Cooking Recipes as promised

Hi Mandy:
Hey, I managed to get whole of some of the recipes from my Romantic Dinner for two collections. Just a suggestions of the menu. hope you'll find it useful.(More awaits)

Starter: Sweetheart Salad
Main Course: Veal chop with creamy mushroom sauce and mashed potatoes
Soup: Creamy Mushroom Soup
Dessert: Creamy Fudge Hearts

I've a recipe here which is good for Valentine as well, you may want to try.

Chocolate Strawberry Ice-cream Sandwiches

3403.jpg

Ingredients:
2 3/4cups flour
1/2cup cocoa powder
2 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4tsp salt
12tbsp unsalted butter
1 1/2tsp vanilla essence
1 1/2cup sugar
2 eggs
1tbsp milk
2 1/2tints strawberry ice cream

Method:
1. In a medium bowl, sift together flour, cocoa powder, baking powder & salt, & set aside. In the bowl of the electric mixer, cream butter, vanilla essence & sugar. Add eggs & milk, & mix until combined. Add reserved flour mixture, & mix on low speed until incorporated, scraping the sides of the bowl at least once. Divide the dough in half, & shape each half into a flat disk. Wrap each disk in plastic wrap, & chill until firm, about 1hr.
2. Preheat the oven to 300Deg. Roll dough out on a floured surface, roll dough to 1cm. Cut dough using a haert shape cookie cutter. Place hearts on a baking sheet; chill until firm. about 30mins. Remove from refrigerator; use a fork to prick the cookies all over with holes. Bake until just firm, 12-15mins. Let cool on wire rack.
3. With the underside of the cookies face up, spoon softened strawberry ice cream about 1cm to cover one side. Place matching cookies on top of ice cream, top side facing out. Transfer immediately to freezer to harden; repaet with remaining cookies & ice cream. Serve directly from the freezer.
(Sandwiches can be kept stored in freezer in air tight container for 3-4 days)

Makes 24 pcs

Cheers:
Carol

hi carol,

i got a little issue here!! i dun have a oven to bake!! so i can forget abt baking...
how har??

jia let liao... i think i will just pay money to eat at resturant liao..

mandy

Hi Carol

Do you have any sugar cookies receipe where I can bake some cookies to be packed into nice bottle as Valentine's present.

Can you send it to me if you have such a receipe.
Thanks !!! My email is [email protected]

Jazzilin

Hi Mandy:
Ops, I almost forgot about that, but fang4 xin1, the recipes from the menu that I've suggested don't require any baking.
Don't worry, if you don't like the above menu, I still have something else.

I'll sent it to you once it's done..

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Jazzilin:
I've dozens of recipes on sugar cookies, in fact if you look through the previous message from archive through Jan 30, I've posted a pic there for Valentine Sugar Cookies. If you're interested I could post the recipe here.

hi carol,

thanks!!! me will wait for your menu!!!
wat would u also sugguest as a gift?? i am totally lost at wat i can buy for him.

mandy

Hi Carol

I went through your posting and I like your
Valentine Sugar Cookies.

MMMmmmm the cookie look good.
Can you send me your recipe to email : [email protected] or post them here?

Thanks !!!

Jazzilin

Hi Mandy:
I've forwarded the recipes to you, I hope it will be useful to you.

Meanwhile let me share another good recipe for Valentine's breakfast.
Heart-shaped pancakes with strawberry butter & maple syrup

3434.jpg

Ingredients:
(For strawberry butter):
1/2cup unsalted butter
2tbsp strawberry preserves
(For pancakes)
1/2 box of pancake mix
vegetable oil
2tbsp butter

maple syrup, warm
fresh strawberries, halved lengthwise

Method
1. (For strawberry butter: beat butter in medium bowl until fluffy. Using ribber spatula, fold strawberry preserves. Spoon butter into small ramekin.
2. (for pancake): Mix butter according to manufacturer's instructions. Pour enough vegetable oil into small bowl to come 1-inch sides od bowl. Dip heart pancake molds into oil. Melt 1/2tbsp butter on griddle over medium heat. Place heart pancake molds on griddle, spacing 2 inches apart & allow molds to become hot. Working in batches, pour batter by about 1/3cupfuls into each mold. Cook until bubbles break on surface, about 3mins. Remove pancake molds. Turn pancakes over. Cook until bottoms are golden, about 3mins. Transfer to plates.
3. Serve pancakes immediately with strawberry butter, warm maple syrup, & fresh strawberries.

P.S: Strawberry butter can be made 3 days ahead. Cover & refrigerate.

Hope you like this too!!!
Carol

hi carol,

thanks... i got it and is reading thru it now and see if i can make it.. heehee

btw, wat is beets?

mandy

Hi Mandy:
Beets is a kind of vegetable, purpleish in colour when cooked. Some supermarkets like cold storage will have it.

Cheers:
carol

Hi Jazzilin:
I've e-mail the recipe to you.
Hope you will find it useful....

Cheers, & Happy Cooking!!!

Carol

Hi Mandy:
Yah it's like beetroots. If you find it too troublesome to look for as(as some supermarket do not sell this) you can use potatoes to substitute.

carol

Hi Mandy:
Hey, I've attached a image of beets, hope it's useful to you.

3453.jpg

Hehehe... I hope you'll find the recipes useful.

You mentioned that your hubby like steak, you may want to consider this recipe as well.
triangle_down.gif

coffee & pepper crushed steak

3454.jpg

Ingredients:
- 1 tbsp whole coffee beans
- 1 tbsp whole black peppercorns
- 2 steaks, each about 3/4 pound and 1" thick
- Vegetable oil cooking spray for spraying steaks
- salt

Method:
1. Coarsely grind the coffee beans and peppercorns in a food processor or coffee grinder. Press the mixture evenly on both sides of the steaks.
2. Spray steaks lightly with oil then grill the steaks over Direct High heat for 8 to 10 minutes, turning once halfway through grilling time, or until desired doneness.
3. Remove the steaks from the grill. Season both sides with salt. Allow to rest for 2 to 3 minutes before serving.

(The aroma of the coffee beans & the peppercorn is wonderful)

Happy Cooking!!!

Carol

Hi Carol,
wow, just reading the recipe for the coffee and peppercorns steak makes me drool, even without the picture! can't wait to try out that recipe 'cos i'm a true-blue steak-lover! thanks for the recipe! can i call you sifu? hehe.. where on earth do you get so many recipes from? your husband must have put on a lot of weight since you got together huh? hehe... my kitchen's ready already but haven't totally moved in so can start cooking soon.

Hi Catz:
Thanks, thanks for being so supportive in this cooking thread, indeed it has became very lively resently.

Well got some of the recipes from the wed sites, can't really remember from which one, my hubby will find them & save it for me,(he will spot those he like, & ask me to cook it for him)& some from cookery books, from my mum's recipes too.

No, in fact my hubby is not putting on a lot of weight, (if you have seen my ROM pics) both of us are skinny.

So you're a steak lover huh, actually my hubby aren't one till he got to know me.

Good new har, so you can start to try out the recipes.

Ok, since you are steak lover, let me share another recipe here.
Florentine Beefsteak

3459.jpg

Ingredients:
2 T-bone steaks, 1 1/2 inches thick (about 4 pounds in all)
1 tbsp olive oil
2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp fresh-ground black pepper
Lemon wedges, for serving

Method:
1. Light the grill. Rub the steaks with the oil and sprinkle with the salt and pepper.
2. Grill the steaks over high heat for 6 minutes. Turn and cook until done to your taste, about 6 minutes longer for rare. Serve with lemon wedges.

(This is one of the simplest, yet most succulent dishes from Italian recipes)

Carol

Hi Carol,

As both hubby and myself dont take steak, do you think I could replace the above 2 recipes with chicken instead? Will the taste be as good?

Stacy

here's another from TODAY. just nice for CNY

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Double Happiness (Butterfly Prawns in 2 Flavours)</FONT>

1 packet MAGGI Chilli Prawn Mix
1 kilo large grey prawns (at least six inches long)
2 tablespoons mayonnaise
1 small red pepper or capsicum, diced
4 dried red chillis, washed and cut into sections
1 tablespoon minced garlic

1. <LI>shell prawns, leaving tail intact. butterfly (see note), rinse in saltwater and drain. blanch the prawns in boiling water until they just turn pink (abt 8-10mins). drain and set aside. <LI>brown garlic in oil. add dried chillis, then MAGGI Chilli Prawn Mix and quickly stir in half cup water. when mixture bubbles, remove HALF the sauce and set aside. <LI>add diced red pepper to sauce and add HALF the blanched prawns. stir well to combine and remove to dish. <LI>add the rest of the prawns to frying pan, add the other half of the sauce and two tablespoon mayonnaise. toss well to coat the prawns. <LI>place prawns in mayonnaise sauce beside the chilli prawns. garnish and serve</LI>
cooking tips:
<FONT SIZE="-1">blanching the grey prawns in boiling water to cook them will prevent them from breaking up in the frying pan. you must have experienced stir-frying prawns only to see them “disintegrate”, leaving strips of flesh or roe behind. parboiling them also shortens the cooking process as you only have to make sure the prawns are tossed enough for the sauces to coat them thoroughly.</FONT>

Note :<FONT SIZE="-1">
  1. <LI>take a sharp knife and cut prawn half down the back. <LI>flatten prawn mean slightly, and cut an inch-long slit along the length <LI>insert the tail through the slit</LI>
</FONT>
<FONT COLOR="ff0000"><BLINK>Have a nice New Year !!!</BLINK></FONT>

Hi Stacy:
Yes, you can also chicken or pork chop for the recipes. In fact I've used chicken before, the taste is good.
Ok, I'll share a chciken recipe,

Chicken with tomato chilli sauce

3471.jpg

Ingredients:
(Tomato-Chili Sauce):
- 1/3 cup tomato sauce (puree)
- 1 tomato, finely chopped
- 1 tbsp plus 1 tsp lime juice
- 1 tbsp plus 1 tsp chili sauce
- 1/4 tsp Tabasco sauce
- 1/2 tsp salt
- 2 tsp chopped fresh dill
- Pepper to taste
(Chicken):
-6 boneless, skinless, single chicken breasts
-1 tsp plus 1 tsp paprika
- 2 tsp black pepper
- 2 tsp garlic powder
- 1 tsp onion powder
- 1 tsp salt
- 1 tsp dried thyme
- 8 tbsp butter, melted

Method:
1. FOR THE TOMATO-CHILI SAUCE: Combine all of the ingredients in a bowl; mix well. Stand for at least 1 hour.
2. FOR THE BLACKENED CHICKEN: Pound the chicken breasts lightly until thinner and of an even thickness.
3. Combine the dry ingredients in a screw-top jar, using more cayenne if a hotter mix is required; shake well. Heat barbecue or cast-iron skillet or grill pan for about 10 minutes, until very hot.
4. Dip the chicken into melted butter and sprinkle the spice mixture on both sides. Cook the chicken for about 2 minutes on each side, until a black crust forms and the chicken is cooked.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">The spice mix can be made several weeks ahead. Store in an airtight jar at room temperature. The sauce can be made a day ahead.</FONT>

Happy Cooking!!!!

Cheers:

Carol

Hi:
I just got another recipe to share, a heart shape cake which is ideal for Valentine's Day or any day to impress your love one.

Heart Cake

3481.jpg

Ingredients:
4 eggs
1/2cup sugar
1 cup flour
1/4 cup butter, melted
1tsp vanilla extract
1 drop red food coloring

(For icing):
1 1/2 cups confectioners' sugar
1 egg white, lightly whisked
1 tsp raspberry extract
2 drops red food coloring
Rose petals for decoration (optional)

Method:
1. Preheat oven to 250Deg. Butter &amp; flour a medium-sized heart-shaped cake pan.
2. Beat together the eggs &amp; sugar until pale &amp; the mixture forms ribbons, about 3-4mins. Sift the flour into the batter in 3 batches, folding in after each addition. Add the butter, vanilla, &amp; food coloring with the last batch. Pour the batter into the prepared pan. Bake for 20-30mins, or until a skewer inserted in the center of the cake comes out clean. Let cool inthe pan for 2-3mins before turning onto a wire rack to cool completely.
3.(ICING): Sift the sugar in a large bowl. Gradually stir in the combined egg white &amp; rasberry extract until smooth, about 1-2mins. Reserve 2tbsp of the icing for the decoration &amp; color the rest with 1 drop of the red food coloring. Color the reserved icing with the remaining drop of food coloring so that it is darker. Spread a thin layer of the paler icing evenly over the cake &amp; allow it to set. Fill a pastry(piping) bag with the reseved icing &amp; pipe small decorative dots &amp; a fine rim around the top edge of the cake. Decorate with rose petals if desired &amp; serve.

Carol

Hi gals:
<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Happy New Year</FONT>
I hope all those cooking on Valentine's day had an enjoyable time.
And that's including me &amp; my hubby, we both enjoy very much.
Hope to see more recipes here!!

Happy Cooking!

Cheers:
Carol

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Fudge Truffle Cheesecake</FONT>

Prep Time: 30 Minutes
Cook Time: 1 Hour
Ready In: 2 Hours
Makes: 14 servings

Ingredients
1 1/2 cups vanilla wafer crumbs
1/2 cup confectioners' sugar
1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/3 cup butter, softened
2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
3 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese
1 (14 ounce) can sweetened condensed milk
4 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1. <LI>Preheat oven to 300 degrees F (150 degrees C). <LI>In a large mixing bowl, mix together crushed vanilla wafers, confectioners' sugar, cocoa, and butter or margarine by hand. Press ingredients into a 9 inch springform pan. <LI>In the top of a double boiler, melt the chocolate chips, making sure that they are very smooth. <LI>In a large bowl, beat cream cheese until fluffy with an electric mixer. Gradually beat in condensed milk until smooth. Mix in melted chocolate, eggs, and vanilla. Beat with electric mixer on low speed until the ingredients are thoroughly blended. Pour the filling into the prepared crust. <LI>Bake at 300 degrees F (150 degrees C) for 55 minutes. The cake will seem underbaked in the center, but will continue to cook after you remove it from the oven.</LI>
<FONT COLOR="ff6000">"When the chocolate addict in you begs for a sweet fix, bake this fluffy chocolate cheesecake over a chocolate cookie crust. Decorate it with even more cocoa delights, such as chocolate-dipped fruit or chocolate whipped cream."</FONT>

Hi Angelia:
Thanks for posting the recipe. Well, the cheesecake sounds good. Have you tried making it yourself?

Hey, just got a <FONT COLOR="ff0000">Chinese New Year</FONT> recipe to share: <FONT COLOR="ff0000">Qi</FONT><FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Cai</FONT><FONT COLOR="119911">Yu</FONT><FONT COLOR="ff6000">Sheng</FONT>(Rainbow Fish Salad)

Ingredients:
- 200 g Raw Fish Fillet / Smoked Salmon
- 100 g Assorted Vegetables (Turnips, carrots, cucumber, leek and pomelo peel)
- 4 Tbsp Spring Onion (shredded)
- 2 Tbsp Ginger (shredded)
- 3 pieces of Red Chilli (shredded)
- 1/2 Tbsp White Sesame Seeds (toasted) SEASONING:
- 1/2 Tbsp Light Soya Sauce
- 1/2 tsp Minced Garlic
- 1 1/2 Tbsp Peanut Oil (heated)

Method:
1. Wash and clean the fish fillet, dry and cut into very thin slices. Make sure to remove all fine bones.
2. Shred the assorted vegetables, mix well with 2 Tbsp of shredded spring onion and 1 Tbsp of shredded ginger. Display as a base on the serving dish.
3. Display the fish slices on the vegetable base and garnish with the remaining ingredients.
Put the minced garlic into a bowl and pour in the heated peanut oil. Add in the light soya sauce. Sprinkle with the above mixture onto the dish. Mix and stir well before eating.

I believe this is one of the "must have" dish for CYN.
On the 15th day of CYN: Yuan Xiao Jie, also known as Chinese Valentine's day, I'll be whipping up some CYN dishes, will try to share some of the recipes here.

Cheers:
carol

been a while since we last share recipes. I found some recipes which is from Yan Can Cook. i think his dishes are pretty nice.. here it is

Bean Curd Seaweed Wraps (Taiwan)
Ingredients

Makes 4 servings.

16 dried black mushrooms
1/4 pound fresh bean curd sheet
1 sheet Japanese seaweed (nori)
8 canned baby corn, drained
1/4 pound Chinese ham, julienned
2 green onions, julienned
Cooking oil for deep-frying
Sauce
1/2 cup prepared teriyaki sauce
2 tablespoons chicken broth

Getting Ready
Soak mushrooms in warm water to cover until softened, about 20 minutes; drain. Discard stems and slice caps.
Cut bean curd sheet into 16 pieces, each about 3-inches by 2-inches. Cut seaweed into 16 pieces, each 1-inch wide and 5-inches long. Cut baby corn in half lengthwise.
Make each wrap: Place a piece of bean curd sheet on a work surface. Place a piece of baby corn, several slices of mushrooms, green onions, and ham over corn. Roll up into a cylinder and wrap with a seaweed strip; moisten ends with water and press to seal.
Cooking
In a wok, heat oil for deep frying to 375&deg;F. Add bean curd wraps and deep-fry until golden brown, 2 to 3 minutes. Remove and drain on paper towels.
Combine sauce ingredients in a saucepan; stir and cook over medium heat until heated through.
Arrange bean curd seaweed wraps on a serving platter and serve with sauce on the side.

mandy

Cookie Cutter Fish (Hong Kong)

3677.jpg

Ingredients
Makes 4 servings.
&middot; 1/2 pound skinless salmon fillet
&middot; 8 fresh shiitake mushrooms, stems discarded
&middot; 8 slices Chinese eggplant, 1/2-inch thick
&middot; 2 tablespoons cooking oil
&middot; 1/2 teaspoon salt
&middot; 1/2 teaspoon white pepper
Sauce
&middot; 2 tablespoons black bean sauce
&middot; 1 teaspoon sesame oil
&middot; 1 teaspoon rice vinegar
&middot; 8 slices taro root or sweet potato, 1/2-inch thick
&middot; Cooking oil for deep-frying
&middot; Plum sauce for dipping
Getting Ready
1. With a 1 1/2-inch cookie cutter, cut eight rounds from salmon fillet, mushrooms, and taro slices.
2. Place salmon, muishrooms, and eggplants in a bowl. Drizzle oil over all then sprinkle with salt and pepper; turn to coat. Let stand for 10 minutes.
3. Combine sauce ingredients in a bowl; mix well and set aside.
Cooking
1. In a wok, heat oil for deep-frying to 375&deg;F. Add taro slices and deep-fry until golden brown, about 4 minutes. Remove and drain on paper towels.
2. Place a grill or wide frying pan over medium-high heat until hot. Arrange salmon, muhsrooms, and eggplant slices on grill; cook, turning once, until samon is opaque and mushrooms and eggplant is tender, about 2 minutes on each side.
3. To form stacks: Layer slices of taro, eggplant, salmon, and mushroom. Arrange stacks, taro side down, on a serving platter with black bean sauce and plum sauce on the side for dipping

also from Yan Can Cook.

mandy

one more here, and it look sooo yummy!!!

Cabbage Rolls

3678.jpg

Ingredients

Makes 16 rolls.

Sauce

2 tablespoons rice vinegar
2 tablespoons oyster-flavored sauce
2 teaspoons sesame oil
1/8 teaspoon Chinese five-spice
1/8 teaspoon white pepper
1 tablespoon cooking oil
2 teaspoons minced garlic
1 small carrot, julienned
3 tablespoons julienned Sichuan preserved vegetable
1/4 pound bean sprouts
1 teaspoon cornstarch dissolved in 2 teaspoons water
2 tablespoons chopped cilantro8 large napa cabbage leaves
Getting Ready
Soak mushrooms in warm water until softened, about 20 minutes; drain. Discard stems and thinly slice caps.
Combine sauce ingredients in a bowl.
Cooking
Place a wok over high heat until hot. Add oil, swirling to coat sides. Add garlic; cook, stirring until fragrant, about 10 seconds. Add mushrooms, carrot , and preserved vegetable. Stir-fry for 2 minutes, adding a few drops water if wok appears dry. Add bean sprouts, stir-fry for 1 minute. Add sauce and bring to a boil. Add cornstarch solution and cook, stirring, until sauce boils and thickens. Remove from heat and stir in cilantro. Let filling cool.
In a large pot of simmering water, parboil cabbage just until just limp, 2 to 3 minutes. Drain, rinse with cold water, and drain again. Pat the leaves dry with paper towels.
Trim leaves to make rectangles about 4 by 8 inches; discard the heavy stem ends. If necessary, use a knife to shave any remaining thick white ribs to make the leaves easier to roll. Make each roll: Place a leaf on work surface with the stem end facing you. Spread 3 tablespoons filling in a band across bottom of leaf. Roll the leaf tightly to enclose filling. If made ahead, cover and chill until ready to serve.
To serve, trim ends of each roll; cut rolls in half. Stand the rolls on a serving plate so filling shows.

mandy

heehee.. this one look even more yummy!~!!!

Steamed Vegtables Rolls

3679.jpg

Ingredients

Makes 12 rolls.

1 large carrot, peeled
1 small daikon, peeled
3 fresh shiitake mushrooms or 1 portabello mushroom
3 Chinese chives or 2 green onions
12 asparagus tips
Dipping Sauce

1 teaspoon grated ginger
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1 teaspoon rice vinegar
1 tablespoon Chinese rice wine
Getting Ready
Cut carrot and daikon into 2-inch lengths. Slice into paper thin slices. Cover with wet towels to prevent drying; set aside. Discard mushroom steams and slice caps.
Bring a pot of water to a boil. Add chives and blanch for 15 seconds; drain. Place chives in an ice water bath; drain. Cut chives into 12 pieces, each about 4 inches long.
To make the rolls: Layer a slice of carrot over daikon. Place asparagus and a few slices mushroom over daikon. Roll up into a cylinder. Tie chive around cylinder. Prepare 5 more rolls with daikon as outer layer. Prepare remaining rolls with carrot as outer layer by laytering a slice of daikon over carrot and placing filling over daikon.
Combine dipping sauce ingredients in a bowl.
Cooking
Prepare a wok for steaming. Place rolls on a heatproof dish. Cover and steam for 3 to 5 minutes.
Transfer rolls to a serving plate; serve with dipping sauce on the side.

mandy

wow!! i am drooling liao.....

Shrimp Purse

3680.jpg

Ingredients

Makes 4 servings.

1 dried black mushroom
12 medium raw shrimp
1/4 cup fish paste
1 1/2 teaspoons minced water chestnuts
12 siu mai or potsticker wrappers
Dipping Sauce

3 tablespoons red vinegar or vinegar of choice
1 1/2 tablespoons soy sauce
1 tablespoon fine chili sauce
1 tablespoon sesame oil
Getting Ready
Soak mushroom in warm water to cover until softened, about 20 minutes; drain. Discard stem and dice cap. Shell and devein shrimp, leaving tails intact.
Place fish paste, water chestnuts, and mushroom in a bowl; mix well.
Make each purse: Place 1 teaspoon fish mixture in cneter of a siu mai wrapper; keep remaining wrappers covered to prevent drying. Place a shrimp, tail side up, on top of fish mixture. Gather up and pleat wrapper around filling to form an open-topped pouch with shrimp tail exposed. Place purses on a heatproof dish. Cover purses with a damp cloth while filling remaining wrappers.
Combine dipping sauce ingredients in a small bowl.
Cooking
Prepare a wok for steaming. Place dish in steamer. Cover and steam for 5 to 6 minutes.
Place purses on a serving plate. Serve warm with dipping sauce on the side.

mandy

Deep Fried Shrimp Balls

Ingredients
1 lb Shrimp, cleaned &amp; deveined
2 Bacon strips
4 Water chestnuts
1/2 md Onion
Salt
Pepper
1 Egg, beaten
2 tb Corn starch
Oil for deep frying

Instructions
1. Mince shrimp, bacon, onion or water chestnuts together until fine.
Place mixture in bowl.
Remove crusts from bread. Dice bread into very fine cubes.
Place cubes in shrimp mixture. Add salt, pepper, egg and 2 tablespoons corn starch to mixture. Combine thoroughly.

2. Fill a wok halfway up with oil. Heat oil on highest heat setting.
When you think oil is sufficiently heated, test the temperature of it with a small piece of bread crust. If it frys to a golden brown colour, then oil is ready for deep frying.
If bread crust fails to brown readily, then oil is not ready yet. If bread crust frys to a dark brown, then oil is too hot.
Shut heat off of wok, allow oil to cool 5 minutes before turning heat on again.
Retest oil with bread crust to see if it is of proper temperature.

3. When oil is ready for deep frying, take 2 teaspoons, dip into shrimp mixture and form a 1" diameter ball.
Drop ball into hot oil, Place about 8 balls into the hot oil.
Allow each ball to deep fry 3 minutes.
Turn balls so that each will fry to a golden brown colour.
Remove balls to paper toweling to drain excess oil from them.
Repeat procedure for deep frying rest of shrimp mixture until all of the mixture is used up.
Place shrimp balls on a serving platter.
Garnish with parsley or other raw vegetable.

mandysst

Hi Mandy Jie:
Thanks for sharing so many wonderful recipes from Yan Can Cook, he's one of my kitchen idol... One who can cook &amp; joke as well.
He's favourite sentence: Yan Can Cook, So you you...
hahaha...

Carol

Just got an breakfast recipe to share:

Baked French Toast with Raspberry Preserves and Toasted Almonds

3688.jpg

Ingredients:
For French Toast:
- 1 1/4 cups raspberry preserves
- 10 4x4x1-inch-thick slices egg bread
- 1 1/4 cups whole milk
- 3/4 cup whipping cream
- 1/2 cup sugar
- 3 large egg yolks
- 3 large eggs
For Almond Syrup:
- 1 1/4 cups light corn syrup
- 4 tsp sugar
- 3/4 tsp almond extract
- 1/2 cup sliced almonds, toasted
- Confectioners' sugar

Method:
1. FOR FRENCH TOAST: Butter 13x10-inch baking dish. Spread preserves evenly over 1 side of each bread slice. Cut slices diagonally in half, forming triangles. Arrange triangles crosswise in dish, preserves side up and overlapping slightly. Whisk milk and next 4 ingredients in large bowl. Pour custard over bread. Let bread stand 1 hour, basting occasionally, or cover and refrigerate overnight.
2. FOR ALMOND SYRUP: Mix first 3 ingredients in small bowl, stirring until sugar dissolves. Let stand at least 1 hour.
3. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Bake French toast, uncovered, until puffed and golden brown, about 50 minutes. Sprinkle with almonds and confectioners' sugar; serve with almond syrup.

Cheers:
carol

Looks like it's been rather quiet recently, everyone's too busy to cook?

Ok, just share a yummy all times favourite local dessert: Fried Banana Fritters (Goreng Pisang)

3952.jpg

Ingredients:
- 6 small half-ripe bananas
For Batter:
- 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
- 2 tbsp cornstarch
- 1/4 cup granulated sugar
- 1/4 tsp salt
- 1/2 cup water
- oil for deep-frying
- Powdered sugar
- Ground cinnamon

Method:
1. Peel the bananas and cut crosswise into 3-inch lengths. Set aside.

2. FOR BATTER: In a bowl, sift together the flour, cornstarch, granulated sugar and salt. Gradually add the water, stirring constantly, until the batter is smooth and thick enough to lightly coat the back of a spoon. Set aside.

3. Preheat a wok or deep saucepan over medium-high heat. Pour in oil to a depth of 1 1/2 inches and heat to 375 degrees F. on a deep-frying thermometer. Add the bananas to the batter. Using long chopsticks or tongs, lift out the banana pieces one at a time, allowing the excess batter to drip off into the bowl, and carefully lower into the hot oil. Do not crowd the pan; the fruit must float freely. Deep-fry, turning often, until golden brown, about 2 minutes. Transfer to paper towels to drain. Repeat with the remaining banana pieces.

Cheers:
Carol

hi Carol,

thanks for always sharing so many wonderful recipes.. i ve been following this thread but coz i basically dunno how to cook so got no recipes to share... paiseh....

ur latest fried banana fritters certainly looks yummy but can pls help to enlighten me in certain things?

can i get granulated sugar n ground cinnamon easily? where can i get these? coz i think usually places like ntuc also seldom see granulated sugar leh.. only got other types of sugar that is always aplenty but dun rem seeing any granulated sugar... if we cant get granulated sugar, is there any alternatives which we can use?

same for ground cinnamon... where can i find hah? any alternatives?

also, if i dun ve a deep-frying thermometer, is there any other way i can measure or know whether the oil is heated to 375 degrees F. already?

coz i wld really like to try out this fried banana fritters but ve prob with the above queries...

appreciate ur enlightenment... thanks a lot in advance... :D

Hi Islandpub:
You're welcome, It's my pleasure, I hope all those who love cooking would be able to cook all kinds of delicious dishes.

Don't worry, cooking skills can easily be picked up by regular practice.

Let me try my best to ask your query.
Granulated sugar is the term for the standard, widely used form of pure white sugar.

As for ground cinnamon, you can try to get them from those indian spices shop, some supermarket has it too, or even bakery supply shop like: Phoon Huat Ltd.
They have almost everything there.

If you do not have a deep frying thermometer, no problem, just heat the oil till it's very hot(little smoke coming out) or using my mum traditional method, insert a chopstick in the middle of the hot oil, when tiny bubbles are form between the chopstick, it hot enough for deep frying.

I hope the above it's useful to you.

Cheers:
carol

hi Carol,

thanks a lot for the enlightenment... hehehhe... now then i know granulated sugar is actually the common sugar we used... paiseh.. me so suah ku....

i juz noticed that u didnt mention where n when to add in the powdered sugar n the cinnamon... n also is this powdered sugar referring to those icing sugar powder?

Hi islandpub,
You're welcome....

Oh, the powdered sugar,is refering to those icing sugar.

The powdered sugar &amp; the ground cinnamon are part of the batter ingredients, so will be added in gether with the rest of the ingredients, like flour, water, salt etc....

Cheers:
carol

Hi islandpub,
Happy cooking.

Hey, wonder if you like Japanese cooking.

Here's an recipe to try out.
Shiitake Scallion Roll

3966.jpg

Ingredients:
- 2 tbsp vegetable oil
- 15 fresh shiitake mushrooms, stemmed, cut into 1/4-inch-thick strips
- 6 green onions, thinly sliced (about 1/2 cup)
- 3 tsp soy sauce
- 1/4 tsp coarsely ground black pepper
- 5 dried nori sheets
- 3 3/4 cups Sushi Rice

Method:
1. Heat oil in heavy medium saute pan over high heat. Add mushrooms; saute until mushrooms are soft and brown, about 5 minutes. Add green onions and saute 10 seconds longer. Transfer mixture to small bowl. Stir in soy sauce and pepper. Cool to room temperature.
2. Place nori shiny-side down on bamboo sushi mat. Using rice paddle, spread 3/4 cup Sushi Rice over nori forming 1/4-inch thick layer and leaving 1/2-inch border on long sides. Arrange 1/5 mushroom mixture horizontally down center of rice.
3. Starting with long edge nearest you and using bamboo mat as aid, roll rice-coated nori around filling jelly-roll style. Using gentle pressing motion, compress roll forming round or square roll. Remove mat. Using very sharp knife, cut roll crosswise in half. Cut each half into 4 pieces, forming 8 pieces total. Repeat with remaining nori, rice and mushroom mixture.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Cooking Notes: Shiitake mushrooms are meaty-flavored Asian mushrooms that have flat, dark brown caps usually 2-3 inches (5-7.5 cm) in diameter.</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">This recipe makes 40 rolls.</FONT>

Happy Cooking!
carol

hi carol,

thanks a lot... ya, me like to eat jap food leh.. but ask me to make ah... hmm... i dunno when then i will start on it... hehhehehe.....

Hi Islandpub,
No problem lah... In fact the starting might be a bit difficult, but once you've master it, you just can't stop...

Ok, just to share one of my favourite recipe which would be easy &amp; nice for weekend dinner.
Seared Scallops with Orange

3969.jpg

Ingredients:
- 2 tbsp cooking oil
- 2 pounds sea scallops
- 1/2 tsp salt
- 1/8 tsp fresh-ground black pepper
- 3 tbsp butter
- 2 scallions including green tops, chopped
- 1 tsp grated orange zest

Method:
1. In a large nonstick frying pan, heat 1 tablespoon of the oil over moderately high heat until very hot. Season the scallops with the salt and pepper. Add half the scallops to the pan and cook until browned, about 1 minute. Turn and cook until browned on the second side and just done, about 2 minutes longer. Remove from the pan. Add the remaining tablespoon oil to the pan and repeat with the remaining scallops. Wipe out the pan.
2. In the same pan, melt the butter over moderate heat. Add the scallions and cook, stirring, for 1 minute. Add the orange zest &amp; Cook until the sauce thickens slightly, about 2 minutes. Add the scallops and warm until just heated through, about 1 minute.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Cooking notes:Be sure to dry the scallops thoroughly before cooking so they'll brown nicely.</FONT>

This recipe serve 4.

Enjoy.....

hi carol,

hmm... this looks delicious... hehheh.. but hor, as usual, need u to help enlighten me in some areas...

1. wat is scallions n where can i get?
2. wat is orange zest? i know can get from orange rt? hehhe...

3. when u say 3 tbsp butter, how do i measure esp when the butter is hard (that's y need to melt over heat rt)? then before u melt it how to measure 3 tbsp of "hard" butter?

thanks a lot in advance for ur enlightenment...

Hi islandpub,

1. Scallions are also known as green onions and refer to a distinct variety of immature onions.
You can get from any supermarket or wet market.

2. Orange zest is the outermost layer of the peel of orange.

3. You can place the butter in microwave oven to melt &amp; then measure the desired amount.

Cheers:
carol

Hi carol,

Your hubby must be really lucky with your excellent cooking skills. Me... can't cook and have not cooked since my univ days....
The key to the husband's heart is through his stomach...
Is it alright for you to share your compilation of recipes with me ? my email is [email protected]... thanks so much ! I love looking at the pics of the food...
Yum Yum ! Thanks a million !

Hi Chemson,
Cooking has always been my favouite, so I try to cook all kinds of dishes for my hubby...

Oh, will try to email the recipes to you...

Here's another mouth watering recipe to share, it's spanish cuisine.
Garlic Shrimp

3985.jpg

Ingredients:
- 1/4 cup oilive oil
- 4 large cloves garlic, finely minced
- 1 tsp red pepper flakes
- 1 pound medium shrimp, peeled &amp; deveined
- 2tbsp fresh lemon juice
- 2tbsp dry sheery
- 1 tsp parrika
- chopped fresh flat-leaf(italian)parsley for garnish
- freshly groung pepper
- salt

Method:
1. In a pan over medium heat, warm the olive oil. Add galic &amp; red pepper flakes &amp; saute for 1 min. Raise the heat to high &amp; add the shrimp, lemon juice, sherry &amp; parika. Stir well, then saute, stirring briskly, until the shrimp turn pink &amp; curl slightly, about 3mins. Season to taste with salt &amp; freshly ground pepper &amp; sprinkle with parsley. Serve hot.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Cooking notes:
- Serve with lemon wedges, if desired.
- Red pepper flakes are coarsely ground flakes of dried red chiles, including seeds.
- Paprika is a powdered reddish brown spice derived from the dried paprika pepper.
- Flat-leaf(italian) parsley can be subsitute with normal parsley.</FONT>

Cheers:
carol