Cooking Recipes as promised

hi Carol,

got a question for u... if i intend to cook bak ku teh for dinner... can u pls suggest wat other simple side dishes i can cook as well for a dinner of 5-6 persons? my frns coming over to my place for dinner tomorrow nite... they wan me to cook so i suggested spaghetti coz easiest mah.. but they said wanna eat chinese food... so the simplest to me is bak ku teh... like that i settle the meat n soup but hor now enuf dish mah... so dunno wat else to cook leh... was thinking of a dish of chilli prawns or a fried fillet dish but hor both i never cook before so will be first time... hehheh.... then want to do a vege but dunno wats the simplest...
then dunno wat else n how many dish i shld prepare so that it's juz nice n not too much or too little....

appreciate ur advice... thanks a lot in advance...

Hi Islandpub,
So nice to "see" you in this thread again...

Hummm.. for simple chinese dishes, can try chilli prawns, sweet and sour pork, fried veggie... friend friend rice...

I've sent you the recipes to your hotmail A/C

Happy Cooking!!!
14071.gif

hi Carol,

thanks... ve received ur email liao...

hehhee... me nowadays mostly juz pop in to read but seldom reply any post liao...
getting lazy lah....

Hi Carol,

Mind sending me the receipes to my email a/c?
Like to cook some nice food for my FH during my super long holidays. :-)
I'll be taking leave on the 2nd & 3rd of Jan mah...

Hi Carol,

Is all-purpose flour the same as normal flour?

Is vanilla extract the same as vanilla essence? If not, can I switch the two usage?

What is vanilla bean? Can it be substituted by vanilla essence?

Hi carol,

do u have recipes 4 malay food, like rendang chicken or mutton? My FH love malay food, sigh...make things diff 4 me leh coz malay food a lot of work
14177.gif

14178.gif

Hi Carol,

I was not sure if corn starch is actually corn flour. Thanks for the clarification. I usually used corn flour on minced meat and chicken, making them smooth in their texture.

I did cook on the Christmas eve and the actual day. Was busy during this week and that's why I seldom log in. On the eve, my IL's side came over to my place. I baked 2 roast chicken. And soup, honey baked ham (gourmet brand - it was quite good, not salty) and salad to go along. On the day, I baked roast chicken wings instead.

What abt yourself?

matsu,
Hummm. Malay food, my hubby used to love that during his army days...

By the way, are you the <FONT COLOR="0000ff">matsu</FONT> that chat with me in the chatroom on Thurs???

Ok.. I shall email them to you!

14184.gif

Hi Dolphin,
I was busy with the all the cooking on the eve &amp; Christmas day too...
I did a lot of cooking, I bake a log cake, roasted chicken, seafood platter, salad, soup &amp; some finger snacks.

All the effort are worthwhile as my families &amp; friends enjoy the food very much.

Intend to do any cooking on New Year Day???

14191.gif

Blur,

. all purpose flour = plain flour

. vanilla essence is the same as vanilla extract

. Vanilla beans are from the aromatic pods of a variety of orchid. They are used to make vanilla extract and are used on their own as a flavoring. The dried aromatic beans are sold in well-stocked food stores and specialty-food shops; wrap them in plastic and store in an airtight container in the refrigerator.

Hi Carol,

Most probably not cooking on the New Year Day. Did not invite any pple to my place on that day.

Hmm... was thinking of baking some goodies for Chinese New Year. Intend to try the recipe u posted earlier on Kueh Bangkit, and maybe pineapple tarts (looks like it's difficult to succeed for the 1st time, but will keep on trying). What are you baking for this coming Chinese New Year? Do you have any recipe for egg rolls?

Carol,
Yah, that me! heehee...nice chatting with u. I gotta the mail liao,thanks so much.
U seem to do a lot of western food &amp; pastry hor, wow...so expert leh. I find those 2 vy diff...sigh..

Hi Dolphin,
I'm doing a simple meal for the whole family.

"Aiyo" talking about chinese New Year, I'll be very busy doing lots of Pastry &amp; goodies. As this is the first year as a "offical" married couple, I'll do more to distribute among the relatives &amp; some of my close friends.

I'll be making, pineapple tarts, Kueh Bankit, Nian Gao, shrimp rolls.

Hummm.... really hope I'll have time to make soooo many....

Yap, I've the recipe with me.

14196.gif

matsu,
14197.gif

I love all kinds of cursine, favourite is baking &amp; chinese cookery.
Hummm.. they are not really very difficult lah, with much practice &amp; patience.

So, hang around this thread more often, &amp; you'll find lots of recipes &amp; cookeing thread from the other gals.

14198.gif

carol,

wow,u going to do so many goodies 4 chinese new year ah! Yummy,i luv sprimp rolls
14200.gif

Dun have my own kitchen so diff to too much cooking, oni once awhile. I luv jap cursine so i usually cook jap food.

matsu,
I hope I really have enough time to finish all of them...

My favourite is shrimp rolls, especially the spicy ones.

14212.gif

Wow, you like to cook Jap food, so what do you usually cook, huh?

Hi Carol,

I tried to make pineapple tarts again on Saturday.

This time, the dough and everything turn out ok. But the crust is abit crumbly/powdery...

The flour/butter proportion is 340g flour &amp; 225g butter. Is there too much butter?

If i were to reduce the proportion of butter &amp; replace with shortening (for the buttery aroma), how much shortening do i have to put &amp; how. I've never used shortening before.

Could you please help?

hi piper,
The butter content is more on the high side to make the dough soft and buttery. If you feel that it's too much, can always reduced to 180G instead.

Hummm. I have not tried to replace shortening to butter for pineapple tarts dough, so I could not help much in this case, I still fell that butter make s anice aroma fir the tarts.

14223.gif

hi carol,

thanks for your suggestions...

still thinking how to make the crust buttery and not flaky..is 200g butter still too much?

maybe i'll have to use a different butter again.

will try it again on 1 jan...let u know if it'll be successful.

14224.gif

piper, I've suggested using 180g, this should be ok..

What butter are you using? Myabe you can try using anchor butter.

hi carol,

i used the butter bought from redman.

does anchor have unsalted butter? my colleague suggested president.

i'll see how the results on 1 jan then decide if i still want to bake somemore....maybe give up and buy from market...kekeke

14225.gif

thanks carol for ur encouragement.

btw, do u have the recipe for kuah bangkit (dunno if it's the correct spelling). the white color biscuit for CNY.

14230.gif

Hi Carol and Dolphin,

Sorry, i didn't do much cooking during this holiday season..."dong zhi" went to MIL place, Christmas went to SIL place, initially intent to bake a log cake but was afraid to disappoint others so order an ice-cream cake from swensen's...

Carol,

so envy you can bake so many things for your family... hope i can be like you leh...

Hi Dolphin,

Thanks for the info. Have not tried it yet as I can't find a tin that matches the requirement. Maybe will try Robinson as you mentioned.

Hi Carol,

Hope you can help in answering some qns on the Kueh Bungkit:

1. Can I do the dry frying of the tapioca flour using microwave oven? If so, for how long? What is the purpose of frying it?

2. Do I have to add water to the grated coconut before squeezing? Do I just squeeze once?

3. How long do I have to leave the boiled coconut milk for it to cool?

4. When adding the egg &amp; sugar mixture to blend, do I have to beat the mixture or just stir it to blend?

5. Why is there a need to divide into 2 portion? Can I continue with just the whole 1 portion?

6. Do I need those wooden roller to knead the dough or just use hand?

7. Is the baking temperature stated in Fahrenheit or Celsius?

Dear all, can anyone advice how to cook steamed meatballs? u know, the big big kind with minced meat that they sometimes serve in the economic rice stalls in coffee shops? chinese style.

asked coz my dad recently mentioned he always like to eat this from the coffee shops. even though most of the time he will soon realise they are not fully cooked, he likes them so much that he will always order. he is a taxi driver, and cannot afford the time to go around looking for food. feel a bit "xin tong (heartache)" when i heard this from him, so made up my mind to try my hand at cooking the dish. can someone pls advise???? thanks so beri much!

Hi binbin,
Here's the recipe for steamed meatballs.

Serves 4 - 6
Ingredients:
1 pound ground pork
1 slice ginger, minced
3 scallions, cut into thin slices
1 egg, lightly beaten
1 teaspoon salt (less if desired)
1 teaspoon sugar
1 tablespoon sherry
1 tablespoon light soy sauce
1/2 tablespoon cornstarch
Pepper or white pepper to taste

1 cup chicken stock
1 pound bok choy, washed and cut into bite-sized pieces
3 tablespoons oil for cooking
Other seasonings as desired

Directions:
Place the ground pork in a bowl. Add the meatball ingredients and mix together with your hands, moving in one direction. When the ingredients are blended, wet your hands slightly and form the pork mixture into 4 large meatballs.
Heat wok and add 3 tablespoons oil. Cook the meatballs on medium heat until they are golden brown. Drain the meatballs on paper towels.

Heat the stock separately, adding soy sauce, sugar, or other seasonings if desired.
Arrange the bok choy at the bottom of the pot and place the meatballs on top. Add the stock. Simmer until cooked (1 to 1 1/2 hours)

Hi Dolphin,
Here's the recipe for <FONT COLOR="0000ff">egg rolls(Love letters)</FONT>

Egg Rolls

14283.jpg

INGREDIENTS:
125g rice flour

35g plain flour

155g granulated sugar

1 1/2 cups coconut milk (from 1 coconut)

2 eggs

2 egg yolks

METHOD:
1. Sift rice and plain flour into a mixing bowl. Add in sugar and slowly add the coconut milk. Stir until smooth then add the eggs and egg yolks. Whisk until well blended. Strain the batter.

2. Lightly grease love letter moulds with a piece of muslin cloth dipped in oil. Heat mould over charcoal fire.

3. When heated, place the moulds open over a bowl of batter and pour a ladelful of batter onto the mould. Close the mould tightly and bake over charcoal fire for about half a minute on each side.

4. When golden in colour, remove and immediately roll into a perfect circle (see picture). Press lightly with a tin cover to level the surface.

5. Cool and store in an air-tight container or tin.

14284.gif

<FONT SIZE="+1"><FONT COLOR="ff0000">May the new year, 2003 be good new year for all, with so much happiness, sweet memories &amp; wonderful acheivements.</FONT></FONT>

14351.gif

14352.gif

Hi binbin,

Scallions are also known as green onions and refer to a distinct variety of immature onions. The vegetable has a white base that has not fully developed into a bulb and green leaves that are long and straight. Both parts are edible. Store in the refrigerator, wrapped for up to five days. They can be eaten raw or cooked in numerous dishes from soups to salads.

Hi Carol,

thanks for the egg roll recipe. However I do not have the mould. Can it be done using wok?

Happy New Year to you too.

14379.gif

Drop by to wish all of you

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Happy New Year!!!!</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">May all your wishes come true!</FONT>

Hi everybody,

I'm also thinking of baking some cookies 4 CNY. Any idea is it too early to bake now &amp; keep until then ?

I had only baked rock cakes b4, do u have other simple cookies recipes to recommend (4 my limited skills &amp; tools &amp; prefer dun need a mixer) ?

Hi carol,

I tried tempura, chawan mushi, potato salad (jap style), dashi tofu, miso soup, etc.

But dashi tofu not vy well done...haha...pai seh.
Do u cook jap dish too, mayb u can advise me.
14413.gif

hi carol

do u have any recipes for fried chicken wings, curry chicken, japanese agedashi tofu, tempura, chawanmushi etc?

Hi Dolphin,
You are welcome... Hummm... that's a tough question, I'll not tried using a work before, do you mean a heavy flat based wok?

14422.gif

Hi minniecat,
It will be best if you are baking it about 3 weeks before the CYN, but remember to keep them in air-tight containers to mantain its' freshness &amp; prevent them from going mouldy.

I've posted the recipes, for pineapple tarts, Kueh Bankit &amp; egg rolls in the thread previously...

Thses recipes need a certain level of difficulties, as you need more time &amp; skills to master it, so why not start early to prevent any hiccups.

Carol,

yah, agree that cooking jap dish is less oily thus less cleaning to do...haha
thanks 4 the 2 recipes, hmm...4 the sushi i will have to work on my rolling skill 1st, find it a little tricky 4 me...butter fingers me! haha!

4 the scallion, what is orange zest &amp; where can i get them? Pai seh, i dun know much abt western cursine.

Hi enya,
Yes... I have all the recipes you have mentioned, I've compiled the recipes that you have mentioned into one file.
So I'll email to you instead...

Please leave me your email add.

Agedashi-dofu

14430.jpg

Hi matsu,
Hummm... yes, I take a while to master the rolling skills too.. Not easy!

Scallions are also known as green onions and refer to a distinct variety of immature onions.
You can get from any supermarket or wet market.

Orange zest is the outermost layer of the peel of orange.

Hope this helps!!!

Hi Carol,

Thanks for the info.

Think I would bake rock cakes and pineapple tarts. At least, if pineapple tart din turn out successful, still got rock cakes to eat.