Cooking Recipes as promised

Hi carol,

Take ur time... Thks for sharing all those wonderful recipes. Your idea for Valentine gift is great!! Your hubby muz be lucky to have u!!

something from yesterday's STREATS.

Linguini Marinara with Chilli

400g dried linguini
2 teaspoons salt

For the sauce
3 tablespoons extra virgin oil (or canola oil)
3 cloves garlic, chopped
2 large onions, finely chopped
1 can (400g) diced tomato
2 tablespoons tomato paste
8 medium fresh prawns, shelled and cleaned
8 shelled mussels
2 medium squid, cleaned, each cut into 8 pieces
salt and pepper to taste
4 small red chillies
2 stalks fresh coriander, roughly chopped

1. <LI>bring a large pot of water to a rolling boil. keeping the heat up, add the salt and then the linguini. stir well so that the strands do not stick together. <LI>while the linguini is cooking, put olive oil into a pan and heat. <LI>add garlic and onins. cook gently till transparent. <LI>add tomato paste. stir well. <LI>now empty can of diced tomato into sauce. mix well and simmer for 3 minutes. <LI>add prawns, squid and mussels. add salt and pepper to taste. simmer 2 minutes. <LI>if sauce gets too dry, add some boiling pasta water. the seafood is cooked when the prawns turn pick. <LI>smash chillies with side of knife just to break the skins, fold into sauce. <LI>when linguini is cooked to al dent – just tender and not soft – drain off all water and return to pot. <LI>pour sauce into pasta, toss and divide into 4 portions. <LI>top with chopped coriander <LI></LI>
preparation time : 15 mins
cooking time : 20 mins.

Halo Mandy:
Thanks hor, I think I'll stick to this idea...
If you wanted to give him some ediable gifts, try making a Strawberry Bouquet
Dipped strawberries into sugar syrup &amp; tie them like a bouquet of flowers.
(I hope you know what I mean)

or, origami roses/flowers.

How about that har, I guess he'll be touched...

Carol

Hi gals:
I thought this would be a very nice dish during CYN....
Spring Roll (Zha Chun Juan)

3288.jpg

Ingredients
4pcs black mushroom, soaked till soft; shred
200g chicken meat; shred
100g bamboo shoots' cut into small sections
50g chives; cut into small sections
1 egg; whick well
10 sheets spring roll sheet

(seasoning 1)
1 tbsp Light soy sauce
1 tsbp cornflour
1/2tbsp oil

(seasoning 2)
1 tbsp light soy sauce
2 tbsp oyster sauce
1 tbsp sugar
1/2 tbsp salt
2 tbsp water

(sauce)
1 tbsp Cornflour
2 tbsp water

Method
1. Add seasoning 1 into shred chicken meat, marinate for 15mins.
2. Heat oil in wok, stir fry all shred ingredients, add in seasoning 2 &amp; stir fry well, pout in sauce. Stir fry until dry
3. Put one spring roll sheet on flat surface, add some fried ingredients on center &amp; roll up the sheet.
4. Closed the edge with whicked egg.
5. Fry the rolls till golden brown, serve.

Carol

Mandy, joker:
Try making this, very "siok" &amp; easy too....

Carol

here's another off TODAY

Ginger and Garlic chicken in Sesame Oil

20 cloves of garlic, topped and tailed
10 fresh shiitake mushrooms
6 slices of ginger, julienned (fine strips)
6 small dried chillies, whole
1 chicken, medium-sized, cut into pieces
1 tablespoon canola oil
2 tablespoons sesame oil
1 teaspoon cornflour, 1 teaspoon dark soya sauce blended in 1 cup water

1. <LI>wash and rinse chicken pieces. drain and marinate with 1 teaspoon salt and a little pepper <LI>remove loose skin from garlic cloves. cut straight across the top and bottom of the cloves, leaving them neatly sectioned. <LI>heat up canola oil in large frying pan. add garlic cloves and stir fry over high heat for 2 minutes. add ginger strips and continue to stir-fry until ginger browns and raises a fragrance. add dried chillies. <LI>add the sesame oil, followed by the chicken pieces. stir fry until chicken skin turns crisp at edges, for about 5 minutes. <LI>add the cornflour and water mixture. stir fry to mix well. add mushrooms. lower heat to a simmer for about 5 minutes or until chicken is cooked through. salt to taste. <LI>serve hot with rice.</LI>

Tips Tricks

<U>Skinning Garlic</U>
if you need minced garlic, separate the cloves and smash them with the side of a large cleaver. using the sharp edge, cut through the skin at the base of the clove and pull it away. the skin will come off easily. press down hard on the smashed garlic and give it a few quick chops. for today’s recipe, cut off the top of the whole bulb, turn it around and cut off the bottom. you’ll have neately sectioned cloves.

<U>Frying Ginger</U>
rinse ginger slices and jullennes and dry them well if you don’t want them clumping together in the frying pan. the “stickiness” in ginger is caused by its powdery residue.

Hi Angelia:
Thanks for posting the recipe here, it's really useful especially for those whom have missed a copy.

Just to share another recipe:

Spicy Shrimp Omelette

3300.jpg

Ingredients:
3 tbsp olive oil
2 lrage potatoes, peeled &amp; thinly sliced
1 large onion, thinly sliced
15 eggs
1 tsp salt
4 red chilli peppers, seeded &amp; chopped, or 1 tbsp chilli sauce
2 cups peeled, deveined &amp; chopped jumbo shrimp

Method:
1. Heat 2tbsp of loive oil in a pan over medium heat. When oil begins to smoke, spread half of potatoes evenly in pan, top with onion &amp; then add remaining potatoes. Turn mixture frequently until potatoes are cooked; take care not to burn them. Remove from heat.
2. Beat eggs with salt in a bowl enough to hold all ingredients. Stir in chillies, shrimps &amp; potatoes mixture.
3. Wipe pan clean, add remaining 1tbsp oil &amp; heat until smoking. Add edd mixture, reduce heat, shake pan &amp; run a spatula around sde to prevent omelette from sticking. When omelette is almost cooked, place a large place over pan &amp; invert into it.
Return pan to high heat, making sure nothing is sticking to it, add more oil if needed. Slide omelette back into pan, uncooked side down. Reduce heat &amp; cook until omelette is set throughout. Invert onto a plate &amp; let stand for a few minutes before cutting into wedges.

P.S: This recipe serves 8

Enjoy!!!!!

Carol

wow, thanks carol. it's really right to call u the "walking recipe"

me hv another one here.....

Blue Cheese Beef Tenderloin
Prep Time: 30 Minutes
Cook Time: 1 Hour
Ready In: 1 Hour 30 Minutes
Makes: 8 servings
Submitted by: J Miller

"This is a recipe for whole beef tenderloin baked and topped with a blue
cheese sauce."

Ingredients
1 (3 pound) whole beef tenderloin
1/2 cup teriyaki sauce
1/2 cup red wine
2 cloves garlic, chopped
4 ounces blue cheese, crumbled
1/3 cup mayonnaise
2/3 cup sour cream
1 1/2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce

Directions
1. Place beef in a shallow dish. Combine teriyaki sauce, red wine and
garlic; pour over beef. Allow beef to marinate in refrigerator for 30
minutes.

2. Preheat oven to 450 degrees F (230 degrees C).

3. Place tenderloin on broiler pan, and cook in preheated oven for 15
minutes. Reduce heat to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C), and cook for 30 to
40 more minutes, or to desired doneness. Allow to set for 10 minutes
before slicing.

4. In a saucepan over low heat, combine blue cheese, mayonnaise, sour
cream and Worcestershire sauce. Stir until smooth; serve over sliced
tenderloin.

Hi Angelia:
Thanks for your compliments...

I really like the recipe you've posted, woh, really got to try cooking it. Thanks....

I've one here which is nice &amp; easy too.

Chicken in chive sauce

3326.jpg

Ingredients:

- 2 pounds (1 kg) tiny new red potatoes (12 to 16 potatoes)
- 1 pound (500 g) boned whole chicken legs (thighs and drumsticks), or 4 boneless chicken breasts
- Salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste
- Flour for dredging, plus 3 tablespoons flour
- 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, plus 2 tablespoons butter at room temperature
- 1/2 cup (2 oz/60 g) coarsely chopped onion
- 2 cups (16 fl oz/500 ml) chicken stock or
- 3/4 cup (30 cl) creme fraiche
- 2 bunches fresh chives, coarsely chopped

Method:
1. In a covered steamer, steam the potatoes over boiling water for 20 minutes or until tender when pierced with a knife.
2. Meanwhile, sprinkle the chicken pieces with salt and pepper. Just before sauteing, dredge the chicken in flour and shake off the excess.
3. In a large saute pan or skillet, melt the 2 tablespoons butter over medium heat and saute the chicken for 2 minutes on each side. or until golden. Reduce heat to low, stir in the onion, cover and cook for 15 minutes, turning the chicken once. Transfer the chicken pieces to a plate: set aside and keep warm.
4. To make the sauce: In the same pan over medium heat, stir the stock or broth to scrape up the browned bits from the bottom of the pan. Raise heat to high and cook to reduce the liquid by a third. Reduce heat to medium low. stir in the crime fraiche, and slowly bring to a boil.
5. Knead the 2 tablespoons soft butter and 3 tablespoons flour together to make a paste. Whisk the paste into the sauce until smooth. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Simmer for 5 minutes, whisking often, until smooth and thick.
6. In a blender or food processor, puree the chives. Add the sauce and process until smooth.
7. To serve, place a chicken piece on each of 4 plates and spoon over some of the chive sauce. Serve immediately, with steamed potatoes on the side.

Happy Cooking!

Carol

since i am soo free, i decided to post some of the receipe i have collected over here

Urban Legend Chocolate Chip Cookies

Servings: 60

Ingredients:
1 cup butter, softened
1 cup white sugar
1 cup packed brown sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 1/2 cups rolled oats
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 cups semisweet chocolate chips
4 ounces milk chocolate, grated
1 1/2 cups chopped walnuts

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Measure oats into a blender or food processor, and then blend to a fine powder. Set aside.
2. In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugars. Beat in the eggs one at a time, then stir in the vanilla. In a separate bowl, mix together flour, oats, salt, baking powder, and baking soda. Stir dry ingredients into creamed butter and sugar. Add chocolate chips, grated chocolate, and nuts.
3. Drop by rounded teaspoons onto ungreased cookie sheets. Bake for 6 to 8 minutes in the preheated oven.

mandy

here is another one

Garlic Chicken

Servings: 4

Ingredients:
2 teaspoons crushed garlic
1/4 cup olive oil
1/4 cup dry bread crumbs
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
4 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F (220 degrees C).
2. Warm the garlic and olive oil to blend the flavors. In a separate dish, combine the bread crumbs and Parmesan cheese. Dip the chicken breasts in the olive oil and garlic mixture, then into the bread crumb mixture. Place in a shallow baking dish.
3. Bake in the preheated oven for 30 to 35 minutes, until no longer pink and juices run clear.

mandy

one more

Scott Ure's Clams And Garlic

Ingredients:
50 small clams in shell, scrubbed
2 tablespoons light olive oil
6 cloves garlic, minced
1 cup white wine
2 tablespoons butter
1/2 cup chopped fresh parsley

Directions:
1. Wash clams to remove any dirt or sand.
2. In a large pot, heat oil over medium heat. Add garlic; saute for 1 minute, or until tender. Pour in the white wine. Boil until wine has reduced to half its original volume.
3. Add clams, cover, and steam till clams start to open. Add butter, cover, and cook till most or all of the clams open. Discard any that do not open. Transfer clams and juice to 2 large bowls. Sprinkle with parsley. Serve.

mandy

Hi Mandy:
Woh, you have such wonderful recipe leh...
So many recipes to cook, looks like this weekend, my kitchen got to be very busy leh...

Carol

hi carol,

i always keep and keep but never bother to try at all... hahaha

i have more...free will put it up.

mandy

hi mandy,

haha, me too... my dad very scared to let me use the kitchen, afraid that i'll burn up the whole hse... so can only try after i got my own hse lor..

Hi Apple:
No problem, I'll try to send the recipes to you.

Mandy, so you love collecting recipes.
You know, I'll be trying the one that you've posted Scott Ure's Clams And Garlic, 'cos my hubby will be coming home early for dinner tomorrow night.

You may want to try making this for your hubby, let him Chi(1)zhai(1)Xin(1)Li(3), Tian(2)Zhai(3) Zhui(3)Li(3)

Glutinous Rice Ball with Red Bean Paste(Nuo Mi Ci)

3338.jpg

Ingredients:
300g Glutionous rice flour
50g Cornflour
6 tbsp sweet condensed milk
200ml boiled warm water
400g red bean paste
200g grinded coconut

Method:
1. Mix glutinous rice flour &amp; cornflour in a large bowl.
2. Add water &amp; condensed milk, mix well as soft paste roll.
3. Pour into plain container &amp; steam in high heat for 15mins.
4. Cut paste roll into 6 rolls while it cool down, press a hole on ball by thumb.
5. Steam red bean paste with 1tbsp of water until soft, let it cool down.
6. Filled red bean paste into rice balls's hole by a spoon, seal the rice ball.
7. Rolling the rice ball gently until the ball is totally sealed &amp; roll over on grinded coconut, dish up &amp; serve.

Carol

Hi Angelia:
Haha.... I usually scared of my hubby using the kitchen. He likes to spill onto the stove.

Hi Mandy, since you like to prepare breakfast for your hubby, I've a nice recipe here.

Chinese Porridge

3339.jpg

i{ingredients}:
1/2 cup rice
1/4 tsp salt
1/2tbsp peanut oil
2cups water
2cups chicken stock

(For Topping)
1/2pound tuna, sliced
2pcs of ginger, cut into thin strips
1tsp light soy sauce
pepper
1/2 tsp sesame oil
spring onion, chopped

Method
1. Rinse the rice with cold water, put into a large pot &amp; stir in the salt &amp; oil. Add water &amp; chicken stock. Bring to a boil over high heat &amp; stir the rice occassionally. Boil gently for 5mins.
2. Cover the pot &amp; reduce the heat to low &amp; simmer, stirring occassionally, until the rice is soft. Keep warm.
3. (for topping)Wrap the fish in a plastic wrap &amp; place in the freezer to freeze partially, about 1hr. Cut the fish into thin slices &amp; arrange on a serving plate.
4. In a bowl, mix together the ginger, soy sauce, pepper &amp; sesame oil; pour over the fish. Sprinkle the green onion over the top.
5. Serve the tuna on each bowl of the porridge.

Happy Cooking!!!!!

Carol

Hi Carol and Mandy,
Wow, really love those recipes you girls put up. Me love baking and stuff but do not have many recipes. Do hope to get some from you girls....... my mum has been making noise at me for not cooking much......

e-mail:[email protected]

Hi Cowie:
Welcome, Welcome... In fact I've posted quite a few recipes here, (if you look back into the achive) Will email some more to you.
Meanwhile I've one here which you would be interested to try it out.

Spicy Pepper Steak (Asian Style)

3344.jpg

Ingredient
1/2 tbsp chili or vegetable oil
1/2 pound cut-up beef
1/2 medium bell pepper, cut into 3/4-inch squares
1/2 medium onion, sliced
1/8 cup hoisin sauce

Method:
1. Heat wok over high heat. Add oil; rotate wok to coat side.
2. Add beef to wok; stir-fry about 2 minutes or until brown. Add bell pepper and onion; stir-fry about 1 minute or until vegetables are crisp-tender. Stir in hoisin sauce; cook and stir about 30 seconds or until hot.

Happy Cooking!!!!

Carol

Hi Carol,
Yup, was looking at those which you have posted. Sounds really yummy
Thanks for the latest one, but guess I have to substitute the beef to something else......we don't take beef

Hi Carol:
Thanks for sharing so many wonderful recipes, all of them look so delicious.
They really make me feel so much like to try them out.Would like to cook something for valentine's day, so do you have any desserts recipe that you could share here? Thanks in advance.

Hi Cowie:
Yah, in fact if you cook it with chicken or fish the taste is as great too.

Here's another recipe, chinese snack:

Pot Stickers (Guo Tei)

3346.jpg

Ingredients:
-8 oz ground lean pork
-1 onion, finely chopped
-1 cup finely chopped spring onion
-2 tsp peeled and grated fresh ginger
-1 tbsp sesame oil
-1 tbsp soy sauce
-pepper
- 24 round wonton wrappers
- 4 tbsp vegetable oil
- 2 cups chicken stock, or as needed

Method:
1. In a bowl, combine pork, oinion, spring onion, ginger, sesame oil, soy sauce and pepper. Mix well.
2. Place wonton wrappers on work surface and cover with damp kitchen towel. Working with one wrapper at a time, lay it on work surface and place 1 teaspoon filling in middle. Brush edges with water, fold wonton in half and press edges together to seal. Using your fingertips, pinch frill around each folded wonton if desired. Set aside, covered with plastic wrap. Repeat with remaining wrappers.
3. Heat 1 tbsp vegetable oil in heavy-bottomed pan over medium-high heat. Swirl to cover entire bottom of pan. Working in batches, fry filled wontons until golden brown on both sides, about 1 minute. Coat pan as needed with remaining 3 tablespoons vegetable oil.
4. Return pot stickers to pan and add enough stock to come halfway up the sides of pot stickers. Cover and simmer until stock is almost absorbed, about 10 minutes. Uncover and cook until stock is completely absorbed and bottoms of pot stickers are crisp. Repeat with remaining pot stickers.

Cheers...
Carol

Hi Carol,
Wow, you really amaze me with the amount of recipes you have!!!! Really looking forward to receiving the rest of the "treasures" you have in my mail-box

Hi Sweet:
I think if you are looking at making a desserts for yor partner, I've a nice recipe for you.

Chocolate Box of cookies

3352.jpg

It's easy &amp; the rewarding!!!

Maybe, you could give me your email, &amp; I'll send it to you.

Carol

hi carol,

heehee... the congee and the guo tei which u post up, is something which i am good at.

i learn shui jiao and guo tei from a chinese nationality when i tour china and my record was eating 40 shui jiao for breakfast. thinking back, i think i am mad!!! ahahhaah....

my family love the congee which i cook.

i am going to see thru my file and see if i can get more stuff for you gals to bake. I dun like baking.... but i like to collect the recipe, in case it come handy one day.

mandy

hi, i dig out a few more here....

Banana Boats

Servings: 2

Ingredients:
2 bananas
1/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips
1/4 cup miniature marshmallows

Directions:
1. Slit each banana lengthwise through the peel, making sure not to cut all the way through to the other side. Stuff the bananas with marshmallows and chocolate chips.
2. Wrap each banana in aluminum foil and cook over a fire, on the barbecue or in a 300 degree oven for 5 minutes, or until chocolate is melted. Eat with a spoon.

mandy

one more....
but for brides to be.... this can be pretty fattening!!!

Cheesy Potatoes

Ingredients:
4 large potatoes, peeled and sliced
1 small onion, finely chopped
1 1/2 cups shredded Cheddar cheese
1 teaspoon margarine
salt and pepper to taste

Directions:
1. Layer the potatoes, onion, cheese, salt and pepper into a microwave safe casserole dish. Once finished layering, place 1 teaspoon of margarine on the top of the uppermost layer. Cover and cook in the microwave oven on HIGH for 10 minutes.
2. Remove the dish from the microwave and stir before cooking for another 10 minutes or until done. Stir well and serve.

mandy

Hi Mandy:
"Yuan Lai" you are good at these two har. So must ask you to cook for us when we meet up lor...
hehehe...

I love the Banana Boats, while the Cheesy Potatoes sound great too...

Thanks, Mandy....

Carol

hi carol,

ahaha..... i want to try yours, i amsure u are a much better cook than me...

hm... i have not tried the banana boats and the cheesy potato myself... would try that soon too.

mandy

Mandy Jie:
Haha.. Me a better cook??? No lar..
Hey, usually I'll only collect those recipes that I know I'll cook them. So I'll try out different ones every time. After trying out, will change the recipe to suit our taste.

Hey, tell me what else you like to cook, so can exchange for ideas.

carol

hi carol,

me har??? me good with stir fried tomato with prawns, diced chicken cube with dried chilli, congee, spagetthi with seafood sauce/clams, radish soup, etc... the rest quite normal. i have a major issue, i dun dare to touch fish... so if my hubby want fish, we eat out!! i like to eat fish, but dun dare to touch...funny hor...

heehee

mandy

Hi Mandy:
So there are many dishes that you are good with...

Don't dare to touch fish har,while I'm used to afraid of Chopping up a chicken, so usually my hubby will chop it up for me when I cook Curry chicken.
But, now quite ok lor, got to learn mah, Can't have to wait for me to chop for me everytime right...
haha...

Carol

Hi Carol &amp; Mandy,
Wow, you two are such avid cooks! I can cook but it's more like survival cooking I learnt when I was a student in the UK. I've stored your recipes into my Palm for easy reference
Thanks for sharing all your fantastic recipes. Can't wait to try Carol's creamy pasta and black pepper steak recipes!!!

Right now, still staying with my parents but our house will be ready on Monday 4th Feb so I'll get to try out all my new recipes then!
Quite fun hor? Although I don't think I'm the baking sort

Hi Catz:
Welcome to the cooking thread.

I'll try to post more recipes here so that you could try them out once your house is ready.
Well, cooking is really fun &amp; rewarding.
Here's a mouth watering one, a nice snack on a lazy sunday afternoon.

Orange-glazed chicken wings

3360.jpg

Ingredients
- 1 cup fresh orange juice (from about 2 oranges)
- 2 tbsp grated orange zest (from about 3 oranges)
- 6 cloves garlic, minced
- 1/4 cup soy sauce
- 1 tbsp brown sugar
- 1 1/2 tsp salt
- 1/2 tsp fresh-ground black pepper
- 4 pounds chicken wings

Method
1. Heat the oven to 200deg. In a large bowl, combine the orange juice with the orange zest, garlic, soy sauce, brown sugar, salt, and pepper. Add the chicken wings and toss to coat.
2. On two large baking sheets, arrange the wings in a single layer. Reserve 1/4 cup of the orange mixture and spoon the rest of the mixture over the wings. Bake for 20 minutes. Turn the wings over and baste them with the reserved orange mixture. Cook until just done, about 10 minutes longer.

Happy Cooking!!!

cheers:
Carol

Hey thanks Carol! I love any sort of chicken wings!!!
Yes, cooking is pretty fun.. really can't wait to have my own kitchen so I can experiment (and make my hubby eat all my failures...)hehe... Sorry I probably won't contribute any recipes 'cos I don't have any good ones (all stored in my mummy's head) but I will definitely post them here if I spot any.

Happy cooking! Enjoy the weekend!

Hi Carol,
Wow, really enjoy seeing all the recipes which you posted. You really never fail to amaze me
Your hubby must be really lucky to have you whipping out such spread for him!!!
Like Catz, I think I will only start to cook when I have my own place...... Think it will be quite fun!! Keep your recipes pouring in!!

Hi Catz:
Glad to hear from you again.I'm sure your cooking will be superior with more practice.

Hey, just though of sharing another recipe here.

Stir-fried Beef Noodles

3366.jpg

Ingredients:
3 oz thick egg noodles
1tbsp soy sauce
1/2tbsp hoisin sauce
1 clove garlic, crushed
1 tsp ginger, gratted
6oz round or sirlion steak, thinly sliced
1 tbsp vegetable oil
4 mushrooms, sliced
3 scallions, sliced
3 oz broccoli
1 tbsp beef stock
1 tbsp chinese rice wine
1 tsp sesame oil

Method
1. Cook noodles in hot water. Drain &amp; set aside. In glass or ceramic bowl, combine soy sauce &amp; hoisin sauce, garlic &amp; ginger. Add beef slices &amp; marinate for 30mins,cover &amp; set aside. Remain the marinate juice &amp; set aside.
2. In wok over medium heat, warm vegetable oil. Add beef &amp; stir-fry until meat charges color, 3-4mins. Remove from pan. Return pan to medium-high haet, add mushrooms, scallions &amp; broccoli, &amp; stir-fry for 2mins. Add noodles, beef, reserved marinate, stock, wine &amp; sesame oil. Cook until heated throughly, about 1-2mins.

Happy Cooking.

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Cowie:
Thanks for your compliments... Thanks to my hubby, he has never complained about my cooking.
I'll continue to post more here, so that more people could read.
Hey, I'm learning how to cook Japanese cuisine at the moment.
Maybe I'll share one of the recipe here, hope you will find it useful in the future.

Califonia Rolls

3368.jpg

Ingredients:
- 4 nori sheets
- 3 cups Sushi Rice
- 8 teaspoons ocean trout or flying fish roe
- 1-2 cucumbers, cut into thin, lengthwise slices
- 8 jumbo shrimp (king prawns), cooked, shelled, veins and tails removed
- 1-2 avocados, peeled, pitted, and sliced
- 4-8 lettuce leaves, torn or sliced (optional)

Method:
1. Lay 1 nori sheet on a rolling mat and put 3/4 cup sushi rice on it. Spread rice over nori sheet, leaving 3/4 inch of bare nori at far side and making a small ledge of rice in front of this bare strip.
2. Spoon 2 teaspoons roe along center of rice, using back of a spoon to spread. Add lettuce if desired.
3. Lay 2 shrimp along center, with one-quarter of cucumber strips.
4. Lay one-quarter of avocado slices along center. Add one-quarter of lettuce.
5. Roll mat over once, away from you, pressing ingredients in to keep roll firm, leaving the 3/4-inch strip of nori rice-free.
6. Covering roll (but not rice-free strip of nori), hold rolling mat in position and press all around to make roll firm.
7. Lift up top of rolling mat and turn roll over a little more so that strip of nori on far side joins other edge of nori to seal roll. Use your fingers to make sure roll is properly closed.
8. Roll entire roll once more, and use finger pressure to shape roll in a circle, an oval, or a square.
9. Using a sharp knife, cut each roll in half, then cut each half in half again. Then cut each quarter in half crosswise to make a total of 8 equal-sized pieces. Cut gently to maintain shape.

Have a nice weekend.

Carol

Hi carol:
Thanks for sharing with us so many wonderful recipes. Really very sweet of you. I suppose your hubby is really fortunate to have such a wife who know so much about cookery &amp; prepare so many dishes

Hoping to learn more from you.

Hi Carol,

Thanks! I love japanese food too!!!
Yummmmmmyyyy
But so far, I have only bought soba noodles from supermarket, cook it and eat it with the soba sauce.......
I must really learn from this thread and try to surprise my FH one day!!

wanna try blueberry scones??

Blueberry Scones
Makes 8

2 cups all-purpose flour
3 tablespoons sugar, plus more for sprinkling tops
1 tablespoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon salt
6 tablespoons (3/4 stick) cold unsalted butter, cut into pieces
1 1/2 cups fresh blueberries, picked over and rinsed
1 teaspoon grated lemon zest
1/3 cup heavy cream, plus more for brushing tops
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1. Adjust rack to center of oven, and heat to 400 degrees. Place a Silpat baking mat on a baking sheet, and set aside.
2. In a large bowl, sift together flour, 3 tablespoons sugar, baking powder, and salt. Using a pastry blender, or two knives, cut in butter until the largest pieces are the size of small peas. Stir in blueberries and zest.

3. Using a fork, whisk together cream and egg in a liquid measuring cup. Make a well in the center of dry ingredients and pour in cream mixture. Stir lightly with fork just until dough comes together. Turn out onto a lightly floured surface, and knead a few times to mix well.

4. Pat dough into a 6-inch square about 1 1/4 inches thick. Using a floured knife, cut into four 3-inch squares. Cut squares in half on the diagonal to form eight triangles. Transfer to prepared baking sheet. Brush tops with cream and sprinkle with sugar. Bake until golden brown, 20 to 22 minutes. Transfer scones from baking sheet to wire racks to cool

mandy

one more here

Chocolate Thumbprint Cookies

12-oz pkg chocolate chips
3 cups flour
1 cup butter
1 cup brown sugar
3 tsp vanilla
1/4 cup milk
powdered sugar
2 tbs shortening
1/4 cup light Karo syrup (a corn syrup)
2 tsp vanilla

Chop 1/4 of the chocolate chips.
Sift flour.

Blend butter, brown sugar, and 3 tsp vanilla.

Stir in flour, milk, and chopped chips.

Shape in 1/2-inch balls. Place on ungreased cookie sheet. Make depression in center of each cookie with thumb. Bake 10-12 minutes at 375F.

Roll in powdered sugar. (I usually skip this step)

Combine over hot water the rest of the chips and the shortening. Stir until melted. Remove from heat.

Stir in Karo, 2 tbs water, and the 2 tsp vanilla. Fill each cookie.

Makes about 4 dozen.

i think this one will be very yummy!!

Chocolate Truffles

1 pound 12 ounces good quality bittersweet chocolate (I use Callebaut)
1 cup cream
1/4 cup up to 10 or 11 tablespoons liqueur (the more you use, the more alcohol the taste)*
Powdered sugar
Good quality cocoa (I use Pernigotti)

Kay notes: Or use an equivalent amount of cream if you don't want to use liqueur.

Chop 12 ounces chocolate into chunks. Place chocolate pieces in a food processor with a metal blade and process until the chocolate is finely chopped. Bring cream to a boil. With food processor running, add cream to chocolate and process until cream is completely incorporated. With processor still running, add liqueur and process until
incorporated. Refrigerate chocolate mixture until chilled.

Using powdered sugar on your hands to prevent the chocolate from sticking, roll teaspoonsful of the chocolate mixture into balls. Refrigerate again until chilled.

Melt 1 pound chocolate in the top of a double boiler. Allow chocolate to cool to about 90 degrees F. Take each chocolate ball and dip it in the melted chocolate. Place the chocolate ball in the cocoa to coat.

Refrigerate once again.

Store truffles in the refrigerator. Remove from refrigerator and allow to rise to room temperature for at least 1 hour before serving.

lime chicken anyone??

LIME CHICKEN

12 chicken thighs (or 1 cut-up chicken, or your choice of pieces)
Seasoned Salt/pepper, to taste
12 oz. can frozen limeade
1 teaspoon granulated garlic
Additional granulated garlic for sprinkling
8-10 cloves garlic, minced
Preheat oven to 375F.
Rinse the chicken and pat dry. (Remove excess fat...you can remove the skin, too, but if you leave it on, it will get very crisp.)

Place skin side up in single layer in a roasting pan. Sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Combine thawed limeade and granulated garlic in a medium bowl.

Spoon a little limeade over each chicken thigh and sprinkle with a little more granulated garlic.

Roast in oven about 1 hour, basting with pan juices.

At the end of the hour, remove from oven and drain off pan drippings and discard.

Spoon remaining limeade over chicken and top with minced garlic.

Broil on low for about 5 minutes until very browned.

Serve with juice from pan.

one more!!

BUFFALO CHICKEN WINGS

For blue-cheese dressing
1/2 cup mayonnaise
1/4 cup plain yogurt
2 ounces crumbled blue cheese (about 1/2 cup)

4 celery ribs
3 pounds chicken wings (12 to 14)
2 tablespoons vegetable oil (if grilling) or 6 cups
vegetable oil (if deep-frying)
1/2 stick (1/4 cup) unsalted butter
3 to 4 tablespoons hot sauce such as Frank's or Goya
1 1/2 tablespoons cider vinegar

Make dressing:
In a bowl whisk together mayonnaise and yogurt and stir in
blue cheese (dressing will not be smooth). Dressing may be
made 8 hours ahead and chilled, covered.Cut celery into
thin sticks. Soak celery in a bowl of ice and cold water at
least 30 minutes and up to 1 hour.

Cut off chicken wing tips, reserving for another use, and
halve chicken wings at joint.

To grill wings:
Preheat grill.

Pat wings dry. In a bowl rub 2 tablespoons oil onto wings
and season with salt. Grill wings on an oiled rack set 5 to
6 inches over glowing coals until cooked through and golden
brown, 8 to 10 minutes on each side.

To deep-fry wings:
In a large (5- to 6-quart) deep heavy kettle heat 6 cups
oil until a deep-fat thermometer registers 380&deg; F. Just
before oil reaches 380F, pat dry 6 or 7 wings. Carefully
lower wings into oil and fry, stirring occasionally, until
cooked through, golden, and crisp, 5 to 8 minutes. With a
slotted spoon transfer wings to paper towels to drain. Pat
dry and fry remaining wings in same manner, returning oil
to 380F between batches.

In a large skillet melt butter over moderately low heat and
stir in hot sauce, vinegar, and salt to taste. Add grilled
or fried wings and toss to coat.

Serve chicken wings warm or at room temperature with
dressing and celery sticks.

Serves 6 as an hors d'oeuvre or 4 as a main
course.

mandysst

i need your help, the third day of chinese new year is my first year ROM anniversay. we actually wanted to go for a hotel stay, but i figure we should save some money. so i decided to cook a candle light dinner.

can anyone give me some ideas of wat i should prepare for starters, soup, main course and then dessert??

mandy

Hi Mandy:
Woh, you're here till so late or have you just woke up???
Anyway, good morning, thanks for posting so many recipes here during the weekends. I'm really busy loh, &amp; finally finished making all the CYN pastry &amp; do some shopping too... It was indeed an tired but enjoyable weekend.

Hey, you're cooking a Candle Dinner for your ROM Anniversary, me too for our Anniversary on 22/02/02.
I have a list of recipes for Romantic Dinner For Two but I can't access my file, 'cos my mircosoft office is down at the moment. I'll try to retrive from my hubby's PC &amp; email to you.

Carol

hi carol,

me always sleep at the wee hours of the morning lah... horrible!!! ahhahah...

okie... so i wait for your recipes okie?? me think and think until head burst liao.

u finish all your making??? can i try or not?? then next yr i learn from you and do myself..heehee...

mandy

Hi Carol,

Wow !! You have some many recipes
Can you send me recipe on dessert and cookie?

Jazziline