Cooking Recipes as promised

giggler,
I think that's a important part of the dough making process. You might have left out this step stated in the recipe.

Try again, this time & I'm sure your tarts will be better.

Yap, my Kueh Bankit will melt in the mouth.

does anyone know what is the redish brown thing that you see together with cheese on baked potato? Where can I get it? Thanks.

?.... Those are bacon bits. Think you should be able to get them at supermarkets like Cold Storage, Liberty, Market place......

Hi Carol, I'll try your recipe of Kueh Bangkit coming weekend. Let u know the result ok? Hope that it'll turn out a success !

A nice CYN recipe to share:

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Scallops with Black Moss</FONT>
<FONT COLOR="ff0000">"Bai Zi Qian Sun"
May You Be Blessed with Numerous Descendants!

INGREDIENTS:
125 g Dried Scallops (get the best grade you can afford)
30 g Black Moss
90 g Minced Garlic
1 Head Lettuce

SEASONING I:
1/4 tsp Salt
1/4 tsp Sugar
1/4 tsp Chinese Wine ("Hua Diao")

SEASONING II:
1 1/2 Tbsp Oyster Sauce
1/2 tsp Sesame Oil

METHOD:
1. Wash scallops and soak for about 1/2 hour. Reserve the water used for soaking the scallops in.

2. Add one cup of water to the scallops and the water used for soaking. Steam them for about 1 hour. Drain and keep the stock.

3. Place a scallop into a rice bowl nicely.
Brown the garlic with 1 Tbsp of peanut oil / corn oil. Slowly drizzle the oil and garlic over the scallops.

4. Add 1/4 cup of scallop stock with Seasoning I mixed with it and steam for another 1/2 hour.
prepare a pot of boiling water with 1 tsp salt and oil to parboil the lettuce. Remove lettuce leaves from the water. Drain the water.

5. Cover the bowl of scallops with the serving plate. Overturn the bowl and transfer the scallops onto the plates.

6. Garnish with lettuce on the sides of the heaped scallops.

7. Heat up about 1 tbsp of peanut oil / corn oil and add in 1 Tbsp of Chinese wine before stirring in the remaining scallop stock, Seasoning II and the black moss.
8. Bring to a boil and thicken the gravy with a cornflour-and-water mixture.
Pour the gravy over the scallops. </FONT>

14984.gif

another one:

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Water Chestnut Cake</FONT>
<FONT COLOR="ff0000">"Bu Bu Kao Sheng"
May Every Step You Take Bring You To Greater Heights of Achievement!

INGREDIENTS:
140 g Water Chestnut Starch
190 g Sugar
250 g Skinned Water Chestnuts (chopped into small pieces)
3/4 cup water
1 1/2 cups Coconut Milk
1 cup Fresh Milk

METHOD:

1. Mix the water chestnut starch well with water, filter the mixture through a screen.

2. Boil the coconut milk, fresh milk and sugar over medium heat. Add in the shredded water chestnut and bring the mixture to a boil again.

3. Stir in the chestnut starch mixture.
Lightly coat a cake tin with oil before pouring the above mixture into it. Steam the chestnut paste over high heat for about 30 mins until it is cooked and firm.

4. Cook the cake, cut it into slices and serve.
As an alternative, you may want to shallow-fry the slices with a light cornflour coating.</FONT>

Hi Carol,

Thks for sharing the recipe with us, they are really nice and "hao(3)cai(3)tou(2)", will try...

Hi Carol, when will u start your baking for CNY? I thot of doing them this week. Maybe, I'll start cooking the pineapple first. What do u think?

How abt others? Anyone baking pineapple tarts or kueh bangkit for CNY? Personally, I find that it's more worthwhile to bake yourself than buy from outside.

15038.gif

Hi Carol,
whenever the recipe ask for coconut milk, if we use the packet one, the liquid is usually very concentrated as compared to those fresh, squeezed coconut. If we use packet one, can we use a smaller portion of it and mix with some water?

By the way, are you making the egg roll using charcoal in the kitchen? I wanted to try making but afraid that the smoke from the charcoal will add dirt to the kitchen. Thinking of doing it outside the corridor of my house but not so nice leh. If I use stove, the fragrance might not be as nice as charcoal one. Any suggestion?

More CYN recipes...

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Deep Fried Fish Head</FONT>
<FONT COLOR="ff0000">"Hong Yun Dang Tou"
May Good Fortune Speahead your New Year!

INGREDIENTS:
1 piece Fish Head (1/2 kg)
4 pieces of Dried Chinese Black Mushrooms
60 g Lean Pork
4 stalks Spring Onion
1 stalk Chinese Parsley (Coarsly Chopped)
1 piece Ginger (Shredded)
2 pieces Garlic (Minced)
1 piece Red Chilli (Deseeded and Thinly Sliced)

SEASONING:
1/2 Tbsp Hot Bean Paste
1 Tbsp Dark Soya Sauce
1 Tbsp Light Soya Sauce
1 tsp Sugar
3/4 glass Water
1 tsp Sesame Oil

1. Wash and clean the fish head. Cut into two halves and season with 1/2 tsp of salt and 1 tsp of Chinese wine. Coat with a little cornstarch and deep fry in hot peanut oil / corn oil until golden in colour. Drain oil.

2. Trim off the mushroom stems and soak them in water for about 15 mins or more until they soften. Lightly squeeze the moisture out of the mushrooms then slice them.

3. Slice the lean pork into thin shreds.
Stir fry the minced garlic, sectioned spring onions and shredded ginger until gragrant.
Add in the lean pork and mushrooms before adding the seasoning.

4. Put the deep fried fish head back to the wok and simmer with the mixture till gravy almost dries up.

5. Sprinkle the chopped parsley and shredded chilli before serving.</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Deep Fried Cuttlefish</FONT>
<FONT COLOR="ff0000">"Ru Yi Jin Yuan"
May These Golden Rings Bring Your Dreams to Fulfillment!

INGREDIENTS:
375 g Fresh Cuttlefish (approx. 3 pieces)
1 Egg
1/2 cup Breadcrumbs
100 g Shredded Lettuce

SEASONING:
1 tsp Salt
1 tsp White Pepper
1 Tbsp Cornflour

1. Wash and clean the cuttlefish. Keep only the round portions.
Cut each cuttlefish ring into 1 cm in width.
MArinate the rings with the Seasoning for 15 minutes. Coat them with beaten egg and then breadcrumbs.

2. Deep fry the rings with hot corn oil / peanut oil. Remove them when they turn golden brown in colour.

3. Display them on a serving dish atop the shredded lettuce. Serve. </FONT>

15042.gif

Giggler,
I'm starting on them this weekend.
Yes, you should start cooking the pineapple filling 1st, that take a long time to finish.

Agree with you, that making ourselves are more worthwhile, especially when the relatives &amp; friends could taste the nice pastries that you've made yourself, the feeling is good.

Dolphin,
Yes, you can... remember to to add in too much water too, should be 1/3 of the coconut milk.

Yap, I'm making the egg roll in my mum's place, we'll do it at the corridor, as they a big empty space there, so it wouldn't be smoky to the neighbours.

Do you have any empty space near the corridor to make use of?

Giggler,
I don't have any recipe for shrimp roll, my mum have her very own recipe of making it. I learn from her, after the years, I could just use my own estimation of the amt. of ingredients &amp; methods.

Tt's rather easy to make the chilli shrimp floss, just stir-fry dried shrimps, chilli, onions, peanuts oil, salt &amp; sugar together until the mixture is dry &amp; fragrant.

If there's isn't much time left, &amp; you are really keen to make, you can buy the ready chilli shrimp floss from supermarket. They come in glass bottles.

Hi Carol,

For Kueh bangkit,I'm going to use coconut milk in packet instead of those grated.
How many packets should I buy or how many ml should it be?

Mary,
800ml is fresh coconut milk from grated coconut, since you are using packet ones, can add 200ml of water to 700ml of the orginal milk.

Hi Carol, for your kueh bangkit's recipe, the 1kg tapioca flour is the weight after you fried it or before?

Ok, thanks. I'll try it this coming weekend if it's possible. If not, I got to take leave to do liao.

Wish me luck, ok ?

Perfect Roast Potatoes

15248.jpg

Serves 8

4 lb (1.8 kg) potatoes

4 oz (110 g) dripping or lard

salt

You will also need a shallow solid-based roasting tray 16 x 12 inches (40 x 30 cm).

Pre-heat the oven to gas mark 7, 425&deg;F (220&deg;C).

Method:
First place the roasting tray with the fat in it on the highest shelf of the oven while it pre-heats. Thinly peel the potatoes using a potato peeler, then cut them into fairly even-sized pieces, leaving the small ones whole. Then place them in a saucepan, pour over boiling water from a kettle, just to cover, then add salt and simmer for about 10 minutes. After that lift one out with a skewer and see if the outer edge is fluffy. You can test this by running the point of the skewer along the surface – if it stays smooth, give it a few more minutes.

Then drain off the water, reserving some for the gravy. Place the lid back on the saucepan, and, holding the lid on firmly with your hand protected by a cloth or oven glove, shake the saucepan vigorously up and down. This shaking roughens up the cooked edges of the potato and makes them floury and fluffy – this is the secret of the crunchy edges.

Now, still using the oven glove to protect your hands, remove the hot roasting tray containing its sizzling fat and transfer to the direct heat (medium) on the hob. Then use a long-handled spoon and quickly lower the potatoes into the hot fat. When they are all in, tilt the tray and baste each one so it's completely coated with fat. Now place them back on the highest shelf of the oven and leave them unattended for 40-50 minutes or until they are golden brown. There's no need to turn them over at half-time – they will brown evenly by themselves. Sprinkle them with a little crushed salt before serving straight away; they lose their crunch if you keep them waiting. If they're ready before you are, turn the oven off and leave them inside.

15249.gif

Hi Carol,

May I know how many containers and its size do I need to get ready for the baked Kueh Bungkit? Also can I fry the flour a day before baking or it has to be done on the same day?

It depends on how big your containers are...
chances are get more regular sizes ones, maybe about 7 or 8 of them.

Fry the flour on the same day please.

Hi Carol,

sorry to bother again.

If I use container that is 20 cm in height and 14cm in base diameter, how many of them do I need?

Or if it's more convenient, may I know the dimension of the "regula size" rcontainers that you mentioned above?

Thanks again.

I didn't measured the size of the conatiners I have..

If you are using the containers sizes, hummmm perhaps 4 of them??? (based on my own estimation)

thanks carol!

BTW, I have a few questions- I saw some ppl pour cold water instead of hot water, is there any different?

Do we use egg yolk or whole egg to wipe the pineapple tarts surface?

Hi Carol

Can I check with you as to where to get the waterchestnut starch? Does Phoon Huat sells it?

I tried looking at Carrefour but can't find any... was planning to try your recipe of the Waterchestnut cake this Sat but can't seem to get the ingredients.

Hi Carol,
Thanks 4 the peanut cookie recipe. Keke ... my peanut cookie dun have the raw taste the next day ... after some "lou feng".
This week will be my rest week. I plan to bake everything next week ... put inside the freezer ... then rebake again 1 week b4 cny ... and hopefully can keep longer and taste fresher. I saw this method in most recipe books ... which claim to keep for months. Dun know will it affect the taste ... anyone try b4 ? If not, then have to wait for my experimental results.
Happy baking to all