Cooking Recipes as promised

Hmmm.... Carol, I wasn't the one who asked for black forest cake! Thanks anyway. Will be doing quite a lot this weekend - peach trore (spelling?), marble cake, blackberry muffins and chocolate chip and walnut loft. Hehehe, very ambitious right? Hope everything will be ok.....

Hi Carol,
It's me who asked for the black forest...thks!

Wow..Curly, that's a lot....
have fun baking!

hi carol, thks 4 the tip, maybe i was abit "cock-eyed"...

anyway i have the following recipe for strawberry short cake. But i'm still curious abt the following:

1. What is the "fold-in" method?
2. What is angel food cake? Where to buy?

Hope any "shi fu" can help me...

Recipe:

The Ultimate Strawberry Shortcake
===================================

1 quart fresh strawberries
1/2 cup sugar
8 ounces cream cheese, softened
1 cup powdered sugar
1 (8 ounce) container frozen whipped topping
1 (14 ounce) angel food cake, cut into cubes

1 Wash, stem, and cut strawberries in half.
2 Add sugar; toss to mix well.
3 Chill.
4 Beat cream cheese and powdered sugar well.
5 Fold in whipped topping and cake cubes.
6 Spread cake into an ungreased 13x9 dish.
7 Cover and chill for at least 2 hours.
8 Cut cake into squares; top with strawberries.

Thanks for all the wonderful recipes here... I always follow this thread, and printed out most of the recipe to try out when I'm free.

However, I'm quite disapointed to do baking... Because I'm using a microwave oven with convectional function, I only use those glass Casserole as usually those baking tins and pans cannot be used in microwave oven.... I always failed in whatever i baked...... SO SAD!

Anyone here ever use baking tins or pans in microwave oven with convect function?...

Since the convectional function is used, will there be microwave waves running? is it safe to use metal and non-stick baking containers???

THanks!!! really desperate to have my question answered.... thanks...

Hi Curly,
Ops, I made a mistake. I hope you have a great time baking all those delicoius cakes.

Hi Jaz,
The recipe I've posted here is a simple version, so best for beginners of cakes.

Hi Hippie,

1. Fold in method is a gentle mixing method. It is usually done after the main ingredients of the recipe have been blended together. The beaten egg whites are incorporated gently and delicately so that they will retain as much of their volume as possible. Folding also traps extra air in the batter.

2. Angle Fruit Cake is a sponge cake, which is categorized as Foam Cakes. It is leavened with stiffly beaten egg whites, but no yolks or other fats which. The beaten egg whites expand in the hot oven and cause the cake to rise tall, giving it a light texture.

You can just buy the cake mix from supermarket & follow the instructions as directed on the package to bake the Angel Fruit Cake.

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Meng,
Thanks for following this thread, I hope all the recipes are useful to you...

You can continue to use the glass Casserole for baking, your recipe may say a lower temperature. Usually if you use a glass dish you lower the oven temp. Glass is not a good conductor of heat, but it does KEEP heat well and tends to overbrown the item inside. So if your recipe says to bake at 325Deg, bake at 350Deg. If it already says to bake at 350DEg, then do that.

So far, I thnk it's alright to use bakiung containers but the baking temp & timing will varies, therefore it's addvisable to use glass Casserole to do baking in mircowave oven.

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Jes,
Here's the recipe for Pork chop.

Deep-Fried Pork Chop

Ingredeints:
- 400g boneless pork chop
- 4 eggs
- salt
- pepper
- 100g flour
- breadcrumbs
- Cooking oil
Method:
1. Remove fat & tendon from pork chop & pound. sprinkle wiht salt & pepper, rolling in flour, egg mixture & breadcrumbs respectively.

2. Deep fried in hot oil till golden bown, Remove & serve hot.

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Carol, I did all the 4 recipes but the muffins wasn't what I expected! Not too sure exactly what went wrong. Maybe I over mixed.... If the recipe says melted butter, do we really have to heat to melt it? Or just soft, mashy butter will do?

meng, I'm using microwave oven with conventional function (National). I've been using baking tins (metal & non-stick), so far there's no problem. When I was buying the tins, there were signs saying "do not using in microwave oven" but I suppose it actually means not to use when microwaving and when using the combination function. I have checked the cook book which came with the microwave and it says metal cookware can be used for baking. Maybe you can check you manual or the cook book.

Hi Carol

For No bake cheese cake, can I use oreo biscuits instead. How many to use? Is it use the pounder to pound?

What is the meaning of batter in the non bake fruit cake?

stars

Carol, another question - what's the difference between using a plastic mixing bowl, a metal one and a glass one?

hi carol,
u can ignore my qn abt the cream cheese.

Btw, what is dry sherry? where to get? Cos last sat, i went to NTUC, the staff there dunno what is that & said they dun carry it in NTUC. So where can i buy it??

Hi Curly,
If the recipe says melted butter, you can just wait till the butter is melted, then measure it. If not you can use the conversion chart to convert the tbsp to grams.

Cheers:
carol

Hi Stars,
I've not tried using oreo biscults, but the taste may varies in the final product.

You can use an electric mixer to grind the biscults & using a pounder will be fine.

Hi Hippie,
I glad to answer your questions..

Cream cheese can be purchased from Carrefour, Liberty supermarket or Cold Storage.
I don't think you can find it at NTUC.

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Curly,
There are not too much different between them, sxcept that usually for baking, metal mixing bowl & galss mixing bowl are widely been used 'cos of it's ability to mix the ingredients better & the temp of the ingredients are kept constant.
For baking baking, the 3 types are alright for using.

Hi Hippie,
Sherry is a cask-aged wine, ranges in taste from dry to medium dry to sweet. It's often used as a flavour in both savory & sweet recipes.
You can get dry sherry from Carrefour or baking suppiler stores.

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Carol,

I think you have been wonderful. are you a chef? haaaahaaaa!
Just want to ask if you have a simple recipe for making durian puffs and banana cake? i know nuts about baking ok? but i would love to try baking this if you have the recipe to share.

berries

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">carol</FONT>

my hubby got qn to ask leh.. he said he tried to deep fry chicken wings (dip wings in egg, then in ready-to-fry flour) but the flour all came off before the wing is cooked. what can be done?

Thanks Carol!! Guess what? My chocolate chip walnut loaf looked nice but it was a bit salty.... Sprinkled salt onto the baking tray instead of sugar without realising..... hahaha....

Hi Mandy,

Any idea where can I get callebaut chocolate... wondering whether I got the spelling of the brand correct... I can't seem to find it.

Hi Berries,
Thanks for your compliments...
No, I'm not a chief, hope to become one in the future, the chief of my family...

Yes, I do have the recipe of baking durian puffs &amp; banana cake. I came up with the durian puff recipe myself, no choice, hubby is a durian lover..
hahaha...
Sure, will post the recipe here for you.

Cheers:
Carol

hi all, just wanna share this recipe with u all...tried it &amp; not 2 bad...simple &amp; fuss-free

Mee Goreng
=========

Sliced green chilies
Sliced onion
Bean sprouts
Tomato sauce
Finely sliced cabbage
Cucumber
Yellow noodle
Quartered tomatoes
Eggs
Boil &amp; diced potatoes
Salt &amp; sugar
Minced mutton (or pork/ beef/ chicken)

Method:
1. Heat oil &amp; fry onion well.
2. Add minced mutton, tomatoes, potatoes &amp; cabbage.
3. Next, throw in noodles &amp; bean sprouts &amp; fry for a short while. Throw in green &amp; red chilies &amp; fry briefly.
4. In the center of the wok, heat oil &amp; put in the eggs, scramble &amp; mix with noodles thoroughly.
5. Season with salt, sugar, tomato sauce &amp; chili sauce.

you can omit some of the ingredients if u want, this is a really flexible dish...

hi lynn,

i just found a shop that sell all bakery supplies in woodlands ave 1, woodgrove.

maybe if u are ard this area, can take a look

mandy

Hi Carol

Thank you for answering my question.
Hi Mandy

Really you found the shop? Which block? Do you stay near there?
I will like to take a look.

stars

any crabs lover??

try this.

Salt and Pepper Crabs

Ingredients:

6 medium raw crabs
2 tbs sea salt
3 tbs oil
8 cloves of garlic, crushed
6 spring onions chopped
3 tsp crushed black peppercorns
fresh red and green shredded chilli.
fresh coriander.

Preparations:

1. Clean crabs,cut into 4 pieces.

2. Put in pan of cold salted water for 30 mins, drain.

3. Rinse and drain again dry.

4. Heat oil in wok and fry garlic for 2 mins.

5. Add crabs and saute for 5-6 mins.

6. Add spring onions to wok with pepper corns and a little sea salt.

7. Continue till crabs are cooked and in very little water to keep moist.

8. Garnish with chilli and coriander.

carol, need help, where can i get sea salt??

mandy

Hi i got the following recipe, looks pretty easy to make..

Home-made Crepes
==============

1 cup flour
1 teaspoon vegetable oil
1 1/2 cups milk
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 eggs

Method:
1. Combine flour, milk, eggs &amp; oil. Add salt.
2. Heat a lightly greased 6 inch skillet; remove from heat.
3. Spoon in 2 tablespoon batter; lift &amp; tilt skillet to spread evenly.
4. Return to heat; brown on one side only.
5. To remove, invert pan over paper toweling.
6. Repeat with remaining batter
7. Fill with your fave filling.

Btw, anyone can advised where to buy
- dried oregano
- herb stuffing mix
- Crockpot
- Swiss cheese ????

thks in advance....

Hi stars,
You are welcome....

Hi Lynn,
You may want to try Phoon Huat, they have lots of baking suppilers sold.

Hi Hippie,
Thanks for sharing the recipes, really look simple &amp; delicious.

Cheers:
Carol

Mandy,
<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Sea salt</FONT> is the result of the evoporation of sea water. The salt comes in fine-grained or larger crystals.

Cheers:
Carol

hi carol,

so sea salt is different from the one we always use at home?? if so, where can i get them??

mandy

May I ask if anyone know where to get those ready pack "red bean paste" that can use to make japanese pan cake and jelly ang ku kuih?

hi carol,
think u missed out my qns on the following???
need ur advices.....

where to buy
- dried oregano
- herb stuffing mix
- Crockpot
- Swiss cheese
- ground cumin ????

Hi Mandy,
Yap...
You can get it from cold storage or the supermaket at Tanglin Mall.

Hi jaz,
You can get them from Phoon Huat.

Hi Hippie,
You can those from the supermarket in Tanglin Mall.

Cheers:
Carol

Hi berries,
Here's the recipe for Durian puff &amp; Banana cake

Durian Puff
Ingredients:
- 1 cup water
- 5 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
- 1/4 teaspoon salt
- 1/2 teaspoon sugar
- 1 cup sifted all-purpose flour
- 5 eggs
- 300g Fresh durian

Method:
1. Preheat an oven to 400 degrees. Butter and flour a large baking sheet.

2. FOR PASTRY PUFFS: In a saucepan, combine the water, butter, salt and the 1/2 teaspoon sugar and bring to a boil. As soon as it boils, remove the pan from the heat and add the flour all at once. Using a rubber spatula or a wooden spoon, briskly beat in the flour. Place the saucepan over high heat and continue beating briskly for 2 minutes. Remove from the heat again and scrape the contents of the pan into a large bowl. Add 4 of the eggs, one at a time, beating vigorously after each addition until smooth.

3. Place the dough in a pastry (piping) bag with a 1/2-inch plain tip. Pipe mounds about 2 inches in diameter and 3 inches apart onto the prepared baking sheet. You should have 16-20 mounds in all.

4. In a small bowl, beat the remaining egg until well blended. Using a pastry brush, lightly brush each mound with the egg.

5. Bake until the puffs are golden brown, about 30 minutes. Transfer the puffs to a rack and let cool completely, about 30 minutes.

6. Place the fresh durian in a clean pastry (piping) bag fitted with a 1/2-inch plain tip. Pipe the cream into the bottoms of the cooled puffs so a little bit of the cream is exposed between the crusts. Replace the tops on the filled bottoms and serve.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Banana Cake

5071.jpg

Ingredients
- 4 oz cream cheese
- 1/2 cup butter, at room temperature
- 1 cup packed brown sugar
- 2 eggs
- 2 large ripe bananas, mashed
- 2 cups all-purpose flour
- 1 tablespoon baking powder
- 1/4 cup ground almonds

Method:
1. FOR THE CAKE: Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Butter a 4 x 8-inch loaf pan.

2. Beat the cream cheese, butter, and sugar together until creamy. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well. Stir in the bananas, then mix in the flour, baking powder, and nuts. Spoon the mixture into the prepared pan.

3. Place in the oven and bake for 1 hour, or until a skewer inserted in the center comes out clean. Turn out onto a rack to cool completely.

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Angelia,
when we deep fried chicken wings, one of the important point is the temp of the oil. It must be hot enough &amp; secondly, the oil must cover the chicken fully.

if your hubby wanted to cover the chicken with ready-to-fry flour, try not to dip the wings is egg mixture, as egg is easily been cooked, it will fall off the wings before the wings are cooked.

Try to deep the flour mixture alone, just before putting them in the hot oil.

Cheers:
Carol

hi carol, check wif u: is confectioner sugar same as powdered sugar???

anyway here's another easy recipe:

Chocolate sauce for ice-cream
==============================

&frac12; cup sugar
2 tablespoons cocoa
1/8 teaspoon salt
1&frac12; to 2 tablespoons butter
&frac14; cup water (plus more if needed)
&frac14; teaspoon vanilla extract

Method:
1. Combine sugar, cocoa &amp; salt in saucepan
2. Add enough water to make stir-able consistency.
3. Add butter to cocoa mixture &amp; bring to a boil over medium high heat, stirring constantly.
4. Allow to boil for 1 min, stirring.
5. Remove from heat &amp; add vanilla.
6. Serve warm over ice-cream.

Hi Hippie,
Yes, you are right. Confectioner sugar is also known as powdered or icing sugar.

Thanks for sharing the nice recipe, have you try making that yourself?

Cheers:
Carol

hi carol,

unfortunately no...hehe....will try it this weekend cos i'm not tat free on weekdays...

anyway, i heard tat confectioner sugar can be self-made by adding cornflour to sugar. Is it correct?? pls enlighten...

Hi Hippie,
Hahaha... no problem, let me know how is it when you try it...

It true but the effect might not be that good, as you know confectioner sugar is finer than ordinary sugar.
If you are using the (DIY confectioner sugar) for baking, the mixing time of sugar with butter must be longer, to ensure all the sugar melts.

Cheers:
Carol

Hi hippie,
I've two nice recipes to try out. They are really nice &amp; easy to bake too!

Chocolate Truffle Cupcakes

5090.jpg

Ingredients:
- 1/2 cup butter
- 3/4 cup sugar
- 2 eggs
- 6 1/2 ounces bittersweet chocolate, melted
- 2 cups self-rising flour
- 2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
- 1 teaspoon baking powder
- 1 cup milk
- 12 Hershey's kisses or chocolate buttons, for decoration

Method:
1. Preheat the oven to 420Degree. Lightly grease a 12-cup capacity muffin pan.

2. Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Stir in the chocolate, flour, cocoa powder, and baking powder alternately with the milk. Spoon the mixture into the prepared pans and top each cake with a chocolate button. Bake for 20 minutes, or until cooked and a skewer inserted in the middle of one of the cakes comes out clean. Turn the cupcakes out onto a wire rack to cool completely.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Strawberry-Topped French Toast

5091.jpg

Ingredients:
<FONT COLOR="0000ff">For Syrup:</FONT>
- 3/4 cup strawberry preserves
- 1/2 cup strawberries, hulled
<FONT COLOR="0000ff">For Toast:</FONT>
- 4 eggs
- 1 1/2 cups milk
- 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
- 1/2 teaspoon minced orange zest
- 1 tablespoon sugar
- 8 slices egg bread or sourdough bread
- 3 tablespoons unsalted butter

Method:
1. FOR SYRUP: In a blender, combine the strawberry preserves and the strawberries. Pur&amp;eacute;e, scraping down the sides of the blender. Add water, if needed, to form a syrupy consistency. Set aside.

2. FOR TOAST: In a bowl, whisk together the eggs, milk, vanilla, orange zest and sugar until well blended. Working in batches if necessary, arrange the bread slices in a single layer in a baking dish with 2-inch (5-cm) sides. Pour the egg mixture over the bread slices and then turn them to coat evenly. Let the bread stand for 5 minutes, or a little longer if you like custardy French toast.

3. In a large nonstick frying pan over medium heat, melt 1 1/2 tablespoons of the butter. When the foam subsides, add half of the bread slices in a single layer and cook the bread until golden brown on the first side, 2-4 minutes. Turn the slices and cook on the second side until golden, about 2 minutes longer. (For drier toasts, cook them for 1-2 minutes longer after they turn golden.) Transfer to warmed individual plates, cover lightly with aluminum foil and keep warm. Repeat with the remaining butter and bread.

Cheers:
Carol

Hi anyone here know how to make bird nest soup? what grade to choose and the exact procedure?

Hi Carol

Do you have recipes for clam chowder??
I would like one without too much potatoes hehehe

Have anyone seen heart shape baking mould anywhere? I am looking for various sizes, at least 20cm height, those without the base, and thin metal outlining the shape...i found some but too expensive coz stainless steel, wan to get the cheapest possible coz using for 1 time onli

Carnation&reg; New England Clam Chowder
<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Ingredients</FONT>
4 slices bacon
1 pound potatoes, peeled and cut into 1/2-inch chunks
1/4 cup chopped carrot
1/4 cup chopped onion
1/4 cup finely chopped celery
1 (12 fluid ounce) can NESTLE &reg; CARNATION &reg; Evaporated Milk
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
2 (6.5 ounce) cans minced clams
1 cup milk
1/2 cup water
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Directions</FONT>
1. COOK bacon in medium saucepan over medium heat until crisp; drain. Reserve 2 tablespoons bacon fat. Return bacon fat to saucepan. Add potatoes, carrot, onion and celery. Cook, stirring frequently, for 6 to 7 minutes or until potatoes are tender.

2. COMBINE evaporated milk and flour in small bowl until blended; add to potato mixture. Stir in clams with juice, milk, water, salt, bacon, Worcestershire sauce and pepper. Reduce heat to medium-low; cook, stirring frequently, for 15 to 20 minutes or until creamy and slightly thick.

<FONT COLOR="119911">serves 4</FONT>

Cathie's Clam Chowder
6 slices bacon, diced
2 stalks celery, diced
1 onion, diced
1/4 cup butter
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
3 (8 ounce) jars clam juice
1 quart half-and-half cream
4 cups minced clams
ground white pepper, to taste

1 In a medium skillet over medium heat, cook bacon, celery and onion until onion is translucent. Remove from heat and set aside.
2 In a large saucepan, melt butter over medium heat. Whisk in flour to form a roux, cooking until bubbly. Whisk in 1 jar of clam juice, until smooth. Stir in onion mixture. Pour in half-and-half, stirring constantly. Stir in clams, reduce heat and simmer 30 minutes.
3 Season with pepper and serve.

<FONT COLOR="119911">serves 10</FONT>

Clam Chowder Canadian Military Style
1/2 cup butter
2 stalks celery, chopped
1 onion, chopped
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
2 (6.5 ounce) cans minced clams, drained with juice reserved
2 potatoes, peeled and cubed
1 (12 fluid ounce) can evaporated milk
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
salt and pepper to taste

1 In a large saucepan over medium high heat, combine the butter, celery and onion. Saute for about 3 minutes, add the flour and stir well to make a dry roux. Add the reserved clam juice to make a paste, then slowly add enough cold water to reach the desired thickness.
2 Add the potatoes, milk, thyme and salt and pepper. Reduce heat to low and allow soup to simmer for about 20 minutes, or until the potatoes are tender. Add the clams and allow to heat through.

<FONT COLOR="119911">serves 6</FONT>

Clam Chowder III
1 cup chopped onion
3 cloves garlic
4 cups peeled and diced potatoes
1 cup diced celery
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
2 (10 ounce) cans minced clams, drained with juice reserved
1 quart half-and-half cream
1/2 teaspoon white sugar
3/4 cup butter, melted
3/4 cup all-purpose flour

1 In a blender, combine onion, garlic and enough water to make a smooth paste. Set aside.
2 In a large pot, combine potatoes, celery, salt, pepper, onion mixture and juice from clams. Augment with enough water to cover. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer until potatoes are soft, 20 minutes.
3 Stir in half-and-half and sugar. Combine melted butter and flour, then whisk into soup. Cook and stir until thickened. Stir in clams and adjust seasonings.

<FONT COLOR="119911">serves 6</FONT>

wow angelia tks!! for mani recipes dunno which one to choose! but may I know wat is half-and-half cream and where can I get clam juice?