven come out anything for my florist yet... oh no... my time is still tight liao...

hi levynn,
wa tat's sounds veri negative leh....the aisle oreadi veri short den plus this thingy....

oh ray...i find tat's a wise choice by taking away ur wedding favour budget n get a decorator to do the deco....but the thing wif mine is..i haf no budget for wedding favour too.....haix..
oso wud like to c the decoration as wat bluely requested.......i haf idea for my recpt table but den for the stage nothing.......thot quite ma fan n leave it as it is but den it looks very plain lor...

Hi Bluey,

Dunno when the decorator will fax over to me, cos I only met her up on last Saturday. I think the decorator already has the impression that I'm pushy, so give her a bit of space and time. Next week yet to receive, then I start to bug her.

I rem you have booked your florist very long ago..I tot you have your plans already??

Mine will be different cos no flowers involve..flowers very ex..although the decorator said can use flowers, but will be out of my budget.

Like d woof, I told the decorator that I just want to lighten up the dark colours at Ballroom A, as the carpet is dark red and the flowers on their flower stands are bright pink...

It should be something like Claire's photos.. the balloons decoration but I will have lesser cos the walk in is short.

Hi! Am back from BKK...was relaxing, and ex at the same time coz all we wanted to do was enjoy ourselves. In the end, spent a bit more than expected, but was a great break. Ppl still cant believe we spent 5 days in BKK. They're like, what on earth do u do there for 5 days??? Hehe...since before we leave everyone was like "must work hard ah!", so we say we working v hard lor!

We used the existing stands from DG and my coordinator fren got a florist in to do the balloons on the stands. The florist also did the big table bouquet, reception table, added leaves to the stage backdrop and provided rose petals for flower girl and tables. Cake decor done by FH aunt, table vase w number and photo table done by coordinator. We bought all the roses ourselves for them to use. Not sure how to calculate the cost since it's not all done by 1 person. Tea lights will be really pretty, but will be cleared off before/after first dish. All our vases w table no we just left on recep table and guests can take them home after the dinner if they like
I actually feel the florist that my friend found is reasonable and works within time constraint. If anyone's interested, I'll give u my coordinator fren contact. She's said she's advertised here, so maybe I'll look it up on the site before putting her name up.

ok, found her company. It's wedding creation. My contact is Emily, can say Claire rec. if you like what they did with the DG ballroom.

That reminds me, Emily will be the coordinator on AD. Liaise with Tony or Emily (I suggest Emily). He's the new manager (transfered from another ODS restaurant).

Sorry abt the Emilys...my FH said before wedding, he never knew any Emily and suddenly he knows 2...

Hi Claire,

thanks for the info. Planning to go thailand for aft my AD too. shop til drop?

I will check with wedding creation and pink tangoes that Ray recc. Budget constraint.

d woof...
i think got a lot of things need to go down n "inspect" personally. thinking of how to deal wif the table num thingy, n also the lighting problem during march-in...

Looking back at the list.....

PHL------------ 3 Apr
bluey --------- 28 May
d_woof -------- 4 June
novel_chew ---- 19 Jun
purelyz ------- 23 Jul
Ray ----------- 17 Sep
Angela--------- 1 Oct
elaine -------- 6 Nov
levynn -------- 28 Dec

PHL will b the next....wonder hw's her prep?

Hi Levynn and d woof,

WE can only go down to "inspect" when its our AD.
Whenever I ask DG will there be any weddings or can I pop by and see, they keep saying there is no need.

It could be due to the fact that DG has held many weddings and its our first time having our weddings. Then they think that we are overzealous.